geodude wrote:lots of persons have messaged me asking how to get ah offshore wok, I tell most ppl that getting a rig wok is very difficult as we dont have many drilling contractors in trini and being part of the local crew on international rigs when they arrive is a shady process,
If they have the necessary educational requirements I usually advise they look at service companies,
A few persons have asked if I think that obtaining their Bosiet/ huet certification might be helpful to their cause,
honestly I am on the wall on this, I really don't think its necessary for the individual to do this and most companies seem to have no problem providing this training for new employees, but at the same time I can see that having this might put a potential candidate above others in the job race,
what do you dudes think about this?
geodude wrote:nemesis what kinda advice are you giving the man ?
do you know BlackOps2?
He might be one of those guys that get out here and start getting the horn talk and after the first few days, jump off the rig because he is afraid that his slippers back home will get stretched.
BlackOps2 find out what the rotation is gonna be like before u start anything,
cool story time
once upon at time in an oil patch, in de sea, a guy got a job and went offshore, and for the first few days he sat outside the mudlogging unit his entire shift staring out at the sea, he didn't talk to anyone, didn't say anything just sat there and stared at the water, poor dude had a breakdown of sorts after a few days and had to be sent home. Since he was a trainee and not an actual employee i think all he got was some counselling and he quit, sad thing is he then had to find the money to pay back for his Huet, PPE etc as it was stated in the contract at the time, that if you left within the first 6 months you have to repay the company for all training etc,
BlackOps2 doh trust Nemesis, he want to horn you!!!
shorts wrote:Where Can I apply to work off-shore?
nemesis wrote:Anyone offshore Brazil right now? Some serious weather eh?
16 cycles wrote:lift barge is that??
a MC Dermott?
Mudboy wrote:Energy Minister: Increased drilling to continue
Story Created: May 15, 2013 at 9:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 15, 2013 at 10:56 PM ECT
Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine is projecting that increased drilling activity in the country’s oil and gas sector will continue in the medium term.
The Ministry of Energy, in a statement yesterday, noted there was “significant increased” drilling activity in the oil and gas industry compared to data three years ago.
“Currently, in the offshore areas, there are six drilling rigs working for different clients. Two of these rigs, the West Jaya and the Rowan XL II, are drilling for bpTT in its Immortelle and Savonette Fields, respectively. The third rig, the Rowan Gorilla III, is drilling for EOG Resources in the Osprey Field. The fourth rig, Well Services Rig 110, is currently drilling in Trinmar for Petrotrin and is expected to spud (drill a new well) for the first exploration Minimum Work Obligation (MWO) this month, as per the new Trinmar licence granted by the ministry last December. A fifth rig, the Trinity Rig 2 is drilling for Trinity in the East Galeota block. A sixth rig, the semi-submersible Ocean Lexington, is currently in Chaguaramas being prepared for its drilling campaign on behalf of Centrica, Niko Resources and BGTT,” the statement said.
There are also two workover rigs working for Petrotrin in Trinmar, with one exclusively dedicated to the South West Soldado reactivation project. On land, the level of activity is also high with eight rigs in operation.
Ramnarine said: “The level of drilling and workover activity in the oil and gas industry has significantly increased in the last two years. We expect this trend to continue in the medium term. This is as a direct result of Government policy to use the fiscal regime to incentivise companies that invest in exploration and production. In the last two years, we have applied a progressive policy with regard to the fiscal regime that has seen Trinidad and Tobago’s upstream sector become more competitive.”