Household Ants insecticide?

KURMAman

Re: Household Ants insecticide?

Postby KURMAman » July 9th, 2013, 4:54 pm

silent_riot wrote:Sevin's Powder contains Borax, which dessicates the ants.

http://www.ehow.com/how_4471409_fight-ants-borax.html

If you're doing it outside the house, keep reapplying as we are in the rainy season.

jus make sure ur pets dont eat it tho.. quite toxic

Postby Hook » July 9th, 2013, 4:57 pm

Excellent! Thanks guys.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 9th, 2013, 5:37 pm

soapy water

trust meh, it works

add some alcohol for extra killing power

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 10th, 2013, 7:58 am

De Dragon wrote:Regent(got it in a pet store) diluted with water sprayed around your house.

spray this sucker on the concrete, walls and the grass around your house. Say goodbye to ants for a few months.

Q. How does Regent® work?
A. Like most insecticides, Regent® acts on the central nervous system of insects. Specifically, it interferes
with the passage of chloride ions passing through the gamma amino butyric acid (GABA) regulated chloride
channel in the central nervous system. This is different from the way that pyrethroids, organophosphates
or carbamates work. With Regent, the interference with the GABA receptor kills the insect. Regent is highly
effective against target pests at very low doses-4.16 fluid ounces per acre (based on 30-inch rows)

Postby 3stagevtec » July 10th, 2013, 10:38 am

I use both Terro and Sevin, both does the job effectively..

Postby Hook » July 10th, 2013, 10:52 am

I'll swing through Arima in about an hour to check for the Terro by that place hustla_ambition101 spoke about.

Update:
I got it. $25 each from A One Pet & Agro Supplies.

On Woodford St., just after Broadway St. corner, you'll see on your right, a place called "Photo House" (there's a car park on the left).
The guy said they get the Terro all the time.

Turns out M&D brings it in now, not Caribbean Chemicals.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » July 10th, 2013, 5:52 pm

where i could get this terro stuff in south?

boods1234

Postby boods1234 » July 10th, 2013, 6:40 pm

Yea fellas You can use Sevin but it is not safe to use in your cupboards because of the strength of the active ingredient. I am in the field of selling these products, malathion is too strong to use indoors. The best products to use inside your house for ants and all other inSects are as follows. :

Triton
Trebon
Bifendrin

They are safe to be used internally. And will not leave a harmful residue. Or scent that will be detrimental around kids and pets.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 12th, 2013, 3:35 pm

Hook wrote:I'll swing through Arima in about an hour to check for the Terro by that place hustla_ambition101 spoke about.

Update:
I got it. $25 each from A One Pet & Agro Supplies.

On Woodford St., just after Broadway St. corner, you'll see on your right, a place called "Photo House" (there's a car park on the left).
The guy said they get the Terro all the time.

Turns out M&D brings it in now, not Caribbean Chemicals.

How did it work?

Postby Hook » August 12th, 2013, 4:55 pm

It's great! However, it would appear that the ants possibly leave a scent or something on it that prevents others from going near it, ie. When you kill the colony in the store room, you can't use the remaining bait on the colony in the garage.
Buy one for each room/application.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 13th, 2013, 2:17 pm

Word, gonna try this out then...

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2013, 7:39 pm

Terro works well but just remember that it is an ongoing battle though
As ants will always show up agan sooner or later

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 13th, 2013, 8:22 pm

Combat Source Kill in the syringe works great. Within minutes of putting it down swarms of ants settle around it.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 13th, 2013, 9:04 pm

If not mentioned before, use something else after 1 dosing of terro, ants grow immune to it

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 15th, 2013, 8:15 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:If not mentioned before, use something else after 1 dosing of terro, ants grow immune to it

Any suggestions?

pan3660

Postby pan3660 » February 3rd, 2014, 1:57 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:If not mentioned before, use something else after 1 dosing of terro, ants grow immune to it

Any suggestions?

This is not my experience. Keep reapplying in an adjacent spot. They will continue to consume until they are all gone.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 3rd, 2014, 2:19 pm

Sevin has worked very well for me with regards to ants/ roach

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 3rd, 2014, 3:16 pm

anything for indoor flea control?
Dogs got infested earlier this year and seeing a few flea indoors, want to spray inside, but have an infant, so it must have low toxicity and be safe to go inside after 4-6 hours.

Already leveling malathion around the yard and cypermethrin on the dogs themselves in the correct proportions, but none of these are suitable for indoor control.

altec

Postby altec » February 3rd, 2014, 3:58 pm

same thing happened to me; sevin used in places that remain dry outside. triton in areas that get wet. Common insecticide spray (bop kills dem ded) inside. I made sure the floors were wet/misted. Locked the house and returned in the evening and opened windows etc. I DID NOT HAVE A CHILD AT THE TIME HOWEVER so this may not work for you.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 3rd, 2014, 5:15 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:

Any suggestions?

I now see this :shock: , I used contact lens solution mixed with sugar and that worked for a bit

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 3rd, 2014, 5:28 pm

Best you had paid your money and rent a room

Amazon has the Dupont ant gel
Don't know strict your sky box is but you might be able to bring it in
http://www.amazon.com/Dupont-Advion-Ant ... B003LCT9OM

If you get other chemicals check to see if they acidic before applying it to your floors

Postby javishm » February 4th, 2014, 1:35 am

^^ sky box allowing insecticides?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 4th, 2014, 7:07 am

Vexx Dogg, take a look at Regent. I use it outside, never tried it inside tho.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 4th, 2014, 8:30 am

Hire a beethamite and give him a straw, that animal will sniff out anything and eat them all up

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 4th, 2014, 12:07 pm

Contacted Terro, they have a couple things I can check out:

Hello xxxxxx,

Thank you for contacting us, I would be happy to help you with this.

While we don't have anything specific for fleas directly with our brand TERRO, we do have a number of products which can be used indoors to control fleas from our sister sites.

The first product is our Victor(R) The Ultimate Flea Trap and can be found by following this link: http://www.victorpest.com/store/insect-control/bsm230. This patented trap attracts fleas from up to 30 feet away and is non-poisonous so it is safe to use around children and pets. We also have a product called Safer(R) Brand Diatomaceous Earth - Bed Bug, Ant and Crawling Insect Killer. This is a dust-like product which works to dehydrate the fleas when they come in contact with the product. It is OMRI Listed(R) so it is safe to use in and around your home. An important note with this product, is when it becomes wet it is no longer effective. This product can be found by following this link: http://www.victorpest.com/store/insect-control/b51702.

I hope you found this information helpful. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to ask.

Best regards,

xxxxxxxx
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation

Postby Chimera » February 4th, 2014, 12:35 pm

I bought that victor flea trap on amazon in 2012 i think

works great indoors

even trapped a snake and a lizard lol (i guess them went in the trap to eat the fleas)

antlind

Postby antlind » February 4th, 2014, 1:02 pm

Rentokil. Expensive but effective.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 4th, 2014, 1:33 pm

Find the ant hill and do this: