Primera Rear Disc Brakes

Cooper

Primera Rear Disc Brakes

Postby Cooper » March 8th, 2005, 6:29 pm

I need to convert the rear drums on a 1.8L Primera to discs. Anyone can tell me what parts I'll need to get and if it'll still work with the ABS system???

sr18de

Postby sr18de » March 10th, 2005, 2:15 am

talk to sr18primera on this forum, he has done it!

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » March 10th, 2005, 9:49 am

just teh complete rear disc assembly hoss....cater for 1000-1500...and yuh on.
primera setups knocking dog in foreign used yards.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 10th, 2005, 11:20 am

Thanks fellas 8)

Incognito

Postby Incognito » March 11th, 2005, 2:38 am

Prozac,

At any particular dealer you see rear brake assemblies selling? I just want to get ah new rear rotor...

(Long time I haven't been in the bamboo nah....)

jason

Postby jason » March 11th, 2005, 4:09 am

almera qg16 rear discs any one?

sr18de

Postby sr18de » March 11th, 2005, 10:29 am

but here is where i raise the issue....do you REALLY need all that stopping power??? Most of the breaking in FWD cars are done on the front!! instead of spending the $1500 on rare discs why not upgrade the front. but then again it's personal preference.

you may want to look into getting the proportional valve to make the rare discs more effective. i know alot of people who did the swap don't have them on their cars and says it works ok... do some research online, see what the masses say!

even check out http://www.g20.net they usually have good advice

jason

Postby jason » March 11th, 2005, 1:21 pm

what if some ppl hiding power under the hood and NEED that stopping power?

ah shud get some discs for meh BMX......

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » March 11th, 2005, 3:52 pm

thas true is like 75% of teh braking is doen upfront... get better disc pads...or dredddsss I see this primera wagon that ahve the 300zx front calipers drilled for 4 hole other thn looking mad i sure it stops on a bob.

orr get teh BABK(big ass brake kit) fron smc designs.12inch 4 piston.

JWT

Postby JWT » March 12th, 2005, 9:43 pm

pallie upgrade d rear i did and my car stops plenty bette and i have a primera also

all u need is the rear banjo they use back ur shocks and stuff and u onn
just make sure they hook back up ur abs clips and u onn :mrgreen:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 14th, 2005, 2:02 pm

sr18de wrote:but here is where i raise the issue....do you REALLY need all that stopping power??? Most of the breaking in FWD cars are done on the front!! instead of spending the $1500 on rare discs why not upgrade the front. but then again it's personal preference.

you may want to look into getting the proportional valve to make the rare discs more effective. i know alot of people who did the swap don't have them on their cars and says it works ok... do some research online, see what the masses say!

even check out http://www.g20.net they usually have good advice

It's not really about the extra stopping power....it's purely for cosmetic reasons...I just DON'T like to see drums behind big rims. Yeah, ah know I'm weird :-P

One other question though...What about the ABS system, will it still work?

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » March 14th, 2005, 3:11 pm

Cooper wrote:One other question though...What about the ABS system, will it still work?

JWT wrote:just make sure they hook back up ur abs clips and u onn :mrgreen:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 15th, 2005, 10:45 am

sr18 Primera wrote:
Cooper wrote:One other question though...What about the ABS system, will it still work?

JWT wrote:just make sure they hook back up ur abs clips and u onn :mrgreen:

oops, missed that one, thanks :-P

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » March 15th, 2005, 11:35 am

Cooper wrote:
It's not really about the extra stopping power....it's purely for cosmetic reasons...I just DON'T like to see drums behind big rims. Yeah, ah know I'm weird :-P

Waays sah yuh loss real points dey booi

Anybody say rice?

And oh yeah if yuh had rear discs yuh woulda appreciate the extra stopping power (just my experience)

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » March 15th, 2005, 4:48 pm

While you're at it you might as wel upgrade the front. The HP11 front brakes are bigger. You'll just need the HP11 calipers and rotors.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 16th, 2005, 10:57 am

sr18 Primera wrote:While you're at it you might as wel upgrade the front. The HP11 front brakes are bigger. You'll just need the HP11 calipers and rotors.

Nice 8)

sleepertercel wrote: Waays sah yuh loss real points dey booi

Anybody say rice?

And oh yeah if yuh had rear discs yuh woulda appreciate the extra stopping power (just my experience).

Don't get me wrong, I will appreciate the extra stopping power. But I won't be driving this car too hard to make full use of it (Wagon, shut up! :-P)

dragzster

Postby dragzster » March 19th, 2005, 11:39 pm

can the same be performed in a wingroad?

NiSmO-R

Stopping power!

Postby NiSmO-R » March 25th, 2005, 11:28 pm

90% of the braking is done using the front rotors, so getting some redrilled 300z rotors is a nice start.Although upgrading the front rotors is the smarter thing to do drums suck even with the abs there is noticable fade and the difference even the smallest discs make in the back is noticable during quick stops. (Ah maxi cut in front yuh nah) If only we Nissan men used to be treated nicer. Honda people have complete kits for the conversion which doesn't even void the warranty. As for cosmetics if you puting in foreigned used rotors don't expect much they bound to be all rusted and stuff so the looks of your drum might be better.

pathfinder4204

Postby pathfinder4204 » April 13th, 2006, 7:08 am

$1100 complete.....753 2080