Ridiculous light bill amounts

Soul Collector

Re: Ridiculous light bill amounts

Postby Soul Collector » July 17th, 2013, 8:56 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Whoa bill for so man ... go get the wiring of the house checked out you probably have some kind of grounding leak so it looks like you consuming more power than you actually are.

Everything was just changed. Ever piece of wire and plug and the breaker was bought brand new and installed well. This problem was before with the old wiring as well.

rosin1 - I duno na. Alot of ppl I ask have so much more things than us here and their bill is like yours.

Postby ronsin1 » July 17th, 2013, 9:02 pm

see if you can get a KWH data logger on your mains you will be able to cross-reference your KWH usage against the meter

Postby black start » July 17th, 2013, 9:13 pm

that bill real high opie.....

try and monitor your actual usage (in KWh) over the billing period and compare it to the billed value.

Also, do some research in no load voltages/currents. It's highly unlikely but you may have a faulty piece of equipment leaching electricity from your system.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » July 18th, 2013, 12:42 pm

Maybe they were estimating your bill prior and then they started getting actual readings.

Check your old bills and see if it says estimated or actual.

ModMania

Postby ModMania » July 18th, 2013, 1:48 pm

Take out d meter, install a switch to cut the meter off but still provide current to the house... Switch off meter at night and daz all

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 18th, 2013, 6:15 pm

BLUE_CP9A wrote:Maybe they were estimating your bill prior and then they started getting actual readings.

Check your old bills and see if it says estimated or actual.

All prior bills are actual. This is why we were baffled also.
ModMania wrote:Take out d meter, install a switch to cut the meter off but still provide current to the house... Switch off meter at night and daz all

That sounded complicated, me being someone who aint know anything about this type of stuff. It legal? :|

Today I checked the last bill we got, the 2nd pic I posted. From the calculation I made, our average daily kwh consumption for the last 2 months is about 51. From yesterday at 4:30 pm to today at 4:30 pm, around 50 kwh was consumed. So based on that, I in for another high bill next period.

The guy from T&TEC ruled out our refrigerator being a problem. He did whatever tests and said it was just fine. The only other thing we have that could possibly consume more electricity somehow is the water pump and window AC unit. That window unit a lil old, but always getting good servicing. Just last week or so it got serviced.

Anyone else know how much kwh a day they consume by chance?

ModMania

Postby ModMania » July 18th, 2013, 6:18 pm

No it not legal...u can also check to see if everything is properly grounded and that no live wires are in contact with any ground wires that will cause a leak in the current

Postby black start » July 18th, 2013, 7:11 pm

ModMania wrote:No it not legal...u can also check to see if everything is properly grounded and that no live wires are in contact with any ground wires that will cause a leak in the current

that will either cause the breaker to trip or the house to bun down....so highly unlikely

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2013, 11:08 am

ronsin1 wrote:my bill is around 400TTD every two months

I have the following installed
2-Split AC systems (one runs average of 12 hours per day)
1-40 gallon water heater Never switches this off
1- Water Pump with Pressure tank Never switches this off either

not sure how come you are paying that kind of money

u lie or one of those appliances running off d neighbor line

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2013, 12:33 pm

ModMania wrote:No it not legal...u can also check to see if everything is properly grounded and that no live wires are in contact with any ground wires that will cause a leak in the current

this wouldn't cause a breaker to trip?

ModMania

Postby ModMania » July 19th, 2013, 12:36 pm

Not right away, it depends on the amount of current leaking and the size of the breaker... It will however,over time, cause the breaker to go bad and then start tripping regularly if not replaced.

ModMania

Postby ModMania » July 19th, 2013, 12:41 pm

For example, i had an electric stove..every time i used it without wearing something on my feet i would get shocked.... It turned out that one of the live wires was touching the body of the stove... I paid no mind to it and by habit started wearing slippers...a year passed and then the main breaker started tripping...i ended up replacing the wires and outlets on the stove and replacing the breaker...no shock no tripping...never paid attention to light bill tho..but i will cause the meter to keep running because the electricity is still going somewhere even if its ground

Postby ronsin1 » July 19th, 2013, 2:56 pm

redmanjp wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:my bill is around 400TTD every two months

I have the following installed
2-Split AC systems (one runs average of 12 hours per day)
1-40 gallon water heater Never switches this off
1- Water Pump with Pressure tank Never switches this off either

not sure how come you are paying that kind of money

u lie or one of those appliances running off d neighbor line

I can assure you everything is legal and above board

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2013, 4:05 pm

or u set the AC to 26C & the heater to 30C

so AC compressor & heater element hardly coming on

Postby ronsin1 » July 19th, 2013, 4:16 pm

^^^ clearly you have never read the AC thread where I did a full calculation on the cost of running a 12000 BTU unit for a 12 hour period.

Postby black start » July 19th, 2013, 4:29 pm

ronsin1 wrote:a 12000 BTU unit uses about 5 amps running

Voltage X amps = Wattage
this unit works with 220v

220V X 5 amps = 1100 Watts
1100 watts = 1.1 Kilowatts

electricity bills are tabulated in Kilowatt hours

lets say your electricity rate is 23 cents per KWH

so the approx cost per hour running the unit is 1.1 KW X 1 hour X 23 cents = 25.3 cents per KWH
if you run your unit at leas 10 hours per day it is basically $2.53 a day

that's a very simplistic calculation and would actually be not so accurate.

This not taking into consideration the thermal density and orientation of the wall/floor/roof of the cooling space, the ambient temperature and the time of day (which 10 hours) that the unit is going to be operated. There are more factors as well but let's not get into that....

The electricity usage would depend on the number and duration of times the compressor cycles and there are a lot of variables that govern this.

Postby ronsin1 » July 19th, 2013, 7:22 pm

That as well is understood however once you size the unit properly and service and maintain you energy usage will always remain low
If you do not expect high consumption

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2013, 8:42 pm

OK
but residential rate is 26c + VAT for the first 400kWh so it would be a little more (not taking into consideration temp, insulation, compressor cycles of course)

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » July 19th, 2013, 9:51 pm

My bill is $350-$400
One 12000btu split
One 110v window unit
Shower heater
Water pump
Two flat screen tv
Two laptop
PS3
Microwave
Eight bulbs
And still not even half that............buss the meter and tell them it need changing.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 19th, 2013, 10:18 pm

Our units are service on time and very thoroughly. One time we paid some idiots $400 and all they did, quite literally was remove the window unit, hose it down and put it back up. Other guy actually had stuff to clean the unit with and took his time and did a great job.

Anyways I got some advice from a kind tuner who PM'ed me. Following through with his recommendations and will see what going on after.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » July 19th, 2013, 10:28 pm

Reading this thread really opened my eyes, I don't have AC or a Water heater but I do have two refrigerators and a freezer. Everything has been updated for energy saving purposes, including lights (nothing older than 2 years teles, etc.) and my bill is $1200 - $1300 every two months WTF. When they did a meter reading it went down to $800 - $900 now it back to the old amount, really WTF.

Postby redmanjp » July 20th, 2013, 1:40 am

fridge/freezer door have any air leaks?

Postby ronsin1 » July 20th, 2013, 6:49 am

Note my bill for this period
1374317325080.jpg

pan3660

Postby pan3660 » July 24th, 2013, 10:00 am

Everyone can login to their account with T&TEC now and see what their Service Consumption History is here:

http://cwa.ttec.co.tt:8090/CSPROD_cwa/p ... e=UWAPSCON

Check it out.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 24th, 2013, 3:46 pm

I have same problem with my bill, is 1000.00 on average and nobody home during the day. I home only for a cpl hours in the night then sleep.

Re wired the whole house, dumped old appliances and now dumped water heater in exchange for a tankless unit that supposed to use 20% less power.

I think we need a way to check usage independent of the meter from T&TEC cuz i know people with similar appliances like me and their bills are half mine.

Something very Warner about this......

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » August 30th, 2013, 8:00 am

check and verify if you are being billed at commercial rate. its on the bill, carefully inspect/read

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » August 30th, 2013, 9:06 am

pioneer wrote:where sellin LED bulb?

First of all you don’t need LED bulbs to reduce your Electricity Bill.
The regular Energy Savers does the job well enough, while still providing sufficient lighting.
Look at the “Kelvin Rating” on the energy saver to determine the light intensity.

ModMania wrote:Take out d meter, install a switch to cut the meter off but still provide current to the house... Switch off meter at night and daz all

As soon as you interfere with that meter, you will be charged by T&TEC $1000.00 minimum for current stealing, since they monitor the activity of the Meter via an embedded data sim. Just Trust Me!
You will only get away with that if you living in Beetham, Laventille or Morvant...

playerskrew wrote:My bill is $350-$400
One 12000btu split
One 110v window unit
Shower heater
Water pump
Two flat screen tv
Two laptop
PS3
Microwave
Eight bulbs
And still not even half that............buss the meter and tell them it need changing.

The amount of appliances that a person has, cannot be used as an accurate determination of what there bill would be... Because someone could have One 12000 BTU AC and one water pump and pay over $1000.00 (per 2 mths).
The bill is based on USAGE not who has more appliances!
The person with just an ac and water pump could pay over $1000.00 if about 8 people using the water pump on a daily basis and the AC on most of the day and All Night... Understand?

Also once the meter is damaged and you request for it to be replaced... you have to pay $223.10, this is because the T&TEC customer is required to secure the meter safe from damage.

pan3660 wrote:Everyone can login to their account with T&TEC now and see what their Service Consumption History is here:

http://cwa.ttec.co.tt:8090/CSPROD_cwa/p ... e=UWAPSCON

Check it out.

This is a very good idea for everyone to sign up for... You can see a history of all your past bills and electricity consumption. You can even register a credit card with T&TEC and pay your bills from your PC.
Soon you will not need to register the card but just enter the Card Number and pay (like Digicel Online etc)

Be advised that there are a number of reasons for an electricity bill to increase... Do some research on the topic, it will literally pay off!

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » August 30th, 2013, 9:26 am

bluesteel29 wrote:sumbody teef ya current fadda

OP u aint find d extention cord yuh neighbour hve plug een to ur house yet :lol: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 30th, 2013, 9:43 pm

djaggs wrote:I have same problem with my bill, is 1000.00 on average and nobody home during the day. I home only for a cpl hours in the night then sleep.

I think we need a way to check usage independent of the meter from T&TEC cuz i know people with similar appliances like me and their bills are half mine.

Something very Warner about this......

similar scenes by me....

Postby goalpost » August 31st, 2013, 8:05 pm

If your meter is digital then it is one of the AMI meters. The meter readings are ACTUAL consumption since all data is automatically transmitted now. We could probably assume these readings to be accurate. So the problem may lie in the wiring of your house. Something somewhere may be leaking inconspicuously or something so.
Additionally, I think these meters are now equipped with a tamper alarm which alarms if the orientation of the meter changes.