Recommend me some good places to buy building materials...

Humes

Recommend me some good places to buy building materials...

Postby Humes » July 21st, 2013, 6:01 am

I'll be doing some renovations soon, and I wanted to go around and price materials before the work begins. What are some good hardware stores to buy materials like:

- Aluzinc roofing sheets (the flat, more modern type)
- Wood
- Paint
- Cement
- Tiles
- Bathroom fittings
- Doors, windows and burglar-proofing

I'm new to this and I'm looking to save money. I don't mind calling/e-mailing/driving around and comparing prices.

Re: Recommend me some good places to buy building materials.

Postby brams112 » July 21st, 2013, 6:40 am

Cheap thing no good,good thing no cheap.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » July 21st, 2013, 7:21 am

yee ken hardware...check yellow pages...

not ridiculous cheap buh much better than what these other big hardwares raping you with

Humes

Postby Humes » July 21st, 2013, 7:25 am

I assuming I should stay far away from Bhagwansingh's and Dansteel, right?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 21st, 2013, 7:32 am

Check the factories/ roofing companies for your sheets, lifetime roofing, damus etc

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 21st, 2013, 8:00 am

try the search button....

everything u need to know is right here on tuner....eg/....

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=444333&hilit=best+place+for+doors

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 21st, 2013, 8:02 am

Humes wrote:I assuming I should stay far away from Bhagwansingh's and Dansteel, right?

DEAD WRONG......They are the cheapest place for steel.......and their prices are competitive to those village hardwares...plus they have everything ....no need to go looking......

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2013, 9:03 am

........plus by Bhagwansinghs you get good quality material, correct guage galvanise etc.

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » July 21st, 2013, 9:21 am

Noted

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 21st, 2013, 9:56 am

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:
Humes wrote:I assuming I should stay far away from Bhagwansingh's and Dansteel, right?

DEAD WRONG......They are the cheapest place for steel.......and their prices are competitive to those village hardwares...plus they have everything .
correct and their turn over for materials and tools is higher.

Still worth it to shop around for bathroom fixtures though.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 21st, 2013, 10:50 am

B. Ramkisoon Hardware (B.R.H)
644- 2229

Tell them "stones" send yuh

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 21st, 2013, 12:17 pm

Dan no onehware will give u all u looking for.
Shop around but I suggest u find one close to you that u can depend on if u fall short of stuff and they can deliver.trust me builders are human and do forget stuff on the. List.

You can chech ramlagan in couva an also r.maye . Bhags is good as well but don't offer delivery .

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2013, 12:17 pm

there are a couple places that advertise in the papers every week and sometimes are a little cheaper than bhags but a dollar or two here and there may not make much sense depending on transport distance etc

ggi is one of the cheapest for roofing but you have to pickup and the warehouse is very slow
you would have to have labour to tote the sheets etc vs if you hire a roofing company to roll out the sheets onsite and put up one time.

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 12:56 pm

you mad oh wha?

Those smaller hardwares would take forever to deliver. They also like to charge you for things they do not have in stock then make you wait even longer, and would not offer a refund.

Save yourself the headache and shop at bhagwansingh's.

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2013, 1:32 pm

Stop using common letters to start sentences!

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 1:46 pm

nah   

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 21st, 2013, 1:50 pm

if is 1 ting bout bhags\dan they do have everything & its true u have to pay for delivery which is efficient though , same day or next day : they doh stick

like said above their prices might be higher with certain things but lower with others & time\energy searching may or may not be worth it

d smaller hardwares may give u a discount if u buy plenty of certain items , bhags dem u cant ask for no bess price , they might get u a slight ease up on transport cost

also a good idea to make friends with whichever nearby hardware cause like said above too u always running back\forth for something or d other ......

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 2:18 pm

Also the men who offering transport park up in bhags carpark usually cheaper than bhags itself.

Let bhags deliver their galvanize though, most galvanize they have to order it depending on the gauge, color and length...they will drop it as soon as they get it.

Everything else, let the husslers do it.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 1st, 2013, 5:32 pm

Thanks for the tips!

Postby pioneer » August 1st, 2013, 6:33 pm

hadda mix ah concrete fadda

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » August 1st, 2013, 6:37 pm

R MAYNE hardware good prices ....located about 3 mins after the triangle in chase village

livewire

Postby livewire » August 2nd, 2013, 9:29 am

MonsterPower wrote:
You can chech ramlagan in couva an also r.maye . Bhags is good as well but don't offer delivery .

I can confirm Ramlagan, plus they offered C.O.D. and 30 day credit at the time I used them. Delivery time was reasonable too, some times even same day.

Postby pioneer » August 2nd, 2013, 10:05 am

Sorry I cya handle hardware you hadda stannup behind ah counter or burglar proof and talk to some lazy idiot with an attitude

Postby Ted_v2 » August 2nd, 2013, 10:09 am

woss if its a woman on her cell.

Postby crazybalhead » August 2nd, 2013, 10:12 am

Somewhere like Bhagwansigh is really your best bet. Establish a relationship with one of the sales people, they will be very helpful.

For smaller items, just get them at your nearest hardware.

For wood, anywhere you go, make sure and be there when they are loading, make sure it is a straight, and free of defects. A wet wood is not necessarily a good wood either. You want to feel the wood to make sure it is not too wend, otherwise it will warp easily and a bent wood is not a good wood when you are doing your erection.

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 2nd, 2013, 10:23 am

I have 50 lengths of 2x4 lumber for $30.00 each used just once. 5 brand new sheets of 3/4 ply @ 190.00 each and 22 lengths of 2x2 brand new for $40.00 each. Save yourself a bit of cash.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » August 2nd, 2013, 10:30 am

Just finish building my house 2 months now.
Dansteel and Bhagawansingh's have the best steel, and wood prices....their front end Plumming fixtures are somewhat expensive. you can look around for that.
for cement it relatively the same 59$ a sack throughout the country.
for aggregate...gravel and sand and even cement choose a hardware closer to where you build for free transport you save thousands on transport.

tiles...Tile Warehouse ..Chasevillage.

Paint depends your budget....mix paint changes from the firm...3-4 yrs ..keep extra gallons for touch if necessary.

livewire

Postby livewire » August 2nd, 2013, 10:39 am

pioneer wrote:Sorry I cya handle hardware you hadda stannup behind ah counter or burglar proof and talk to some lazy idiot with an attitude

Totally agree with you on this... That is why I recommended Ramlagan, after the initial visit every other time we just called and placed the order and the items delivered within the same or next day. Only went in to pay the bills for larger orders or C.O.D for smaller items.

This was a few years back, so I don't know how things have changed now. Plus delivery was free.

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » August 4th, 2013, 7:39 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Somewhere like Bhagwansigh is really your best bet. Establish a relationship with one of the sales people, they will be very helpful.

For smaller items, just get them at your nearest hardware.

For wood, anywhere you go, make sure and be there when they are loading, make sure it is a straight, and free of defects. A wet wood is not necessarily a good wood either. You want to feel the wood to make sure it is not too wend, otherwise it will warp easily and a bent wood is not a good wood when you are doing your erection.

Bhag is the best with prices. Good range of products. The Lumber you should stay away from, try Price Master in Pasea for lumber. Kelvin Ghany is a wholesaler but he is good for the doors, knobs etc. If you building home "country style" like me within 2 weeks you will know where the deal are and one hardware will not give you ALL the deals. Or and try Home Store behind Farfan - good close out deals.

Postby brams112 » August 4th, 2013, 9:40 pm

mitch1980 wrote:Just finish building my house 2 months now.
Dansteel and Bhagawansingh's have the best steel, and wood prices....their front end Plumming fixtures are somewhat expensive. you can look around for that.
for cement it relatively the same 59$ a sack throughout the country.
for aggregate...gravel and sand and even cement choose a hardware closer to where you build for free transport you save thousands on transport.

tiles...Tile Warehouse ..Chasevillage.

Paint depends your budget....mix paint changes from the firm...3-4 yrs ..keep extra gallons for touch if necessary.

Pallie cement not selling for 59dollars throughout the country eh.Most places is 55.Running down prices don't always work out,dansteel and bhags make back their money in transport.