if that is what they were closed for and they have the real health inspectors report then publish it in the press! It's their business suffering.Team Loco wrote:sad though. when they closed hap hing chinese i knew the owner so i stopped by. she was closed for the following:
1) chair rubbing on wall leaving black marks
2) dust in between two chillers
3) extractor fan has oil on blades
4) one emplyee food badge was expired by a mth.
i agree with the extractor fan thing. thata a fire hazard.
problem is the media generalised and said they all had pork inbox and filthy this and that. i saw the health inspector report myself. now the business is sseing trouble. small customer turnout
streetbeastINC. wrote:Hear this scenario rotting meat an liver in a malfunctioning freezer bottled water and other bottled drinks stored in the same area with blood water all over it ...its offered for sale to the public in a popular food court ..shou.dnt the owner be charged for as well as pub hlt infraction, invol. Manslaughter..
Doubles, food outlets shut down
By Vashtee Achibar Friday, August 30 2013
Black pot: Public health Inspector III Alexander Ramnath inspects a blackened pot used for frying doubles at Ali's Doubles on Harris Street, San Fernando.
Persons purchasing food in San Fernando will soon be able to tell when the premises had been inspected by the Public Health Department.
Additionally San Fernando Mayor Dr Navi Muradali, in conjunction with the Public Health Department, will soon launch “DineSafe, City of San Fernando”, a programme with the aim to safeguard the public and assist restaurants owners.
This latest initiative by the City Corporation will provide restaurant owners, food vendors, and groceries, with an inspection certificate to be placed in full view of the public so persons may know the last date of inspection. Additionally, the Mayor said, the City’s Hotline, 211, will be displayed so the public may report any health violations to the Public Health Department.
The toll-free service is available 24 hours daily, and will ensure consumers can confidentially report any restaurant, road-side vendor, or grocery, for poor sanitation or improper food preparation and handling.
Yesterday two more restaurants were ordered closed by the Public Health Department of the San Fernando City Corporation as it continues its crackdown on errant restaurant owners. Ali’s Doubles, on Harris Street, and Nature’s Restaurant and Bar, on Coffee Street, were ordered to close and clean-up for major public health violations.
Public Health Inspectors (PHI), led by Alexander Ramnath, PHI III, visited the restaurants and issued clean-up orders. Ramnath said eating establishments will only reopen when all remedial works are completed and re-inspection takes place.
More than 70 places selling or preparing food including restaurants, road-side vending areas, and groceries, have been inspected over the past few months and many have been asked to close and clean-up before continuing to sell to the public.
In response to the poor and unsanitary conditions in the city’s restaurants and groceries, Muradali said, “The time has come for consumers to become more vigilant and report improper food preparation and handling and also for restaurant owners to get their act together and protect the public’s interest.”
He said the “DineSafe” programme will afford greater transparency to the public and offer restaurant owners and grocers the opportunity to improve their standards regarding food safety.”
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,182923.html
DFC wrote:I used to have real standards in eating, but after years of eating street food by force I kinda de-sensitized to unsanitary food. Also I got an iron stomach.
I went to buy a slice of cake in a grimy street shop in a foreign country once , I said I wanted the cake slice with raisins in it. The guy took up the piece with his black smudge finger and put it in a plastic bag for me. Lo and behold the raisins fly away.
So what do you think I do, eat it or dump it?
Lol
playerskrew wrote:My wife does cook. Haha
j.o.e wrote:playerskrew wrote:My wife does cook. Haha
very good too
pioneer wrote:Can the media be sued for publishing crap?
j.o.e wrote:playerskrew wrote:My wife does cook. Haha
very good too
K74T wrote:j.o.e wrote:playerskrew wrote:My wife does cook. Haha
very good too
Ent, does cut real bess