The $320 car paint that changes colour with the weather

Postby stev » October 12th, 2013, 1:09 am

What you guys think? if it lasted years instead of months....would u paint your car with it?

Remember as a kid when you yearned for those crazy Hot Wheels cars that changed color when you dunked them in hot and cold water? It was about as much fun as you could have, short of striking first in a game of roshambo.

It's the kind of fun you just can't have as an adult. Fortunately, a small UK body shop called Auto Kandy claims to have created a solution for those still dreaming of multi-colored Mustangs: Paint your car in thermochromic paint, and have yourself a full-size Hot Wheels color shifter.

As the video below documents, the car used to showcase the wacky paintwork is an orange Nissan Skyline R33. By pouring cold water on the car, the paint transforms from orange to deep purple. While lacking smoke, the heat-sensitive paint adjusts its coloring via pigments, changing color as the temperature swings. The whole process costs just $320, but it will only last four to six months, due to excessive damage from UV light exposure.

http://autos.yahoo.com/blogs/motoramic/ ... 43894.html

kracky1

Re: The $320 car paint that changes colour with the weather

Postby kracky1 » October 12th, 2013, 1:19 am

Imagine the reactions when yuh going dong de road an ah hard rain fall!!

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 12th, 2013, 1:23 am

wa go happen if it gee too much fire?

it go decrease the life?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 12th, 2013, 1:32 am

probably will not change colour much here since the rain is not that cold

spanish

Postby spanish » October 12th, 2013, 6:59 am

I wouldn't do it. That car looking like it need washing.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 12th, 2013, 7:53 am

Also not going to change color evenly. Just going to look like paint splashed on the car.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 12th, 2013, 8:00 am

dat madd!!!!

Postby Team Loco » October 12th, 2013, 8:02 am

Licence office would fail the car

Postby K74T » October 12th, 2013, 8:08 am

Daz ting for carshow fadda

heavyweight280

Postby heavyweight280 » October 12th, 2013, 8:16 am

1. Rob bank
2. Stop by carwash
3. Drive the speed limit all the way home

youthman

Postby youthman » October 12th, 2013, 8:42 am

Way selling dat? Can I get a contact num?

Postby cinco » October 12th, 2013, 10:08 am

That would annoy me

Postby Gem_in_i » October 12th, 2013, 11:14 am

I could do with some nailpolish with that sorta effect.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 12th, 2013, 11:23 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Also not going to change color evenly. Just going to look like paint splashed on the car.

same ting i thinking therefore it will look like toots ..... :lol:

Postby DVSTT » October 12th, 2013, 11:46 am

Relll people gonna lose their car when rain fall....

Cid

Postby Cid » October 12th, 2013, 12:58 pm

Licensing office eh go allow it.... Wuh colour u puttin on d certified copy? Blue but candy pink when rain fall

Postby cinco » October 12th, 2013, 1:22 pm

Cid wrote:Licensing office eh go allow it.... Wuh colour u puttin on d certified copy? Blue but candy pink when rain fall

All pearl "chameleon" colours are illegal and u ever see someone geh charged for that?

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2013, 3:58 pm

Go licensing office when rain not falling .

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » October 12th, 2013, 9:45 pm

What if the rain just drizzles?

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2013, 8:18 am

Ocifah , dah straight'na sell meh some cheap paint, boidogboidanboijed.

racy lady

Postby racy lady » October 14th, 2013, 5:25 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:I could do with some nailpolish with that sorta effect.

^ oh but there are :)

If there is a uv coat for nail polish can't the same be applied to create a clear coat for the cars? That is if anyone wants to keep that type of paint more permanently... :lol: