i jus pull 2 lengths with my hands outstretched (about 12 ft) 30lb line
is that too much?

and yeah, you do get more hits than others who using mono

30hz

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby 30hz » October 15th, 2013, 6:33 pm

xfactor wrote:
30hz wrote:Got this today. Tuners were asking for it, bought this for my personal use.

Does it work?
Any tips?

Berkley vanish works great, I use it to make leaders for banking. It a bit stiffer than regular nylon. I change my leaders every trip i make. I use with running sinkers and also to make 2 and 3 hook spellers.

I can attest to the fact that i out-fish everybody else on d boat, and i catch a wider variety of species too, fish just don't see it.

direct cinch to hooks or snap/swivel??

Postby meccalli » October 15th, 2013, 6:52 pm

Tbh, i never see any difference with bites with fluorocarbon, i used seaguar, high seas and the zuri hybrid. And the only reason i ever buy flourocarbon is that i like the way it behaves for leader i.e sinking more naturally while freelining, less stretch and the abrasion resistance. If i trying for leader shy fish muttons and mangroves, i just use a smaller diameter and a low spectrum color.Line must also be very clear, not scuffed. Fluoro also has some issues i'm not comfortable with when it comes to bigger fish and my love of braid, cuz when fluoro stretches, it stays stretched.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 15th, 2013, 8:14 pm

meccalli wrote:Tbh, i never see any difference with bites with fluorocarbon, i used seaguar, high seas and the zuri hybrid. And the only reason i ever buy flourocarbon is that i like the way it behaves for leader i.e sinking more naturally while freelining, less stretch and the abrasion resistance. If i trying for leader shy fish muttons and mangroves, i just use a smaller diameter and a low spectrum color.Line must also be very clear, not scuffed. Fluoro also has some issues i'm not comfortable with when it comes to bigger fish and my love of braid, cuz when fluoro stretches, it stays stretched.

That is why i change my fluoro leader every fishing trip. It only works once it has no scuffs. But it works well for me, especially when the water is relatively clear.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 15th, 2013, 8:17 pm

X_Factor wrote:what length you all use?

i jus pull 2 lengths with my hands outstretched (about 12 ft) 30lb line
is that too much?

and yeah, you do get more hits than others who using mono

I usually go much shorter, about 18 inches to 24 inches, the length of my leader when i using running sinker. But I guess it depends on the application.

Postby meccalli » October 15th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Exactly, alot of people just leave scuffed fluoro and keep using it. Once its nicked, its very visible, more so than mono. When i tie on, i attach braid to a mono topshot for stretch and then maybe 15-20 ft of fluoro, no terminal tackle either albright or pr knots depending on what diameter. makes no sense using fluoro and tying setta big swivel and conspicuous hooks. If you get a good fish on and the line gets nicked/scuffed up, just clip 4 inches and retie. :mrgreen:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 15th, 2013, 8:31 pm

15-20ft of fluoro? U hav real money hoss...u ent really need all that but all depends on fishing conditions and location...i saw a great vid explaining wat length an wen to use fluoro...i will post the vid wen i get home...

Postby meccalli » October 15th, 2013, 9:01 pm

lol, not really, if i used to fish often and had to change leader often maybe. The beauty in a long uninterrupted leader is that it's much easier to retie than make an entire leader rig, plus i use a running swivel clipped to a bank sinker so it never chaffes the leader.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 15th, 2013, 9:06 pm

It bot hard to quickly tie a rig but i always hav a few on hand...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 16th, 2013, 9:07 am

pugboy wrote:cast net

When and where can we meet to exchange?

Looking to hit the south coast for the weekend and would like to try some fresh bait!

krazed

Postby krazed » October 16th, 2013, 2:57 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
pugboy wrote:cast net

When and where can we meet to exchange?

Looking to hit the south coast for the weekend and would like to try some fresh bait!

Sorry dude.. you a little late i took it already.. great deal

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 16th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Cool scene. anyway got some squid for my weekend.

reelman

Postby reelman » October 16th, 2013, 8:31 pm

just saw this what you think about the price.... is ok to buy

D.Mankee & Co. Ltd.

15 FT SURF FISHING COMBO $ 560.00
ROD - 15 FT FIBERGLASS/GRAPHITE TUFF TIP 3PC ROD
REEL - 270 ENCORE 2 BEARING SHAKESPEARE REEL

Like · · Share
ttw_surf.jpg

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » October 16th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Wow. 15ft for that price ain't bad at all. Most of the experienced guys here buy from mankee and they say his prices can't be beat. So go for it man

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 16th, 2013, 9:24 pm

Yea, i stand behind mankee for the best prices and info...have to check him for a new rod for a baitcasting reel i have and also a new reel for my terez rod i bought recently...

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 17th, 2013, 4:36 am

reelman wrote:just saw this what you think about the price.... is ok to buy

D.Mankee & Co. Ltd.

15 FT SURF FISHING COMBO $ 560.00
ROD - 15 FT FIBERGLASS/GRAPHITE TUFF TIP 3PC ROD
REEL - 270 ENCORE 2 BEARING SHAKESPEARE REEL

Like · · Share

bess rod!!!

R. Williams in Grande have the same rod@ the same price. I was considering getting one too, but decided i should go with something shorter

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 18th, 2013, 9:15 am

Never seen a higher rating using this fishing app. Like today and this weekend the bites will be good
Screenshot_2013-10-18-09-06-40.png

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » October 18th, 2013, 9:21 am

What's d name of that app

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 18th, 2013, 9:36 am

kevin5211 wrote:What's d name of that app

Fishing and Hunting Solunar Time
on Android

gives ratings for today and tomorrow. pro version gives further ahead forcasts

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » October 18th, 2013, 9:45 am

Heading north coast tmr to look for some kings and maybe a dolly or two... I'll tell you if that app is any good give or take a few other conditions lol

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 18th, 2013, 10:11 am

45 mins normally on either side of the time dat either moonrise or moonset does be best surf or shore fishing, never really had much luck offshore around dem times. Moonset and moonrise are always when d tide is falling and the strongest push of d current at dat time.

When it have full moon or new moon periods and the sunrise does be around the time of moonset, dat does be a real bess time to fish. In manzan dat translates to cavalli and pompano.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 18th, 2013, 10:33 am

30hz wrote:Never seen a higher rating using this fishing app. Like today and this weekend the bites will be good
The attachment Screenshot_2013-10-18-09-06-40.png is no longer available

Lol checked that on my other app and saw 100%

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382106822.320064.jpg

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 19th, 2013, 9:06 pm

Anybody fish today?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 19th, 2013, 9:19 pm

proton17 wrote:45 mins normally on either side of the time dat either moonrise or moonset does be best surf or shore fishing, never really had much luck offshore around dem times. Moonset and moonrise are always when d tide is falling and the strongest push of d current at dat time.

When it have full moon or new moon periods and the sunrise does be around the time of moonset, dat does be a real bess time to fish. In manzan dat translates to cavalli and pompano.

Quoted for truth!8-)

Did some surf fishing this week. Got lippie up to 6lbs on the two days I went. Got about 6 each day and was fishing the falling tide. Around moonrise was when I got all the hits. Managed a couple cavali on lures from the beach as well.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » October 19th, 2013, 9:37 pm

Any chance of you disclosing the location for someone still to catch a fish from shore

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 19th, 2013, 10:02 pm

kevin5211 wrote:Any chance of you disclosing the location for someone still to catch a fish from shore

Lol, sure pal. Rust st in guaya. Go to the end of the road and park. Walk to beach right there. Its the road after the big bend past the pilot river. Pm if u still unsure.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 19th, 2013, 10:04 pm

U talkin bout subahg?

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 19th, 2013, 11:20 pm

Dat road I think real bad, I went there with a car and was not a good idea, uphill and I think a drive downhill, but good fishing must obviously be after some good ketch ass :)

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » October 19th, 2013, 11:27 pm

Sabot wrote:
kevin5211 wrote:Any chance of you disclosing the location for someone still to catch a fish from shore

Lol, sure pal. Rust st in guaya. Go to the end of the road and park. Walk to beach right there. Its the road after the big bend past the pilot river. Pm if u still unsure.

Thanks man

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 19th, 2013, 11:44 pm

ryan99tt wrote:U talkin bout subahg?

Not certain of what its called, just a random sometimish beach i check out. Has lots of seaweed though and be prepared to lose tackle.