The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

src1983

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby src1983 » October 24th, 2013, 11:46 am

I actually prefer whatsapp. BBM was crap then and still crap now and yes it's working on my phone

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 24th, 2013, 11:55 am

no need to be all fox n grapes about bbm. iit's the best thing since sliced bread. secure encrypted chat, with attachments, and voice and video chat features on the way. bbm is the future. get an adroid lol

Postby S_2NR » October 24th, 2013, 11:56 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
pioneer wrote:Pretty sure when whatsapp launch their update that will kill the bbm off.

Unless their update provides better emoticons, moving from phone numbers to add to pin system, a status update tab and not having to connect to a server before allowing one to send a message then I think not.

Oh lord. U still fighting Bbm down. Give it up na. :lol:

Skuld

Postby Skuld » October 24th, 2013, 12:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
pioneer wrote:Pretty sure when whatsapp launch their update that will kill the bbm off.

Unless their update provides better emoticons, moving from phone numbers to add to pin system, a status update tab and not having to connect to a server before allowing one to send a message then I think not.

Oh lord. U still fighting Bbm down. Give it up na. :lol:

^ Ent. There's the Official Blackberry thread for him to tout his "superior" BBM app.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2013, 12:36 pm

Funny I thought we discussing anything apple related in here. Including apps on iOS.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 24th, 2013, 1:24 pm

I prefer whatsapp where you can just have a number and chat.
This PIN thing sucks.

BBM also does not landscape and THAT sucks.

The only thing I miss with a BBM was the ability to add reminders in groups that notifies multiple people. That was cool.

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 24th, 2013, 2:13 pm

Also I find it annoying that when a pic is posted to a group you have to leave the chat and go to group pics to comment on a pic...

This to me seems backward

Postby S_2NR » October 24th, 2013, 2:16 pm

I think the best feature of Bbm is the built in time machine which allows you to talk to ppl stuck in the past.

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 24th, 2013, 2:19 pm

S_2NR wrote:I think the best feature of Bbm is the built in time machine which allows you to talk to ppl stuck in the past.

Lol

Skuld

Postby Skuld » October 24th, 2013, 2:30 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Funny I thought we discussing anything apple related in here. Including apps on iOS.

iOS apps worthy of a discussion sure - there are tons; not crap made by a failing company.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2013, 2:36 pm

src1983 wrote:Also I find it annoying that when a pic is posted to a group you have to leave the chat and go to group pics to comment on a pic...

This to me seems backward

I prefer the separate group pics. Comments are relevant to the pic and are easy to find. Depending on the length of the chat you would have to scroll through alot of messages to get back to relevant pic comments within whatsapp. Also not everyone in the chat posts relevant pic comments so the convo can become disjointed.

At this point the differences are minor and people will easily switch between the two. Alot of people just used whatsapp because bbm wasn't available on other platforms as opposed to really wanting to use whatsapp. Those are the people who are basically switching back to bbm.

Can anyone tell me why whatsapp needs to connect to a server before it allows me to press the send button? Is there a work around for this on iOS? I would prefer to be able to send messages when whatsapp can't connect and let it sort itself out in the background later when it can connect while I do other things on my phone.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 24th, 2013, 3:09 pm

DJ Q wrote:I prefer whatsapp where you can just have a number and chat.
This PIN thing sucks.

BBM also does not landscape and THAT sucks.

The only thing I miss with a BBM was the ability to add reminders in groups that notifies multiple people. That was cool.

This, was way nicer a little reminder popped up

Postby pioneer » October 24th, 2013, 9:10 pm

Raptor, how much for the new ipad mini with retina?...wifi

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 24th, 2013, 9:30 pm

pioneer wrote:Raptor, how much for the new ipad mini with retina?...wifi

$2200

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » October 24th, 2013, 9:59 pm

RapToR wrote:

$2200

Wow Amazing price!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 25th, 2013, 8:00 am

RapToR wrote:

$2200

How much for a MacBook Air w/512GB SSD, 8GB RAM & i7 processor?
I think my next laptop will be a mac

shandyman

Postby shandyman » October 25th, 2013, 8:14 am

RapToR wrote:

$2200

How is that price possible? You're selling cheaper than apple's website.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 25th, 2013, 8:26 am

shandyman wrote:
RapToR wrote:

$2200

this is the model for $2200

MD528E/A (Model subject to change)

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 25th, 2013, 8:27 am

DJ Q wrote:
RapToR wrote:

$2200

How much for a MacBook Air w/512GB SSD, 8GB RAM & i7 processor?
I think my next laptop will be a mac

PM me for quote

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 25th, 2013, 9:55 am

RapToR wrote:
shandyman wrote:
RapToR wrote:

$2200

That's the model number of the outgoing non retina iPad mini

Skuld

Postby Skuld » October 25th, 2013, 3:23 pm

^ Lol I figured. No way he can charge that price for a USD $499 iPad mini w/Retina.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 25th, 2013, 5:02 pm

IPad air looks cool.

Skuld

Postby Skuld » October 25th, 2013, 7:53 pm

Quick question: For those who own both an iPad and iPhone, is the iPad just a very expensive ebook/pdf/magazine reader for you or do you have other uses for it?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 26th, 2013, 1:20 am

2WNBoost wrote:
RapToR wrote:
shandyman wrote:
RapToR wrote:

$2200

That's the model number of the outgoing non retina iPad mini

also i same price for the NEW retina ipad mini

$2200

confirmed my cost today

Postby K74T » October 26th, 2013, 5:29 am

Sweet, getting one for sure.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 26th, 2013, 6:26 am

anyone having problems with sending voice notes on whatsapp?

anytime i try it keeps telling me application error, failed to save audio note

iOS 7.0.3 whatsapp 2.11.4

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2013, 7:13 am

Skuld wrote:Quick question: For those who own both an iPad and iPhone, is the iPad just a very expensive ebook/pdf/magazine reader for you or do you have other uses for it?
the iPad has many more uses over an iPhone especially that it is considerably easier to browse the web, watch movies and tv, use apps and games on the larger screen.

Skuld

Postby Skuld » October 26th, 2013, 10:11 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the iPad has many more uses over an iPhone especially that it is considerably easier to browse the web, watch movies and tv, use apps and games on the larger screen.

My MacBook Air takes care of the first 2 tasks easily, but I see your point with games on the larger screen (Infinity Blade, PvZ 2, etc.)...hopefully, they'll release the next iPhone with a screen larger than 4".

Postby M_2NR » October 26th, 2013, 10:46 am

With 7.0.3 i turned on Reduce motion and Increase contrast and the 4S finally feels ok. For i4 users, if you do that, you can see a bump in performance.

It's sad that I had to use this thing for a month on 7.0.2 and had me wishing I stayed on Android.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 26th, 2013, 11:06 am

iPhone 4 doesn't use parallax effect so reduced motion isn't an option. The 4 is just under real pressure in general.