Shield inside of headlights

Fearless

Shield inside of headlights

Postby Fearless » November 6th, 2013, 9:15 am

Anyone ever removed the shield located inside of some vehicles headlights? is there any adverse effects of doing this? Just looking for some feedback.

Re: Shield inside of headlights

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 6th, 2013, 2:13 pm

Most of the bits inside a headlight are there to ensure proper reflection and aim. Removing a piece can cause dark spots or worse.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » November 6th, 2013, 7:53 pm

Every part in a vehicle has a purpose

Take a read

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Headlamp
image.jpg
image.jpg (39.87 KiB) Viewed 3763 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (42.16 KiB) Viewed 3763 times

Fearless

Postby Fearless » November 6th, 2013, 8:52 pm

I think i may have explained my self wrong? From you diagram above, which shows the light bulb in the reflector, the shield i'm talking about is located in the reflector and the light bulb is inserted into it

Postby BrotherHood » November 6th, 2013, 10:28 pm

I don't think you want to remove that shield. The heat from the bulb would just burn the heck out of your headlamp and that shield acts as a reflector to emit the right amount of light and in a more user/road friendly way.

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » November 7th, 2013, 12:49 am

Its called the casper shield....from what i understand it prevents the glare from ur headlights which may blind oncomming vehicles.

Postby cinco » November 7th, 2013, 12:51 am

It also affects light output you wont have a spread beam as much the light will jus scatter

hindian

Postby hindian » November 7th, 2013, 7:43 am

Good info here, I always wondered what that little thingamajig was for...

Fearless

Postby Fearless » November 7th, 2013, 8:37 am

@Brotherhood, i thought it reflected light, but the inside of it is black, so it would seem it would really absorb light than reflect it. @neocyst i know what a casper shield is and what it does, but that's not the shield i'm talking about. They are usually in JDM headlights, like b15 and ad wagon etc.

Postby cinco » November 7th, 2013, 11:24 am

Fearless wrote:@Brotherhood, i thought it reflected light, but the inside of it is black, so it would seem it would really absorb light than reflect it. @neocyst i know what a casper shield is and what it does, but that's not the shield i'm talking about. They are usually in JDM headlights, like b15 and ad wagon etc.

its black to absorb the heat from the bulb
if you notice the tip of your bulb is also black/silver which has the same use.

Fearless

Postby Fearless » November 7th, 2013, 12:53 pm

@cinco, if that is so, wouldn't the shield have no use? and also, i always thought that the tip was there to prevent "direct light" from being emitted from the bulb. Meaning light will only be emitted from the sides of the bulbs so that they can be reflected(from the reflectors) downwards?

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 8th, 2013, 3:20 pm

Based on your responses thus far, i would say just go ahead and remove it.

You'll figure it out later.

Postby BrotherHood » November 8th, 2013, 3:36 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Based on your responses thus far, i would say just go ahead and remove it.

You'll figure it out later.

this

Best post in thread.

Postby cinco » November 8th, 2013, 3:39 pm

Op wah yuh want to take it out for in the first place?

Fearless

Postby Fearless » November 9th, 2013, 12:13 am

@Strugglerzinc, just looking for feedback, and asking questions, and all my responses are questions. @ cinco was planning on putting in some HID, and was advised that, the shield affects the HID performance, and it would be best to remove it, so instead of just taking it out, wanted some feedback or more info.

Postby cinco » November 9th, 2013, 12:20 am

Fearless wrote:@Strugglerzinc, just looking for feedback, and asking questions, and all my responses are questions. @ cinco was planning on putting in some HID, and was advised that, the shield affects the HID performance, and it would be best to remove it, so instead of just taking it out, wanted some feedback or more info.

Oh god you gonna dazzle people with hids in stock headlights dont do it

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 9th, 2013, 1:29 am

Retrofit your lights

Postby BrotherHood » November 9th, 2013, 10:47 am

cinco wrote:
Fearless wrote:@Strugglerzinc, just looking for feedback, and asking questions, and all my responses are questions. @ cinco was planning on putting in some HID, and was advised that, the shield affects the HID performance, and it would be best to remove it, so instead of just taking it out, wanted some feedback or more info.

Oh god you gonna dazzle people with hids in stock headlights dont do it

Fearless, a retrofitted headlight with HID's is the best combination but if for whatever reason of yours, you choose to put the HID in your stock/OEM headlight, ensure that the beams are angled at it lowest point so that you don't blind and distract other road users, and also so that you don't become a nuisance on the roads at night.
It works for me but it's a temporary 'upgrade' until I do the retrofit this Christmas :D

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 9th, 2013, 11:28 am

See, he didn't explain the whole story. The advice would be different.

Retrofits would be the best solution as stated. HIDs in a stock housing are bling and blindness for the most part.

Fearless

Postby Fearless » November 9th, 2013, 12:22 pm

ok cool, thanks guys. another question @Brotherhood, the HID i got, has a casper shield on it, would i still need to angle it to it's lowest point?

Postby cinco » November 9th, 2013, 12:24 pm

The hid with the casper shield is lo beam only?

Fearless

Postby Fearless » November 9th, 2013, 3:46 pm

Bi-xenon, shield is there for the low beam, but rotates out the way when switched to high beam.

Postby BrotherHood » November 9th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Fearless wrote:ok cool, thanks guys. another question @Brotherhood, the HID i got, has a casper shield on it, would i still need to angle it to it's lowest point?

Yea. That's H4 type you have there. Still, you need to aim the beams to it's lowest point.

Fearless

Postby Fearless » November 10th, 2013, 9:40 am

ok cool, thanks