BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby brams112 » November 11th, 2013, 10:03 pm

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Crescent-CX6PT20-Pass-Through-Ratchet-20-Piece/dp/B009L8GEPM/ref=pd_cp_hi_0

liking that design

Craftsman got those also,goes under another name though,cant remember it off hand.

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2013, 10:08 pm

^ posted in the wrong thread tho
multi tasking FTL

Postby brams112 » November 11th, 2013, 10:21 pm

X_Factor wrote:^ posted in the wrong thread tho
multi tasking FTL

:lol: Ok,got the name,its called universal max axess mts.

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2013, 10:22 pm

brams112 wrote:For me,it takes almost two hours to clean down my gas grill that is the same size as the one aba posted,as for coals,i just fire it up after dusting out all the ashes and pass a steel brush on the grill untill it is clean,with the hot coals burning out all the stuck on sauce.

Could just remove the grill grates and pressure wash dey mc not so?

Postby brams112 » November 11th, 2013, 10:33 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
brams112 wrote:For me,it takes almost two hours to clean down my gas grill that is the same size as the one aba posted,as for coals,i just fire it up after dusting out all the ashes and pass a steel brush on the grill untill it is clean,with the hot coals burning out all the stuck on sauce.

Yeah, :lol: the drip pan and burner plates plus all the oil splashes all over the insides takes time to clean :lol.

Postby Dave » November 16th, 2013, 7:54 am

Some good non stick cooking spray before will help clean up after
Oven cleaners also melt the grease afterwards

Postby SR » November 16th, 2013, 8:03 am

bought this last week on sale $196 in walmart

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Black-Decker- ... r/21958112

Postby SR » November 16th, 2013, 8:15 am

also picked up some of these
http://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/qtensils-sm ... 0112370763

The Qtensils Smoker Tube is custom-made from stainless steel. This specially engineered smoker tube is designed for maximum smoke. Using the included brackets, the smoker tube fits between the burner deflector bars of gas grills. The Qtensils Smoker Tube also comes with a unique handle designed for quick removal or to replace the smoker tube.

To use the Qtensils Smoker Tube, first soak wood chips for 15 minutes or more with water, beer, wine or other liquid of your choice. Drain the wood chips and place in the smoker tube, close the lid and use the handle to place it on the grill or directly on the burner deflector bars. Once smoking, move the smoker tube to the top of the grill for slow smoking. For the best smoke flavour, cook with the grill lid closed.

Hitla

Postby Hitla » December 1st, 2013, 11:26 pm

gas grill, brisk movements......... or should i say LPG converted...

Postby Redman » December 8th, 2013, 8:03 am

I line the drip pans etc with foil-peel and throw away.

There also is a wire brush that fills with water -immediately after youre done scrub the grill with that and the steam/wire brush comb does a good quick job.Leave the grill on and closed to burn any excess moisture.

The valve stems on the propane tanks both broke after coming back from filling-I cant go back because I actually filled them months ago and didnt use until last night.

Any advice on where I can get them repaired-I now have 2 full tanks with broken valves-not a good scene.
Im in Sando

Thanks
Last edited by Redman on December 8th, 2013, 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » December 8th, 2013, 8:06 am

er.. ent bbq must have coal?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 8th, 2013, 3:06 pm

Redman wrote:

I line the drip pans etc with foil-peel and throw away.

There also is a wire brush that fills with water -immediately after youre done scrub the grill with that and the steam/wire brush comb does a good quick job.Leave the grill on and closed to burn any excess moisture.

The valve stems on the propane tanks both broke after coming back from filling-I cant go back because I actually filled them months ago and didnt use until last night.

Any advice on where I can get them repaired-I now have 2 full tanks with broken valves-not a good scene.
Im in Sando

Thanks

post pics but sounds like nuttin a pliars wont open

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2013, 7:55 am

The stems broke-I tried to open with a vise grip and they snapped.

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2013, 7:17 pm

does just feel to bbq when yuh have a gas grill eh

Postby X_Factor » December 10th, 2013, 8:20 pm

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=545607

if anyone interested....
i personally have the same set and it works sweet!, really strong

Postby brams112 » December 10th, 2013, 8:30 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

Was talking about the inside,all around the burners and around,all times before grilling is Pam spray all over the place,grill grates washes out in kitchen sink easy :lol: .

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2013, 8:36 pm

anybody here ever fry a turkey ?
I looking to attempt this next week, supposed to be no turning back to oven turkey

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 10th, 2013, 8:54 pm

pugboy wrote:anybody here ever fry a turkey ?
I looking to attempt this next week, supposed to be no turning back to oven turkey

I fried about 20 Turkeys over the years.. You are correct! Once you fry one, you will never go back to the oven. I'll post pics & my preferred method in a few.
BTW, I did a spatchcock turkey in the green egg a few weeks ago. It came out just as good as a fried bird.

Postby maj. tom » December 11th, 2013, 2:17 am

http://www.butterball.com/how-tos/deep-fry-a-turkey

just make sure it's completely thawed or you may end up with a spewed hot oil disaster.

Postby Chimera » December 20th, 2013, 9:59 am

padna pay 2300 for this in bhagwansingh yesterday

had to christen it one time

jsr

Postby jsr » April 24th, 2014, 6:44 am

may be soon working on a project to make briquettes. Would anyone be interested?

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2014, 7:20 am

I explored this idea last year in depth as the price of charcoal has been going up.

if the price is right people will always be interested,
right now imported kingsford is a bit expensive,
$105/bag in pricesmart and they only have the bad one with kerosene smell.

I made briquettes last year, I had a bucket of charcoal dust/fragments I had collected from the ends of Guyanese charcoal.
Mixed it with a cornstarch slurry and used a piece of pipe to compact them and let them dry.

You can import a machine from india which will press them out.

I would use cheap dog rice boiled down to a liquid make the starch binder.
The main issue is to get the charcoal dust, you could make your own but would need to build
a gasifier kiln to burn the wood without oxygen to turn it into charcoal.
There are people who do it with steel drums.

If you planning to make a kiln to make the wood coal then you need a source of wood,
charcoal made locally and in Guyana is from lumberyard trimmings.
I understand in Guyana when they chopping down trees, they will chop down an area a mile or two square and do the entire charcoal operation on the spot.

jsr

Postby jsr » April 24th, 2014, 7:26 am

instead of charcoal dust i would be using sawdust and maybe shredded newspapers

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2014, 7:38 am

I am not sure if those will burn hot like real charcoal
you need to experiment with that
get some sawdust and mix it with starch and see how it burns.

Postby X_Factor » April 24th, 2014, 7:41 am

it may also have a very fast burn time compared to charcoal dust
not to mention the type of smoke given off may not be desirable for bbq
because locally you may mostly get cedar and pine dust

jsr

Postby jsr » April 24th, 2014, 7:46 am

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2014, 7:56 am

yeah, the charcoal process reduces the wood and gets rid of everything except carbon

X_Factor wrote:it may also have a very fast burn time compared to charcoal dust
not to mention the type of smoke given off may not be desirable for bbq
because locally you may mostly get cedar and pine dust

Postby turbosingh » April 24th, 2014, 8:17 am

But are those Man made coals with lots of sulphur in it healthy to BBQ chicken with?I mean it lights very fast but i dont think that will be good for your health in the future!

jsr

Postby jsr » April 24th, 2014, 6:54 pm

interesting

Postby SR » April 27th, 2014, 8:33 am

New smoker testing this morning
1398602002051.jpg