Why 2 lanes on CRH westbound in front GB?

src1983

Re: Why 2 lanes on CRH westbound in front GB?

Postby src1983 » December 19th, 2013, 5:26 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1387488317.030898.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1387488327.864141.jpg

8 freaking k

Postby M_2NR » December 19th, 2013, 6:37 pm

I was in that just now also... I watch Waze sending me EMR. Anytime Waze does that, you know you in for a long haul. Also yes, I just took 1hr plus to go from POS to GB.

#delusions

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2013, 6:44 pm

Here have a look

Beetham Highway/NP Flyover exit 4:18pm

Still on le beetham 6 minutes later (4:24pm for people who can't add)

Arong by Lifestyle Motors dey 4:40pm

Now reach Aranguez 4:50pm

Trincity Mall 5:21pm

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2013, 6:46 pm

M_2NR wrote:I was in that just now also... I watch Waze sending me EMR. Anytime Waze does that, you know you in for a long haul. Also yes, I just took 1hr plus to go from POS to GB.

#delusions

sshhhhh men claimin dey reachin from hyatt (4:12pm) to GB in 38mins LOL ahahahahahaha

oh GOAR

Postby pete » December 19th, 2013, 8:03 pm

Twin towers 3:50, In front SBCS 4:30

What a difference 25 mins makes when leaving POS.

Postby pete » December 19th, 2013, 8:08 pm

See pics
uploadfromtaptalk1387498110640.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1387498101852.jpg

Postby pete » December 19th, 2013, 8:13 pm

While they're experimenting these days, why don't they try closing off the aranguez access to the highway for a couple days and see what happens. Aranguez people can either exit up at el socorro or go up to barataria and come down the highway. MOWT what do ya say?

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2013, 8:17 pm

I just went to aranguez from woodbrook at 6:45
took me about 25mins to reach.

That traffic must be constant until close to 8pm.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 19th, 2013, 8:31 pm

Wait allyuh muffler bearings still beating up over WORK IN PROGRESS?!

Geeze just staapp it.

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2013, 9:32 pm

pete wrote:While they're experimenting these days, why don't they try closing off the aranguez access to the highway for a couple days and see what happens. Aranguez people can either exit up at el socorro or go up to barataria and come down the highway. MOWT what do ya say?

I find they should put some traffic lights on the beetham both directions, like two sets.

Would make banditry much easier for the beetham folk, and allow people to exit aranguez easier.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 19th, 2013, 9:51 pm

Strauss wrote:Wait allyuh muffler bearings still beating up over WORK IN PROGRESS?!

Geeze just staapp it.

Strauss it is as they say "pearls at swines".
Damned if you do and damned if you don't.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » December 19th, 2013, 10:00 pm

pete wrote:While they're experimenting these days, why don't they try closing off the aranguez access to the highway for a couple days and see what happens. Aranguez people can either exit up at el socorro or go up to barataria and come down the highway. MOWT what do ya say?

I find they should put some traffic lights on the beetham both directions, like two sets.

Would make banditry much easier for the beetham folk, and allow people to exit aranguez easier.

Don't forget crossing,they need a crosswalk in that area as well :roll: Had to dodge a a$$wipe this morning :x

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2013, 10:06 pm

Hit dem then drive to the station to report your vehicle got damaged.

Police don't really give a chit when beetham residents die.

I for one don't slow down for them.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 20th, 2013, 3:31 am

Don't ever slow down nor try to avoid hitting people crossing the Beetham if you value your safety and safety of your passengers and vehicle.

Those are walking death traps. You could swerve and lose control of car, killing yourself and others on the road. Or slow down enough to get a bullet in your head or brick to windscreen.

Just keep driving.

Postby pioneer » December 20th, 2013, 8:12 am

The johnny walker billboard on the beetham should say "keep driving"

Postby pete » December 20th, 2013, 8:44 am

pioneer wrote:The johnny walker billboard on the beetham should say "keep driving"

Postby Dizzy28 » January 6th, 2014, 8:09 am

As expected there was traffic backup on the overpass by Bamboo. So those heading Port of Spain from the UBH South Bound had to mix it up with the people who utilise that flyover as a "shortcut" when north bound.
That route worked good during the holidays though.

Was glad to see a heavy police presence on the CRH though. There were police by Curepe lights, GB intersection, Aranguez Flyover, walkover by Boundary Road and the walkover by DHL.

Postby pete » January 6th, 2014, 8:18 am

Those people doing the "shortcut" are disobeying the left/right turn only and no thoroughfare signs at the top of the flyover for them. Should be ticketed every morning. Sure the police could make an easy 50k/day there.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 6th, 2014, 8:20 am

ACTUAL FACTS... times recorded:

Reached by Kay Donna at approx 6:29am...

Passed Aranguez Flyover at approx. 6:38am..

Passed NP at approx. 6:50am

Postby Dizzy28 » January 6th, 2014, 8:32 am

pete wrote:Those people doing the "shortcut" are disobeying the left/right turn only and no thoroughfare signs at the top of the flyover for them. Should be ticketed every morning. Sure the police could make an easy 50k/day there.

But how can the police stop them? Once they turn off either east or west and go to Grand Bazaar or Bamboo and then come back up (which is what they do on mornings that police are there) I am assuming they wouldn't be breaking any law. The major problem is now that the south bound to west bound have to go to that flyover there shouldn't be unnecessary traffic there to further complicate that route.

Also Pete I see the extra filter lane by Aranguez whilst paved hasn't been opened and school has reopened. Apparently the Ministry of Works displeased with the fall away on the edge and wants either barriers erected or furthering backfilling to make the edge less dangerous.

Postby pete » January 6th, 2014, 8:41 am

Not all of them turn right/left. Some a-holes go straight across. The ones who are turning right have to wait on the cars already coming up from the roundabout to turn so if there is a constant stream of cars they would have a very long wait.

The cones by Aranguez were moved from since Saturday, did they put them back?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 6th, 2014, 8:50 am

pete wrote:Not all of them turn right/left. Some a-holes go straight across. The ones who are turning right have to wait on the cars already coming up from the roundabout to turn so if there is a constant stream of cars they would have a very long wait.

The cones by Aranguez were moved from since Saturday, did they put them back?

Ohh didn't pass since Friday night. Didn't realize they moved them. But I did not see any remedial work take place though which is why they were never opened for the Xmas period.

Postby pete » January 6th, 2014, 4:04 pm

For me this afternoon was smoooooth out of pos

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » January 6th, 2014, 4:49 pm

Same

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 7:05 pm

Smooth here too, turned onto the beetham at 4:25pm was by tcm at 5:05pm

But let's not talk too soon.

Postby M_2NR » January 6th, 2014, 10:46 pm

Same. Pretty pleased actually. Expect rain tmrw though :| With the time saved I ended up washing the car.

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2014, 6:34 am

the little "extra" side lane for southbound ramp users may have helped get those to exit fast and onto the ramp

Postby Dizzy28 » January 7th, 2014, 10:04 am

Yesterday was pretty good coming from Aranguez and using that filter lane with the new setup. Those barriers (similar to the ones by Piarco) was a nice touch to stop the cyatholes who come down the shoulder.

Can't these barriers be placed elsewhere as well though?

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 10:05 am

This morning I see concrete barriers gettin puddong by aranguez east bound

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 7th, 2014, 10:06 am

I still maintain that exit should be by ALJ roundabout