Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Mr. Wheeler

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby Mr. Wheeler » November 12th, 2013, 3:14 pm

Advice needed: I interested in replacing my carryboy tray cover to one of those roll and lock types.

Pls recommend a good installer and an average price.

2008 Hilux Vigo double cab.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » November 12th, 2013, 6:53 pm

Westbourne Trading - 757-2118

Postby Rainman » November 13th, 2013, 11:28 am

Coming up on the 25000km mark, i saw that TTTL did a diesel flush on my last service. Have no idea what was involved in their diesel flush. I can still get 600kms til 1/4 tank never let it go below that before filling up. I'm considering doing the servicing myself after the 40000km mark.
I never got any issues with vibration on the rotors so it may be an issue with the 4x4 as the brake setup is different.

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 13th, 2013, 12:57 pm

@rainman...I never did any diesel flush by toyota. Got the 4x4 3.0. I told them my vehicle not smoking so need to do it. I change my fuel filter every 15000km anyway plus use redline on fill ups. And I always run my tank to empty...get approx 700 kms and $110 to fill up...every 4 days.

Anyway what they do is they use a bottle of wynns diesel injector cleaner. ..pour it into a can. ..remove the hose that leaves fuel filter heading to the pump... remove return line...put both hoses into bottle and start up... the cleaner goes direct to injectors and unused is dumped back to can...basically circulates until cleaner has been used up in combustion. They also vary rpm to get better effect.

So I ent paying 600 buck for that. When I reached 35000 kms I bought can of liquimoly diesel injector purge and did same thing...can is for 2 uses...got at motorist in woodbrook for $220. Plan is to use remaining half when next I change fuel filter again at 50000kms.

Toyota changed rotors 3 times...last change was last friday...lol

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 13th, 2013, 1:13 pm

If you not considering going back after 40000kms why are you even bothering to go spend close to $5000 for a service?

Postby Rainman » November 13th, 2013, 1:20 pm

I tend to be paranoid and overmaintain my vehicles. I change the fuel filter every 10000 and oil filter every oil change(Toyota said the filter is good for 2 oil changes, this may be true but i rather change out the filter). That procedure with the liquimoly looks simple enough.

http://www.liqui-moly.com.au/diy-diesel ... r-service/

jpec

Postby jpec » November 20th, 2013, 12:05 am

Anybody ever had any experience inter cooling the 2KD-FTV hilux engines? they come with no inter cooler, and i'm contemplating getting a front mount. does anyone have any advice on this? is it worth it or no?

badart

Postby badart » November 23rd, 2013, 2:41 pm

Guys got a three inch body lift kit for the hilux/tacoma comes with everything including steering adapters. Brand new. If no one wants it by next week I'll return it to the states. Price $1650

droppa

Postby droppa » November 25th, 2013, 8:16 am

folks i have a hilux lift kit (spacer type) for sale, price also includes installation......

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=541733

Mr. Wheeler

Postby Mr. Wheeler » November 26th, 2013, 8:57 am

WTB: wheel nut wrench (to lift and lower the Spare tyre Winch)......or should i just get a fabricated long screwdriver for this?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » December 10th, 2013, 9:42 am

Fellahs I have a 2010 2.5 Turbo D4D rolling up on the 100,000km mark.
Where do you recommend I do the service? Is TTTL the best place?
Thanks for the help

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 11th, 2013, 6:01 am

Call Turbohead 4952320

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » December 11th, 2013, 2:08 pm

Thanks for the link up!

Postby Team Loco » December 11th, 2013, 3:08 pm

yup. turbohead is a good guy to deal with.

just hit 304,000kms today. lil rattles here and there starting to annoy me

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » December 11th, 2013, 3:24 pm

Team Loco wrote:yup. turbohead is a good guy to deal with.

Wow 304,000 kms on original motor? Anything changed or just reg maintenance?

Postby Rainman » December 11th, 2013, 4:19 pm

Team Loco wrote:yup. turbohead is a good guy to deal with.

:faint:

Postby Team Loco » December 12th, 2013, 12:08 pm

lol guys. thats my old model tbr ln166. if allyuh think that bad the new model lux with the 2kd is clocking close to 450,000kms. engine job done at 400,000kms. even at that mileage it just needed a ring job. our key to good maintenance is religious oil change every 5000kms. we use castrol and recently valvoline oil. nothing special

Postby Team Loco » December 12th, 2013, 5:46 pm

Oh and always use original filters

Postby Rainman » December 12th, 2013, 5:54 pm

I just let the firm do the maintenance, for now; as the prices just keep getting steeper. But i do my oil change religiously at 5k and change oil filter every 5k even though toyota said that the original filter is good til 10k. I also change fuel filters every 10k as opposed to the 20k they recommend. Air filter is changed at 20k.

I'm only doing 25k though :|

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 13th, 2013, 9:25 pm

Team Loco wrote:Oh and always use original filters

Good advice there ...plenty fake originals out there so watch out for those. Fake oil filters can destroy ur engines.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » December 13th, 2013, 10:17 pm

Oil change at 5k? I thought with synthetic oils the interval was 10k? I guess it can't hurt though

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 14th, 2013, 1:02 am

I change every 5k as well. All filters and oil

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 15th, 2013, 10:02 pm

you could run oem oil filter till 10k and fuel at 20k np... oil however syntec or not every 5 due to quality of diesel and carbon deposits. wit the syntec you will get a better response, i use the schaffers wit all my services and havent had any complaints thus far from customers, recently did two engine jobs and from break in schaffers was used and not a drop of oil between services*knock on wood...

Mr. Wheeler

Postby Mr. Wheeler » December 16th, 2013, 2:38 pm

Ways 5000km already....oil change for D vacation!!

badart

Postby badart » December 18th, 2013, 10:17 pm

Im using amsoil so i change oil every 10k, no problems, no power loss and engine is alot quieter than when it was using mineral.

Postby DVSTT » December 29th, 2013, 8:28 pm

Hey guys, need some assistance locating the front drive shaft coupling for the 4wd on a 1998 hilux.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 31st, 2013, 12:32 pm

Has anyone ever greased the driveshaft in their Hilux.
If so what grease and at what mileage do you service

As regards the oil...7000-8000Km change interval for oil and filter
Oil - Shell Rimula R4 (currently)
Filter - Purolator

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » January 6th, 2014, 1:57 pm

Team Loco wrote:lol guys. thats my old model tbr ln166. if allyuh think that bad the new model lux with the 2kd is clocking close to 450,000kms. engine job done at 400,000kms. even at that mileage it just needed a ring job. our key to good maintenance is religious oil change every 5000kms. we use castrol and recently valvoline oil. nothing special

Out of curiosity loco, do you have a turbo timer on the 2kd? Would love some real world data on if it makes any difference in turbo life. At your kind of mileage, you're a prime candidate

venum

Postby venum » January 6th, 2014, 4:30 pm

have these to sell:

OEM 3.0L Hilux Mag Rims with used tyres

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=549773

rx80

Postby rx80 » January 8th, 2014, 11:32 pm

Anyone interested in a set of hawk pads for the hilux.. Newer model 3.0 with the bigger caliper. $400

Might as well give a review on them aswell. Currently have them installed in my hilux. They've lasted twice as long as the originals thus far. No noticeable brake fade even with spirited driving (same as stock) less brake dust than stock and cleans just as easy.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”