Tim says vacation cut for students & teachers

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 11:21 am

I fully agree, it's about time that waste of 2 months for "summer" vacation is cut.

There's no need for 3? weeks for easter either...1 week tops

Summer should be one month at most

Christmas 2 weeks.

Best idea ever.

Re: Tim says vacation cut for students & teachers

Postby nemisis » January 6th, 2014, 11:24 am

Some more details would be nice

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 6th, 2014, 11:25 am

Sauce?

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 11:29 am

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 6th, 2014, 11:31 am

pioneer wrote:I fully agree, it's about time that waste of 2 months for "summer" vacation is cut.

There's no need for 3? weeks for easter either...1 week tops

Summer should be one month at most

Christmas 2 weeks.

Best idea ever.

You is not d same one complaining bout traffic etc...
....especially when yuh like to wake up after 7 for a 8 a'clock job. :lol: :lol: :lol:

I does enjoy dem periods of less traffic... dem does neva hav enough holidays IMO.

If dey want more work done by students and teachers....
den take away some ah dey leave from d teachers.. not from d students!
And jus push more work during d term..

Dey have Annual Leave, Sick Leave, Casual Leave, Endless "Workshops", the Holidays...
WTF!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 6th, 2014, 11:34 am

ppl rel beating up on that fb page yes ..... :lol:

Postby maj. tom » January 6th, 2014, 11:35 am

The summer vacation is so long in Trinidad because the farm needs all hands during the harvest and hay-making season. This is relevant in 2014 and because we plant a lot of wheat, upon which our economy depends.

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 11:35 am

lol so many jimmies have been violated

Postby maj. tom » January 6th, 2014, 11:36 am

Should be organised into 4 semesters for public schools like they do in South Africa.
200 school days.

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 11:41 am

Two semesters, one semester break for easter like how it is in university (real one's).

Postby AllTrac » January 6th, 2014, 11:41 am

wait nah is uncle Suraj like pios comment dey? oh lawd look how divali 2014 by be poolside on lock

Postby tr1ad » January 6th, 2014, 11:48 am

AllTrac wrote:wait nah is uncle Suraj like pios comment dey? oh lawd look how divali 2014 by be poolside on lock

24k lota and taria

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 6th, 2014, 11:48 am

^^You really think he have time to be on FB?

That is clearly Pios gf.. Sumana moonlighting on she dawdi fb!!

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2014, 11:58 am

Oh my :shock:
Congrats pios and sumana!

Postby Redman » January 6th, 2014, 11:59 am

More time in school for teachers to get paid and not show up.

Lets fix what we have first before we start throwing ideas at a problem.

If I send my child to school how is the Ministry guaranteeing me that my child will be taught for the agreed to time??

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 12:08 pm

138 teaching days in T&T?

wtf?

Nah man, again unions tryna hold back ting

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 6th, 2014, 12:08 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:^^You really think he have time to be on FB?

That is clearly Pios gf.. Sumana moonlighting on she dawdi fb!!

Could be cause he ain't fix my road since he take office...and them trucks destroying it further

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 6th, 2014, 12:09 pm

Redman wrote:More time in school for teachers to get paid and not show up.

If I send my child to school how is the Ministry guaranteeing me that my child will be taught for the agreed to time??

this!!
the teachers/students who perform will have a heavier workload.......
waste of time teachers/students have more time to waste............
the quality of education needs to be improved before a change like this has any form of success

Postby Spitfir3 » January 6th, 2014, 12:11 pm

haha real beatup on that page yes..pioneer yuh profile should have a subscribe button

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 12:14 pm

how to do da?

Postby bluefete » January 6th, 2014, 12:23 pm

Kerrie Marissa Ramdath - Why is he minister of education ???? He have any stressed out kid

Yuh mean he chile wid de cutlish?????????????????

Pios take win here again, boy.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 6th, 2014, 12:25 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
Redman wrote:More time in school for teachers to get paid and not show up.

this!!
the teachers/students who perform will have a heavier workload.......
waste of time teachers/students have more time to waste............
the quality of education needs to be improved before a change like this has any form of success

YUP!

That’s why I said this:
New_SPECIES wrote:If dey want more work done by students and teachers....
den take away some ah dey leave from d teachers.. not from d students!
And jus push more work during d term..

Dey have Annual Leave, Sick Leave, Casual Leave, Endless "Workshops", the Holidays...
WTF!

Postby bluefete » January 6th, 2014, 12:31 pm

New_SPECIES wrote: I does enjoy dem periods of less traffic ... Dey have Annual Leave, Sick Leave, Casual Leave, Endless "Workshops", the Holidays...WTF!

Agreed. Much less traffic on the roads during Christmas/Easter/August.

Those workshops are a major cause of teachers not being in a classroom. Check the number of workshops they are mandated to attend during the course of the year and you would be stunned at the extra no teaching days. This is supported by Uncle Tim and many times teachers do not have advanced notice. The Ministry way is notice today for tomorrow's workshop..

Postby pete » January 6th, 2014, 12:31 pm

If the same syllabus that may currently be rushed through is now given more time to be completed wouldn't that reduce the workload on students and teachers? They could take more time to explain topics and the students might better absorb the information or have more time to review and do past questions before the assessments?

UTT used to have three two week "vacation" breaks a year and then the teachers got them to make the mid-year break 1 month plus, reduced the already short 3.5 month semester to 2.5 months and that made courses ridiculous. I could maybe understand that smarter kids may not feel challenged with an increase in time and their boredom may lead to them picking up bad habits but for regular kids, more time to learn shouldn't be a bad thing.

My sister finished CXC last year and their physics teacher didn't complete the syllabus and the last few topics were just skipped through and I had to get her to learn them. If they had more time maybe she would've learned more.

Postby bluefete » January 6th, 2014, 12:37 pm

pete wrote:My sister finished CXC last year and their physics teacher didn't complete the syllabus and the last few topics were just skipped through and I had to get her to learn them. If they had more time maybe she would've learned more.

Why was the syllabus not completed? Is it that the teacher started with them in September? Was the teacher a replacement? Were the students slow in understanding the topics so the teacher had to crawl through the syllabus? Could the teacher teach? Did the teacher teach the rest during "lessons"? Did the teacher have a lesson plan when the term started? Was the teacher called away to attend "workshops" during the semester - being away from the class for up to a week at a time?

antlind

Postby antlind » January 6th, 2014, 12:41 pm

Before Tim look to revise the entire education system in trinidad he looking to add more pressure on children and teachers.

Imagine we still have this backward education system where children are subjected to hours of extra lessons from the age of 9 years. It continues when they enter secondary school and does not let up until they graduate from university. Where else in the modern world does a system like this exist?

We also have a hundred institutions in the country offering degree programs, most of them poorly staffed and managed, but all of them getting GATE grants. Pretty soon everybody and they dog will have a degree. These are things Tim should try to manage instead of adding more schooling hours to children and teachers.

Just my daily rant.

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 12:42 pm

Hey if taking an extra hour of traffic means our kids are in school learning and teachers earning their salary then I fully support it.

138 teachings days is thirdworld ting.

Postby pete » January 6th, 2014, 12:45 pm

I don't know all the details and I may have been a bit harsh in that post. The students had the syllabus and the text book and from looking through her notes not everything was done. Was able to go through the other stuff from the text and sorta got her to understand.

Postby cinco » January 6th, 2014, 12:51 pm

And myriad public holidays the teachers getting too

Postby bluefete » January 6th, 2014, 12:54 pm

pioneer wrote:Hey if taking an extra hour of traffic means our kids are in school learning and teachers earning their salary then I fully support it.

138 teachings days is thirdworld ting.

What makes you think delivery will be any different from what obtains now? So teachers will have a longer period to use up their casual leave and sick leave?

BTW, Pios, do you know that teaching is one of the most stressful professions in the world?