MG Man wrote:the young professional dumfucks who are paying upwards of a mil for a flat box are the ones who have screwed the market for everyone else
just like the twats who pay 220+ for a corolla :-/
MG Man wrote:the young professional dumfucks who are paying upwards of a mil for a flat box are the ones who have screwed the market for everyone else
just like the twats who pay 220+ for a corolla :-/
subie_2NR wrote:The reality of the situation.
Example:
The cheapest new 3 bedroom flats in Central is around 1.4M after 10% down the monthly installment for 30 years with insurance is around $7700 based on the lowest possible interest rate right now which is 5%. Most families cannot afford to pay this.
The sad thing is these flats cost 1/3 of the price to build, people who can afford buying out of desperation and developers making the money.
I almost made the mistake and bought a similar property late 2013 out of desperation. But after some looking and thinking I acquired land in south and am going to build this year and I'm certain I'm not crossing $800K and my house will be complete.
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:All that's needed is proper legislation, allow people who own their ONLY house t pay the normal property taxes, HOWEVER those who are owners of 3 and 4 and 5 properties, impose HEFTY taxes on them PER property , watch and see how quickly ALL of those empty over priced townhouses will be put up for sale and at affordable prices too.
AdamB wrote:If yuh cyar afford land where price is high, options available:
5. squat for long enough and you'll have more rights than the taxpayers who will pay for the land when you eventually "buy" for the land.
kg494EJ-1 wrote:AdamB wrote:If yuh cyar afford land where price is high, options available:
5. squat for long enough and you'll have more rights than the taxpayers who will pay for the land when you eventually "buy" for the land.
This pisses me off more than anything, my parents purchased a piece of property when they first got married, they were paying taxes etc on the property and low and behold when they were ready to build we met a squatter, with a concrete foundation on the property bawling he have certificate of comfort from the government for privately owned land in addition to his trucks and backhoes WTF!?!?!
kg494EJ-1 wrote:AdamB wrote:If yuh cyar afford land where price is high, options available:
This pisses me off more than anything, my parents purchased a piece of property when they first got married, they were paying taxes etc on the property and low and behold when they were ready to build we met a squatter, with a concrete foundation on the property bawling he have certificate of comfort from the government for privately owned land in addition to his trucks and backhoes WTF!?!?!
AdamB wrote:T&C approved land is over $400k in central, well except maybe in the bush central.
3 bdrm flat should cost about $400-$450k.
Good move subie - but to avoid all that hassle if you have the $$$ to build or start, just make sure your house plan meets all the requirements and it will get approval. If you finish, you can still get final approval from the corporation - it will cost a structural engineer's report about $4-5k.
Lookout for contractors, YOU buy the material and DON'T pay their labour upfront. If foundation cost is $25k, pay according to % completion.
Advent wrote:40 thousand for a B14 wat allyuh expect houses to be ?
TriniAutoMart wrote:RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:All that's needed is proper legislation, allow people who own their ONLY house t pay the normal property taxes, HOWEVER those who are owners of 3 and 4 and 5 properties, impose HEFTY taxes on them PER property , watch and see how quickly ALL of those empty over priced townhouses will be put up for sale and at affordable prices too.
How can you propose such a thing?
How will the landlords make money?
How will the rich remain rich and the poor remain poor?
Are you mad?
Advent wrote:The point of my post is that in Trinidad things don't depreciate and as you said if man want to pay the price then why not capitalism all the way. Thats why the real estate sector bussing up we tail.
And mind you my monthly for my house is 10000tt but I have a pool with 4 bedrooms and gated . I go stay a sufferer
wickedbreed wrote:Advent wrote:The point of my post is that in Trinidad things don't depreciate and as you said if man want to pay the price then why not capitalism all the way. Thats why the real estate sector bussing up we tail.
And mind you my monthly for my house is 10000tt but I have a pool with 4 bedrooms and gated . I go stay a sufferer
Nothing in Trinidad depreciates cause ah man always wants something more than you. sorry to hear das ur monthly installment, but seems like you supported the same thing that you were making your point against. willing to pay 10k a month so yuh cud have pool and 4 rooms. dont get me wrong, kudos for having some ambition and going for what you wanted and getting it. However that is exactly the point.
I have the apple you want and because i know you want it i will call $20 because i know you want it, and you will pay it, again because you want it.
Trinidad is just filled with good businessmen. cant get away from that. Thats why Im an accountant...businessmen make me money lol.