Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Slartibartfast » January 15th, 2014, 11:20 pm

You have any evidence he wasn't a virgin... I rest my case

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2014, 11:39 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:You have any evidence he wasn't a virgin... I rest my case
using that logic: since we have no evidence leprechauns don't exist therefore they must exist?

Advent

Postby Advent » January 16th, 2014, 6:34 am

kevin5211 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:But you can fully appreciate sex after living a celibate life. In fact I plan to be celibate like my father before me and his father before him.

Fun fact: Did you know Joseph (just like Mary) was also a virgin? That's right. Most people don't know that Jesus' birth was twice the miracle.

fun fact? so u have evidence to prove this fact? lets see it na man.

I waiting for this evidence too.

Postby Slartibartfast » January 16th, 2014, 6:57 am

I guess my sarcasm wasa bit too subtle. Like nobody catch the stale joke I make in the first paragraph either?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 16th, 2014, 8:22 am

Advent wrote:
nareshseep wrote:You can't appreciate the light if you have never seen darkness.... Both strengthens each other.

You need to die to appreciate life ?

Yeah ... Yuh want some rope?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 16th, 2014, 8:24 am

RBphoto wrote:Which is why you can never appreciate celibacy until you had sex...... Said no one ever.

Who ever said sex was a bad thing?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 16th, 2014, 10:48 am

nareshseep wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Which is why you can never appreciate celibacy until you had sex...... Said no one ever.

Who ever said sex was a bad thing?

Maj tom (above)...

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 16th, 2014, 10:53 am

Slartibartfast wrote:I guess my sarcasm wasa bit too subtle. Like nobody catch the stale joke I make in the first paragraph either?

Like you missed the fun fact that ppl asking for your evidence. maybe your fun fact was a stale joke too.

Muslims have evidence in the Quran that Mary, mother of jesus, experienced a miracle in that she was given sustenance (food) when she was secluded in her chambers (room).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2014, 11:33 am

AdamB wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:I guess my sarcasm wasa bit too subtle. Like nobody catch the stale joke I make in the first paragraph either?

Like you missed the fun fact that ppl asking for your evidence. maybe your fun fact was a stale joke too.

Muslims have evidence in the Quran that Mary, mother of jesus, experienced a miracle in that she was given sustenance (food) when she was secluded in her chambers (room).
according to the Qur'an, who or how was Mary impregnated?

Postby redmanjp » January 16th, 2014, 11:40 am

AdamB wrote:

God did IVF on Mary :|

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 16th, 2014, 11:48 am

AdamB wrote:

The angel Gabriel was sent down with The Spirit FROM (NOT A PART OF) GOD. He appeared to her in the form of a man/a stranger. He informed her who he was and what he was sent for. He then "breathed" the spirit into her (no physical contact)...she was then impregnated.

Did you think that GOD had sex with her like Greek mythology?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 16th, 2014, 12:37 pm

Question: What does the Qur'an say about Mary, the mother of Jesus?

Answer: The Qur'an speaks of Mary (called Miriam in Arabic) not only as the mother of Jesus, but as a righteous woman in her own right. There is even a chapter of the Qur'an named for her (the 19th chapter of the Qur'an). Below are some direct quotations from the Qur'an regarding Mary.

"Relate in the Book (the story of) Mary, when she withdrew from her family to a place in the East. She placed a screen (to screen herself) from them. Then We sent her our angel, and he appeared before her as a man in all respects. She said, 'I seek refuge from you to God Most Gracious! Do not come near me, if you fear God!' He said, 'No, I am only a messenger from your Lord, (to announce) to you the gift of a holy son.' She said, 'How shall I have a son, seeing that no man has touched me, and I am not unchaste?' He said, 'So (it will be). Your Lord says, 'That is easy for Me, and (We wish) to appoint him as a Sign unto men, and a Mercy from Us. It is a matter (so) decreed'" (19:16-21, the Chapter of Mary)

"Behold! The angels said, 'Oh Mary! God has chosen you and purified you, chosen you above the women of all nations. Oh Mary! Worship your Lord devoutly. Prostrate yourself, and bow down (in prayer) with those who bow down'" (3:42-43).

"And (remember) she who guarded her chastity. We breathed into her of Our spirit, and We made her and her son a sign for all peoples (21:91).

[While describing people who were good examples for others] "...And Mary, the daughter of 'Imran, who guarded her chastity. And We breathed into (her body) of Our spirit. She testified to the truth of the words of her Lord and of His Revelations, and was one of the devout (servants)" (66:12).

"Christ, the son of Mary, was no more than a messenger; many were the messengers that passed away before him. His mother was a woman of truth. They had both to eat their (daily) food. See how God makes His signs clear to them; yet see in what ways they are deluded away from the truth!" (5:75).

Postby Slartibartfast » January 16th, 2014, 3:38 pm

AdamB wrote:

Yeah that joke was thoroughly fermented. Explanation of the joke below for those that thought I was serious.

It was a joke based on the fact that Mary is given a lot of admiration for being a virgin parent of Jesus. My comment was poking fun at the fact that Joseph didn't get to have sex with her either and given that he was a morally righteous man (a Christian value being chastity) means that it is not far fetched to believe that he was a virgin as well. Which means he had to go through everything that Mary did (minus about 9 months... well more like 6 cuz some women don't show for the first three and Joseph could have had a belly). However he is not admired nearly as much as Mary. There are no "Hail Josephs" or prayers starting with "Holy Joseph surrogate father of God..."

AdamB wrote:The angel Gabriel was sent down with The Spirit FROM (NOT A PART OF) GOD. He appeared to her in the form of a man/a stranger. He informed her who he was and what he was sent for. He then "breathed" the spirit into her (no physical contact)...she was then impregnated.

Yeah that's the story I heard as well.

Quick question
1. Would you believe that if you were alive back then (when Jesus was born) and somebody told you.

2. Would you believe that if someone told you that today

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2014, 3:43 pm

he believes his wife is a whore....what do you think?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 16th, 2014, 4:16 pm

AdamB wrote:

The angel Gabriel was sent down with The Spirit FROM (NOT A PART OF) GOD. He appeared to her in the form of a man/a stranger. He informed her who he was and what he was sent for. He then "breathed" the spirit into her (no physical contact)...she was then impregnated.

Ah wonder if allyuh wife tell allyuh that same story .... What allyuh go do?

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2014, 4:55 pm

all things considered, god really must have hated that mary chick:
saddle a poor woman with a mouth to feed
make her mysteriously pregnant, burdening her now to explain this whole afffair to folks, who may or not believe her far-fetched story
Have her kid disappear for what, 18 years? Which mother wants that?
Then have junior return, only to be subsequently arrested, then executed before her eyes
Por chick was doomed from the start to lead a pretty sucky life

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 16th, 2014, 5:09 pm

MG Man wrote:all things considered, god really must have hated that mary chick:
make her mysteriously pregnant, burdening her now to explain this whole afffair to folks, who may or not believe her far-fetched story
Then have junior return, only to be subsequently arrested, then executed before her eyes

MG yuh trying to say Big G was black?

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 16th, 2014, 6:57 pm

nareshseep wrote:
MG Man wrote:all things considered, god really must have hated that mary chick:

MG yuh trying to say Big G was black?

is u implying it. :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

Postby Slartibartfast » January 16th, 2014, 7:26 pm

AdamB wrote:The angel Gabriel was sent down with The Spirit FROM (NOT A PART OF) GOD. He appeared to her in the form of a man/a stranger. He informed her who he was and what he was sent for. He then "breathed" the spirit into her (no physical contact)...she was then impregnated.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 16th, 2014, 7:38 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

aha so god didnt do any breathing of spirit into mary. it was the angel gabriel. so suppose he try sumting n den tell mary stick wit d story.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 19th, 2014, 1:02 pm

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2014, 12:40 pm

Creationism again stalks the classroom

Texas Gov. Rick Perry: His state's kids won't be competing with your kids.(Michael Justus/AP / January 21, 2014)
By Michael Hiltzik

January 21, 2014, 4:47 p.m.

In a sane world, the ringing denunciation of intelligent design and creationist "science" delivered by a federal judge in 2005 would have eradicated these concepts from the schoolroom.

District Judge John E. Jones III of Harrisburg, Pa., ruled then that "intelligent design" is not science, "cannot uncouple itself from its creationist, and thus religious, antecedents," and therefore is unconstitutional as a subject to be taught in a public school.

Yet the creationists keep at it. A recent report, written for Slate.com by the indefatigable and implausibly youthful Zack Kopplin, involves a network of charter schools with an enrollment of 17,000 students in Texas, Arkansas, and Indiana and an incredible haul of $82.6 million a year in state, local and federal funds.

As Kopplin reports, the biology workbook assigned to students in the schools operated by Responsive Education Solutions is shot through with creationist propaganda. Among its assertions: "Evolution — which is, after all, an unproved theory — has been treated as fact. It has reached the level of dogma, widely accepted, but unproven and changing school of thought that is treated as though it were fact."

Its section on "The Origin of Life" asserts: "There are only two ways that life could have begun: "1 - Spontaneous generation - random chemical processes formed the first cell. 2 - Supernatural intervention created the first cell."

As for the first living cell, the text blithers on, scientists "can only hypothesize what it might have been like." Thus it craftily attempts to undermine the scientific method. On the other hand, it says, "for many, supernatural creation (either by God or some other supernatural power) of the first cell is a more plausible explanation."

One way to react to a school system that places "supernatural intervention" on the same scientific plane as a natural process, however dopily described, is with relief that these 17,000 children won't be equipped to compete in the real world with our kids. Life in modern America is hard enough, so there's something Darwinian indeed about saddling all those kids with the burden of a 16th-century education.

Another way is to express dismay that taxpayer funds, including money paid by federal taxpayers, is going to this sort of effort.

In a reply to the Slate article posted in the Arkansas Times, Responsive Education Chief Executive Chuck Cook maintained that "the curriculum was simply providing examples of competing theories on the origin of life." He states, "Our science curriculum does examine all sides of the scientific evidence relating to the theory of evolution — both for and against — just as we are required to do by the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Biology."

Jones took the measure of this "we're only teaching both sides" attack on evolution. In the case before him, a disclaimer read to school pupils in Dover, Pa., at the outset of their study of evolution, "while encouraging students to keep an open mind and explore alternatives to evolution ... offers no scientific alternative; instead, the only alternative offered is an inherently religious one."

Same here: The choice offered the schools' students is between evolution, which is chock full of uncertainties according to the text, or the supernatural.

Textbook publishers and responsible parents have finally started pushing back against Texas textbook standards, which because of the state's economic heft threatened to spread unscientific pap throughout the biology curricula of public schools nationwide.

Just last November, the Texas Board of Education approved high school texts from 14 publishers that had refused to water down their treatment of evolution. "None of those textbooks call into question the overwhelming evidence supporting evolution and climate change science," the watchdog group Texas Freedom Network reported.

But as the charter school case shows, creationism still has a way of sneaking in the back door. It's still not safe for parents to let down their guard. And it's high time that federal education officials took a closer look at what's being done with our money.

http://www.latimes.com/business/hiltzik ... z2rEy3cP5O

Yeah for creationism.

Postby Chimera » January 30th, 2014, 8:03 am

Postby Chimera » January 30th, 2014, 8:59 am

Postby Habit7 » February 3rd, 2014, 9:21 pm

RBphoto wrote:
bluefete wrote:FER SURE!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

Bill Nye the Science Guy says denying evolution ‘holds everybody back,’ creationism will eventually die out

Beloved children’s television host's new video, 'Creationism Is Not Appropriate for Children,' asks parents who believe in creationism not to teach it to their children in a clip that pulls no punches.

By Anthony Bartkewicz / NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Monday, August 27, 2012, 2:57 PM

The perennially-bowtied Nye wades into the debate on evolution versus creationism in a new YouTube video with the incendiary title “Creationism Is Not Appropriate for Children.”

In the video, posted by the online think tank Big Think, Nye pulls no punches. The former host of “Bill Nye the Science Guy” says denial of evolution is unique to the U.S. despite its technological advancements.

When a sizable portion of the population doesn’t believe in “the fundamental idea in all of life science,” he claims, “it holds everybody back, really.”

Nye goes on to urge adults who believe in creationism not to teach it to their kids, for the sake of the future.

“If you want to deny evolution and live in your world that’s completely inconsistent with everything we observe in the universe, that's fine,” he says. “But don't make your kids do it because we need them. We need scientifically literate voters and taxpayers for the future. We need engineers that can build stuff, solve problems.”

Nye closes the short video by suggesting that in a couple of centuries, creationism “just won't exist” because “there's no evidence for it.”

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nationa ... z24pqOEjsB

M new hero.

http://debatelive.org/

Postby meccalli » February 3rd, 2014, 9:46 pm

funny that the greatest scientists that kicked off tech were christians. And even more accepted how ridiculously impossible it is for random life. If i recall correctly, even Richard Dawkins trashed evolution and is pushing intelligent design via et phenomena. Even Hawking is looking to et's now.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 5th, 2014, 6:24 pm

Technology is inherently evil....:twisted:

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 5th, 2014, 6:27 pm

I doh care

yuh must worship satan regardless.
Bring the bishes and goat heads

Postby bluefete » February 5th, 2014, 9:38 pm

meccalli wrote:funny that the greatest scientists that kicked off tech were christians. And even more accepted how ridiculously impossible it is for random life. If i recall correctly, even Richard Dawkins trashed evolution and is pushing intelligent design via et phenomena. Even Hawking is looking to et's now.

It is amazing how all these scientists who deny the existence of God are now quietly admitting that creationism has its merits.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 5th, 2014, 10:11 pm

bluefete wrote:
meccalli wrote:funny that the greatest scientists that kicked off tech were christians. And even more accepted how ridiculously impossible it is for random life. If i recall correctly, even Richard Dawkins trashed evolution and is pushing intelligent design via et phenomena. Even Hawking is looking to et's now.

It is amazing how all these scientists who deny the existence of God are now quietly admitting that creationism has its merits.

Where do you get this information from!? :roll: