My First Generation RX7 Project

Re: My First Generation RX7 Project

Postby eliteauto » January 17th, 2014, 5:52 pm

lemme weigh in my thoughts, firstly the condition of that interior alone makes me like this car esp the dash, IMO that kit isn't very "in your face" so I'd keep it, sure the clean lines of the original body is lovely but to me the final paint job will determine how noticeable this kit is, certain colours will almost make it sublime and you'll have to do a double take to really notice the kit. I think you've gotten a fabulous base to work with not a ton of rust or wear for it's age and once done right I think you'll have something to be proud about. Good luck with it

Postby cinco » January 17th, 2014, 5:56 pm

A dark greywill look sublime

demented

Postby demented » January 18th, 2014, 7:53 am

I underestimated this car when I saw it in the classifieds. Great find. All the best in the project.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2014, 6:31 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390084247.004741.jpg

front bumper, moulding strips and interior installed

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2014, 6:49 pm

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 18th, 2014, 9:30 pm

Bezman wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390084247.004741.jpg

front bumper, moulding strips and interior installed

Front bumper looks a bit different from what i remembered, car was a solid red and it got hit on the back fender one night while we were liming and my cousin painted it metallic red after, I preferred the solid red though

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2014, 10:14 pm

Different car this car has never been in any accidents, plus afaik it wasn't in the classifieds either. This been parked up for like 6 years in a garage.

I looked under the car and behind all panels. Had bad granny here and as a rota owner he said its clean. Original rear fenders still there under the fibre glass ones still original light blue and no accident damage. Just cut and rolled

Car was never red metallic either. Was original mazda light blue and then flat red and then someone painted on the black

There are quite of few of three kits around. So prob another

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » January 18th, 2014, 10:26 pm

oh nice staying locked for updates :grin:

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 18th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Bezman wrote:Different car this car has never been in any accidents, plus afaik it wasn't in the classifieds either. This been parked up for like 6 years in a garage.

I looked under the car and behind all panels. Had bad granny here and as a rota owner he said its clean. Original rear fenders still there under the fibre glass ones still original light blue and no accident damage. Just cut and rolled

Car was never red metallic either. Was original mazda light blue and then flat red and then someone painted on the black

Bez, this car used to be the best rx7 back then, as i said Sean used to own it (i believe from new), he built it, it was automatic, the reason i know this car so well its because it was our liming car back then, Sean also had a hilux with the same number 162 so if you look at the cert copy you have, the owner after sean was my cuz, (yeah the mohammed guy) when the car got hit it was only the fiberglass that got damaged causing him to repaint the entire car metallic red, so if you arent seeing any traces of the original red nor the metallic red nor any damage to either of the rear fenders then its either a different shell or sumtin like that, I'll try to get some pics of the PAG162 I knew, I should have then somewhere around

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2014, 11:03 pm

Not disputing its Sean's car nor your cuz as I am seeing them on the cert, and it's not a diff chassis. First thing I did was remove the cowl panel and check the chassis stamp from behind the firewall. I just don't think it got any significant lash at all. And I don't think they would graft the wide body kit if it was a right off or some crap as the kit would be damaged...

If it was the rear fibre glass panel let me know which side if u can remember and I'll have a look. I plan on taking the wheels off tomorrow.. So I'll see better then.

It may well be the original metallic red that's so faded it's now flat. (I saying flat but I mean non metallic) There is one spot the last owner polished I'll have a look tomorrow.

I had a painter here too (one of a few coming to check it for me for a quote) and we can see that under the red is the original blue. On everything. Fenders, bumpers, roof all match. Only one major paint job. All the floors, trunk, roof, inside doors/under panels, all blue that matches the paint code "U2", there is the red over spray on some things under the car as well, and black from the two tone.

Thanks for helping me clear all this up and learn a lil more about the car.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2014, 11:11 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390101046.605488.jpg

Bumper installed an bomb sprayed black

And how the original kit looks with the red and black. Matches the bumper I have.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390101110.788594.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390101110.788594.jpg (42.64 KiB) Viewed 4147 times

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 18th, 2014, 11:31 pm

Bezman wrote:Not disputing its Sean's car nor your cuz as I am seeing them on the cert, and it's not a diff chassis. First thing I did was remove the cowl panel and check the chassis stamp from behind the firewall. I just don't think it got any significant lash at all. And I don't think they would graft the wide body kit if it was a right off or some crap as the kit would be damaged...

If it was the rear fibre glass panel let me know which side if u can remember and I'll have a look. I plan on taking the wheels off tomorrow.. So I'll see better then.

It may well be the original metallic red that's so faded it's now flat. (I saying flat but I mean non metallic) There is one spot the last owner polished I'll have a look tomorrow.

I had a painter here too (one of a few coming to check it for me for a quote) and we can see that under the red is the original blue. On everything. Fenders, bumpers, roof all match. Only one major paint job. All the floors, trunk, roof, inside doors/under panels, all blue that matches the paint code "U2", there is the red over spray on some things under the car as well, and black from the two tone.

Thanks for helping me clear all this up and learn a lil more about the car.

wasn't bad damage at all, it was just the fiberglass cracked and a wheel blemish, and after they repaired it, but cuz was fussy about the car and changed the color because back then color matching wasnt up to standard as it is now

Zorak

Postby Zorak » January 19th, 2014, 11:03 am

Looking forward to your build, man. I'm not the biggest fan of that kit though. At certain angles it messes with the car's lines too much. I do like the zg flares you had in mind, though. If I remember right, there was a guy in Balmain Gardens in Couva that had two of these with widebody kits. Not sure if it was the same kit. One was purple, can't remember the other.

Someone mentioned the first gen with the rotor shaped exhaust barrel, that car is one of the absolute best I've seen locally.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 19th, 2014, 12:49 pm

subscribed

demented

Postby demented » January 19th, 2014, 3:09 pm

Bezman wrote:Different car this car has never been in any accidents, plus afaik it wasn't in the classifieds either. This been parked up for like 6 years in a garage.

It was in the classifieds for $25,000 neg last week. Same wide body PAG

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 19th, 2014, 8:38 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390178124.333829.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390178167.748571.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390178251.920152.jpg

Postby Ted_v2 » January 19th, 2014, 11:40 pm

Taking those off?

moti

Postby moti » January 20th, 2014, 8:14 am

Bez, forgive my ignorance.

But I'm not seeing your project manager; what happened?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 20th, 2014, 9:32 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390224630.127009.jpg

Here she was sleeping on the job last week.

She's been inside pouting cause I banned her from coming in the car until she got a bath :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 20th, 2014, 9:35 am

Nah sound boy. Just took em off to send to straighten/paint and will be mounting some toyo r888 or proxes RA1.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 20th, 2014, 10:10 am

this body real sound pal, working on making this look good will be easy......

what kinda budget u expect to run this up too......

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 20th, 2014, 10:18 am

OK - ordered some parts on ebay last night and today.

I got 40 of these stupid plastic clips that break nearly everytime you try to take em off and also I want the interior fitting snug as possible.

clips.JPG
clips.JPG (13.49 KiB) Viewed 4028 times

Also got all the plastic interior trim panels in matching brown as spares (you can never have enough spare interior trim parts on an old car, my capri taught me that lesson well) - a couple of my pieces have cracks and there are some little metal clips on them that have broken so i'll be able to get a tight fitting interior by mixing and matching these i think.

trim.JPG

Brand New OEM RX-7 Badges for the fenders :D

rx-7-decal.JPG
rx-7-decal.JPG (24.33 KiB) Viewed 4028 times

Ordered a new Haynes 79-85 Mazda RX-7 Repair Manual

haynes-manual.jpeg

I am one click away from purchasing this IMSA GTU wing for the rear..

wing.JPG

more to come....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 20th, 2014, 10:26 am

Ok also spoke to the guys at the Techno Toy Tuning about my suspension. I am going to be running their SA/FB Rx-7 camber plates and coilovers. very expensive compared to how cheap coilovers have gotten but these are well developed for the first gen, offer allot of adjustment and also can be serviced easily as they have removable adjustable shock inserts and springs etc.. they also look pretty dam cool too.. I'll be sending my old struts to them for a rebate/store credit, just want to find out how much to ship them to see if it's worth it.
t3-struts-rear.jpg
t3-struts.jpg
t3camber.jpg

moti

Postby moti » January 20th, 2014, 11:43 am

Yup, T3 stuff is always great.
They put alot of effort into their parts to ensure you get the best.

Nice, glad to know she's still around "helping"

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 21st, 2014, 2:39 pm

For any interested, you can find most of the Factory Service Manuals, Wiring Diagrams and Parts Catalogues for the SA/FB First Gen Rx-7's here:

http://foxed.ca/index.php?page=rx7manual#firstgen

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 21st, 2014, 3:00 pm

A small peek under the fenders and finally removed all the tint and stickers :fadein:

IMG_2413.jpg
IMG_2426.jpg
IMG_2423.jpg
IMG_2418.jpg
IMG_2416.jpg
IMG_2415.jpg
IMG_2414.jpg

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 21st, 2014, 3:52 pm

subscribed..this is definitely a good base for a project 8-)

loving the fact that the interior is in such good condition...those wheels would look epic when cleaned

oh and btw I suggest you keep the kit on...my opinion

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 22nd, 2014, 10:01 am

Yesterday spent some time cleaning up the engine bay, re-wrapped the engine harness and removed allot of un-used wires etc.. plan on putting and battery in the car soon to check all the switches etc, to see what I have to order online or can find here.

Ordered some more stuff. some for the car, some to get my learn on.

An Original Mazda RX-7, 1982 Workshop Manual Paperback – January 1, 1981
(I have the digital copy and already ordered the Haynes shop manual, but wanted the original Mazda Shop manual that has everything from part numbers, wiring diagrams and service/troubleshooting procedures)

Mazda-FMS.jpg
Mazda-FMS.jpg (22.63 KiB) Viewed 3839 times

Street Rotary HP1549: How to Build Maximum Horsepower & Reliability into Mazda's 12a, 13b & Renesis Engines

One of the most acclaimed books for rotary builders and ppl who just want to understand the workings of high performance rotary engines. I plan on building an engine someday and will most likely port it etc, so this will come in handy whether i do the work myself or have it done by someone else.

streetrod-rotary.jpg
streetrod-rotary.jpg (25.99 KiB) Viewed 3839 times

new rear hatch struts, couldnt pass on the deal, $8usd each with free shipping on amazon prime.

hatch-struts.jpg

Some of the missing side trim, could have gotten it locally, but I doubt for ~$40 TTD shipped for the 3 pieces i needed (I love ebay :))

trim-ind.JPG
trim-ind.JPG (38.51 KiB) Viewed 3839 times

Postby Razkal » January 23rd, 2014, 7:19 am

great job so far man, that rotary book looks like a good read!

Postby turbosingh » January 23rd, 2014, 10:25 am

I like how solid the body is for such an old car.Nice platform.