STI on pee pee gas

Postby crazybalhead » March 11th, 2005, 12:53 pm

Yeah fellas. If yuh was looking around, would you buy a STi? Or "normal" WRX??? How de detonation scenes is with our sheit gas?

What are the pros and cons of each??

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » March 12th, 2005, 3:36 am

I don't have either but my twin turbo legacy wagon pings like MAD on the premium shyt gas here :evil: :x

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » March 12th, 2005, 11:45 pm

Let me just add, the JDM wrx and sti run on 100+ ron fuel, but the af mixture is typically subaru extra rich, like 11.5 to 10.8 on high boost. Then add the knock sensor that will back off on the timing you should be reasonably safe from blowing your motor up in most cases ( mine is fine for now ). Now on the track I heard a few have access to jet fuel ( and if it is true want some! ) , add some of that to the tank to get higher octane, you will be fine with either.

Plus I haven't seen a Sti here blow up on our crap gas in daily driving. Yet ( who knows maybe it's jsut waiting to happen now lol )

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » March 13th, 2005, 6:25 am

KS should prevent blowing up but you won't get the performance that you pay for I'm guessing.
If you could afford a STi then you can afford to drop some Toluene or some other octane booster into your tank every fillup :D

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » March 14th, 2005, 6:46 pm

Talking about toluene and octane boosters, WHERE DO YO GUYS GET IT!

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » March 14th, 2005, 8:17 pm

check Crism for toluene

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » March 14th, 2005, 10:51 pm

Nope they said yhey have no more

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 16th, 2005, 11:24 am

they had a fella in d east in petit bourg i think but d police stop him from sellin toluene
this what i hear

WadadliX

Postby WadadliX » March 16th, 2005, 12:42 pm

what's toluene?

Postby X2 » March 21st, 2005, 2:21 pm

Toluene is a solvent used in unlead gas to increase octane. It's natural high octane number allows it to be used as a race gas. It has a minimum of around 114 octane and can be added to pump gas to incease it's knock resistance.

monsterturbo

Postby monsterturbo » April 24th, 2005, 10:52 pm

It's also a paint striper.

gizmo

Postby gizmo » April 25th, 2005, 9:09 pm

so if i use regular paint stripper....it go boost octane??

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » April 25th, 2005, 11:17 pm

^lol..
how does QMI compare? (i think is qmi... d little bottle additive for abotu $10....)

anyone know how much that raisin d octane by? is it good? car seemed to have a lil more pep when i put some in.......

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » April 26th, 2005, 2:04 pm

Get some c16 race gas, that works too... :mrgreen:

Postby pete » April 26th, 2005, 2:39 pm

adam_ant_tt wrote:^lol..
how does QMI compare? (i think is qmi... d little bottle additive for abotu $10....)

anyone know how much that raisin d octane by? is it good? car seemed to have a lil more pep when i put some in.......

you need to put a lot more than one of those little bottles to raise you octane rating.

even with toluene at 114ron, our gas is at 91 or 92 ron(yeah ah know it says 95 but they lie) so if u mixed 2 parts in 10 with toluene it'd only jump the octane up to 96.4ron. To achieve 100ron ya gonna need to mix close to 4 parts toluene to 6 parts gasoline.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 26th, 2005, 4:52 pm

As hyundai det said, C16! it's 120 octane ( ron ) so just mix 4-5 l in with a tank and enjoy!

I use it in my twin turbo

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » April 26th, 2005, 5:10 pm

where yuh gettin C16? how much for it? will 100ron octane mash up ah stock engine?
thanks 8)

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 26th, 2005, 8:09 pm

Drive all the way down in bamboo 2 till you see the poster saying sunoco race fuel, ask for the gas on the left, inside the shop/bar, meet the cute sisters ( married I think but flirting doesn't hurt ). It's 120 ron, it won't hurt a stock motor that is designed to run on unleaded. That said if your running fine now, as much as your car will run better on this stuff it won't make as much as a difference as it would on something that is boosted etc.

Actually someone posted the sisters #'s in another thread to.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » April 27th, 2005, 1:01 am

i fraid to ask but like uh $$$? :roll:

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 28th, 2005, 12:57 am

it's like $70 a gallon or 4-5 l for $70, just need 2-3 l to a tank if your normal driving and need the octane to stop pinging, or all 4 l for race days ( or more ). not cheap but not bad either.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 26th, 2005, 8:57 pm

b.t.w. toluene is highly carcinogenic.
read that off an adhesive label that contained it.

thats why its very rarely used in contact cement and degreasers anymore.

FourG63 97GST

Postby FourG63 97GST » May 26th, 2005, 11:38 pm

how about methanol/water injection w/ a boost switch so it sprays in high boost.

Postby X2 » May 27th, 2005, 12:12 am

I recently put in a castrol octane boosted as a last resort and it actually feels a little more solid... I was surprised since I am at stock timing and not pinging on premium (maybe i am a bit !).

Aside from the octane boost... some of those gas treatments can reduce moisture in the fuel...this helps with the fuel's power production too.

TK!

Postby TK! » October 19th, 2005, 11:17 pm

i use the yellow bottle octane boost ... it's good...

but better was racing fuel ... all i needed to add was a 250 ml (dunno if this was the correct amt but it worked like a charm!)

and hey, a friend of mine runs priemium in his STI but it pings if he doesnt add the balck bottle octane boost

Rx

Postby Rx » October 20th, 2005, 6:38 pm

you guys ever tried NOS octane boost?

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » October 20th, 2005, 10:21 pm

OCTANE BOOST .. black bottle with a red cap and specified for Street cars does wuk real good.... 8)

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » November 21st, 2005, 2:08 pm

hoss, where to get these stuff, and was the cost?

Raziel

Postby Raziel » November 24th, 2005, 7:33 am

I would be careful with "octane boost" most of them contain an additive known to damage your O2 sensor ... a problem STi/WRX already have ....

BTW isn't C16 = 116 Octane (not 120?)

Postby X2 » November 24th, 2005, 9:49 am

Yeah... there are different types of octane booster ingredients... some better than others. I dunno what booster ur talking about that has a lead base tho...

The booster I've been using recently is the Amsoil booster... it works better than anything else I've tried, but it's $100 a bottle and I can't find it all the time.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » November 24th, 2005, 10:34 am

go by any car place n ask for octane boosters..some gas stations have i believe..they have the fuel treatment/injector cleaners also