Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Halfbreed07

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 17th, 2014, 5:06 am

kl122 wrote:
innovative audio wrote:Hey fellas I have a aquarium 72"x24"x24" that's about 180 gallons .... I am looking for the cheapest and most cost effective filtration method I can build...
ur filtration needs can only be determined by the type of fish and amount u want to keep in there, 2 60gal whispers will do fine if u jus keeping sum angels but not goldfish... U cAn build ur own cannister filter wid simple materials, jus need a pump sum PVC and media

Lol nope nope nope
You goal should be to filter system that is 1.5 times what is required,
So you would need a filter with the capacity of at least 270 gals.
I would also advise that you use at least two filters on either side to prevent dead spots.
1389949225535.jpg

This is a cascade 1500, it's costly but does what it says, you would need this as a minimum.
As far as building your own, depending on where its located, you can build an over head bucket filter using a submersible in tank pump, and cheap filter media, numerous vids on YouTube for this.
Feel free to to ask me any further questions.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » January 17th, 2014, 8:58 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
kl122 wrote:
innovative audio wrote:Hey fellas I have a aquarium 72"x24"x24" that's about 180 gallons .... I am looking for the cheapest and most cost effective filtration method I can build...
ur filtration needs can only be determined by the type of fish and amount u want to keep in there, 2 60gal whispers will do fine if u jus keeping sum angels but not goldfish... U cAn build ur own cannister filter wid simple materials, jus need a pump sum PVC and media

Lol nope nope nope
I would also advise that you use at least two filters on either side to prevent dead spots.
1389949225535.jpg

This is a cascade 1500, it's costly but does what it says, you would need this as a minimum.
As far as building your own, depending on where its located, you can build an over head bucket filter using a submersible in tank pump, and cheap filter media, numerous vids on YouTube for this.

I think for now u can build a bucket filter, where can I get that cascade to buy

rx80

Postby rx80 » January 17th, 2014, 9:35 am

He could also cut an over flow on the aquarium and route it to a 2 feet tank under the main aquarium, there he coukd set up multifiltering and a bio chamber... with a submersible to pump back in the system...
I find pressurized cannisters tend to detiriorate over time, maybe because of extra pump strain.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » January 17th, 2014, 9:52 am

rx80 wrote:He could also cut an over flow on the aquarium and route it to a 2 feet tank under the main aquarium, there he coukd set up multifiltering and a bio chamber... with a submersible to pump back in the system...
I find pressurized cannisters tend to detiriorate over time, maybe because of extra pump strain.

Who can cut this for me, I think that is the best method

rx80

Postby rx80 » January 17th, 2014, 10:06 am

Most glass shops can cut it but they dont like to once the aquarium is assembled..look around and see who can and use a large hole you can always reduce it after.. get one of the bulkhead fittings from a large water tank so you can thread the pipe onto it after..get the bulkhead first so you can se the diameter to cut..

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 17th, 2014, 10:44 am

innovative audio wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:
kl122 wrote:

Lol nope nope nope
1389949225535.jpg

I think for now u can build a bucket filter, where can I get that cascade to buy

The large petstore on the right heading into Debe.
Or Natures World on Sutton Street Sando, for cheaper alternatives.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » January 21st, 2014, 9:32 am

So fellas I built a bucket filter for meh tank I will post up pics and u will let me kno what allyuh think.... Btw thanks for the ideas

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » January 21st, 2014, 9:33 am

So fellas I built a bucket filter for meh tank I will post up pics and u will let me kno what allyuh think.... Btw thanks for the ideas

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 23rd, 2014, 5:45 pm

For those of you with 6ft aquariums, what is the usual width and height (2ft?).

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » January 23rd, 2014, 6:17 pm

18"

kl122

Postby kl122 » January 24th, 2014, 10:41 pm

nick639 wrote:Hey anybody know what kind of fishes are these?? Or where I can get
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390589916.116680.jpg
charrans had a a while ago

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 26th, 2014, 11:19 am

Can anyone id this plant. Top of the leaf is green and underside is purple/maroon. Thanks.

kl122

Postby kl122 » January 26th, 2014, 4:39 pm

Curtms wrote:Can anyone id this plant. Top of the leaf is green and underside is purple/maroon. Thanks.

it's a Cryptocryne or commonly known as crypt...

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 27th, 2014, 8:53 am

^ty. Is it easy to get. Cuz I havnt seen it selling.

kl122

Postby kl122 » January 27th, 2014, 1:57 pm

I have a lot of varieties of crypt....

superman cre8tions

Postby superman cre8tions » January 28th, 2014, 10:04 am

Juvenile Red Devils available !

Postby cinco » January 28th, 2014, 11:46 am

nick639 wrote:Hey anybody know what kind of fishes are these?? Or where I can get
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1390589916.116680.jpg

indian glassy fish

madman_devin

Postby madman_devin » January 28th, 2014, 1:59 pm

Do u have any kind of pond plants? I'm looking for stuff the koi won't eat.

kl122 wrote:I have a lot of varieties of crypt....

kl122

Postby kl122 » January 28th, 2014, 2:13 pm

madman_devin wrote:Do u have any kind of pond plants? I'm looking for stuff the koi won't eat.

imported day and night blooming Lilly's but kois will eat dem

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 28th, 2014, 6:23 pm

madman_devin wrote:Do u have any kind of pond plants? I'm looking for stuff the koi won't eat.

The only thing koi eh eatin is gravel, plastic and iron.

rx80

Postby rx80 » January 28th, 2014, 8:16 pm

kl122 wrote:

imported day and night blooming Lilly's but kois will eat dem

Selling any of the lilly's?

bir123

Postby bir123 » January 29th, 2014, 7:53 pm

intrested in buying some crypt where u located

kl122

Postby kl122 » January 29th, 2014, 9:34 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391045484.730006.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391045498.066693.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391045515.408398.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391045554.402588.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391045597.548405.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391045620.731001.jpg

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 29th, 2014, 10:04 pm

@bir the crypt is mine just didn't know the name. Ty anyways.

bir123

Postby bir123 » January 31st, 2014, 6:19 pm

Or kool

link

UK's biggest privately owned freshwater aquarium

Postby link » February 2nd, 2014, 9:21 am

Richard Marshall

Re: UK's biggest privately owned freshwater aquarium

Postby Richard Marshall » February 2nd, 2014, 9:30 am

It's sad to see something he had so long, has to go. It's fascinating though.

DJ

Postby DJ » February 4th, 2014, 1:52 pm

Have bout 15 Demasoni Cichlids around 2-3". Want $100 for all, and will throw in a pink Zebra cichlid.

Gshock

Postby Gshock » February 4th, 2014, 3:07 pm

Dj where u located?

DJ

Postby DJ » February 4th, 2014, 4:45 pm

Gshock wrote:Dj where u located?

Gasparillo