Childhood obesity in T&T an epidemic

Re: Childhood obesity in T&T an epidemic

Postby Trini Hookah » February 7th, 2014, 9:52 am

turbosingh wrote:With the high prices of food on the market it makes me wonder how people still obese!

Fast food isn't expensive, vegetables are. Have a look at "Food Inc."

jayakamarksman

Postby jayakamarksman » February 7th, 2014, 9:53 am

BS diversion for us not to focus on more important things .how the hell cud he compare american stats with our stats

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » February 7th, 2014, 9:55 am

We is little America. You never hear that before awah?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 7th, 2014, 10:33 am

redmanjp wrote:-ban or limit portion sizes of soft drinks in schools
-ban all sweet snacks in schools

for the rest of the population:

-immediately require ALL fast food outlets to put nutrition labels on their meals (this includes cinemas too)
-require them to also lower the portion sizes of drinks included in combos- (why is it always a LARGE soft drink with a meal instead of regular? the soft drink in a combo in movietowne is huge!)

the US is already introducing these regulations- so when their fast food chains come in trinidad they should be subject to the same regulations

http://www.fda.gov/Food/IngredientsPackagingLabeling/LabelingNutrition/ucm248732.htm

ITT people want democracy but for the government to think and choose their eats for them.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 7th, 2014, 10:37 am

Redman wrote:But if a child stays inside and study the result would be the same.GENERALLY In the same way that a child who outside all the time will be dysfunctional at school.

Parents control the childs inputs -WE need to ensure that our children learn to desire balance in their lives.

Time for inside and outside,time to study and play PS4

time for TV and time to read.

We have to make the effort to engage our children,and involve ourself in their leisure,school,diet,exercise and social interactions.

We create their habits.

8-)

Postby pete » February 7th, 2014, 10:39 am

The nutrition labels on meals might help though.

Imagine ya gone to buy a BBQ and realise that the box of food you normally buy is 1000+ calories. Not everyone will take it on but the more who do the better.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 7th, 2014, 10:42 am

And we LOOOOOVE condiments but afraid to walk a block to buy the fast food :lol:

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2014, 4:38 pm

ketchup & garlic sauce(mayo) have serious calories

Conrad wrote:And we LOOOOOVE condiments but afraid to walk a block to buy the fast food :lol:

Postby mero » February 7th, 2014, 5:59 pm

Doh talk bout dem "healthy" ones who buying subway salad but bathing down the thing in a million sauce

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 7th, 2014, 6:29 pm

I does buss wey level food...wen I was in primary skool...everyday in std 4 was ah two beef pie and ah ceejink....(I remember pushing some outta timing girl who grab my pie in the dustbin already...tings was srs) I wasn't fat though...still skinny...some of ollur need to lighten up when it comes to junk and fass food...allyuh missing out on the good life

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 7th, 2014, 6:44 pm

If man glorifying obesity and promoting it what allyuh expect to happen?

Postby RASC » February 7th, 2014, 7:36 pm

Trinidadians love for sauce is obscene. Ppl bathe their food in it regularly, all you can do is watch in disgust.

Not surprising they're all from a certain class in the society.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 11th, 2014, 10:47 am

Sauce and Wet food is one disgusting habit Trinis have.
We take it so far that food that's already greasy like chinese food, we bathe it with ketchup!!

And don't tell a Trini local ketchup is not ketchup, they will burn down yuh house!
When the truth is, local ketchup is just cornstarch, sugar and food colouring!!

Postby AllTrac » February 11th, 2014, 10:51 am

yea whats with the ketchup on chinese food? :S

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 11th, 2014, 10:54 am

Saw a man drown his wanton soup with ketchup!!
Ewwwwww!!

Postby S_2NR » February 11th, 2014, 11:40 am

yuck. some trinis put that excuse for ketchup on everything.
heinz and hunts is the only ketchup i will eat, not that local crap.

Postby A172 » February 11th, 2014, 11:44 am

ketchup on egg
ketchup on macaroni pie

brb hurling

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 11th, 2014, 12:18 pm

cheeze arn bred man, yuh cyah tell ah baajhan dat, mac pie is not pie widout the ketchup pon it

Postby Redman » February 11th, 2014, 12:24 pm

A172 wrote:ketchup on egg
ketchup on macaroni pie

brb hurling

tell an american to put ketchup on egg no problem

Put ketchup on pizza they want to vomit

Postby S_2NR » February 11th, 2014, 12:26 pm

ive only seen trinis put ketchup on marios pizza. maybe because it tastes like sheit and they wanna make it taste better. cheddar cheese and very little pasta sauce and ingredients.

ketchup is only meant for sandwiches, kfc and other chicken based fast food (nuggets, wings) imo.

Postby teems1 » February 11th, 2014, 12:47 pm

S_2NR wrote:ive only seen trinis put ketchup on marios pizza. maybe because it tastes like sheit and they wanna make it taste better. cheddar cheese and very little pasta sauce and ingredients.

ketchup is only meant for sandwiches, kfc and other chicken based fast food (nuggets, wings) imo.

What about on fries? That is the best combo imo. Heinz only though, not the local crap.

Postby pete » February 11th, 2014, 1:37 pm

All those who puttin ketchup on their chinese food should try some in a roti. yum yum.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 11th, 2014, 2:54 pm

I hope by ketchup, you mean matouk's. All others phucking phail

Postby RASC » February 11th, 2014, 3:15 pm

AllTrac wrote:yea whats with the ketchup on chinese food? :S

Official way to identify a sufferer.
When they put ketchup on Chinese.

Postby pete » February 11th, 2014, 3:32 pm

The Chinese food place I used to buy from they used to treat me real good, take my order as I walk in before other people. I think it was cause I never put ketchup on my food.

Ah mean.. you're basically saying their food is so horrible it needs to be covered in that horrible sweet pink crap to taste good.

Postby S_2NR » February 11th, 2014, 5:01 pm

teems1 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:ive only seen trinis put ketchup on marios pizza. maybe because it tastes like sheit and they wanna make it taste better. cheddar cheese and very little pasta sauce and ingredients.

What about on fries? That is the best combo imo. Heinz only though, not the local crap.

Yea man. Fries, wedges, etc

Postby shogun » February 11th, 2014, 7:26 pm

Wonton soup with ketchup????

People treat their belly like the dump oui.

Postby tr1ad » February 11th, 2014, 7:44 pm

Sorry eh but them Chinese especially now come "Chinese" place expect Trinis to put ketchup on the food.... After all the food is catered for our society, same with our kfc

Ketchup and mayo on pelau .... Saw that the other day

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2014, 7:55 pm

It is only because it is free....

9 out of 10 customers will tell subway employee "all th sauces"

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » February 11th, 2014, 9:34 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I hope by ketchup, you mean matouk's. All others phucking phail

there is no other ketchup. only matouks. anything else is garbage