The Religion Discussion

AdamB

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby AdamB » February 9th, 2014, 7:07 am

meccalli wrote:Is Allah going to punish me for unbelief now?

And from those who call themselves christians, We took their covenant, but they have abandoned a good part of the Message that was sent to them. So We planted amongst them enmity and hatred till the Day of Resurrection (when they discarded Allah's Book, disobeyed Allah's Messengers and His Orders and transgressed beyond bounds in Allah's disobedience); and Allah will inform them of what they used to do.

( سورة المائدة , Al-Maeda, Chapter #5, Verse #14)

Postby meccalli » February 9th, 2014, 7:11 am

AdamB wrote:Sorry, it was:

Then why are the Jews / Rabbis NOT turning to Christianity in crowds?

meccalli wrote: This is all prophecy, they're stubborn, they won't turn back to God until he reveals himself in the end as their last option. Its all there, in those words that supposedly have no solid authorship

I thought you were being sarcastic :)

And from those who call themselves christians, We took their covenant, but they have abandoned a good part of the Message that was sent to them. So We planted amongst them enmity and hatred till the Day of Resurrection (when they discarded Allah's Book, disobeyed Allah's Messengers and His Orders and transgressed beyond bounds in Allah's disobedience); and Allah will inform them of what they used to do.

( سورة المائدة , Al-Maeda, Chapter #5, Verse #14)

I guess we'll find out on that good day, I know who will judge me.

Postby DFC » February 9th, 2014, 7:33 am

I bought a can coke from a Muslim lady and when I went in my car and open it, it exploded.

Hmmph.
Typical.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » February 9th, 2014, 12:27 pm

DFC,
Firstly thanks for describing her as a lady.

Secondly,
Since you disbelieve in GOD, why not blame science, PV/T=constant...so since you instantaneously decreased the pressure, the volume increased inversely proportional...aka exploding!

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 13th, 2014, 8:02 pm

“Where is the graveyard of dead gods? What lingering mourner waters their mounds? There was a time when Jupiter was the king of the gods, and any man who doubted his puissance was ipso facto a barbarian and an ignoramus. But where in all the world is there a man who worships Jupiter today? And who of Huitzilopochtli? In one year - and it is no more than five hundred years ago - 50,000 youths and maidens were slain in sacrifice to him. Today, if he is remembered at all, it is only by some vagrant savage in the depths of the Mexican forest. Huitzilopochtli, like many other gods, had no human father; his mother was a virtuous widow; he was born of an apparently innocent flirtation that she carried out with the sun.

When he frowned, his father, the sun, stood still. When he roared with rage, earthquakes engulfed whole cities. When he thirsted he was watered with 10,000 gallons of human blood. But today Huitzilopochtli is as magnificently forgotten as Allen G. Thurman. Once the peer of Allah, Buddha and Wotan, he is now the peer of Richmond P. Hobson, Alton B. Parker, Adelina Patti, General Weyler and Tom Sharkey.

Speaking of Huitzilopochtli recalls his brother Tezcatlipoca.
Tezcatlipoca was almost as powerful; he consumed 25,000 virgins a year.

Lead me to his tomb: I would weep, and hang a couronne des perles. But who knows where it is? Or where the grave of Quetzalcoatl is? Or Xiuhtecuhtli? Or Centeotl, that sweet one? Or Tlazolteotl, the goddess of love? Of Mictlan? Or Xipe? Or all the host of Tzitzimitl? Where are their bones? Where is the willow on which they hung their harps? In what forlorn and unheard-of Hell do they await their resurrection morn? Who enjoys their residuary estates? Or that of Dis, whom Caesar found to be the chief god of the Celts? Of that of Tarves, the bull? Or that of Moccos, the pig? Or that of Epona, the mare? Or that of Mullo, the celestial jackass? There was a time when the Irish revered all these gods, but today even the drunkest Irishman laughs at them.

But they have company in oblivion: the Hell of dead gods is as crowded
as the Presbyterian Hell for babies. Damona is there, and Esus, and
Drunemeton, and Silvana, and Dervones, and Adsullata, and Deva, and
Bellisima, and Uxellimus, and Borvo, and Grannos, and Mogons. All mighty gods in their day, worshipped by millions, full of demands and impositions, able to bind and loose - all gods of the first class. Men labored for generations to build vast temples to them - temples with stones as large as hay-wagons.

The business of interpreting their whims occupied thousands of priests,
bishops, archbishops. To doubt them was to die, usually at the stake.
Armies took to the field to defend them against infidels; villages were burned, women and children butchered, cattle were driven off. Yet in the end they all withered and died, and today there is none so poor to do them reverence.

What has become of Sutekh, once the high god of the whole Nile Valley?
What has become of:
Resheph
Anath
Ashtoreth
El
Nergal
Nebo
Ninib
Melek
Ahijah
Isis
Ptah
Anubis
Baal
Astarte
Hadad
Addu
Shalem
Dagon
Sharaab
Yau
Amon-Re
Osiris
Sebek
Molech?

All there were gods of the highest eminence. Many of them are mentioned with fear and trembling in the Old Testament. They ranked, five or six thousand years ago, with Yahweh Himself; the worst of them stood far higher than Thor. Yet they have all gone down the chute, and with them the following:
Bilé
Ler
Arianrod
Morrigu
Govannon
Gunfled
Sokk-mimi
Memetona
Dagda
Robigus
Pluto
Ops
Meditrina
Vesta

You may think I spoof. That I invent the names. I do not. Ask the rector to lend you any good treatise on comparative religion: You will find them all listed. They were gods of the highest standing and dignity-gods of civilized peoples-worshiped and believed in by millions. All were omnipotent, omniscient and immortal.

And all are dead.”
― H.L. Mencken

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » February 13th, 2014, 8:39 pm

nice quote pal

Postby meccalli » February 13th, 2014, 11:24 pm

All of those guys originate from ancient babylon, you can go through that list and pick out the triads that represent tammuz, nimrod and semiramus which all gained adaptations by cultures after the separation incident of babel. others fall into the category in genesis, nephilim giants, great men of old, men of renown.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 17th, 2014, 1:22 pm

I know this is a bit off topic but I thought it was interesting. [Not my personal views, just looks like something to make an interesting discussion]

Here is a graph of Intelligence vs. Religosity that you guys may find interesting. Some people think that the internet can be partially attributed to the decline in religious belief that we have seen over the past couple decades because it makes information so easily accessable.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religiosity_and_intelligence

The topic of religiosity and intelligence is the statistical relationship between intelligence and religiosity. Studies have begun to explore the link between religiosity and issues related to intelligence and educational level.
Various studies further suggest that relying more on intuition tends to increase religious beliefs, while analytic, deductive, and more rational thinking decreases religious beliefs.
Although statistical studies show that the poorest countries tend to be more religious, experts suggest that the reason may be that religions play a more active social, moral and cultural role in those countries Religions in wealthy countries used to have a more specific moral and spiritual role.

Postby maj. tom » February 17th, 2014, 1:40 pm

"Religion exists not where people feel the absence of transcendence, but rather where they feel the absence of bread, water, decent medication and jobs.”

- Peter Watson, The Age of Atheists. © Simon & Schuster 2014.

Postby maj. tom » February 17th, 2014, 1:44 pm

Denmark bans religious slaughter of animals.
Defending the government's decision, Agriculture and Food Minister Dan Jørgensen told Denmark's TV2 television that "animal rights come before religion"

Posted: Fri, 14 Feb 2014 16:52

Denmark's Agriculture and Food Minister Dan Jørgensen has signed into law a regulation that bans religious slaughter of animals.

European Union regulations require stunning before slaughter, but permit member states to allow exemptions for religious slaughter. Under the new law, Danish slaughterhouses will no longer be able to apply for an exemption to pre-stunning.

The move has been opposed by Jewish and Muslim religious leaders in Denmark, who have argued that the ban constitutes an infringement of religious freedom.

However, defending the government's decision, Mr Jørgensen told Denmark's TV2 television that "animal rights come before religion".

Denmark is a major exporter of Halal meat to the Arab world and Halal food is widely available throughout the country. Revelations last year that Danes were being served unlabelled meat from Islamic slaughter at public institutions triggered a nationwide debate on the practice of religious slaughter – and how far Denmark should go to accommodate the estimated 250,000 Muslims living in the country.

According to the World Jewish Congress, the ban will have little practical consequences for Jewish life in Denmark since for the past ten years all kosher meat sold in Denmark has been imported from abroad.

Denmark joins a growing list of countries, including Norway, Poland, Sweden and Switzerland, where religious slaughter is prohibited.

Earlier this year the National Secular Society backed renewed calls from the RSPCA and other animal welfare organisations for an end to the religious exemption that allows farm animals to be slaughtered without prior stunning.

In 2013, the coalition government said it would not remove the exemption despite "strong pressure" from welfare groups, veterinary interests and the public for a prohibition on all slaughter without stunning.

© 2014 National Secular Society

http://www.secularism.org.uk/news/2014/ ... -slaughter

DJ

Postby DJ » February 19th, 2014, 8:58 am

^^yea but does plain human desire come before Animal rights?

I mean, PLENTY MORE animals are being slaughtered outside of religion, and NO ONE makes a fuss. Chickens for one, turkeys, and cattle.

Where the animal rights activists for the chickens?

Postby maj. tom » February 19th, 2014, 9:20 am

I'm sure there are a lot. PETA for one, though the FBI considers them a terrorist organisation.

KFC and MacDonald's get a lot of flak in USA.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 19th, 2014, 4:14 pm

Small thing this year ah have 3 cattle and 2 goat for Eid -Al- Adha...
Mih pal from dong de road, them have a kali temple and it does have offerings of goat, pig and cockerel. Mih christain sistren does slaughter a turkey every thanksgiving. Sacrifice is good for de belly.

On that note... Adamb rather quiet on this topic

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 19th, 2014, 5:45 pm

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 26th, 2014, 7:57 pm

Postby maj. tom » February 26th, 2014, 8:01 pm

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 26th, 2014, 8:14 pm

maj.tom that puts everything in perspective

Postby MG Man » February 26th, 2014, 9:16 pm

Man when you look at the local superclusters in the context of the visible universe, it really is mind-blowing!

Postby meccalli » February 26th, 2014, 10:03 pm

Funny how NASA itself and key members are deeply rooted in occultism surrounding their untainted science.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 26th, 2014, 10:19 pm

meccalli wrote:Funny how NASA itself and key members are deeply rooted in occultism surrounding their untainted science.

Yup praise be to the almighty flying spaghetti monster... We are not worthy

Postby meccalli » February 26th, 2014, 10:31 pm

Yeah pretty much considering the guy who created the current formula for rocket fuel attempted to make a homunculus under the guidance of crowley and lavey.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 5th, 2014, 10:21 pm

Kuro Shiro
3 days ago

all i understood from this is that we are all gods ._.?
·
Stephan Bischoff
3 days ago

no, he says that the god you believe in is inside yourself and therefor you are your own god (thats why he knows you so well). thats why god is different for everyone else and thats actually what the bible is all about:

“Neither shall they say, Lo here! or, lo there! for, behold, the kingdom of God is within you.” (Luke 17:21)

and thats why most of the religious organisations (like the christian church) are just BS and abuse of people.
if you want to read something funny, try Matthew 23 (jesus about religious leaders).

Matthew 23

New International Version (NIV)
A Warning Against Hypocrisy

23 Then Jesus said to the crowds and to his disciples: 2 “The teachers of the law and the Pharisees sit in Moses’ seat. 3 So you must be careful to do everything they tell you. But do not do what they do, for they do not practice what they preach. 4 They tie up heavy, cumbersome loads and put them on other people’s shoulders, but they themselves are not willing to lift a finger to move them.
5 “Everything they do is done for people to see: They make their phylacteries[a] wide and the tassels on their garments long; 6 they love the place of honor at banquets and the most important seats in the synagogues; 7 they love to be greeted with respect in the marketplaces and to be called ‘Rabbi’ by others.

8 “But you are not to be called ‘Rabbi,’ for you have one Teacher, and you are all brothers. 9 And do not call anyone on earth ‘father,’ for you have one Father, and he is in heaven. 10 Nor are you to be called instructors, for you have one Instructor, the Messiah. 11 The greatest among you will be your servant. 12 For those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.
Seven Woes on the Teachers of the Law and the Pharisees

13 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You shut the door of the kingdom of heaven in people’s faces. You yourselves do not enter, nor will you let those enter who are trying to. [14] [b]

15 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You travel over land and sea to win a single convert, and when you have succeeded, you make them twice as much a child of hell as you are.

16 “Woe to you, blind guides! You say, ‘If anyone swears by the temple, it means nothing; but anyone who swears by the gold of the temple is bound by that oath.’ 17 You blind fools! Which is greater: the gold, or the temple that makes the gold sacred? 18 You also say, ‘If anyone swears by the altar, it means nothing; but anyone who swears by the gift on the altar is bound by that oath.’ 19 You blind men! Which is greater: the gift, or the altar that makes the gift sacred? 20 Therefore, anyone who swears by the altar swears by it and by everything on it. 21 And anyone who swears by the temple swears by it and by the one who dwells in it. 22 And anyone who swears by heaven swears by God’s throne and by the one who sits on it.

23 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cumin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former. 24 You blind guides! You strain out a gnat but swallow a camel.

25 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You clean the outside of the cup and dish, but inside they are full of greed and self-indulgence. 26 Blind Pharisee! First clean the inside of the cup and dish, and then the outside also will be clean.

27 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs, which look beautiful on the outside but on the inside are full of the bones of the dead and everything unclean. 28 In the same way, on the outside you appear to people as righteous but on the inside you are full of hypocrisy and wickedness.

29 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You build tombs for the prophets and decorate the graves of the righteous. 30 And you say, ‘If we had lived in the days of our ancestors, we would not have taken part with them in shedding the blood of the prophets.’ 31 So you testify against yourselves that you are the descendants of those who murdered the prophets. 32 Go ahead, then, and complete what your ancestors started!

33 “You snakes! You brood of vipers! How will you escape being condemned to hell? 34 Therefore I am sending you prophets and sages and teachers. Some of them you will kill and crucify; others you will flog in your synagogues and pursue from town to town. 35 And so upon you will come all the righteous blood that has been shed on earth, from the blood of righteous Abel to the blood of Zechariah son of Berekiah, whom you murdered between the temple and the altar. 36 Truly I tell you, all this will come on this generation.

37 “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing. 38 Look, your house is left to you desolate. 39 For I tell you, you will not see me again until you say, ‘Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.’[c]”
Last edited by nareshseep on March 6th, 2014, 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

devsingh

Postby devsingh » March 5th, 2014, 10:58 pm

"Religion is the impotence of the human mind to deal with occurrences it cannot understand" -
Karl Marx

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2014, 11:15 pm

devsingh wrote:"Religion is the impotence of the human mind to deal with occurrences it cannot understand" -
Karl Marx

I like this.

Postby bluefete » March 5th, 2014, 11:24 pm

MG Man wrote:Man when you look at the local superclusters in the context of the visible universe, it really is mind-blowing!

True. And they all put themselves there!!

Postby bluefete » March 5th, 2014, 11:38 pm

meccalli wrote:Funny how NASA itself and key members are deeply rooted in occultism surrounding their untainted science.

Hush, Meccali. You do not want to shock the spaghetti flying monster believers by telling them the truth now, do you???

After all, that would clearly show that scientists believe in some form of worship - devil or otherwise.

Theodore Von Karman, John Parsons, Werner Von Braun, - Check them out and see what they dabbled in and what they based the entire US space programme on.

John Glenn, Wally Schirra, Gus Grissom Edwin "buzz" Aldrin and Gordon Cooper (all astronauts) were all Scottish Rite Freemasons.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 6th, 2014, 12:18 pm

bluefete wrote:
MG Man wrote:Man when you look at the local superclusters in the context of the visible universe, it really is mind-blowing!

True. And they all put themselves there!!

The point is the universe is so vast that the occurrence that we are the only beings in the universe is a far fetched

Postby MG Man » March 6th, 2014, 12:27 pm

Youmadbrah?
Gawd did all that to show how superawesomeppwerful he is

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 6th, 2014, 12:39 pm

MG Man wrote:Youmadbrah?

Oh right right.. I forgot... God is vain...and then he died... or is it that we killed him.

Postby bluefete » March 6th, 2014, 1:03 pm

MG Man wrote:Youmadbrah?

Our puny minds cannot begin to understand the awesome wonder of God's universe.

We cannot imagine what technology will be possible years in the future that will make travelling faster than the speed of light possible.

The Bible said in the old Testament stated that:

Daniel 12:

4 But thou, O Daniel, shut up the words, and seal the book, even to the time of the end: many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall be increased.

A belief or disbelief in God will not change what is about to happen.