Two DEAD!! Thrown from Hilux tray.

Postby maj. tom » March 17th, 2014, 10:13 am

Two die: thrown from pick-up tray
By Alexander Bruzual

Story Created: Mar 17, 2014 at 12:14 AM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 17, 2014 at 12:14 AM ECT

A 17-year-old boy, and a 20-year-old man, are among three who were killed in motor vehicular accidents over the weekend.
In the latest incident, police reported that at about 3 a.m. on Sunday, a white Toyota Hilux motor vehicle with seven occupants, was proceeding west along the Audrey Jeffers Highway. Police sources explained that five of the young men were in the cabin of the vehicle, while the other two, Vishal Maharaj, 17, of Paul Augustus Road, Chin Chin Road, Cunupia, and Sunil Sahadeo, 20, of Second Avenue, Latchman Gardens, Cunupia, were in the tray of the pick up truck.
Upon reaching the vicinity of the Peakes One Stop Service Station, Kalim Ali, the driver of the vehicle, told police that he received a “bad drive” from another motorist, and while trying to avoid a collision, he lost control of the pick up truck. The vehicle slammed into the concrete barrier along the highway, before spinning out of control. Both Maharaj and Sahadeo were thrown from the tray of the pick-up and landed violently onto the roadway.
They both died on the scene.
Motorists who witnessed the accident stopped to render assistance, and the police, as well as the emergency health services were notified. The five other young men who were in the cabin of the pick-up truck were all rushed to the Port of Spain General Hospital where they were treated for various injuries.
Speaking to the Express yesterday at her Paul Augustus Road home, Maharaj’s mother Sita was brought to tears on several occasions as she spoke about her youngest son.
“Why was he on the tray? That wasn’t right. He know that he shouldn’t have done that. It have a man who lives in the area here who right now is in a wheelchair because he was once travelling in the back of a van. We have spoken to Vishal on that so he knew it was wrong, so I keep asking myself why was he there? If he wasn’t in the tray, he may still be with us today,” Sita Maharaj explained.
The grieving mother noted that her son was last enrolled at the Vishnu Boys Hindu College along the Southern Main Road.
Sita Maharaj said she had last saw her son on Saturday night when he told her that he was going to the Zen nightclub along Keate Street, Port of Spain, with his cousins. She said after they left the nightclub, the group had decided to go to “another lime” in Carenage.
She described her son was a kind and loving person, who would be greatly missed by all who knew him.
“He was such a loving child. He used to come and hug me up on an evening, and used to tell me, mami, I love you. For a 17-year-old he was very playful. He used to tell me, mami you wouldn’t get this when I get a girlfriend eh, so take all this love right now,” Sita Maharaj recalled with tears in her eyes.
“Right now, I am hurting. It is my child, and it hurts so much to have lost him. It hurts so much to know that I will never see him running about this yard or playing with his cousins, or coming to trouble me, I have no words to describe how I am feeling,” Maharaj said.
A short distance away, relatives of Sahadeo were preparing their home for the wake when the Express arrived at their Second Avenue, Latchman Gardens, Cunupia, home.
Sahadeo’s brother, Shankar Sahadeo said that Sunil was the youngest of 11 children, and he was a kind and caring young man who loved to lime with his friends and his family.
“You see that boy,” joked Shankar Sahadeo,”he liked to lime plenty. He never get in any trouble or anything like that. He was a quiet one. But oh lawd he like to lime. Last night (Saturday) he said he was going Zen, and then after that, like they decided to go to another lime that was in Carenage.
“How he get on that tray, I will never understand. That was the first time in all these years that I know him that I hear him doing anything like that. He was a man who loved his image na. He was always in the best of brands, always neat and well kept. So I find the fact that he would get into the tray of a van so strange. But it was done, and right now, everyone in this family mash up. Everyone feeling down. We all lost someone we loved, and it is a hurtful thing,” Shankar Sahadeo said.
Western Division Police are continuing investigations.
About 12-hours earlier, a 30-year-old man from Maznanilla was also killed in a motor vehicular accident when the car he was driving slammed into a coconut tree along the Manzanilla/Mayaro Road.
Police reported that at about 3 p.m. on Saturday, Sean Bennette, was driving his vehicle along the Manzanilla\Mayaro Road, when upon reaching the vicinity of the 81-mile mark, he lost control of his car. The vehicle veered off-road, and slammed into a coconut tree.
Bennette, police said, was killed on impact.
Motorists who witnessed the accident notified the police and emergency health services, and a party of officers including Sgt Samaroo, and Cpl Gildhaire, along with officials from the Sangre Grande Fire Station, visited the scene.
Sgt Samaroo of Mayaro police is continuing enquiries.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Two-die-thrown-from-pick-up-tray-250559751.html

Driver needs to be charged, no?

Soul Collector

Re: Two DEAD!! Thrown from Hilux tray.

Postby Soul Collector » March 17th, 2014, 10:14 am

I guess so. Dangerous driving or..? Rel stupid way to go.....but RIP nonetheless.

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2014, 10:23 am

I lol'd

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 17th, 2014, 10:24 am

Hilux must have been FLYING too, sorry for the Deceased......

Postby Dizzy28 » March 17th, 2014, 10:26 am

Is this 1980...why are ppl still sitting in the trays of vans?

TOYOTAGirlz

Postby TOYOTAGirlz » March 17th, 2014, 10:27 am

involuntary manslaughter and to de boy mother she should get charge for bad parenting she should be asking why was he there yes good question why was he in de back of a tray at that hour instead of home studying.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 17th, 2014, 10:32 am

17 inna d zen? 7 inna a hilux? Drunk and onna d highway? Stupid is as stupid does oui

Postby stev » March 17th, 2014, 10:34 am

how fast the driver was going in order to "loose control" from a bad drive......and he know he carry two people in the tray?

I agree that he should be charged.

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2014, 10:35 am

TOYOTAGirlz wrote:involuntary manslaughter and to de boy mother she should get charge for bad parenting she should be asking why was he there yes good question why was he in de back of a tray at that hour instead of home studying.

where do you people come from? Did the doctor squeeze your head too tight with his forceps when he pulled you out?

TOYOTAGirlz

Postby TOYOTAGirlz » March 17th, 2014, 10:37 am

its a good question he should not be out at that hour

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 17th, 2014, 10:39 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Is this 1980...why are ppl still sitting in the trays of vans?

Exactly! Didn't think people was still doing this!

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » March 17th, 2014, 10:42 am

ADONI wrote:

Exactly! Didn't think people was still doing this!

Ummm so yall neve notice ppl riding van trays for election campaings

Postby Spitfir3 » March 17th, 2014, 10:42 am

ent the age to go them place is like 18 or 21 or somn so? 17years and the kid limeing around them hours?

driver allowing it, both guys willingly riding in the tray and is not to say it was even a back road self but the highway? sure the guy was real gunning it too i mean "bad drive" at that hour? :?

stupidity all around regardless r.i.p

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » March 17th, 2014, 10:52 am

@ 17 I was clubbing hard! .and thk god I'm still alive today.. all these nerds up in hurr

urabus

Postby urabus » March 17th, 2014, 11:17 am

stev wrote:how fast the driver was going in order to "loose control" from a bad drive......and he know he carry two people in the tray?

I agree that he should be charged.

Knowing that his vehicle was overloaded and he had free drinks a couple hours before at zen, the driver should have exercised even more care on the road and not be driving so as to lose control if something happened to his van. Clearly that thought never crossed his mind.

Why in most cases the driver says he had gotten a bad drive? As if he is trying to plead innocent and brakes from the charges of manslaughter .

Postby Chimera » March 17th, 2014, 11:19 am

yup

the only time that age requirement was enforced in zen or any other club was after dayna alleyne rub up she nanny all over the stage

before that i use to be in clubs and bars from 14/15 years and up

but in any event, you have to be REAL freaking dotish to sit down in a drunk man van tray

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2014, 11:20 am

uncle sam wrote:@ 17 I was clubbing hard! .and thk god I'm still alive today.. all these nerds up in hurr

exactly
My folks did their best but once u leave the house, you can do all sorts of sheit they will have no clue about....you'd think some of the buttflaps in here never did anything dumb that their parents would be surprised at...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 17th, 2014, 11:22 am

i blame parents for giving irresponsible children vehicles to drive.u telling me u come from a club den want to go for a bathe at 3.30am..wat d actual fack.

Postby DFC » March 17th, 2014, 11:23 am

Really unfortunate.

moti

Postby moti » March 17th, 2014, 11:30 am

Something is fishy about this.

I mean we all know speeding and Hilux don't mix.
How fast was "fast" anyway?

Those vans are slow as a mofo.

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2014, 11:34 am

the speed limit there is 50kph
Heading west, you leave the traffic light and enter a blind bend.........too many ways things could go wrong there at whet most people consider 'slow' speeds. Enter at say 100kph in a pickup and suddenly have to swerve mid-corner, for example, and all kinda ugly can occur

moti

Postby moti » March 17th, 2014, 11:37 am

And coming from you, that part about ugly MUST be true.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 17th, 2014, 11:39 am

moti wrote:Something is fishy about this.

At nights when the road fairly empty I'm sure they can come up to a reckless speed fairly easily.

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2014, 11:40 am

damn right
I put de oooo ooogleee

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 17th, 2014, 11:40 am

moti wrote:Something is fishy about this.

dafuq u saying dan? I strongly disagree

However now for my comment...

E was ah good boy...
condolences to the grieving families

Postby Chimera » March 17th, 2014, 11:41 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:i blame parents for giving irresponsible children vehicles to drive.u telling me u come from a club den want to go for a bathe at 3.30am..wat d actual fack.

thats perfectly normal eh.

most times when I leave home 7-11pm to go lime, i passing through 3-4 limes, ending up tyrico or maracas in the morning and then reaching home 10 am the next day

Postby toyolink » March 17th, 2014, 11:42 am

Consumption of alcohol by someone incapable of exercising self control is an ideal condition for disaster.
Drunkeness has been institutionalized by 'song and dance' in our society and the weak minded suffer the consequences of attempting to conform to the drunk till I die mentality.
Unfortunately,the problem seems to be ....Weak mental capacity void of any committed standards of right and wrong, normally the domain of 'just born babies'.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 17th, 2014, 11:44 am

toyolink wrote:Consumption of alcohol by someone incapable of exercising self control is an ideal condition for disaster.
Drunkeness has been institutionalized by 'song and dance' in our society and the weak minded suffer the consequences of attempting to conform to the drunk till I die mentality.
Unfortunately,the problem seems to be ....Weak mental capacity void of any committed standards of right and wrong, normally the domain of 'just born babies'.

Seems to own a dictionary with these big words#seems legit :lol:

Nah but on a real tho..I agree

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2014, 11:46 am

the problem with alcohol is you do not need to be visibly drunk to be imparied. Added to that, most trinis 'could handle dey alcohol'

Postby mitsu_chick941 » March 17th, 2014, 11:50 am

very sad these young people losing their lives because of stupidity