Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2014, 8:59 am

having a DRED bunchy top problem with my pawpaw field

any advice?

bujuization

Postby bujuization » April 18th, 2014, 9:03 am

MonsterPower wrote:good are to get into is mint .. bars ketchin tail to get a regular supply of mint

now hearing about this.. tell me more

bujuization

Postby bujuization » April 18th, 2014, 9:07 am

liking this thread :D
Last edited by bujuization on April 18th, 2014, 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » April 18th, 2014, 9:38 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:having a DRED bunchy top problem with my pawpaw field

any advice?

chop down and remove!

yup..it is heart wrenching to cut down a fully mature pawpaw tree with fruits but
Such is Life!

better to sacrifice a couple trees than loose the entire field.
(then try to control any possible vectors)

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2014, 9:41 am

i talking about 50% of the field have the disease tho.

no chemical to bring them back from that point?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 18th, 2014, 9:55 am

ABA, you don't have an extension officer?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2014, 10:13 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i talking about 50% of the field have the disease tho.

no chemical to bring them back from that point?

I went by a garden shop for this same problem,only thing was for one tree though.Man tell me try:bioneem,protector,algacin...all mixed together...it worked though but I guess the disease was in developing stages.idk for yours.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2014, 10:17 am

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » April 28th, 2014, 7:05 pm

jramsarran wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:having a DRED bunchy top problem with my pawpaw field

any advice?

chop down and remove!

yup..it is heart wrenching to cut down a fully mature pawpaw tree with fruits but
Such is Life!

better to sacrifice a couple trees than loose the entire field.
(then try to control any possible vectors)

bro what are you using lately as a sharp shooter insecticide for whiteflies and other pests?

@jramsarran

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 4th, 2014, 6:51 am

OK not agriculture but still plant based.my palm plants are drying. not water problems because I water all palm plants every other day. I suspect either a fungicide or mite problem which causing the leaves to turn yellow and then brown from the middle. Any help please?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 4th, 2014, 7:36 am

post pics of said plants..I never had these problems with palms.yuh sure ah man aint give yuh plants a dred bad eye...
believe it or not it happens eh...take a bucket of blue soap water or blu and bathe plants with it

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 4th, 2014, 9:09 am

MonsterPower wrote:OK not agriculture but still plant based.my palm plants are drying. not water problems because I water all palm plants every other day. I suspect either a fungicide or mite problem which causing the leaves to turn yellow and then brown from the middle. Any help please?

Post pics, full plant, full leaf and zoom leaf, look for tiny mites also and take pics of them too

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » May 4th, 2014, 9:30 am

MonsterPower wrote:OK not agriculture but still plant based.my palm plants are drying. not water problems because I water all palm plants every other day. I suspect either a fungicide or mite problem which causing the leaves to turn yellow and then brown from the middle. Any help please?

As hustla said it could be a mite problem (Red palm mite). Pass your finger along the middle of the under leaf, if it's red then you have a problem.

marlener

Postby marlener » May 31st, 2014, 9:09 pm

Anyone using a solar irrigation system or ever used one

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2014, 6:59 am

anyone has luck with west indian cherry trees??? if so what chemicals,insecticides,herbicides,plant food are used to keep it going?

Postby meccalli » June 1st, 2014, 7:29 am

I have 3 fully mature trees in my yard, they just tend to grow well, we never have to look after it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2014, 8:20 am

meccalli wrote:I have 3 fully mature trees in my yard, they just tend to grow well, we never have to look after it.

bastard :lol:

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 21st, 2014, 3:21 pm

hey guys, i wanna set up a small aquaponic backyard garden...who can help me with info...how to, tips, where to get supplies..etc?

S.M.R.E.B.

Postby S.M.R.E.B. » July 14th, 2014, 9:18 am

Guys...

i am looking for a market to sell eggs right now...looking for meat shops/ groceries/ shops/ etc

preferably in the East...but will be willing to go further if the orders are sufficient.

all sizes available...S/M/L
crates/dozens and halves

PM for details
or
call 708-0101 if interested

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 14th, 2014, 10:04 am

most groceries/shops etc etc tend to ask for documents from health inspectors in relation to what you produce..the best cold storage in the east in Bissram cold storage located in San Lois road Sangre Grande,you could check them.

S.M.R.E.B.

Postby S.M.R.E.B. » July 15th, 2014, 9:20 am

tanx... will do

Postby X_Factor » July 20th, 2014, 8:43 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Earthwise-TC70001 ... 196&sr=1-1

opinions from anyone that have used an electric tiller?
need it to till regular yard soil so you know it will be hard with few rocks in it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 21st, 2014, 7:44 am

that price not bad though^ but I doh like them electric thing nuh..I'd use meh normal hoe or shovel yes

Postby Chimera » July 21st, 2014, 11:04 am

price not bad but i feel that going to break up easy

if you have a farmers badge you can get 50% off the heavy duty ones they sell locally and also get warranty etc.

you can also rent

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 21st, 2014, 11:43 pm

x factor just look at the ratio of gas wackers as opposed to d electric ones,gas is more used so im assuming this may fall in the same category.

Postby X_Factor » July 22nd, 2014, 12:07 am

yeah, i guess the electric is probably designed softer soils and those fancy back yard gardens you see in the US

where can you rent a tiller?

the space is only 20x40 ft

i'll pelt some fork tmr and see how easy it will be considering the soil should be soaked with the lil rain

anyone want a couple chilli and cherry pepper plants?....have about 4 in each

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 22nd, 2014, 12:22 am

gas whackers are more popular because they come with bigger engine(more power) and are more portable , you don't need a power plug to run it. it is plenty more expensive to maintain a gas engine.
The reviews are good on that tiller but it might be good enough for a little back garden

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 22nd, 2014, 2:22 am

X_Factor wrote:anyone want a couple chilli and cherry pepper plants?....have about 4 in each

Hey man, are you giving away the plants? I'll take if you are.

Postby X_Factor » July 22nd, 2014, 7:35 am

yeah, located a couple mins from UWI st augustine

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 22nd, 2014, 7:54 am

NR8 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:anyone want a couple chilli and cherry pepper plants?....have about 4 in each

Hey man, are you giving away the plants? I'll take if you are.

dem cherry pepper rel hot dred...some weird arse colors too