.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby De Dragon » April 27th, 2014, 3:29 pm

RASC wrote:So why even have this discussion if we all gonna revert back to racial lines? Y'all saying yuh on the same level as the masses?
I'm bring sarcastic for a reason-let us please raise the conversation levels. Stop making it sound like a rumshop.

We had a good thing going with the traffic solutions... lets try to tackle issues. I was using sarcastic bait to make everyone realise-that it's not about "ah black man party"...it's about which party is actually going to solve X Y or Z

You can have all the discussions in the world and it will not change a thing. People have had this ingrained in them since our politics began, and unless there is a monumental event to change that mindset, people will continue to support and vote along racial lines.
I am just calling it as I see it, and trying to sound like some sort of intellectual holier than thou rings hollow based on your very public stated support for all things PNM.

Postby RASC » April 27th, 2014, 3:35 pm

RASC wrote:So why even have this discussion if we all gonna revert back to racial lines? Y'all saying yuh on the same level as the masses?
I'm bring sarcastic for a reason-let us please raise the conversation levels. Stop making it sound like a rumshop.

We had a good thing going with the traffic solutions... lets try to tackle issues. I was using sarcastic bait to make everyone realise-that it's not about "ah black man party"...it's about which party is actually going to solve X Y or Z

You can have all the discussions in the world and it will not change a thing. People have had this ingrained in them since our politics began, and unless there is a monumental event to change that mindset, people will continue to support and vote along racial lines.
I am just calling it as I see it, and trying to sound like some sort of intellectual holier than thou rings hollow based on your very public stated support for all things PNM.

I support the party with an actual vision..not because I'm black indian or white.

That's the point I was trying to make here, that we here engaged in this convo supposed to be above race... that's why I'm asking to RAISE the convo above that and lets discuss ISSUES only.

Postby De Dragon » April 27th, 2014, 3:46 pm

RASC wrote:

I support the party with an actual vision..not because I'm black indian or white.

That's the point I was trying to make here, that we here engaged in this convo supposed to be above race... that's why I'm asking to RAISE the convo above that and lets discuss ISSUES only.

Then come to the table with clean hands. It's obvious that your disinclination to even acknowledge that the PNM have as their majority of supporters a mostly Afro-Trinidadian core, means that your "discussion" is dead before it even begins. Your continued scorn for anything UNC/PP related means that you are biased and have no interest in anything related to a serious, sober discussion about politics. You don't even speak in general terms about the politics but all your comments on the topic have a tint of bias in them.

Postby RASC » April 27th, 2014, 3:58 pm

Why must I leave a PNM bias at home when having a political discussion?

Regardless of political affiliation we should talk about issues NOT race that's what I'm trying to say.

Why are you not understanding me. You can be biased towards any political party that's encouraged and healthy. I just dont want the issue to be solely about race.

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » April 27th, 2014, 3:59 pm

RASC wrote:

I tried discussing the issue of the delivery of basic services and goods to the people. I was talking about how the govt increased the water supply from 18% of the nation on a 24/7 water supply in 2010 to 57% as of Dec 2013.

Your bro rfari dive in the thread one time and his argument was based wholly on that all those plans are PNM plans so even though the PNM did not implement it and PP did, all credit must go to the PNM.

When I told him that yes most of the plans were conceived under the pnm but not all, he went a step further to say that all the projects were started under the PNM, stopped in 2010 under the PP and reworked as their own plan.

His ignorance is so overwhelming I was sure that the funds for all these plans came from balisier house and not the consolidated fund at the ministry of finance. He then goes on to talk about draft consultant report and all kinda bs to skirt around the issue(s).

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2014, 4:03 pm

SiR8081 wrote:
RASC wrote:

I tried discussing the issue of the delivery of basic services and goods to the people. I was talking about how the govt increased the water supply from 18% of the nation on a 24/7 water supply in 2010 to 57% as of Dec 2013.

Your bro rfari dive in the thread one time and his argument was based wholly on that all those plans are PNM plans so even though the PNM did not implement it and PP did, all credit must go to the PNM.

When I told him that yes most of the plans were conceived under the pnm but not all, he went a step further to say that all the projects were started under the PNM, stopped in 2010 under the PP and reworked as their own plan.

His ignorance is so overwhelming I was sure that the funds for all these plans came from balisier house and not the consolidated fund at the ministry of finance. He then goes on to talk about draft consultant report and all kinda bs to skirt around the issue(s).

But all that i stated and presented were facts and u couldnt disprove them. Now u come a week after and still salty over how i shoot u down. Lol

Postby De Dragon » April 27th, 2014, 4:07 pm

RASC wrote:Why must I leave a PNM bias at home when having a political discussion?

Regardless of political affiliation we should talk about issues NOT race that's what I'm trying to say.

Why are you not understanding me. You can be biased towards any political party that's encouraged and healthy. I just dont want the issue to be solely about race.

I see you are determined to deliberately paint my point with a racial brush, so have at it. If pointing out what is as obvious as the nose on your face is bringing race into a discussion well then what is the point? Even the candidate challenging for PNM Political Leader has acknowledged the need for more inclusion in the PNM, yet you are going to try to portray the party as balanced?

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2014, 4:13 pm

Pnm for everybody. Once u qualified academically and/or experience, u inside. Ppg on the other hand. Huh. Ur ethnicity and/or wethead skills trumps all. See reshmi, awarded silk and all the examples of false papers. Just last week in wasa management 'downsized' its transport department. Next day, new staff was brought in. We will rise indeed :wink:

Look lemme hush meh cornt yes. I cyar continue talking facts and scare away the pp sheep dem. Fall enn ollur. Geh comfy and talk ollur mind :D

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » April 27th, 2014, 4:26 pm

rfari wrote:
SiR8081 wrote:
RASC wrote:

But all that i stated and presented were facts and u couldnt disprove them. Now u come a week after and still salty over how i shoot u down. Lol

You missed the entire point I was making. I said YES, the PNM made the plans but the plans belong to the govt aka the people of the nation. I then was trying to say that people will be looking at results and performance. Not about whom made what plans.

How is it that your point that they made the plans dominante over who implemented them on time and within budget. That's YOUR narrow minded opinion to make your party look good.

Your facts are off as the main project we talked about the Navet trunk line replacement were all false. I said from the get go that was a plan made and budgeted under the PNM and enacted by the PP. The minister of the time gave all credit to the PNM for the plan as they did all the leg work but did not give the go ahead for the commencement of the project. All the PP minister (hurricane george) at the time did, was blow the dust off that report and tell the PS to commence it immediately thru WASA.

Your version of events is that the project was started under the pnm, stopped under the pp and then restarted under the PP as a "new plan" and they took all the credit for it. So sad, b/c the PP line minister gave credit to the PNM for doing all the leg work.

I gave credit to the PNM where it was due but you seem unable to give credit to anyone but the PNM. The minute someone gives the PP some kind of credit you jump in with "it was a pnm plan kamla eh know how to start a big project" and when that doesnt work you go to your blogger boss for twisted facts to prove your folly.

You want facts rfari that cannot be disputed:

In 2010 the water supply was 18% and as of Dec 2013 it is 57%. Spin it how you want to make the PNM look good. whatever makes you more comfortable.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 27th, 2014, 4:28 pm

rfari wrote:Pnm for everybody. Once u qualified academically and/or experience, u inside. Ppg on the other hand. Huh. Ur ethnicity and/or wethead skills trumps all. See reshmi, awarded silk and all the examples of false papers. Just last week in wasa management 'downsized' its transport department. Next day, new staff was brought in. We will rise indeed :wink:

Look lemme hush meh cornt yes. I cyar continue talking facts and scare away the pp sheep dem. Fall enn ollur. Geh comfy and talk ollur mind :D

This was happening under PNM too, my own father (RIP) was one of many who became a board chairman with nothing except CXC and experience to his name.

Doesn't make it right and it shows nepotism but is inevitable when power was dominated by one group for so long.

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2014, 4:41 pm

Daran wrote:
rfari wrote:Pnm for everybody. Once u qualified academically and/or experience, u inside. Ppg on the other hand. Huh. Ur ethnicity and/or wethead skills trumps all. See reshmi, awarded silk and all the examples of false papers. Just last week in wasa management 'downsized' its transport department. Next day, new staff was brought in. We will rise indeed :wink:

This was happening under PNM too, my own father (RIP) was one of many who became a board chairman with nothing except CXC and experience to his name.

Doesn't make it right and it shows nepotism but is inevitable when power was dominated by one group for so long.

sorry to hear about ur old man. i'm sure that he was a giant of a man for pnm to even consider selecting him for a board position. you however, im not too sure about.
i did mention in bold and blue above, that once you have the qualifications and/or experience, pnm will select you, regardless of ethnicity. lets take the issue of reshmi ramnarine. a lowly technician (no offence to technicians) hired under the pnm (iirc) who was obviously rewarded for leaking information to kamala and the gang. lo and behold, she is elevated to the top post. no experience, no qualifications. a very very senior post in the ministry of national security. what does that say? a couple things.
-it highlights my point above
-it shows that ppg never had and never will have national security as one of its primary foci. this is cemented by the cancellation of the opvs AND THE FAILURE TO FIND A REPLACEMENT SINCE THEN. after all the unc allegedly is financed by the underworld (drug, guns, coke in cans etc)

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2014, 4:58 pm

SiR8081 wrote:
rfari wrote:
SiR8081 wrote:
RASC wrote:

You missed the entire point I was making. I said YES, the PNM made the plans but the plans belong to the govt aka the people of the nation. I then was trying to say that people will be looking at results and performance. Not about whom made what plans.

How is it that your point that they made the plans dominante over who implemented them on time and within budget. That's YOUR narrow minded opinion to make your party look good.

Your facts are off as the main project we talked about the Navet trunk line replacement were all false. I said from the get go that was a plan made and budgeted under the PNM and enacted by the PP. The minister of the time gave all credit to the PNM for the plan as they did all the leg work but did not give the go ahead for the commencement of the project. All the PP minister (hurricane george) at the time did, was blow the dust off that report and tell the PS to commence it immediately thru WASA.

Your version of events is that the project was started under the pnm, stopped under the pp and then restarted under the PP as a "new plan" and they took all the credit for it. So sad, b/c the PP line minister gave credit to the PNM for doing all the leg work.

I gave credit to the PNM where it was due but you seem unable to give credit to anyone but the PNM. The minute someone gives the PP some kind of credit you jump in with "it was a pnm plan kamla eh know how to start a big project" and when that doesnt work you go to your blogger boss for twisted facts to prove your folly.

You want facts rfari that cannot be disputed:

In 2010 the water supply was 18% and as of Dec 2013 it is 57%. Spin it how you want to make the PNM look good. whatever makes you more comfortable.

thanks for mooting ur own point about pnm not making a meaningful contribution to the development and overall wellbeing of the trinbago population.

and something for you to think about; the pipes used for the navet trunk is a cheap, sub-grade chinese pipe that wasn't specified in the design by the consultant. same for the backfill material used to fill the trenches. :shock: that's what i call under-budget and in-time.

to give credit to the ppg, they knw how to cut corners and 'complete' infrastructure projects. :D

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » April 27th, 2014, 5:07 pm

boy rfari my point keeps flying over your ahead.

furthermore your "facts" on this project will be taken as bs b/c your other "facts" on this project are false.

Carry on with your great is the pnm.

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2014, 5:19 pm

SiR8081 wrote:boy rfari my point keeps flying over your ahead.

furthermore your "facts" on this project will be taken as bs b/c your other "facts" on this project are false.

Carry on with your great is the pnm.

homie, i get what u saying unno. u admit that it is untrue that pnm has done little to the meaningful development of trinidad and tobago. so we on the same page. im with u most of the way homie, im not against you. cool?

anyways, see this guy? he's the future of trinidad and tobago.

Postby De Dragon » April 27th, 2014, 5:55 pm

*Awaits RASC to inject intellectuality into rfari coments*

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2014, 7:10 pm

*comments

Postby S_2NR » April 27th, 2014, 7:18 pm

*Awaits RASC to inject intellectuality into rfari coments*

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2014, 7:34 pm

like ollur eh like wha i say. truth hurts *shrugs*

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » April 27th, 2014, 9:07 pm

Plan origination and plan execution are two distinct activities. Whether one party does both or there is separation in terms of who plans and who executes is simply a function of time and priority but both are equally important.

Postby rfari » May 10th, 2014, 11:18 pm

#teamgrowley
Poll puts Rowley in lead
Story Updated: May 10, 2014

Dr Keith Rowley

Dr Keith Rowley will dominate challenger Pennelope Beckles-Robinson and retain his position as political leader of the PNM when the party holds its internal elections on May 18, a new poll has shown.

The poll, conducted from May 5-9, included 401 respondents who are either PNM members or who support the PNM.

The poll was commissioned by the Trinidad Express and conducted by Solution by Simulation headed by pollster and analyst Nigel Henry.

The methodology involved telephone interviews which were conducted by interactive voice response (IVR) and live telephone calls.

Analysis of the results showed that 85 per cent of the respondents answered that they preferred Rowley as political leader of the PNM.

Just over 8.5 per cent chose Beckles-Robinson, with six per cent undecided, the poll indicated.

Full analysis of the poll follows below:

BACKGROUND

The People’s National Movement (PNM) will hold an internal election on Sunday May 18. All party executive positions including political leader will be contested. The PNM internal election is one of six internal party elections expected this year: the COP and ILP elections are scheduled for June 29; the TOP’s by the end of July; the MSJ’s took place in March; and the date of the UNC internal election is to be announced.

Who was polled

The poll included 401 respondents who indicated they are either a PNM member, or a supporter of the PNM. About 28 per cent of the sample were members, which is a representative sample of the population since the PNM gained 285,354 votes in the 2010 General Election, and the membership list stands at 81,529.

The PNM members and the non-member supporters both had exactly equal preference for Dr Keith Rowley as political leader (85.5 per cent) as confirmed by a statistical test called the Pierson’s Chi-Square test.

Because the preferences for political leader between PNM members and the non-member PNM supporters were statistically identical, we can confidently assert that the poll’s findings are a fair reflection of the views of the PNM membership.

ELECTION FOR PNM POLITICAL LEADER

Support for Rowley as political leader is extremely high at 85.5 per cent, while Pennelope Beckles-Robinson follows at 8.5 per cent. The remaining respondents were either undecided, or preferred other persons who were not nominated. (See Chart 1)

Unsurprisingly, the majority of party members are expected to vote on May 18. (See Chart 2)

Rowley has roughly equal levels of support (about 80-90 per cent) among all segments of the party: party officials/delegates, rank-and-file members, new members, long-standing members, and even members who do not plan to vote.

Even among supporters of Beckles-Robinson, Rowley has high favourability, suggesting that there will probably be minimal fall-out if he is elected. Rowley’s net favourability is 67 per cent among supporters of Mrs Beckles-Robinson, compared to 75 per cent net favourabilty among all PNM supporters.

Validity of Findings

Because preference for political leader was found to be statistically independent of membership status, a technique called pooled variance can be applied. This puts the margin of error of Dr Rowley’s support rate at 3.8 per cent. However, even if only the PNM members in the sample are considered, we are 99.1 per cent confident that Mrs Beckles-Robinson is not in the lead in the race for political leader.

Methodology

Telephone interviews were conducted by interactive voice response (IVR) and live telephone calls between May 5-9, 2014. The poll is based on 401 respondents who indicated that they are either a PNM member, or a supporter of the PNM. Calls were made to randomly selected Flow and TSTT listed landlines in which at least one household member was registered to vote.

The population sampled was representative of the membership status of PNM supporters, with 28 per cent of PNM supporters claiming membership. The maximum margin of error for the overall poll is five per cent.

The poll was commissioned by the Trinidad Express.

www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Poll-puts- ... lmob=y&c=n

Postby bluefete » May 11th, 2014, 12:03 am

rfari wrote: anyways, see this guy? he's the future of trinidad and tobago.

Lord help us all!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2014, 6:47 pm

fari,anybody else but frowley,srs ting.

Postby rfari » May 11th, 2014, 7:22 pm

What is so unappealing about him?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 11th, 2014, 10:10 pm

Serious talk tho, Team Rowley is a bunch of decrepit failfarts. If he wants to woo disillusioned PP voters, he needs to clean that slate up.

Postby rfari » May 11th, 2014, 10:24 pm

If u had to create a super-cabinet, who will u chose? Dead or alive, any party or non-partisan. Must be trinbagonian

Postby rfari » May 11th, 2014, 10:32 pm

Growley-pm
Ramesh-ag
Bharath-public admin
Ramrekasingh-education
Suite-planning/works and transport
Tanker/roy cape-culture
Al wari-foreign affairs

Postby shogun » May 11th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Not so much an Uber cabinet as much as we need an Uber/frankenstein leader at this point. Someone with the charisma of a Manning/Bas, the integrity of a Hassanali, the vision of a Dr. Williams and the "man of the people" appeal of a Uriah Butler. Thaz a tall order though.

I'll always give Rowley kudos for standing against corruption in his own party. Something i could NEVER see this current crop of "tow the liners" doing, but he's still not a well rounded enough leader... just the lesser of two evils. We shouldn't have to be making choices like that at this point.

Postby rfari » May 11th, 2014, 10:55 pm

Truth. Thats why i rate growley. No frills, no nonsense. Im more than willing to overlook the low charisma factor.
And as u mentioned it; hassanali for house speaker

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 11th, 2014, 11:53 pm

rowley only cyak abt calder hart bcuz their was a rift within the party, if everything was honkey dorry in the PNM @ the time rowley wasnt peeping a word

gundeleroy2k

Postby gundeleroy2k » May 12th, 2014, 12:18 am

Eric williams father of nation. Rowley winning election next year. Kamla worst pm ever ask panday