When will Taxes be removed on CCTV systems....?

Re: When will Taxes be removed on CCTV systems....?

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 15th, 2013, 8:46 pm

sk1111 wrote:I brought in a ip surveillance
System 2mp. Suppose to show extremely clear.

Will install Sunday...

I'm still going to fight for my $250 for the vat charged

I have a 1 Mp system and it's extremely clean. The 2 Mp should be crystal.

Problem comes in with the robustness of your network.

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2013, 11:15 pm

A true picture of the performance or lack of by this elected govt.

R-H-D wrote:Got a shipment today broker put in an entrée in customs house full duty and vat were charged
Plus the officer sent an envelope with a letter asking for a donation for their Christmas party of $2000

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2013, 9:43 am

spoke to a senior customs officer over the weekend...

VAT has been removed on full systems coming in, not individual cameras. The duty removal has to go before caricom again since it's an import item to the region. The first attempt to have it removed by the government was rejected by caricom and they are going to make a second attempt this month.

Postby 1300 » December 2nd, 2013, 11:44 am

This is only for like bundle packages like what they sell in pricemart? What if you bring in a dvr and cameras but in one shipment?

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2013, 12:00 pm

so if you bring say 500 cameras along with dvrs and wires and power supplies

that would count as "full systems" and have no duty or vat?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2013, 12:05 pm

Bundled packages from a manufacturer ie complete kit in a box.
And I said no vat not duty...duty is still waiting on review from caricom

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2013, 12:16 pm

in any event

i collected 50 individually boxed cameras this morning in dhl

no duty or vat

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » January 20th, 2014, 5:16 pm

So taxes off for everyone one right? Got a large as order to make

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2014, 5:38 pm

nope

paid duties and vat a few days before christmas

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » January 20th, 2014, 6:09 pm

Sigh aite gonna make some calls tomorrow and find out what going on

Postby Team Loco » January 20th, 2014, 10:59 pm

They dont know what theu doing. I brought in over twenty systems. All the same. Two of them they charged no vat and duties

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2014, 10:49 pm

thinking this is the best place to post my cool story about the idiots in customs

about 2 weeks ago I had 10 low end tablets come in for me with fedex. all were replacements for some that arrived broken in a christmas shipment
there is No duty or vat on tablets.
Fedex call and tell me how they want to charge $1000 taxes and if I okay with that or if I want to clear it myself. I tell the fedex rep that i always bring those items and they never have taxes attached, the fedex rep say yes there isn't any taxes attached to tablets but it have some issue with the harmonised code and I should come clear it myself
I tell them okay..no scene...drop the documents for me.

Gone up by the old airport the next day bout 10am, the cashier tell me how they short staffed and its bess i come back the next day...no scene

end up being to busy to go back for 4-5 days

went wednesday morning bright and early, i reach there for 6am.
they charge me a $150 in storage fees and send me in to customs officers after they bring up the package

customs officer:where yuh invoice? where yuh documents?
me: good morning, fedex rep. told me I just need to come up for you to open the package in my presence so you could see they are computer tablets and don't have any vat or duty attached to them
customs officer : who tell you that? fedex aren't the people to tell you if something have no vat or duty, we is the people to tell you that

**now i learn from years of dealing with customs officers..not to argue...because them is some spiteful petty muffler bearings"

me: okay sorry, but i've brought items like this in the past and never paid vat or duty
customs officer: fedex is not the people to tell you that
me: okay so how much duties does it have attached?
customs officer : 35%, open the box and empty out everything
*opens box..empty out everything*
customs officer take one and gone inside..and he gone looking for IPAD
now these are some cheap tablets that i retail for $500-$700

customs officer making notes...$5000 here...$10,000 there...$5000 here....
next idiotic customs officer next to him nodding he head saying "eh heh...so much for them thing, he real good yes"
come back outside by me
customs officer : you know a false declaration is a crime, you liable to $125,000 in fines for a false declaration
me: what you mean its a false declaration?
customs officer : i now see these things online for 700 and 1000 US
me : those are not the same things
customs officer : i tell you fedex is not the authority to tell you if something have duties
me : i not arguing, i just finding out, since when these items have duties?
customs officer : it eh make sense you argue with me eh, these thing could use as phone, they have duties

*please note that these tablets didn't even have sim card slots*

me: these can't use simcards, its not the same thing, i not arguing,just finding out
customs officer : i just tell you not to give me no talks, you want a $125,000 fine?
me : ok, well do what you hadda do
customs officer : these thing is multifunction apparatus, is not no computer tablet, it could do all kinda thing

he gone inside...typing up on he computer....
while he doing that i ask the next customs officer

me: so since allyuh is the only ones who know the law, how much taxes it have on cctv camera systems?
customs officer #2 : 40%
me : serious? so what about the circular that come out weeks ago that duties have been removed?
like allyuh eh hear about that?
customs officers watch each other dotish dotish

customs officer #2 : nah that was revoked, it have 40% taxes, 25% duty and 15% vat

customs officer do up his form and charge me $10...yes..ten dollars in fees
customs officer #1 : fedex is not the authority to tell you if something have fees.

now that was 6:30 am, they then inform me that their cashier not coming for the day and I hadda go in the new airport and try to see if I get a cashier or come back a next day but they don't have any tape for me to seal up the box that they make me opened

went new airport, spend half hour to pay $10 in fees
went back and collect my tablets and come home with a funny story to talk about idiotic customs officers

Postby nemisis » January 27th, 2014, 10:54 pm

^^^ you too damn stupid, should have taken the blasted fine and the officers name and go straight to the media and your lawyer

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2014, 11:10 pm

Yea I have time to do that.
As well as all the other customs officers would continuously spite you when you target one of them

Postby javishm » January 28th, 2014, 2:39 am

dotish customs officers...

Postby nemisis » January 28th, 2014, 8:27 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Yea I have time to do that.
As well as all the other customs officers would continuously spite you when you target one of them
dan is that spite self that would have you rolling in bank. What they will do you after that though let you pay more than the assigned duty and vat again?

Postby Chimera » January 28th, 2014, 8:52 am

nemisis wrote:
dan is that spite self that would have you rolling in bank. What they will do you after that though let you pay more than the assigned duty and vat again?

Hold back shipments
Insist on inspecting 20 and 40foot containers completely.
Open and damage boxes on purpose
Any delays they cause will result in me paying fees.

Basically anything I bring under my name or company name would be at risk if you get them customs officers vex. The risk outweigh the reward in this case.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 28th, 2014, 9:57 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
nemisis wrote:

Hold back shipments
Insist on inspecting 20 and 40foot containers completely.
Open and damage boxes on purpose
Any delays they cause will result in me paying fees.

Basically anything I bring under my name or company name would be at risk if you get them customs officers vex. The risk outweigh the reward in this case.
X1000000

Totally agree with ABA here. While I'm all for reporting and exposing an official's wrong doing and stupidity, we all know what showing up those in gov't authority can do to you in T&T - and you have little or no recourse.

Worse is he have a business as a going concern, and rely on these same officers to clear his shipments for him to sell to the public.

Trini public service FTL :x

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » May 1st, 2014, 11:02 am

Any update on this? About to bring in a new system

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 1st, 2014, 11:06 am

No how long i looking for the thread to ask the same thing...have one coming in a week time,really hope to not pay much

Postby Team Loco » May 1st, 2014, 12:53 pm

The taxes have been removed. You must import a complete system. However some officers interpret a complete system to include a monitor. So take note

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 1st, 2014, 1:01 pm

Team Loco wrote:The taxes have been removed. You must import a complete system. However some officers interpret a complete system to include a monitor. So take note

Nice thanks for the info loco wish i had know that before i would buy a monitor too sigh
Last edited by sonygoup on May 1st, 2014, 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nemisis » May 1st, 2014, 1:24 pm

A package bundled with a monitor or can I bring in a nice he display with a camera system and claim it the monitor?

Postby X2 » May 1st, 2014, 4:32 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:spoke to a senior customs officer over the weekend...

VAT has been removed on full systems coming in, not individual cameras. The duty removal has to go before caricom again since it's an import item to the region. The first attempt to have it removed by the government was rejected by caricom and they are going to make a second attempt this month.

A senior office tell you that ?

Caricom would only reject the application if someone in the common market is making security systems.... which there is no one.... so they likely never sent an application .... and this is likely so they can figure out how to require a license scheme to be implemented for importers.

This tactic to gain votes just reeks of bobol....

Postby wagonrunner » May 1st, 2014, 8:59 pm

X2 wrote:This tactic to gain votes just reeks of bobol....

only this one? come nah man.

partsman

Postby partsman » May 1st, 2014, 10:07 pm

For someone with a small budget, what system would anyone here recommend that is relatively inexpensive, has good video & audio and can be hooked up to the internet ?

doublesman

Postby doublesman » May 1st, 2014, 10:35 pm

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 1st, 2014, 10:51 pm

partsman wrote:For someone with a small budget, what system would anyone here recommend that is relatively inexpensive, has good video & audio and can be hooked up to the internet ?

doublesman wrote:X2

Give me a max price, how much cameras and i could recommend something

Postby Team Loco » May 2nd, 2014, 12:47 am

partsman wrote:For someone with a small budget, what system would anyone here recommend that is relatively inexpensive, has good video & audio and can be hooked up to the internet ?

My ad is on trinicarsforsale.com under miscellaneous.

I sell a cloud based dvr complete system with 1 tb hdd and 8-700tvl cams for $4500. No ip needed. Plug and play. Instant remote view on smartphone. Pm me

kstt

Postby kstt » May 23rd, 2014, 11:34 am

Looking for quotes for a CCTV Home Security System. Good quality (able to recognize faces on Crime Watch :mrgreen: ). Good recording length. Remote location viewing. 500 TVL and Sony/Panasonic CCD sensor.

Price with Remote location and Price without Remote location viewing?
Location?
Contact?

Installation price alone (considering buying the cameras myself)?

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=574391