REMOVING COILPACK COVERS FROM RB ENGINES?

supermanhhh

REMOVING COILPACK COVERS FROM RB ENGINES?

Postby supermanhhh » May 21st, 2014, 8:17 pm

Just wanted to know if its a good or bad idea to remove the coilpack covers from the RB engines? (DE, DET) Whats the benefits, disadvantages?

Re: REMOVING COILPACK COVERS FROM RB ENGINES?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 22nd, 2014, 5:00 am

Benefits are cooling . and easy access
Negatives are exposed to engine elements and possibly more heat. Depends on how you look at it.

Personally I'd leave it

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » May 22nd, 2014, 10:52 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Benefits are cooling . and easy access
Negatives are exposed to engine elements and possibly more heat. Depends on how you look at it.

Personally I'd leave it

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » May 22nd, 2014, 10:53 pm

I know one or two Skyline owners who leave it off.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » May 23rd, 2014, 3:40 pm

Anybody?

Wolfstein

Postby Wolfstein » May 25th, 2014, 7:31 am

my padna has a c33 and he leaves it off 5 years now no problems. it is said that it keeps in the heat resulting in coil pack failure. but i would guess that would be the case wit boosted engines cause my neighbor has his own on and no probs. But will ask him though.

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » May 25th, 2014, 4:00 pm

I left my cover on but drilled some holes for ventilation, repainted gloss black and it looks nice now

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » May 26th, 2014, 8:50 pm

rusty_turbo wrote:I left my cover on but drilled some holes for ventilation, repainted gloss black and it looks nice now

Interesting. Sounds cool!

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » May 26th, 2014, 8:51 pm

Wolfstein wrote:my padna has a c33 and he leaves it off 5 years now no problems. it is said that it keeps in the heat resulting in coil pack failure. but i would guess that would be the case wit boosted engines cause my neighbor has his own on and no probs. But will ask him though.

Word.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » May 27th, 2014, 7:58 am

I am sure there a alot of RB men on tuner. Come people, whats your views on the topic!

Postby turbosingh » May 27th, 2014, 8:45 am

I leave mine it looks complete plus less risks off exposure to moisture for the coilpacks.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 5th, 2014, 8:15 am

turbosingh wrote:I leave mine it looks complete plus less risks off exposure to moisture for the coilpacks.

Hmm, makes sense.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 5th, 2014, 8:16 am

Saw a RB26 with the cover off. Will ask some mechanics what they think & post the results.

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » June 15th, 2014, 11:41 am

When i had mine i left it on to keep out the moisture you don't want water getting to the electrics. On the other hand the heat those engines generate it also gets the jacks brittle and tends to dry out the coil pack. Ive seen guys do what rusty_turbo suggested as well and it stand up good also. If youre doing ventilation for the cover just spray some WD40 ever so often to keep out the moisture and you would still have some sort of cooling with the vents

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 16th, 2014, 7:56 pm

GHOSTRYDER wrote:When i had mine i left it on to keep out the moisture you don't want water getting to the electrics. On the other hand the heat those engines generate it also gets the jacks brittle and tends to dry out the coil pack. Ive seen guys do what rusty_turbo suggested as well and it stand up good also. If youre doing ventilation for the cover just spray some WD40 ever so often to keep out the moisture and you would still have some sort of cooling with the vents

Good points, good advice.

Rubber

Postby Rubber » July 5th, 2014, 7:06 am

My rb25 det neo is currently doing over 250xxx true km and my coil packs has never changed, my cover is still on. I recently changed my spark plugs and the coil pack harness since one jack clip was broken while scraping. My say is to leave it on.