Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
gready123456

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby gready123456 » June 28th, 2014, 11:07 pm

Any one change their timing chains yet ??

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » June 29th, 2014, 11:25 pm

Ofc its cheaper and ur sure that yuh parts change when u do it urself massy is rip off they play pretend. ... nope no timing chain change ....but loosing compression an have a broken head gasket still runs past ne thing slower than me lol

Marissaram

Postby Marissaram » June 30th, 2014, 9:55 pm

Who can help so I have one of those viper alarm but I recently changed my evaporator and since my car returned from the shop I'm having issues with my alarm system

So I left my car running and close my door
heard the door click tried to open back my door but all doors were locked and my car was still running which is a bit odd because it never happen before but now it's continuously locking as the door closed..

scruff76

Postby scruff76 » July 1st, 2014, 1:50 am

@ marissaram.. i jus has to carry my van back by massy for that problem.... the driver side door sensor is not working properly. close all the doors except the driver door and see of the DOOR OPEN light comes on on the dash.. if it does not that ur problem, it either defective or the signal wire shorting somewhere....same ting used to happen in my old pulsar.. no idea what really causes it though ...

tdavies

Postby tdavies » July 1st, 2014, 6:57 am

Do they rotate tyres on the 10k service on the Navara?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » July 2nd, 2014, 7:57 pm

tdavies wrote:Do they rotate tyres on the 10k service on the Navara?

So they say... :|

Floyd369

Postby Floyd369 » July 6th, 2014, 7:33 am

I recently brought a nissan navara 2013 (grand titanium model) and I wanted to know if and how often should I use a diesel treatment and what is the best diesel treatment to use

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 6th, 2014, 7:39 am

Liqui moly super diesel is designed for every 2000km but because of the quality if our diesel locally they recommend every 1000km which on avg is every 2 full ups.

Postby tr1ad » July 6th, 2014, 8:58 am

I use a mix of amsoil cetane boost, diesel concentrate 2oz to every fill up

Floyd369

Postby Floyd369 » July 7th, 2014, 9:31 am

Thanks guys

shade360

Postby shade360 » July 7th, 2014, 1:00 pm

Hi All,

Saw my import Navara last week and couldnt help but notice the AC Air Flow Controls (Knob on right) were a bit different.

This is the one i have in my van.
AC Controls 1.jpg

This is the one taken of one the vans at the office from Massy
AC Controls 2.jpg
AC Controls 2.jpg (30.17 KiB) Viewed 5699 times

And this is similar to the newer van at the office from Massy
AC Controls 3.jpg
AC Controls 3.jpg (9.73 KiB) Viewed 5699 times

Seems the local version has more options for setting the Air Flow.
Is it possible to change this Controller to gain these additional settings or does it entail deeper changes withing the AC unit to get these functions?

Any guidance would be appreciated
Thanks...

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 7th, 2014, 7:34 pm

As far as I remember in don't think its possible to change just the controller. You might have to change out most of the vents along with the controller.

Don't hold me to this as I can be wrong. Why you want all those settings tho, I don't think I ever used any of the other settings than the two provided on your controller

Postby tr1ad » July 7th, 2014, 8:21 pm

it's based on manufacturing for specific regions, the vents on previous foreign models are there, all depends on country it was manufactured for. If it is there on yours its just the unit to change.
If not it's as the one above says.. obviously and vents would have to be added.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » July 9th, 2014, 11:01 am

ok folks, going for my 40 000 Km service, I got the filters from Motorist, pollen, air, oil, fuel (2), and engine oil.

I was thinking the Gearbox to buy 5 quarts of the Amsoil 75W90 GL4 and 3 quarts of the Amsoil 75W90 GL5. Should this be enough? anyone ever carried these lubricants to Massy? I just want to make sure I buy enough next thing they say I bought too little and that causes a delay.

btw its a 4wd manual nav.

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » July 10th, 2014, 5:47 pm

Tray cover has to adjust. Who can do this.
Last edited by richgold1000 on November 12th, 2014, 4:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 10th, 2014, 6:21 pm

When last you changed fluid?

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » July 11th, 2014, 3:59 am

Anyone
Last edited by richgold1000 on November 12th, 2014, 4:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

shade360

Postby shade360 » July 11th, 2014, 12:50 pm

Thanks kerwinishere/tr1ad,
i'm not going to worry about it esp if vents/etc are possibly involved, usually its on face all the time and that's generally fine, was only thinking if the front windscreen gets frosted up and i had to run the defogger on the front, which it doesn't seem to have a setting for.

No worries, a cloth when that happens

shade360

Postby shade360 » July 11th, 2014, 12:59 pm

In terms of security, the van comes with an immobilizer and alarm (Stock), the alarm only goes off when its armed and a door is opened, it does not have a shock sensor to detect vibrations, kick, etc.

I would like to add a shock sensor but more importantly i want to keep using my existing van remote. I know there are OEM kits avail that integrate with cars with factory alarms.

Has anyone done this before or know of an alarm installer who has?

Thanks!

TG7788

Postby TG7788 » July 11th, 2014, 1:16 pm

shade360 wrote:In terms of security, the van comes with an immobilizer and alarm (Stock), the alarm only goes off when its armed and a door is opened, it does not have a shock sensor to detect vibrations, kick, etc.

I would like to add a shock sensor but more importantly i want to keep using my existing van remote. I know there are OEM kits avail that integrate with cars with factory alarms.

Has anyone done this before or know of an alarm installer who has?

Thanks!

I would suggest a GPS system. An alarm will only notify you of you are close enough to hear the alarm. Pager alarms are limited to the distance between you and the vehicle. The better GPS systems will give you shake alarms, engine on alarms, movement alarms etc direct to your phone no matter where your are. You can also monitor your vehicles location if someone else is using it. And with the amount of stolen vehicle posts you see on tuner alone warrants the install. Just make sure you use a reputable installer.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 11th, 2014, 1:23 pm

@shade360
viewtopic.php?t=540060

Not sure about the shock and movement sensor but if you just want the GPS check hin

trvs

Postby trvs » July 12th, 2014, 12:09 am

Check REO Auto, they do the shock sensors with oem alarm systems. They also sell and install the Tramigo system.

Shock sensor demo on a Navara - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=740278329345425

Postby Kenjo » July 12th, 2014, 10:35 am

richgold1000 wrote:Driving my Navara d40 4*4 automatic today and the pull off was lazy the tranny is not racing but when I drove it I heard a heavy diff back lash when I come to a stop. I am not sure if the vehicle is pulling off on a high gear. Checked the Tranny oil and it not mixing with the water. Can anyone comment? Thanks.

get a diagnostic scan, transmission issues could be something big,there may be the need for the valve body requiring replacement or other transmission issues

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » July 13th, 2014, 7:05 am

Anyone
Last edited by richgold1000 on November 12th, 2014, 4:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » July 13th, 2014, 5:34 pm

cheese pie wrote:ok folks, going for my 40 000 Km service, I got the filters from Motorist, pollen, air, oil, fuel (2), and engine oil.

I was thinking the Gearbox to buy 5 quarts of the Amsoil 75W90 GL4 and 3 quarts of the Amsoil 75W90 GL5. Should this be enough? anyone ever carried these lubricants to Massy? I just want to make sure I buy enough next thing they say I bought too little and that causes a delay.

btw its a 4wd manual nav.

anyone?

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » July 14th, 2014, 2:03 pm

Can anyone help with this?

Nissan frontier Navara D40.
Last edited by richgold1000 on November 12th, 2014, 4:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Kenjo » July 14th, 2014, 6:57 pm

richgold1000 wrote:Did a scan today show up.
P1757 FR/B solenoid/circuit.
Can anyone help with this?

Nissan frontier Navara D40.

big problem and you need to get your transmission looked at asap , the transmission fluid most likely is in a severely bad state and possibly you need the valve body/transmission changed but keep us updated. did you ever change your transmission fluid?

shade360

Postby shade360 » July 18th, 2014, 11:28 am

tvrs - yup that's exactly what i was looking for, called them already and setup an appointment. Thanks a mil

TG7788/kerwinishere - Suggestion most appreciated, i'll be installing a GPS system on Sat as well

Great!
Thanks.

shade360

Postby shade360 » July 21st, 2014, 10:02 am

So i went by REO Auto in EL Socorro to have the OEM Alarm upgrade done to the NAV. They used the Automate AM 1.5 alarm system. Cost $1200.

The fact that the OEM Alarm Upgrade used is US$50 - 60 online doesn't bother me as much as below.
While going thru the alarm features, the guy told me he cannot disable the horn chirp when arming and disarming the vehicle (he seemed to be in a hurry). When i called back to inquire today, i was told i have to wait (2+) weeks to see if it can be done.

Does anyone know this alarm and whether it can be done. I really don't want the horn chirp and i'm even willing to replace the entire alarm with one that the arm and disarm horn chirps can be disabled

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!!!

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » July 23rd, 2014, 1:37 pm

Hey man there is a guy at reo who is a total ASS

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”