Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby Greypatch » April 5th, 2005, 10:58 am

are the cedia wagong engines diff to the galant engines
the 1.8L eh ?

Postby wagon r » April 5th, 2005, 11:17 am

shouldn't be.....i know the coil pack differ but i cyar see anything else.

altec

Postby altec » April 5th, 2005, 5:26 pm

who sells the coil packs and what price? just checking in case I have to buy. BTW no smoke that I could see on 1 and 2 from zero, with pedal to floor.

Postby Greypatch » April 6th, 2005, 8:13 am

once yuh getting the stuttering and exhaust backfire noise yuh in coil pack trouble

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 6th, 2005, 6:57 pm

finding coil packs may be difficult......trying scrap yards/bamboo can be a gamble, not only "if" yuh find some but if the some yuh find will have the same mounting as the ones you need......the bolt pattern may be different. Then yuh have the issue of not knowing how long the pack yuh buying would last.......

I ordered a set from Diamond Motors since July 04 and up to now have not had positive feedback from them......(btw ah need to reming Dave to check back for me).......Faiz in Marabella said that they could order the packs but it'll take 3 months to come or pay more for express delivery!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 6th, 2005, 6:58 pm

oh btw, prices vary from $300 upwards for "foreign used" to over $1k new.... :shock: :shock:

Saleem

Postby Saleem » April 6th, 2005, 7:45 pm

way sa ulla shitty mitsu men getting real problems there with them cars boy :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Saleem

Postby Saleem » April 6th, 2005, 7:47 pm

well i have some packs home but i don`t think i wanna part with them yet
by the way what oil & grade ulla using on thgose 4g93 gdi

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 7th, 2005, 1:37 am

^^^yuh eh reading the thread oh what???LOL.......Shell Helix (blue can) 15W50 is what keeps my lifters quiet so I using he!

Saleem

Postby Saleem » April 7th, 2005, 8:14 am

nah i was not reading d thread, it real long though keep it up ...............

Postby Greypatch » April 7th, 2005, 2:41 pm

YUH DE GET MEH PM BOI SALEEM

stang

Postby stang » April 7th, 2005, 2:50 pm

Shell Helix (blue can) 15W50 is what keeps my lifters quiet

Agree..have a 4g94...however wanna switch to pure syn...any suggestions...
also anyone tried MSD coils on the GDI??

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 7th, 2005, 7:17 pm

also anyone tried MSD coils on the GDI??

be the first and let us know nah..pleeeeeeeez.......we lookin for a guinea 2nr :wink:

Postby wagon r » April 8th, 2005, 7:11 am

^^i looked for MSD replacement on the net and came up empty. i have to start combing the japan sites now.

if yuh find any, please let us know. 8)

stang

Postby stang » April 8th, 2005, 9:25 am

be the first

Was trying the following catalog link..
http://www.msdignition.com/msd_catalog.htm
realized that i don't have the technical knowledge to identify which coil pack for the galant gdi...lotta specs and don’t have the manual for my car…
Also wanna put in iridium plugs...anyone did it before...which ones (#) and did it make a difference over the stock platinum???

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 8th, 2005, 9:46 pm

and did it make a difference over the stock platinum???

my stock was no platinum nah.....but it just as expensive :?

subzeroracing

Postby subzeroracing » May 6th, 2005, 8:58 pm

i am having tappet problems with my 4g92 Mivec engine and i was wondering if the sludge that i probably building up in the engine can be removed by a novice like myself by removing the tappet cover and cleaning it.....i don't have much faith in the cleaning solutions because i have tried alot of them and i have changed oil on more than one occasion.....i am also thinking that the valves may have some wear and tear on them, are they easy to replace....please guys i need some help on this one.......

cdmg

Postby cdmg » May 14th, 2005, 8:51 pm

*bump* for subzeroracing

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 19th, 2005, 8:00 pm

next oil change gonna be a 10W30 for the GDI!!!!!!!!!!

altec

Postby altec » May 19th, 2005, 8:16 pm

dred i was thinking the same thing and I due for a change next month. BTW how did you get to the maf sensor wires?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 19th, 2005, 8:25 pm

^^^all I did was to disconnect the hose from behind the filter box, took out the filter box and leggo some good spray in he arse......but the thing is, that the MAF sensor never looked dirty in the first place.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 19th, 2005, 8:27 pm

yeah man altec, really seriously thinking about that 10W30.....ah mean to say thais what mitsu recommended for this type of engine eh!

Postby Greypatch » May 25th, 2005, 2:18 pm

oil to thhin hoss you will always to top up

Postby Greypatch » May 25th, 2005, 2:23 pm

buh best ah luck anyways...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 28th, 2005, 8:27 pm

^^^ah go give it a one oil change and see.......4000 kilos to go!

altec

Postby altec » May 28th, 2005, 10:53 pm

vega, exactly how long you does run helix for?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 29th, 2005, 6:29 pm

I change every 5000kms man altec.......

altec

Postby altec » June 1st, 2005, 6:15 am

vega you ever solve your coil pack problem? I still eh know for sure if stuttering and lack of acceleration is because of the coils or the pump going. but I buying the coils anyway.

Saleem

Postby Saleem » June 1st, 2005, 10:09 pm

ay fellas i looking for a accelerator cable with the bracket that is made up on the top of thge manifold of the 4g93 gdi engines .i wanna get the cable & the bracket REAL URGENT and by the way i switched to 10w 30 full synt. MOBIL 1 in my galant ...... PATCH . VEGA all the galant men

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 1st, 2005, 10:30 pm

altec wrote:vega you ever solve your coil pack problem? I still eh know for sure if stuttering and lack of acceleration is because of the coils or the pump going. but I buying the coils anyway.

no I haven't.....and altec you have voiced an idea I have been pondering for a while i.e. whether my stutter is a result of faulty coil pack or pump. But I, a while a'back swapped all 4 packs with a fellow 2NR and gave the car some good "press out" which, with my packs, would present the stutter. Howver this was not the case and the car pulled through the rpm range in the various gears smoothly.........So I gain some solace in that test......plus whenever I feel the "hold back" and hear the "packs packs" sound from the engine, I see in my rearview some lil clouds of black smoke....which translates to unburnt fuel.....which I infer to be as a result of inadequate spark.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”