Re: What annoys you in Trinidad ?

Postby Chimera » August 6th, 2014, 11:18 am

People who use their kids to beg and then use the money for alcohol

but i guess that's not something confined to Trinidad

Postby *KRONIK* » August 6th, 2014, 11:29 am

Pedestrians who cross the road like they learn from a stray dog!

nissanluvr

Postby nissanluvr » August 6th, 2014, 12:03 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:It outside his house in a residential area. Maybe 2 people walk down that part of the pavement for the day while hundreds of cars pass down that street in both directions. I understand it may be illegal because the law lacks reason but that's why people have been gifted with common sense and discretion (well most of us anyway) to be used in these sort of situations.

so your common sense and discretion alloys you to choose which laws you want to obey?

Postby Slartibartfast » August 6th, 2014, 12:24 pm

Considering it was common sense and discretion from other that put them there anyway... yes, why not? And I only disobey a law if it is a minor law that is more of an inconvenience to those around me to follow.

Like reversing onto a major road. Have you ever reversed onto the main road in your life? What about when stopping off by a business place on the main road. Do you stop and park completely in the road or stop and reverse park in the tiny parking lot in front?

Another one I'm sure everyone has broken is not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign. I'm sure you have come to a rolling stop or just proceeded once you saw the way was clear without slowing down too much.

Postby S_2NR » August 6th, 2014, 12:39 pm

Women working at car parts places who don't know anything about cars, they should be in the kitchen
Last edited by S_2NR on August 6th, 2014, 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » August 6th, 2014, 12:43 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Pedestrians who cross the road like they learn from a stray dog!

^^This and when give them chance to cross they walking today for tomorrow

Postby Slartibartfast » August 6th, 2014, 12:44 pm

S_2NR wrote:Women working at car parts places who don't know anything about cars that should be in the kitchen

So what cars should be in the kitchen?

Postby Chimera » August 6th, 2014, 12:46 pm

zabo-car

Postby Slartibartfast » August 6th, 2014, 12:47 pm

Oh well... Ah have a car tho!

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » August 6th, 2014, 12:56 pm

The fact that we roads so bad and at the same time have our very own pitch lake :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 6th, 2014, 2:11 pm

nissanluvr wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:It outside his house in a residential area. Maybe 2 people walk down that part of the pavement for the day while hundreds of cars pass down that street in both directions. I understand it may be illegal because the law lacks reason but that's why people have been gifted with common sense and discretion (well most of us anyway) to be used in these sort of situations.

so your common sense and discretion alloys you to choose which laws you want to obey?

where can I purchase these alloys?

Postby Trini Hookah » August 6th, 2014, 2:39 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Considering it was common sense and discretion from other that put them there anyway... yes, why not? And I only disobey a law if it is a minor law that is more of an inconvenience to those around me to follow.

Like reversing onto a major road. Have you ever reversed onto the main road in your life? What about when stopping off by a business place on the main road. Do you stop and park completely in the road or stop and reverse park in the tiny parking lot in front?

Another one I'm sure everyone has broken is not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign. I'm sure you have come to a rolling stop or just proceeded once you saw the way was clear without slowing down too much.

I slow down every single time, whether light , line or sign.

#noepips

nissanluvr

Postby nissanluvr » August 6th, 2014, 2:41 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
nissanluvr wrote:

where can I purchase these alloys?

my bad. meant to type "allows"

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 6th, 2014, 10:33 pm

Casper23 wrote:The fact that we roads so bad and at the same time have our very own pitch lake :|

^^this post annoys me

pluggie

Postby pluggie » August 7th, 2014, 3:36 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Sabriel wrote:Dey need ah glade air freshener there.

Plug it in..plug it in. .. :lol:

Anytime "wind" passes through it pluggie will say it "smell activated"

hahaha alyuh is real slackers yes

orangefox

Postby orangefox » August 11th, 2014, 12:28 am

Coosal and pitching road night .. with pitch sticking on the car wheel and rims .. and body .. any lawyers here ..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 11th, 2014, 7:18 am

yuh gone to watch ah movie in cc8 and as soon as the movie start ppl who sitting way inside asking to get ah pass....also 3/4 ah d movie done they now want to go and buy thing to eat

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 11th, 2014, 8:36 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:People who use their kids to beg and then use the money for alcohol

but i guess that's not something confined to Trinidad

i stop giving them money , if im by the grocery i pull out a snack or mayb a bread and give them , once a man refused it and asked for $5 i was wtf ent u hungry he watch me and walk away :|

they take the money and buy drugs :oops:

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » August 11th, 2014, 12:13 pm

Hilarious topic and posts

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » August 11th, 2014, 6:48 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
Casper23 wrote:The fact that we roads so bad and at the same time have our very own pitch lake :|

^^this post annoys me

^^this reply annoys me "like you have a private helicopter awat??"

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 11th, 2014, 6:53 pm

COROLLA KID wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

^^this post annoys me

tell me more about pitch being adequate to fix roads!!!!

go on i'm listening

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » August 11th, 2014, 11:43 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

^^this post annoys me

go on i'm listening

Listen good, In Trinidad we have a company called LASCO http://www.trinidadlakeasphalt.com/home/ they use the pitch lake to manufacture a thing called asphalt which is use in the paving of roads :oops:
our pitch lake is the world’s largest deposit of natural asphalt again "which is use in the paving of roads"...but instead of using some of that natural resource to improve the road ways of Trinidad the Government exports it to other countries to make $$$...I remember once our PM calling it the Rolls Royce of asphalt cause its such high quality, god forbid they use some instead of the boulders and oil sand they does patch our roads with.......You see why Casper23 post makes allot of sense now? and whats really annoying is how these bad roads damaging our cars and costing us money while the government making money with the stuff that can save us "the tax payer" money.....its all just really messed up when you think about it :x

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » August 12th, 2014, 12:24 am

COROLLA KID wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

^^this post annoys me

go on i'm listening

Listen good, In Trinidad we have a company called LASCO http://www.trinidadlakeasphalt.com/home/ they use the pitch lake to manufacture a thing called asphalt which is use in the paving of roads :oops:
our pitch lake is the world’s largest deposit of natural asphalt again "which is use in the paving of roads"...but instead of using some of that natural resource to improve the road ways of Trinidad the Government exports it to other countries to make $$$...I remember once our PM calling it the Rolls Royce of asphalt cause its such high quality, god forbid they use some instead of the boulders and oil sand they does patch our roads with.......You see why Casper23 post makes allot of sense now? and whats really annoying is how these bad roads damaging our cars and costing us money while the government making money with the stuff that can save us "the tax payer" money.....its all just really messed up when you think about it :x

Well said. I agree with you on this 100%.

Postby S_2NR » August 12th, 2014, 5:33 am

people who pm you for "best price"

eg. item listed for $500
them: whats the best price?
me: $500

if i didnt put negotiable on a post why all this best price talk

Postby Slartibartfast » August 12th, 2014, 8:14 am

Richard Marshall wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

^^this post annoys me

go on i'm listening

Well said. I agree with you on this 100%.

I most of the cases I have seen, the asphalt is not the problem. Paving roads is more than just throwing some pitch on some dirt and rolling it till it smooth.

First the area must be excavated to an appropriate level and levelled off or it can be filled with structural fill or pitrun depending on the conditions to provide good sub grade drainage and support. Right here most contractors fail already. On top of that they have to put about 6 to 8 inches of crusher run and level and compact that. I see fellas putting down as little as 1 inch in some areas. That not going to do anything whatsoever. Normally I will see contractors put down like 4 inches which could work if done properly, but they hardly ever do it properly so it hardly ever works. Then on top of that you could put you asphalt. Remember the asphalt layer is flexible, it is only meant to give a smooth, durable riding surface. The sub base disperses the forces to the soil below. The sub base is what actually supports the road. A lot of the mix designs I have seen surpass international standards. But, some contractors like to use use a smaller roller because it cheaper and easier (although sometimes it's the only one that can access the area). But the worst of all is when some contractors have all their trucks lined up waiting before they start to pave the road. So by the time the reach down to the last few trucks the pitch already cooling down (like 80 degrees celcius and thing) so it doesn't roll or bind properly. Add that to the fact that if you try to spread the asphalt too quickly (which a lot of contractors do to rush the work) the final product is a bumpy road, no matter how much you roll it.

Oh and paving road is real racquet. So some fellas who never see hot pitch before getting the contract to pave a bunch of the minor roads.

TL:DR In most cases the asphalt is not the problem, everything else is.

Don't believe me, look at all the bad roads in Trinidad. Area the areas bad because of the pot holes alone or is there an uneven road surface. Should be a bit of both. Oh and don't let me get started on paving over potholes. That is another bad joke.

Postby ismithx » August 12th, 2014, 9:29 am

^^ 10/10 sense

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » August 12th, 2014, 12:02 pm

^^True talk Slartibartfast.....You'd think a country who manufactures asphalt would know a thing or two on road construction and quality

Postby Slartibartfast » August 12th, 2014, 12:29 pm

That's the saddest part. We do know better. We have qualified minds and workers (anybody who say construction hard never see a man on hot asphalt for 8 hours straight. Nothing but respect for them fellas). But unqualified people getting contracts as political favours and anytime you paving in a bad area you have to "giv d yoots dem som wuk and puh a lil mohnee in dey pocket" even though they never work with asphalt before.

Bad politics is why we have bad roads as well as a lot of other bad things in this country and in the spirit of bringing this thread back to its roots... that is something that annoys me.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » August 12th, 2014, 11:14 pm

COP ....

FilterMag

Postby FilterMag » August 13th, 2014, 7:37 pm

1UZFE wrote:Is this it??

Racists like 1UZFE that seeks to divide our beautiful country but not wanted anywhere else!