The Problem with Education

Postby Slartibartfast » August 8th, 2014, 12:13 pm

A Monologue Originally performed by the late George Carlin.

Edited slightly to removed references he made specifically to the United States and replaced with the Trini equivalent in italics

"Not too bright, folks. Not too f@(#!ng bright. But if you talk to one of them about this, if you isolate one of them, you sit them down rationally, you talk to them about the low IQ's and the dumb behavior and the bad decisions; right away they start talking about education. That's the big answer to everything: Education.
They say, 'We need more money for education. We need more books, more teachers, more classrooms, more schools. We need more testing for the kids!'
You say to 'em, 'Well, you know, we've tried all that and the kids still can't pass the tests'. They say, 'Aw, don't you worry about that, we're gonna lower the passing grades!'
And that's what they do in a lot of these schools now, they lower the passing grades so more kids can pass. More kids pass, the school looks good, everybody's happy; the IQ of the country slips another two or three points and pretty soon, all you'll need to get into college is a f@(#!ng pencil! 'Gotta pencil? Get the f@(# in there, it's physics!'

Politicians know that word; they use it on you. Politicians have traditionally hidden behind three things: the flag, the Bible and children. 'No Child Left Behind! No Child Left Behind!' 'Oh really, well it wasn't long ago you were talking about giving kids a Head Start! Head Start, Left Behind, someone's losing f@(#!ng ground here!' But there's a reason. There's a reason. There's a reason for this. There's a reason education sucks and it's the same reason it will never, ever, ever be fixed. It's never going to get any better, don't look for it, be happy with what you got. Because the owners of this country don't want that.

I'm talking about the real owners now. The big, wealthy...The real owners, the big wealthy business interests that control things and make all the important decisions. Forget the politicians, they're an irrelevancy. The politicians are put there to give you the idea that you have freedom of choice. You don't. You have no choice. You have owners. They own you. They own everything. They own all the important land. They own and control the corporations. They've long since bought and paid for the MPs and Ministers. They've got the judges in their back pockets, and they own the media companies, so they control just about all of the news and information you get to hear. They've got you by the balls! They spend billions of dollars every year financing political parties. Well, we know what they want; they want more for themselves and less for everybody else.

But I'll tell you what they don't want. They don't want a population of citizens capable of critical thinking. They don't want well-informed, well-educated people capable of critical thinking.
They're not interested in that! That doesn't help them. That's against their interests. That's right! You know something? They don't want people who are smart enough to sit around the kitchen table and figure out how badly they're getting f@(#ed by a system that threw them overboard 30 f@(#!ng years ago. They don't want that! You know what they want? They want Obedient Workers – Obedient Workers. People who are just smart enough to run the machines and do the paperwork but just dumb enough to passively accept all these increasingly shittier jobs with the lower pay, the longer hours, the reduced benefits, the end of overtime and the vanishing pension that disappears the minute you go to collect it....

By the way, it's the same big club they use to beat you over the head with all day long and they tell you what to believe...All day long, beating you over the head in the media, what to believe, what to think and what to buy...The table is tilted, folks! The game is rigged! And nobody seems to notice, and nobody seems to care! Good honest, hard-working people! White collar, blue collar... Doesn't matter what color shirt you have on! Good honest, hard-working people continue...These are people of modest means!...continue to elect these rich anti-snatches who don't give a f@(# about them! They don't give a f@(# about you! They don't give a f@(# about you! They don't care about you! At all! At all! At all! Yeah! You know? And nobody seems to notice, nobody seems to care. That's what the owners count on. The fact that Americans probably will remain willfully ignorant of the big red white and black d!ck that's being jammed up their muffler bearings every day! Because the owners of this country know the truth..."

Re: The Problem with Education

Postby TRAE » August 8th, 2014, 12:13 pm

soulya yuh rel extremist tho lol

Postby Slartibartfast » August 8th, 2014, 12:15 pm

Lol. Let me just say these are George Carlin's views and not my own. But I think there are some good points in there and it is entertaining to read.

Postby TRAE » August 8th, 2014, 12:20 pm

The smartest people in the world are the ones given no light to shine, these pose so much of a threat to natural order that only the conformists are given media coverage.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 8th, 2014, 1:40 pm

The main problem is as humans on the whole we are ignorant and subjected to the same mental abuse as anyother living species and we continue to deny science and we continue to discredit science in favor of faith without evidence. Even when we are faced with hard facts and proven science we continue to discredit it.

When we do this and then talk about education it shows our ignorance you cannot discredit science as the work of the devil and then talk about education, fact of the matter is science is education and there are no 2 ways about this.

Dawkins is right, to favor superstition/faith without evidence over science is a betrayal of education.

The eminent scientist Professor Richard Dawkins has spoken about the declining rate of A levels curriculum for Physics, Chemistry and Biology.
In that decades ago A levels science were far more rigorous and now it has been dumbed down not to give people a better chance at education but to systematically destroy the foundation of science. And it has been done through money from religious organizations who has influence on the education board through money and being majority faith schools now.

Now I can't say for sure this is the reason and I never did any research into this however Dr Dawkins is an educator and has been a passionate promoter of education and was for many years a professor at University of Oxford one of the world's oldest, prestigious and famous universities.

You even have educated people like our prime minister Kamla and Dr Tim Gopeesingh who says things like we must pray to the lord to solve crime and put this matter in the hands of the lord.
This is an extremely dangerous thing to do and only continues to exploit and breed ignorance among society.

We could argue about this from now till next 100 years, at the end of it all Dawkins is always right, no matter how much you try you cannot deny facts and hide the truth from the people. Science is about truth and thats it. This is why the war on science will never win the Russians learned this you cannot hide the truth from the people. Science is truth!!!

Postby TRAE » August 8th, 2014, 4:12 pm

we talking bout dawkins again effective? seriously? at least quote someone else nah, dawkins always getting caught in a wrong standup

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 8th, 2014, 4:25 pm

rofl well I eh know anybody else promoting education. He is the only one doing the ground work lets be real can't say Stephen Hawking doing ground work on this topic.

Plus he does piss off everyone so.

Postby shogun » August 8th, 2014, 4:34 pm

Awesomeness.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 8th, 2014, 9:28 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rofl well I eh know anybody else promoting education. He is the only one doing the ground work lets be real can't say Stephen Hawking doing ground work on this topic.

Plus he does piss off everyone so.

Effectic go watch some Christopher Hitchens and Stephen Fry. You will not be disappointed. But whatever you do, do not watch any Krauss debates. His debates are as bad as his book was good. I watched one he had with this Muslim guy that was just painful to watch. He lacks eloquence when debating.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 8th, 2014, 10:40 pm

Good article... the content holds true for trinidad and tobago... anyone can get a degree now

Postby meccalli » August 8th, 2014, 11:12 pm

Carlin is certainly a character with an unreserved tongue lol, this clip always comes to my mind.

Postby desifemlove » August 9th, 2014, 1:30 am

It cos de curriculum full ah sheit.

Most tings chirren does learn have little everyday and/or practical use. Why know how to do fractions or geography bout some rock or biology bout some plant? Only teach chirren basic maths, reading, English grammar/spelling, a foreign language, politics, philosophy (moral/metaphysics, sounding weird, but then it teaching chirren how to tink and analyse) and maybe religion of chirren's choosing.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 9th, 2014, 6:57 am

Lol @ that Carlin vid. We on earth for plastic.

Yeah a lot of people think it is better to teach a child how to think rather than what to think. Teaching children politics wpuld be interesting. I think some trachers also just going through the motions to get a paycheck. Can't blame them alone cuz some of the children are little terrors.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 9th, 2014, 7:02 am

Politics too subjective to be taught to kids. Since when people don't use fractions though?

Postby desifemlove » August 9th, 2014, 4:56 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Politics too subjective to be taught to kids. Since when people don't use fractions though?

teaching them about the constitution, different systems, how issues affect them, ent subjective. Not saying PNM or UNC should have classes. I know Kamla was a teacher, but dat going too far....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 9th, 2014, 5:05 pm

Oh ok that I could get. Think we need more local history too. More recent stuff.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 9th, 2014, 5:16 pm

Let's file this one under another conspiracy theorized Marxist perspective.

Postby RBphoto » August 11th, 2014, 1:29 pm

desifemlove wrote:It cos de curriculum full ah sheit.

Most tings chirren does learn have little everyday and/or practical use. Why know how to do fractions or geography bout some rock or biology bout some plant? Only teach chirren basic maths, reading, English grammar/spelling, a foreign language, politics, philosophy (moral/metaphysics, sounding weird, but then it teaching chirren how to tink and analyse) and maybe religion of chirren's choosing.

I see you restricted your own curriculum. Well played.

Postby ismithx » August 11th, 2014, 1:47 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:...
Dawkins is right, to favor superstition/faith without evidence over science is a betrayal of education.

damn straight

You even have educated people like our prime minister Kamla and Dr Tim Gopeesingh who says things like we must pray to the lord to solve crime and put this matter in the hands of the lord.

James 2:17 "Thus also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead."

Science is about truth and thats it.

Correct. However, people who do stuff like pass off things like the Big Bang theory and evolution as fact are giving science a bad name

nareshseep wrote:
ismithx wrote:truth is, as to the exact process, we will never know how it happened for a fact because we were not there. there are many theories to explain the origin of the universe, but since we were not there, we have to choose which theory we believe in. Ideally, this belief would be based on evidence which is offered to prove one theory or another.

Give this person a cookie

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 12th, 2014, 3:17 am

tbh school never taught me anything cool really

But when I was small, I used to flip thru encyclopedias to look at the pictures, then I moved on to physics/chem/bio text books, such pretty pictures, wow diagrams, many illustrate

point I chyna make here is keep some books around your house, make sure they have pretty pictures,,, yuh never know if your child will skim through it and it may start an unquenchable thirst for knowledge, because they chose to open that book, school never force them

In school I never felt like doing the work, even if it was something I loved. I used to dread sitting down to do work even for 10 minutes... but here I am at 3am with many tabs opened cuz I'm researching sheit that I have no obligation to learn ^_^

Postby Slartibartfast » August 12th, 2014, 8:51 am

Same thing here. We inherited the 1978 Encyclopaedia Britannica when my Grandfather passed away. It takes up half of an entire book shelf at home. I remember flipping through those pages to check out diagrams on the human body for hours straight. That is what made me want to become a doctor... and then I did Bio for a year in form three and lost all taste for it because the class was so boring. So I focused on physics instead.

I think education needs to be made more interactive. I think there was a TED talk that mentioned that the education system is designed to make girls succeed. Because good behaviour in class is more natural for a girl. Girls are more likely to sit down and keep still and work while boys rather move about and work with their hands. BTW this is very very generalised statement so I know there are lots of exceptions to it. I just believe education would be a lot more effective if it was engaging to the child/ children being taught.

But then you have the case of problem children as well. I have no idea how to effectively teach any class in schools like some of the Junior Secs. Those teachers have it hard.