Habit7 wrote:Yeah because PNM shares so much principles with trade unions. And the UNC/PP has no connection whatsoever with trade unions.
zoom rader wrote:nervewrecker wrote:UML wrote:nervewrecker wrote:UML wrote:anyone have firsthand experience of WASA/TTEC doing work at their residence at night? Hearing good reviews about ppl saying they impressed that they getting service at unusual times.
Because that's when they start clocking overtime.
So they actually doing work or more work? Or the economy doing well so they can get overtime work?
T&tec trucks does be chilling under a shady tree all day and wasa personnel does arrive around 4 - 5 pm and delay till around 6 - 7pm and then start really working.
T&tec does start making movements around the same hours too.
Well true but sad, this is one of the values that PNM & trade Unions left trinis to deal with.
pioneer wrote:Monthly paid public servants do the same, work they could be doing from 8-4 they hold it back to crunch time then work after 4 to claim food, and work on saturdays to claim compensatory days.
All sanctioned by the unions.
Morpheus wrote:2am chest burn yes. Should get that checked ZR. LoL
rfari wrote:Pnm build Trinidad and Tobago. Wha plans u telling me bout?
mrtrini45 wrote:rfari wrote:Pnm build Trinidad and Tobago. Wha plans u telling me bout?
build trinidad but keeps there supporters living in poverty
they dont educate these people why rfari
rfari wrote:mrtrini45 wrote:rfari wrote:Pnm build Trinidad and Tobago. Wha plans u telling me bout?
Last I checked, it was and remains free education for all. Its either u want it or not. No political party responsible for that
zoom rader wrote:Morpheus wrote:2am chest burn yes. Should get that checked ZR. LoL
nah dread it day light where i wuking bro
----------See here
matthewmazda wrote:rfari wrote:mrtrini45 wrote:rfari wrote:Pnm build Trinidad and Tobago. Wha plans u telling me bout?
Last I checked, it was and remains free education for all. Its either u want it or not. No political party responsible for that
and the poverty part ?
UML wrote:Where in Parliament is there room for small parties? There is Government and Opposition. If you are not Government you are opposition. Doh say ilp cause ilp or cop cause they were formed from government and fall into govt and opposition.
If u can't get votes. U can't make either government or opposition. Why would u be in Parliament. No second best to second in Parliament. Parliament is for WINNERS!!!!
rfari wrote:So whatever happen with proportional representation? U eh like that?
UML wrote:I really finding it strange that I cant find articles online....looking for the one in the guardian where Roodal Moonilal says the PNM is being hypocritical because the runoff concept was introduced by THEM in THEIR internal elections!!!
PNM and ILP criticized, opposed, used scare tactics with Proportional Representation in the last elections as they are criticizing, opposing and using scare tactics with the runoff idea....PNM and ILP benefited from PR in the last elections!!!
PNM is a Minority party and ALWAYS wins with a 3 party fight for elections.Ghany: Run-off not new to PNM
Published:
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Gail Alexander
Constitutional expert Dr Hamid Ghany says the run-off poll proposal was something the Opposition PNM introduced in its party constitution recently and it was not an alien concept to the PNM. He was among members of the Constitution Commission who made recommendations for constitutional reform. He was responding yesterday to specific questions on the various proposals the Prime Minister announced Monday.
He said: “I think these measures require a simple majority and could have been done by any previous prime minister. I think the question is whether they had the political will or desire to do it. The term limits for prime ministers was advocated by the ONR in 1981 and that debate went on for years. “Recall of MPs is another issue debated for years and is nothing new and the run-off aspect isn’t alien, as it was introduced by the PNM and detailed at a press conference by PNM chairman Franklin Khan and Ashton Ford at Balisier House.”
He said the proposals for a run-off poll and others could be made with a simple majority, which was why they could have been done at any time Ghany noted the measures would empower the electorate, ensuring it got the MPs who received a majority of votes rather than ones who don’t and would increase interest in elections and registration. “There’s been great debate on first-past-the-post systems and proportional representation was offered as an alternative.
“It’s not being put forward here but this is a fine-tuning of the first-past-the-post system and it’s been embarked upon by major parties. The PNM introduced it for their party poll but they didn’t use it fully, since their candidates all won by 50 per cent of the votes in that internal election,” he said. Former public service head Reginald Dumas, meanwhile, said he agreed with the term limits for prime ministers, an NAR proposal, and the principle of right of recall though the latter must be worked out to prevent abuse of the system
Dumas said: “But I wonder if the run-off poll, in our system, might not have the effect of eliminating third parties and this may not be best for democracy. “In 2007 the COP got many votes but no seats. In a run-off COP people may not vote, so where’s the voice of the people of COP to be heard in this process?
“I am unsure this is in the best interest of democracy. It may certainly eliminate third parties and see coalition politics masquerading as single party politics. We are reverting to the two-party system that has bedevilled us all along. “Also, while the first two ideas were in the PP manifesto, this is a new proposal and which should be discussed with the public.”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-08- ... ot-new-pnm
the COP is a minority party hiding behind a majority party and is fearful as well...AGAIN they go to the media FIRST and not discuss with the PM. Carol Seepersad Bachan is intent on destroying the partnership AGAIN.
UML wrote:Where in Parliament is there room for small parties? There is Government and Opposition. If you are not Government you are opposition. Doh say ilp cause ilp or cop cause they were formed from government and fall into govt and opposition.
If u can't get votes. U can't make either government or opposition. Why would u be in Parliament. No second best to second in Parliament. Parliament is for WINNERS!!!!
rfari wrote:So whatever happen with proportional representation? U eh like that?
UML wrote:I really finding it strange that I cant find articles online....looking for the one in the guardian where Roodal Moonilal says the PNM is being hypocritical because the runoff concept was introduced by THEM in THEIR internal elections!!!
PNM and ILP criticized, opposed, used scare tactics with Proportional Representation in the last elections as they are criticizing, opposing and using scare tactics with the runoff idea....PNM and ILP benefited from PR in the last elections!!!
PNM is a Minority party and ALWAYS wins with a 3 party fight for elections.Ghany: Run-off not new to PNM
Published:
Gail Alexander
Constitutional expert Dr Hamid Ghany says the run-off poll proposal was something the Opposition PNM introduced in its party constitution recently and it was not an alien concept to the PNM. He was among members of the Constitution Commission who made recommendations for constitutional reform. He was responding yesterday to specific questions on the various proposals the Prime Minister announced Monday.
He said: “I think these measures require a simple majority and could have been done by any previous prime minister. I think the question is whether they had the political will or desire to do it. The term limits for prime ministers was advocated by the ONR in 1981 and that debate went on for years. “Recall of MPs is another issue debated for years and is nothing new and the run-off aspect isn’t alien, as it was introduced by the PNM and detailed at a press conference by PNM chairman Franklin Khan and Ashton Ford at Balisier House.”
He said the proposals for a run-off poll and others could be made with a simple majority, which was why they could have been done at any time Ghany noted the measures would empower the electorate, ensuring it got the MPs who received a majority of votes rather than ones who don’t and would increase interest in elections and registration. “There’s been great debate on first-past-the-post systems and proportional representation was offered as an alternative.
“It’s not being put forward here but this is a fine-tuning of the first-past-the-post system and it’s been embarked upon by major parties. The PNM introduced it for their party poll but they didn’t use it fully, since their candidates all won by 50 per cent of the votes in that internal election,” he said. Former public service head Reginald Dumas, meanwhile, said he agreed with the term limits for prime ministers, an NAR proposal, and the principle of right of recall though the latter must be worked out to prevent abuse of the system
Dumas said: “But I wonder if the run-off poll, in our system, might not have the effect of eliminating third parties and this may not be best for democracy. “In 2007 the COP got many votes but no seats. In a run-off COP people may not vote, so where’s the voice of the people of COP to be heard in this process?
“I am unsure this is in the best interest of democracy. It may certainly eliminate third parties and see coalition politics masquerading as single party politics. We are reverting to the two-party system that has bedevilled us all along. “Also, while the first two ideas were in the PP manifesto, this is a new proposal and which should be discussed with the public.”
the COP is a minority party hiding behind a majority party and is fearful as well...AGAIN they go to the media FIRST and not discuss with the PM. Carol Seepersad Bachan is intent on destroying the partnership AGAIN.
eliteauto wrote:lolz @ "The PNM" because all citizens concerned about these amendments are automatically PNM
more lolz @ "minority party" talk as if the Gov't is a one party coalition
Ghany: Run-off not new to PNM
Published:
Gail Alexander
UML wrote:Ghany: Run-off not new to PNM
Published:
Gail Alexander
does this make lolz or sense?
j.o.e wrote:A2BE stop quoting articles which show logical arguments against the proposal....all dem ppl is PNM ..Prakash and all!
UML wrote:Ghany: Run-off not new to PNM
Published:
Gail Alexander
does this make lolz or sense?