media on the side of criminals?

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 21st, 2014, 3:50 am

Check this headline, media is trying to brainwash the public into making it look like the criminals are victims? Empowering riots? Trying to shift the criminal elements to riots like whats going on in the US now?...keep up these headlines and reports that are suggesting police brutality and see what happens....media is very powerful dont take it for granted....
capture_09.png
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on August 21st, 2014, 3:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: media on the side of criminals?

Postby r3iXmann » August 21st, 2014, 3:54 am

Am I missing something here? :|

Postby ismithx » August 21st, 2014, 4:34 am

sensationalism sells

Postby K74T » August 21st, 2014, 5:23 am

K

link

Postby link » August 21st, 2014, 7:14 am

ismithx wrote:sensationalism sells

yeah..but at what point does it become bias ??
for example...it is now standard for nwp/tv reporters to say "...he ADMITTED..." thereby implying that some kind of wrongdoing was being perpetrated.
rgds

Postby Habit7 » August 21st, 2014, 8:03 am

OP I think it's up to your interpretation. "Cops kills 3 more" is a succinct headline. If you add the context of Ferguson, MO then you might get more out of it.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 21st, 2014, 9:17 am

I kind of agree with StreetBeast on this one. Read the article as well. I doubt you can make it more biased.

"Cops kill three more" - Three more what? Makes it seem like cops have been killing normal people and continue to do so. Why not "Cops kill three bandits" or "Three bandits shot dead"?

"...alleged car thieves..." - Used to imply the possibility of innocence furthering the idea that cops frequently kill regular civilians.

"...suspected bandits..." - Again using to imply the possibility of innocence.

"... the three friends were killed..." - Used to make the reader empathise with the bandits by showing that they are just like us with friends and family. Why not say "the three suspects" or "the three associates". Also notice the use of the word "kill". It implies malice intent as though the cops killed the friends because they wanted to. Was it in self defense? Was it a shot to stop them from harming someone else? Officers are trained to shoot at "centre mass" (i.e. chest and torso). Even though these shots are frequently fatal, the purpose of the shot is not to kill as this article implies. The purpose is to deflate the danger of the situation.

"David Baker was immediately identified" - Again used to make the reader empathise with the suspect. Why not use that space to clarify the context of the shooting.

And then the greatest part of all is the very next article below -"Suspects appear to be decent, says landlord" - Again forcing the perception that the suspects were innocent.

TL:DR Very biased and non-informative reporting. Is there more to the story OP or was that it?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 21st, 2014, 9:24 am

I dunno..........the headline seems accurate and to the point. Police did indeed kill three more. Cant think of a better headline nah.

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 21st, 2014, 11:13 pm

Simple minds will not understand on any level what i meant in this post...why i dont realy post here much

Postby K74T » August 21st, 2014, 11:16 pm

K

Postby DVSTT » August 21st, 2014, 11:25 pm

I thought it was understood that local media were biased and inaccurate....

Postby r3iXmann » August 22nd, 2014, 2:27 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Simple minds will not understand on any level what i meant in this post...why i dont realy post here much

anyway.. more like simple minds will make unnecessary correlations to international events in attempts to sound more intelligent than they really are over the internets :lol:

the first thing to any normal thinking mind (and people that didn't fail O Level English Comprehension) would be '3 more bandits ' since it is in the context of local news

Postby brams112 » August 22nd, 2014, 6:59 am

The front page sells,the rest of the papers is crap.

Postby mero » August 22nd, 2014, 9:32 am

Effectic Designs does move like dem fellas in UWI who does ask for more paper 20 minutes into every exam (when you now on page 2) but does still hadda "take a year off"

Postby j.o.e » August 22nd, 2014, 9:49 am

There is nothing to read into the headline "Police kill 3 more" in my opinion....whatever is the readers personal bias will decide how they react.. some will say good job police ...other will say excessive force by police. People will think whatever they want in the end

Postby wagonrunner » August 22nd, 2014, 10:09 am

How about this one...........

An armed man enters my home and there is some defence on my part. Why is my name and picture published, but not his?

Postby Spitfir3 » August 22nd, 2014, 10:17 am

j.o.e wrote:There is nothing to read into the headline "Police kill 3 more" in my opinion....whatever is the readers personal bias will decide how they react.. some will say good job police ...other will say excessive force by police. People will think whatever they want in the end

this...
no matter how its formatted in the end the j0stice crew will always froth while the fedup crew will be like nice another pest gone
Last edited by Spitfir3 on August 22nd, 2014, 11:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 22nd, 2014, 11:05 am

police damn right to feel demoralized when d media posts their crap only for their papers to sell , especially when they do good work & u see a very small story with a few lines quite 10 or more pages into d papers

when sgt alexander hits marlon that on beyond d tape marlon does beat up to defend singing for his supper .... :|

Valentines Escorts

Postby Valentines Escorts » August 22nd, 2014, 11:50 am

PPL like OP should keep to his own business and leave government intelligence to do its job.

We have sat in many meeting with the ex mayo and share his vision. A combined effort is needed by any means possible to fight criminals, we know bess.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 22nd, 2014, 1:30 pm

I guess you guys are right. It's a good thing that trinis are immune to subliminal messaging and subconscious prejudice. Don't mind it's a proven strategy that is used in a lot of new stations and marketing campaigns.

Imagine something as simple as colour can affect the decisions you make (will give examples if anyone interested)

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 22nd, 2014, 3:32 pm

.....kk

Postby Trini Hookah » August 22nd, 2014, 3:58 pm

Wat

Postby Slartibartfast » August 22nd, 2014, 4:38 pm

Lol... news stations.

New stations don't make sense

The Price is not Tight

Postby The Price is not Tight » August 22nd, 2014, 5:53 pm

doh study dem nah boiii we run tings dey doh unnastan we culture

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 22nd, 2014, 6:21 pm

would be nice if they didn't count the deaths of known criminals/ gang members as part of their murder toll.
Yellow journalism ftl :/

The Price is not Tight

Postby The Price is not Tight » August 22nd, 2014, 6:47 pm

tourniquet wrote:would be nice if they didn't count the deaths of known criminals/ gang members as part of their murder toll.
Yellow journalism ftl :/

Tourniquet gyall how you get out I thought I zip u up for d night or wait how you know my pet p name???????

Valentines Escorts

Postby Valentines Escorts » August 22nd, 2014, 6:57 pm

Oh goar o goar Keep it politics nah man, thats where liars fit in best

Toni Phraser

Postby Toni Phraser » August 22nd, 2014, 7:15 pm

The head of the stream is criminals. What do you expect when old folly and filth are put in control of digital media? It seems hereditary and the filth of the father is absorbed and brainwashed in the filth of the children. Look at all the popular Boards for Companies and one will notice and incestuous plague occurring with regard to nepotism.

Postby K74T » August 22nd, 2014, 9:10 pm

Ogoar ogoar ease up on de alt accts nah ollour.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 22nd, 2014, 9:44 pm

Lol wtf