Re: Accident on South bound lane of Highway

Postby DVSTT » August 24th, 2014, 2:42 pm

I hope something comes from this

TriP

Postby TriP » August 24th, 2014, 5:04 pm

pj15 wrote:Andre Comeau? That name sounds familiar....think he plays the violin with the Alternative Quartet if not mistaken.

u are quite correct..

ALTERNATIVE QUARTET news release:

We would also like to take this opportunity to wish our beloved member of the AQ family, Andre Comeau a speedy recovery following an unfortunate vehicular accident on Friday last. We love you! Further, we urge motorists to exercise extreme caution on the nation's roads and abide by all traffic regulations. In doing so, the safety of unsuspecting motorists would not be compromised.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 25th, 2014, 6:00 am

Accident survivors still in hospital
Monday, August 25 2014

AN ailing Princes Town pensioner, who on Friday survived a vehicular accident which claimed the life of his 52 year-old son, was fighting for his life at hospital up to last evening.

Pensioner Rampersad Matadeen, 71, police said, remained in a serious condition at the San Fernando General Hospital. Apart from the injuries sustained in the accident, Matadeen has colon cancer and diabetes.

The other survivor of the accident, Andre Cameau, 27, was also warded at the hospital and police said he was in a stable condition.

Police reports are that at about 8.30 pm on Friday, Matadeen’s son — Ramlal aka “Roger” — was driving on the south-bound lane of the Solomon Hochoy Highway in his black Nissan Almera motorcar, upon reaching near the Macaulay flyover in Claxton Bay, Cameau who was proceeding ahead of Ramlal on the same lane, suffered a blackout.

Police reports are as a result of the blackout Cameau’s Toyota Fielder wagon spun several times, and turned northwards to Ramlal’s approaching car and collided, killing him instantly. Cameau, is a musician of Bacchus Street, St Augustine.

The pensioner, who was the front-seat passenger in his son’s car, and Cameau, the lone occupant of the wagon, were rushed to the hospital.

The Matadeen and Ramlal were returning to their respective homes at Broomage Trace #2, Princes Town, having dropped off wedding invitations to relatives in Chaguanas.

Ramlal’s son Adesh, 22, and his fiancé Shamela Rampersad were scheduled to tie the knot on November 27. But due to the death, family members admitted that the wedding is now in limbo.

Ramlal, a father of four, worked as a Private for Hire (PH) driver along the Princes Town to San Fernando route. On the Facebook post of one of Ramlal’s daughters, it stated: “God give us strength and courage to stand up tall for his funeral... The passing of a dad is so very hard to take. His memory will forever be a source of comfort.”

Ramlal’s autopsy is expected to take place today.

Cpl Sookdeo of the St Margaret’s Police Station is continuing investigations.

Too much versions of this story......

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 25th, 2014, 7:50 am

apparently everyone says the fielder was driving the wrong way....
i don't know what to make of this at all!

rip to the deceased.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 25th, 2014, 10:40 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Police reports are as a result of the blackout Cameau’s Toyota Fielder wagon spun several times, and turned northwards to Ramlal’s approaching car and collided, killing him instantly.

Something being left out. They making it sound like he just spin out and ended up facing the wrong way when Ramlal crashed into him but OP said he was actually driving in the wrong direction which makes more sense considering the consequences of the accident.

But yeah, too many versions of this story. We need some pics for analysis.

pj15

Postby pj15 » August 25th, 2014, 11:18 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Police reports are as a result of the blackout Cameau’s Toyota Fielder wagon spun several times, and turned northwards to Ramlal’s approaching car and collided, killing him instantly.

Something being left out. They making it sound like he just spin out and ended up facing the wrong way when Ramlal crashed into him but OP said he was actually driving in the wrong direction which makes more sense considering the consequences of the accident.

But yeah, too many versions of this story. We need some pics for analysis.

OP saying the driver of the Almera ( Ramlal) was heading the wrong way and the fella in the fielder was going the right way...I'm confused.

sysy99

Postby sysy99 » August 25th, 2014, 1:46 pm

Any witnesses to the accident should step forward and give their evidence. The fact is that, as the driver of the Fielder's name was not published in follow up articles in the newspapers, the intention of the Police is to charge him with vehicular manslaughter. If indeed, he was the victim and was hit head on by a vehicle heading in the wrong direction, eyewitnesses with relevant information should step forward report this to the St. Margaret's Police Station before charges are laid.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 25th, 2014, 2:27 pm

Right so from the report it seems that Comeau is wrong. He even say he suffer a blackout. RIP to the deceased.

Jadakiss is confusing us.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 25th, 2014, 2:31 pm

So Jadakiss was driving south on the northbound @ 100 km/h while another car was driving north on the southbound, mistook a fielder for an almera...but made it home in one piece. That about right???

antlind

Postby antlind » August 25th, 2014, 2:38 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:So Jadakiss was driving south on the northbound @ 100 km/h while another car was driving north on the southbound, mistook a fielder for an almera...but made it home in one piece. That about right???

That is logic!!!!

Postby Trini Hookah » August 26th, 2014, 12:51 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:So Jadakiss was driving south on the northbound @ 100 km/h while another car was driving north on the southbound, mistook a fielder for an almera...but made it home in one piece. That about right???

Bunny just blew my mind.

rf1961

Postby rf1961 » August 26th, 2014, 3:43 am

As it stands right now for the driver of the Fielder, he is receiving negative press and the eyewitness reports in this forum seem to indicate that he is innocent and the press is once again sensationalizing the story based on the upcoming nuptials of the other parties involved. I myself was present at the hospital after the accident and I have some issues with the proceedings that transpired there. Firstly, let me first state emphatically that I was very pleased with the assistance offered to the driver of the Fielder at the hospital. The security were very courteous and helpful in assisting with queries and the attending doctor was very professional and offered up all relevant information to the driver's condition, injuries sustained and relevant procedures to be done. When I inquired from the doctor if blood samples or breathalyzer tests were done on the two surviving accident victims, he told me that that would only be done at the request of the police and none was requested at that time. The police themselves were present and questioned the driver of the Fielder and told him that it was just a preliminary inquiry for them to get an idea as to what happened and they would return for an official statement at a later date. The driver informed them that all he remembered was seeing a black shadow on his right side, then the deployment of the airbag on impact. Maybe the police misinterpreted the "seeing a black shadow" as a blackout on the driver's part but there is also all the posts in this forum that the Almera was heading North in the South bound lane. If the driver of the Fielder did experience a "blackout" or lost control of the vehicle this would explain a head on collision but the same would apply to the Almera also. This vehicle could also have spun around and faced the opposite direction and could have collided with the South bound Fielder or could have continued to drive, but in the opposite direction. Both vehicles were crumpled on the driver's side which points to a partial head on collision with one vehicle in the left lane, that being the Fielder, and the other in the right, thus explaining the damage to the right side of the Almera. The posts state that the Almera WAS heading in the wrong direction and if this is true, then the driver either exited onto a highway turnoff and headed North in error in the fast lane or he lost control and faced North. Or, if he was driving in the wrong direction, maybe he thought he was on a minor road and continued in the fast (right) lane, keeping oncoming vehicles on the left lane as is the norm but would he not have seen the cable barriers on the left and the vehicles on the North bound side of the highway? The media should get all relevant details from the police before printing elaborate stories based on unconfirmed reports from eyewitnesses, the majority of whom would have appeared after the accident occurred and partial police reports. But this would not sell papers or advertising time on television.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » August 26th, 2014, 11:16 am

looking at the vid above, I seeing that the almera is still in the position it was on impact
and all the other traffic seems to be heading in that same direction

did these vehicles spin out on impact? if not the almera driver seems to be pointing in the same direction as the normal traffic flow which means he was heading in the right direction

I highly doubt that the impact set him striaght

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 26th, 2014, 11:42 am

megadoc1 wrote:looking at the vid above, I seeing that the almera is still in the position it was on impact
and all the other traffic seems to be heading in that same direction

did these vehicles spin out on impact? if not the almera driver seems to be pointing in the same direction as the normal traffic flow which means he was heading in the right direction

I highly doubt that the impact set him striaght

Postby Slartibartfast » August 26th, 2014, 11:03 pm

Nah look at the way it facing. Slightly to the left. If it got hit on the right the car would end up facing more to the right. Due to the magnitude of the impact it is possible the car spun almost a full 180 degrees (look like it spun 150 degrees to the right)

Remember that in any partial head on collision, the car ends up turning in the direction of the side of the impact.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » August 26th, 2014, 11:32 pm

so what u think happened to the other car? think carefully

Postby Slartibartfast » August 26th, 2014, 11:46 pm

The driver's side of both car hit. This may have caused the both of them to spin almost 180 degrees and keep on going (albeit not very far). So the other car should now be in front of the almera and facing the wrong direction.

Take two small plastic sandwich bags and fill it wil sand or dirt or flour. Then slide them into eachother so that they partially collide head in amd observe what happens. This should mimic a semi elastic collision where a lot of energy is lost in deformation

...just a theory

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » August 27th, 2014, 1:36 am

cool , in light of your spining theory
two cars crashing on the right lane,hitting mostly on their right sides and spinning 180 degrees means that the car heading in the wrong direction would go off the road and the car heading in the right direction will be now facing the opposite direction not so? would it not be a clockwise spin? just checking

Postby Slartibartfast » August 27th, 2014, 5:42 am

Yeah. It would be a clockwise spin. Remember the car heading in the wrong direction would be closer to the median to it will end up more by the barrier while the other car will end up moving to the side left lane. As for where exactly the car would go, that would vary with factors like speed, if they swerved last second etc. Or I could be totally wrong eh. Just throwing out some ideas.

Postby javishm » August 27th, 2014, 9:40 am

2nr investigations

Postby Slartibartfast » August 27th, 2014, 9:49 am

Me and Megadoc going to start up a private investigation firm. We going to be rolling around in a red and white ford cortina with SR20 and real music like Starsky and Hutch.

... Slarti and Doc, for all you private investigation needs. Yuh gyul hornin yuh?... we investigatin dem privates to!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » August 27th, 2014, 1:43 pm

lol... I do private investigations as a side thing

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » August 28th, 2014, 1:44 pm

^ actually i was heading Eastbound on the beetham hiway at the time..sori :-( or was it the other way around lol

Anyways to the family/frens of the Fielder i did make a report to the police..but they said they already had a person who made a statement and that it was conflicting to what i was saying so if they need further info they wud call me..no calls since

at this point i don't have nemore time to facilitate ole talk about the accident..i stand by what i said 110%..almera was driving in the wrong direction and collided head on with another vehicle..i cannot give the orentation/direction of the fielder as at the pt of impact i was mostly looking at the almera alongside me n additionally trying to maintain my bearings on my lane..in a split second it collided with the other driver...and at that pt i was further advanced up the lane jus straining my neck to look back

to the theorists out there..nice try guys..real plausible stuff but unless u was there its jus that..a theory

BTW guys u all know that the deceased guy's son is a Police Officer, right

Postby Trini Hookah » August 28th, 2014, 3:53 pm

Lemme geh some cliffs na ollour, meen reading them essays

Postby pioneer » August 28th, 2014, 6:17 pm

essays without paragraphs too

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 28th, 2014, 6:58 pm

summary:
jadakiss wrote:BTW guys u all know that the deceased guy's son is a Police Officer, right

You shoulda mention that earlier on 8-)

So what Fielder man have to say in all this? He taking chain-up and accepting that he was going in the wrong direction?

btw, I hope you have your court clothes ironed, if not I think Detour have sale.

Postby toyolink » August 28th, 2014, 8:58 pm

Wow.....I now sure nobody knows who right or wrong here.
The only true lesson here is, people please be careful and attentive on these crazy roads.

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » August 28th, 2014, 9:03 pm

fouljuice wrote:summary:
jadakiss wrote:BTW guys u all know that the deceased guy's son is a Police Officer, right

You shoulda mention that earlier on 8-)

So what Fielder man have to say in all this? He taking chain-up and accepting that he was going in the wrong direction?

btw, I hope you have your court clothes ironed, if not I think Detour have sale.

cyah vouch for the legitimacy of newspaper reports..but i hope fielder guy stick to facts and maintain he was in the correct direction as was initially reported/purported on CNC3 news.