Printer help needed

Postby skylinechild » September 7th, 2014, 6:58 pm

tuners, I'm helping a co worker with her printer. - HP photosmart C4680.

the printer is virtually new used like 2-3 times ( but its out of warranty)- plastic is still on it. :!:

it wont turn on. when i checked it the power cord( brick) was shot to tell. wires taped over like madness so i said ok i have a spare power brick home its yours.

new power cord connected - and it still wont turn on. the power cord i gave was a fully functional unit -from another model HP printer.

i took my power cord from my printer at home to try- still nothing.
the rated voltage is 32V at 625mA. each power brick is slightly different- ( in voltage and amperage output) so i'm thinking this is why it not working.

the power pin alignment is correct. on all 3...positive pin is on the outside and ground is in the middle (purple connector)

i did some goggling last night and i found this model is problematic where a capacitor goes bad on the circuit board -but its an easy DIY fix.

i opened up the printer & checked the capacitor and its not crowned (swollen).

see link for image of bad capacitor i found online >> http://i.imgur.com/Z4y1J.jpg

thread for that DIY fix http://ericmitz.com/how-i-fixed-my-hp-p ... 0-printer/

all comes down to two things..either that control circuit board capacitor needs replacing ( although it shows no signs of being bad) - or the power brick- but i dont have the correct voltage
(or amperage) cord to try out. i dont want to buy a new power cord in case the printer is really defective.

any tuners out there in central have a hp all in one printer ( models listed below) and willing to let me try their power cord on this printer.??

if it powers up i kno i 'll need a new power cord and amazon for it...if not...i'll replace the capacitor and try again with the power cord. if it still fails after that - time for a new printer.

below is a list of printers that use the same power cord (none of my printers are listed)

DeskJet D1660, D2660, D2663, D2680, D5560
Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Series
Deskjet Ink Advantage All-in-One Series K109, K209
HP PHOTOSMART C4640 ALL-IN-ONE PRINTER
HP PHOTOSMART C4650 ALL-IN-ONE PRINTER
HP PHOTOSMART C4680 ALL-IN-ONE PRINTER
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B109A
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B109C
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B109D
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B109F
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B109N
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B109Q
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B109R
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B209A
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B209B
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One B209C

any central tuners out there who willing to assist let me kno.

subie_2NR

Re: Printer help needed

Postby subie_2NR » September 7th, 2014, 7:08 pm

All that stress, those printers are disposable. If you trying to impress your co worker buy her a new one...

phreak

Postby phreak » September 7th, 2014, 7:10 pm

Dude, honestly it easier to just buy a new printer.. Those things start at under $300 these days.. Works out better in the end..

Postby skylinechild » September 7th, 2014, 7:27 pm

subie 2nr...not tryin to impress anyone..the printer is virtually new. kinda hard to shell out $400 or so for a printer..print 3 pages...then shell out another $400..

phreak...buying a new printer will be the last option...if all else fails of course.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 7th, 2014, 7:29 pm

friends don't let friends buy HP printers :/

Postby skylinechild » September 7th, 2014, 7:35 pm

tourniquet wrote:friends don't let friends buy HP printers :/

:lol: :lol: quoted for sig material....

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 7th, 2014, 11:50 pm

Printers are cheaper than ink nowadays. And if the brick is as bad as you say after only a couple of printings then she shouldn't own a printer. She learn a lesson there. Don't be so damn careless.

She cool. Plenty white knights out there to print for her no matter if she bessface or butterface.

Postby cinco » September 8th, 2014, 12:55 am

Pics of bird?

Postby skylinechild » September 8th, 2014, 2:12 am

DTAC kinda careless with the power cord i agree... but i'm just tryin to help out

sorry cinco.. no pics of bird.. but if you like you can use google images... if youre into ornithology :lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 8th, 2014, 6:24 am

the still selling the c4680, worst printer ever and hp and their stupid inks that expire when the cartridge still 50% full

Postby Mark! » September 8th, 2014, 7:28 am

U is d office white night or wa op?

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 8th, 2014, 9:30 am

Tell her get a Canon, Hp printers buss

Postby Spitfir3 » September 8th, 2014, 9:50 am

too late there op i actually threw away one of those F4500 series printer power cord included like last week was working too just the part which held the paper in place was broken

most likely the printer might be shot doh, i would expect the printer to at least attempt to power on and show a blinking light even if a wrong power adapter is used

Postby skylinechild » September 8th, 2014, 8:03 pm

Mark! wrote:U is d office white night or wa op?

no.. i dont fix office crap..just tryin to help out a co worker.

but i can ask shiv to be your Wk if you need one...he can hold your hand..help you cross the road...u kno...dem kinda ting.. :lol:

Spitfir3 wrote:too late there op i actually threw away one of those F4500 series printer power cord included like last week was working too just the part which held the paper in place was broken

most likely the printer might be shot doh, i would expect the printer to at least attempt to power on and show a blinking light even if a wrong power adapter is used

i was thinking the same thing..i tried two different power cords...same thing no result...but the voltage (and amperage) was less than the original unit..which may account for why it wouldnt turn on.

waiting for any tuner who can assist !

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 8th, 2014, 10:20 pm

skylinechild wrote:
tourniquet wrote:friends don't let friends buy HP printers :/

:lol: :lol: quoted for sig material....

If we still had sigs :(

Postby skylinechild » September 9th, 2014, 4:20 pm

noone has any of those printers listed...???

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » September 9th, 2014, 4:33 pm

nothing is wrong with the printer man....

its just fool proof

aidan

Postby aidan » September 14th, 2014, 1:07 pm

fellas, i looking for a refillable or CISS printer setup,I fedup buy ink every month. any help will be appreciated.