Foreign Used Tyres?

zondafan

Re: Foreign Used Tyres?

Postby zondafan » September 8th, 2014, 11:59 am

I think..from my exp..the good fu is about equal to or better..than new Chinese tyres..the foreign used don't last as long but to know you rolling on a good brand name tyre is a good feeling

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 8th, 2014, 2:34 pm

Take into consideration treadware rating when comparing tyres. Can't compare 400 treadware vs 180 treadware and expect the same noise level/grip.
Also the ply count and type of layers for the tyres

hindian

Postby hindian » September 8th, 2014, 2:41 pm

Been using f/u tyres over 8 years now and counting, haven't had a bad experience with them....yet. I used to get some good brand name tyres before like Pirellis and Yokohamas and Continental sport contacts... best tyres I ever put on mih ole car. I normally get 2-3 years service with them as long as I doh fack up mih alignment. Fyazz is a normal thing too but not all the time lol.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 8th, 2014, 2:46 pm

You can't compare treadwear rating between tyres period, unless they belong to the same family of tyre; it sometimes doesn't even compare across the same brand and it definitely has no comparison across different brands
Using Bridgestone as an example.
A 180 treadwear potenza doesn't directly compare with a 180 treadwear turanza and has no comparison to a 200 treadwear dunlop z1 star spec.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 8th, 2014, 2:48 pm

Kronik wrote:Take into consideration treadware rating when comparing tyres. Can't compare 400 treadware vs 180 treadware and expect the same noise level/grip.
Also the ply count and type of layers for the tyres

explain treadwear plz

i have one 2 separate pairs, i'm seeing 360 & 400

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » September 8th, 2014, 2:56 pm

The lower the number the more grippy/soft the compound of rubber is. A 180 TW tyre will finish faster than a 360 TW tyre.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 8th, 2014, 2:59 pm

^^correct. Lower TW tyres are usually quieter as well.
I look for tyres around 200-300. Triangle and thing is about 400

Postby toyolink » September 8th, 2014, 3:13 pm

The various comparisons between used and new tires observed in this thread certainly demonstrates that both categories of this product has a customer base.
What drives the demand is clearly based on the experiences of each consumer which also significantly includes pricing.
The technical comparison of new versus used appears to get confused since it is apparent that their is some difficult comparing 'like for like' products.
What seems quite important is that buying used some customers appear to be able to purchase higher quality used tires and enjoy some of the benefits associated therein.

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2014, 4:29 pm

mih boss gone and put four Triangle tyres on mih van :-/
Hopefully they would handle mih blistering 80kph pace...

aidan

Postby aidan » May 10th, 2015, 3:37 pm

bumping. looking for a set of decent foreign used tyres to run temporarily. Where's a good place to buy from?

Postby X_Factor » May 10th, 2015, 3:43 pm

There is no really good place to get the used tires...u hadda check several shops before u buy.....but the bigger shops that allow u to dig through their stacks is a good place to start....singhs...johns....chippys.etc