Scottish Independence Referendum

Re: Scottish Independence Referendum

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 19th, 2014, 9:22 am

janfar wrote:Lol... Watching all my Scottish friends beat up on FB even though most of them don't pay taxes there or for the most part don't even reside there anymore.

There are 5 million scots that live in scotland, but 18 milion that live worldwide. The worldwide ones were pushing for independence.

The worldwide ones seemed to be irrelevant then with respect to the vote. Kinda like how you are irrelevant to Trinidad and Tobago seeing that you talk like an outsider looking in.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 19th, 2014, 9:23 am

shogun wrote:
cornfused wrote:Interesting a small margin on such a pivotal issue . However where is this on out political and governance landscape .

We say we don't wand courts , schools , roads building in specific areas . A few persons talk out on the gas subsidy.Where are the referendums for us to decide what we want ?

Our politicians were "clever" enough to realize that tribalism and tribal politics was the key to keep us occupied enough to not worry/care about more important issues. It worked. Both sides can now do as they please.

The majority of our population isn't sophisticated enough to look at issues without looking through the prism of race/political affiliation. Not yet anyways... and the politicians couldn't have asked for a better situation.
Not to mention these same people are more likely to bring up their kids to be just like them and end up perpetuating the situation. And when these kids try to question or defy they receive punishment that is swift, severe and painful until they not longer question the way things are.

Postby shogun » September 19th, 2014, 9:24 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
janfar wrote:Lol... Watching all my Scottish friends beat up on FB even though most of them don't pay taxes there or for the most part don't even reside there anymore.

There are 5 million scots that live in scotland, but 18 milion that live worldwide. The worldwide ones were pushing for independence.

The worldwide ones seemed to be irrelevant then with respect to the vote. Kinda like how you are irrelevant to Trinidad and Tobago seeing that you talk like an outsider looking in.

Damn.

Men in fighting form this Friday morn.
Last edited by shogun on September 19th, 2014, 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2014, 9:31 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Ok bro you correct, trinis are nice decent people that work hard ,productive, abide by laws, help each other out with very a low crime rate.

Postby shogun » September 19th, 2014, 9:39 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
shogun wrote:
cornfused wrote:Interesting a small margin on such a pivotal issue . However where is this on out political and governance landscape .

We say we don't wand courts , schools , roads building in specific areas . A few persons talk out on the gas subsidy.Where are the referendums for us to decide what we want ?

Our politicians were "clever" enough to realize that tribalism and tribal politics was the key to keep us occupied enough to not worry/care about more important issues. It worked. Both sides can now do as they please.

The majority of our population isn't sophisticated enough to look at issues without looking through the prism of race/political affiliation. Not yet anyways... and the politicians couldn't have asked for a better situation.
Not to mention these same people are more likely to bring up their kids to be just like them and end up perpetuating the situation. And when these kids try to question or defy they receive punishment that is swift, severe and painful until they not longer question the way things are.

It's also why and how you can have segments of the population talking about "WTN" when in actuality they're sucking the same salt that those without access get. Trini is a trip.

Postby mero » September 19th, 2014, 9:40 am

Why in every other thread, zoom always begging someone to "see his location?" Is a flamse thing Orr?

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2014, 9:53 am

mero wrote:Why in every other thread, zoom always begging someone to "see his location?" Is a flamse thing Orr?

The guy asked a question bro:

quote="zoom rader"]
lost to all wrote:They WILL vote YES and become an independent country.

How many scots have you spoken in person to come your conclusion?

How much have you?
Was your talks representative of the demographic nature of Scotland i.e. did you speak to rich ones, poor ones, educated ones, non educated ones, white ones, Asian ones?

<<<<<See my Location bro, I deal with scots everyday[/quote]

Postby desifemlove » September 19th, 2014, 4:25 pm

I know Scotland well (as a born UK citizen..)

And the yes and no camp transcends class, race, educational attainment, etc.

I was in England, have no tie to Scotland via family or what have you, and I wanted a yes. Why? Should it have been yes, A Scotland-less UK wouldn't have been poorer off...and doh say oil/gas nah...is a small part of the economy and only was a serious boon during late (great) Thatcher's time. If dey wanna leave, leh dem have it..

The issue won't die....I'd surmise in 20 years, another vote will occur, and i get de suspicion it will be yes...

Postby desifemlove » September 19th, 2014, 4:25 pm

I know Scotland well (as a born UK citizen..)

And the yes and no camp transcends class, race, educational attainment, etc.

I was in England, have no tie to Scotland via family or what have you, and I wanted a yes. Why? Should it have been yes, A Scotland-less UK wouldn't have been poorer off...and doh say oil/gas nah...is a small part of the economy and only was a serious boon during late (great) Thatcher's time. If dey wanna leave, leh dem have it..

The issue won't die....I'd surmise in 20 years, another vote will occur, and i get de suspicion it will be yes...

Who need enemy

Postby Who need enemy » September 19th, 2014, 6:42 pm

Scotland is like Tobago

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2014, 1:07 am

Who need enemy wrote:Scotland is like Tobago

Eh no, Most Scots actually work and are productive .

TriP

Postby TriP » September 20th, 2014, 2:29 am

:lol: ....
sc.jpg