local made coconut oil needed

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2014, 11:43 pm

anyone knows anyone who makes or sells this?

been askin around the e/w corridor but no luck

there is a nice vid on youtube on how to make ur own, but the process is quite long and will be the last resort

thanx

doublesman

Re: local made coconut oil needed

Postby doublesman » September 24th, 2014, 1:43 am

Check the San Antonio green market on Saturdays and Sundays. Google it if u don't know where it is and you will find it. There is a guy who sells it there.

Postby zoom rader » September 24th, 2014, 3:34 am

Market is the best place to get this bro, check San do, Marabella, Ptown and Debe markets. This is mostly a countryside item.

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » September 24th, 2014, 5:10 am

There is lady at Penal market, $30 a nip

Postby pioneer » September 24th, 2014, 5:20 am

Ah boy, many ah indian child grew up with this and were chastised for it.

Now this chit sellin on amazon.

Postby meccalli » September 24th, 2014, 8:04 am

It's not long lol, I make mine and eat it everyday. 4 coconuts last me a few weeks, you just husk em, blend the meat, wash it in water with your hands pressing and squeezing. Then you just strain and let it set. The fats separate well from the liquid overnight and you just scoop it out. Cold pressing you need certain conditions for it to separate fully. However I just boil it till I get the pure oil and the cream curd. You want the oil to be white and translucent. Some people overdo it turning the oil yellow. can do the prep in an hour, 8 hrs to separate and then maybe 15 mins reducing over heat into oil.

Postby eliteauto » September 24th, 2014, 8:17 am

meccalli you're using "regular dry coconut" (like the kind you pashaw) or you're using older one that close to being used for copra? If it's the latter where are you getting it to buy?

Postby Redman » September 24th, 2014, 8:26 am

There are also tablets available-i cant drink the oil.
off of amazon

Postby rspann » September 24th, 2014, 8:34 am

Take a drive down Cedros ,you could pick up dry coconut all over the road.

Postby 1UZFE » September 24th, 2014, 8:37 am

pioneer wrote:Ah boy, many ah indian child grew up with this and were chastised for it.

Now this chit sellin on amazon.

Some ppl accustomed to playin catch up.
Op u wid get it in mayaro..

Postby rspann » September 24th, 2014, 8:40 am

They was chastised for it? or was it more like teased for it when it was left too long and became rancid, and when the sun get hot it used to run down on the sides?

Postby X_Factor » September 24th, 2014, 8:54 am

im from around uwi, so to make a turn mayaro/penal
really kinda out of the way....especially if its a hit or miss situation

elite...check this out

if i dont get by friday....i'll make
will blend it up instead of using the mill
i'll probably start with 5-6 nuts

Postby eliteauto » September 24th, 2014, 9:26 am

nicely! I'm gonna try it, the guy who sells at Green Market has 2 types I think one is pressed, one is def clearer than the other but they are pricey.

Postby meccalli » September 24th, 2014, 9:48 am

Yeah, the pashaw one lol, I just drink the young coconuts and let the mature ones stay there till they dry, once the meat is thick enough its fine, Copra can be pressed mechanically.

Postby toyolink » September 24th, 2014, 9:58 am

Really good info. here.
May very well try this myself.

Postby skylinechild » September 24th, 2014, 12:25 pm

did anyone ever ask nervewrecker to organise this for dem.??

the man livin south.. know all dem south roads..and south baytee...and know where all de markets and ting is... hell this is probably a food staple in his area...

get cut... rub coconut oil
hungry..eat a lil coconut oil.
thirsty...drink a lil....
dog get mange..rub him down with a lil oil...
dog get bite....clean the bite with oil...
girl dont get wet enough...- might as well use coconut oil.... :lol:

Postby meccalli » September 24th, 2014, 12:33 pm

It works! amazing stuff i've been making and using for years.
This is how mine looks.
ImageDSC_9150 by meccalli, on Flickr
And how you eat it, yummy :)
ImageDSC_9158 by meccalli, on Flickr

Postby eliteauto » September 24th, 2014, 12:43 pm

meccalli you're making the butter, or is that solidified cold oil?

Postby j.o.e » September 24th, 2014, 12:45 pm

no wonder it so expensive...real work for a lil bit

Postby supercharged turbo » September 24th, 2014, 1:31 pm

You can try Chaguanas market and maybe take a drive through Felicity

Postby Chimera » September 24th, 2014, 1:33 pm

that is a lot of work

how much for a 750ml bottle of coconut oil so?

Postby pioneer » September 24th, 2014, 1:55 pm

Postby meccalli » September 24th, 2014, 2:30 pm

Refrigerated oil. That batch was from just 2 coconuts btw. You need to give it time to separate fully.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 24th, 2014, 2:52 pm

how much oil does one coconutty does yield?

Postby Team Loco » September 24th, 2014, 2:52 pm

I drink two tablespoons a day. Part of my yoga following. I swear by it. Good energy. But it can also lead to weight gain

Postby Trini Hookah » September 24th, 2014, 5:12 pm

Good for Alzheimer's patients as well.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 24th, 2014, 5:18 pm

I does put it on almost everything I making
Calories fi di gyal dem

And I does use it for oil pulling (the normal mass produced one, cyar be wasting the good homemade one)

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » September 24th, 2014, 5:58 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:You can try Chaguanas market and maybe take a drive through Felicity

This!^

urabus

Postby urabus » September 24th, 2014, 7:32 pm

Would order mine from some family in grandville

But for those who are making your own oil....,I heard that the best time to make the oil is either a few days before or after the full moon....I can't rem. something about the coconut would yield more oil.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 24th, 2014, 10:23 pm

I loves the coconut oil