Over 2 billion obese and overweight people worldwide.

Re: Over 2 billion obese and overweight people worldwide.

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2014, 6:42 am

according to my mean maximal power graph which is a plot of best times accumulated/seen,

best 10sec for the year is 836w on 20/5/2014
20sec is 545w
mmp.jpg

Postby zoom rader » June 5th, 2014, 7:09 am

^^^ Unless you can bring your power levels up across the board, you are going to make an average cyclists ( it's hard life) You ever tried track cycling, you may find you could do well in endurance track events once you get your lower seconds power levels up.

I spent yrs racing at 270 - 290 (350 -480 for pros) and its not a very good place to be, however track cycling filled that gap with time trialing

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2014, 7:49 am

The latter half will always be low because I don't do training rides of long intensity.
I have no intentions of being a racing pro and don't think I was part of any genetic lottery, lol.
It is good to train and see changes though.

Postby zoom rader » June 5th, 2014, 8:23 am

^^^ try track endurance bro

Postby maj. tom » June 5th, 2014, 10:32 am

Obesity research confirms long-term weight loss almost impossible

By Kelly Crowe, CBC News Posted: Jun 04, 2014 5:00 PM ET Last Updated: Jun 04, 2014 10:34 PM ET

There's a disturbing truth that is emerging from the science of obesity. After years of study, it's becoming apparent that it's nearly impossible to permanently lose weight.

As incredible as it sounds, that's what the evidence is showing. For psychologist Traci Mann, who has spent 20 years running an eating lab at the University of Minnesota, the evidence is clear. "It couldn't be easier to see," she says. "Long-term weight loss happens to only the smallest minority of people."

We all think we know someone in that rare group. They become the legends — the friend of a friend, the brother-in-law, the neighbour — the ones who really did it.

But if we check back after five or 10 years, there's a good chance they will have put the weight back on. Only about five per cent of people who try to lose weight ultimately succeed, according to the research. Those people are the outliers, but we cling to their stories as proof that losing weight is possible.

"Those kinds of stories really keep the myth alive," says University of Alberta professor Tim Caulfield, who researches and writes about health misconceptions. "You have this confirmation bias going on where people point to these very specific examples as if it's proof. But in fact those are really exceptions."

Our biology taunts us, by making short-term weight loss fairly easy. But the weight creeps back, usually after about a year, and it keeps coming back until the original weight is regained or worse.

This has been tested in randomized controlled trials where people have been separated into groups and given intense exercise and nutrition counselling.

Even in those highly controlled experimental settings, the results show only minor sustained weight loss.

When Traci Mann analyzed all of the randomized control trials on long-term weight loss, she discovered that after two years the average amount lost was only one kilogram, or about two pounds, from the original weight.

Tiptoeing around the truth

So if most scientists know that we can't eat ourselves thin, that the lost weight will ultimately bounce back, why don't they say so?

Tim Caulfield says his fellow obesity academics tend to tiptoe around the truth. "You go to these meetings and you talk to researchers, you get a sense there is almost a political correctness around it, that we don't want this message to get out there," he said.

DUBAI/
Last fall, the Dubai government launched a 30-day weight loss challenge called "Your Weight in Gold" to encourage dieters and combat growing obesity in the Gulf Arab emirate. It should probably save its money if the current science is right. (Reuters)

"You'll be in a room with very knowledgeable individuals, and everyone in the room will know what the data says and still the message doesn't seem to get out."

In part, that's because it's such a harsh message. "You have to be careful about the stigmatizing nature of that kind of image," Caulfield says. "That's one of the reasons why this myth of weight loss lives on."

NUTRITION-LABELING/UPDATE
Michelle Obama has been on an eat better campaign ever since her husband was elected to the White House. An estimated 2.1 billion people on the planet are now considered overweight or obese. (Reuters)

Health experts are also afraid people will abandon all efforts to exercise and eat a nutritious diet — behaviour that is important for health and longevity — even if it doesn't result in much weight loss.

Traci Mann says the emphasis should be on measuring health, not weight. "You should still eat right, you should still exercise, doing healthy stuff is still healthy," she said. "It just doesn't make you thin."

We are biological machines

But eating right to improve health alone isn't a strong motivator. The research shows that most people are willing to exercise and limit caloric intake if it means they will look better. But if they find out their weight probably won't change much, they tend to lose motivation.

That raises another troubling question. If diets don't result in weight loss, what does? At this point the grim answer seems to be that there is no known cure for obesity, except perhaps surgically shrinking the stomach.

Research suggests bariatric surgery can induce weight loss in the extremely obese, improving health and quality of life at the same time. But most people will still be obese after the surgery. Plus, there are risky side effects, and many will end up gaining some of that weight back.

If you listen closely you will notice that obesity specialists are quietly adjusting the message through a subtle change in language.

These days they're talking about weight maintenance or "weight management" rather than "weight loss."

It's a shift in emphasis that reflects the emerging reality. Just last week the headlines announced the world is fatter than it has ever been, with 2.1 billion people now overweight or obese, based on an analysis published in the online issue of the British medical journal The Lancet.

Researchers are divided about why weight gain seems to be irreversible, probably a combination of biological and social forces. "The fundamental reason," Caulfield says, "is that we are very efficient biological machines. We evolved not to lose weight. We evolved to keep on as much weight as we possibly can."

Lost in all of the noise about dieting and obesity is the difficult concept of prevention, of not putting weight on in the first place.

The Lancet study warned that more than one in five kids in developed countries are now overweight or obese. Statistics Canada says close to a third of Canadian kids under 17 are overweight or obese. And in a world flooded with food, with enormous economic interest in keeping people eating that food, what is required to turn this ship around is daunting.

"An appropriate rebalancing of the primal needs of humans with food availability is essential," University of Oxford epidemiologist Klim McPherson wrote in a Lancet commentary following last week's study. But to do that, he suggested, "would entail curtailing many aspects of production and marketing for food industries."

Perhaps, though, the emerging scientific reality should also be made clear, so we can navigate this obesogenic world armed with the stark truth — that we are held hostage to our biology, which is adapted to gain weight, an old evolutionary advantage that has become a dangerous metabolic liability.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/health/obesity-research-confirms-long-term-weight-loss-almost-impossible-1.2663585
Copyright © CBC 2014

Postby maj. tom » October 10th, 2014, 11:33 am

Postby desifemlove » October 10th, 2014, 3:29 pm

easy....ban fast food...

Postby 1UZFE » October 10th, 2014, 4:52 pm

Desiflove please tell us how u keep yuh body in top shape like that..

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2014, 6:53 pm

start by tackling the folks in pricesmart and parliament

Postby Trini Hookah » October 11th, 2014, 8:26 am

pugboy wrote:start by tackling the folks in pricesmart and parliament

Didn't know pricesmart held a gun to your head AND made you eat all the food.

Portion control folks.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 11th, 2014, 9:59 pm

Actually....if you stop eating sugar you will lose weight and keep it off. In the first 2 weeks you'll drop 15-20 lbs. Keeping to a sugar free diet and lowering fat intake there's no way the body can regain the weight.

It's not easy since sugar is added to nearly every processed food. However, when you realise the damage sugar does to the body you'll have no problem going off and staying off sugar. It's more damaging than cholesterol and addictive than cocaine and has absolutely no benefits for the body. It is now viewed as a toxin even more dangerous than alcohol.

The reason most ppl gain back weight is because they don't stick to or make a permanent change in their lifestyle. If you read up on sugar and the bad effects it has on the human body it should be enough to scare you off it for life. I know I will always seek to minimize as much as possible any sugar intake.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 11th, 2014, 10:06 pm

Why blame sugar? Reduce your portions and you will lose weight. Whether there is sugar in it or not. If you lose 15 to 20 lbs in two weeks you probably were overeating anyway or you severely starved yourself.

killercow

Postby killercow » October 11th, 2014, 10:11 pm

And here I struggling to gain weight :|
Looks like I eh eating enough sugar..

Postby meccalli » October 11th, 2014, 10:14 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Why blame sugar? Reduce your portions and you will lose weight. Whether there is sugar in it or not. If you lose 15 to 20 lbs in two weeks you probably were overeating anyway or you severely starved yourself.

Sugar is practically chemical energy, thus extremely dense in caloric value. If you're not using what you're putting in, you'll store it. Simply cutting sugar is an excellent start to weight management.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2014, 10:18 pm

Nah reducing portions does not automatically make you lose weight for a host of reasons that you can find on google. I blame bad education and misinformation. Most people don't know what a healthy diet is (even my knowledge is limited). Why not teach it properly in schools.

Also, eating healthy is very expensive. For example, all of the cheapest foods contain flour and sugar. Two of the worst ingredients for you. Health foods contain dextrose and maltodextrin which are even worse. Some examples, I decide to try Stevia sweetener from price mart and it had dextrose in it. Splender has dextrose in it. I went to buy coconut milk powder to get some healthy fats in my diet but the thing was about half maltodextrin. I went to buy cranberry juice and it have five other types of fruit juice in it.

It should be illegal for advertisers to mislead the public. We can't live healthy lives if we are unable to make healthy decisions because of "marketing". The Ministry of Health should start making a stand here but sadly they seem more concerned with the sick. I guess its because prevention is not a cure that turns a profit. It would be nice to get Ministry of Food Production to do something about it to.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 11th, 2014, 10:22 pm

Sorry slarti but it's just maths. In less than out? You will lose weight. Reduced portions to the point of taking in less calories than your body burns equals weight loss. I don't need google to tell me that.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2014, 10:28 pm

Not arguing there, but not all calories are equal. Some foods cause you to crave more thereby making it impossible to eat less than you need. My argument is that it should not be this difficult to be healthy. For this first time in a long while it seems as though health is the exception and obesity the norm.

Also, better foods will keep you healthy in a lot of other ways by providing the proper nutrients. Take a look at this website

http://www.infoplease.com/world/statistics/obesity.html

You will realise that most of those countries on the list are third world countries. I read a book a while back that showed how obesity was actually linked to malnutrition. I'll post it if I find it.

EDIT: I think this was the book. Extremely boring but a very informative read
http://www.amazon.com/Why-We-Get-Fat-About/dp/0307474259

Postby maj. tom » October 11th, 2014, 10:43 pm

Nope A2BE. Calories in are not equal to calories out despite the simplest logic math that you know since you were 3 years old. Sure the math is common sense, and that's the law of thermodynamics which will never be broken. But the equation never states where the energy is stored or if you have access to that energy to burn in the first place.

Because all calories are NOT equal, and your body does not have access to fat that insulin stores there daily while you're in glycolysis metabolism. You do while you're in nutritional ketosis however (which is far different from ketoacidosis).

So if you eat a bowl of cereal in the morning (which is like eating a bowl of brown sugar; look up what starch is a polymer of) and 100 g gets stored as glycogen, 4 g remains in your blood, insulin does its work to store the rest as fat. Oh this happens every single time you eat a yummy, starchy carby, low fat meal. (yeah cuz eating fat makes you fat and gives you heart disease, what a unscientific scare tactic lie) When the time comes to burn that fat off in exercise... wrong! Your body doesn't have access to the fat. So you weight 190-200 lbs, run 5km at the gym and burn about 400 Cals. You use up the stored liver glycogen of 100 g (about 400 Cals) and then you "hit the wall" and then....you go home and eat some more because your body wants to maintain homeostasis because of the energy lost. Yes, that's right. Exercise just made you build up an appetite and eat about 20 Calories more. And then if every day you eat 20 Calories more than your RDA, then in 20 years you will inevitably put on 40 pounds (3500 Cals in 1 lb fat) because you believe that calories in = calories out and it's just math. Math doesn't lie, this is so common sense anyway.

Oh, by the way, while you were spiking your insulin 3 times a day with starchy high carb meals with low fat and then 2 other times with yummy sweet healthy fruits, you developed insulin resistance over 30 years and now you have metabolic syndrome and Type II diabetes and you're not even overweight! WTF!!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 11th, 2014, 10:51 pm

So lemme get this straight. If I run and burn 500 cals and then eat a meal with 400 calories what's going to happen?

Postby maj. tom » October 11th, 2014, 10:55 pm

And you're going to do that every single day for the rest of your life? Be practical, how far do you have to run to burn exactly 500 Cals and how much food exactly do you have to eat to hit 400 Cal? Do you measure this every single meal by the way? What if you ate 5 mouthfuls more? Which is about 20 Cals.

I just said that of course the math is right. But that is ideal math and you do not have access to 500 Cals of energy from your glycogen stores to burn at a gym session. And even if you did, won't just eating another meal of carbs refill the liver of glycogen? Once again the "eat less and exercise more to lose weight" myth takes hold of common sense. Because addition and substraction it's the simplest math human learn from age 3, even sooner. If only the human body wasn't regulated by hormones and it was an efficient car engine.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 11th, 2014, 11:05 pm

maj. tom wrote:And you're going to do that every single day for the rest of your life? Be practical, how far do you have to run to burn exactly 500 Cals and how much food exactly do you have to eat to hit 400 Cal? Do you measure this every single meal by the way? What if you ate 5 mouthfuls more? Which is about 20 Cals.

I just said that of course the math is right. But that is ideal math and you do not have access to 500 Cals of energy from your glycogen stores to burn at a gym session. And even if you did, won't just eating another meal of carbs refill the liver of glycogen?

I am being practical. It's worked for me. 500 cals working out was one scenario but realistically it could be a 250 calorie burned workout which is 30 min on a treadmill and 250 calories less eaten over the course of a day to get a 500 calorie deficit if I wanted to lose a pound a week. I do not think that is unreasonable. Do you find this scenario to be unreasonable?

The main thing to find out is how many cals you need to maintain a certain weight for a certain lifestyle then create a deficit if you want to lose weight. I never said it was going to be easy. I simply don't agree with calories not being equal. You could be eating healthy and balanced but still be eating too many calories. You can lose weight eating twinkies alone if you chose to.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2014, 11:10 pm

Yes you will lose weight. I am not arguing with that. I am saying that is extremely hard for most people to do. Let's break it down

Running at 6 MPH (a ten minute mile) for 42 minutes will burn 500 calories and eating two slices of (regular crust) pizza equals 570 calories.

But ask yourself why are people getting so fat all of a sudden. Is it because we started eating a lot more over the past couple decades? Download and skim through that book. I promise you the conclusions don't make sense at first glance but the collected data does not lie.

If you overeat healthy foods you will not put on as much weight at if you overeat on unhealthy foods. It is hard for most people to under eat, especially those with demanding jobs. Dizziness and fatigue start to set in.

TL:DR You are correct but starving yourself to become skinny does not make you healthy.

Postby maj. tom » October 11th, 2014, 11:12 pm

well cool if it worked for you. there are 2 billion other people it didn't work for. they must be just lazy and greedy. and unmotivated. and just can't make the time and effort to do what you did in their own lives.

I want to point out that the issue isn't being fat. the issue is metabolic syndrome and insulin resistance. A man can have a lot of subcutaneous fat and never be at risk for heart disease or strokes, while someone else who appears thin and healthy but has a lot of visceral fat and Type II diabetes can drop dead at any moment.

btw, as cited earlier in the thread by real scientific research, only 5% of people who lose weight using your formula manage to keep it off 5-10 years later. 95% regain the weight as age catches up. See the 20 Cals a day proposition i stated above.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 11th, 2014, 11:22 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Yes you will lose weight. I am not arguing with that. I am saying that is extremely hard for most people to do. Let's break it down

Running at 6 MPH (a ten minute mile) for 42 minutes will burn 500 calories and eating two slices of (regular crust) pizza equals 570 calories.

But ask yourself why are people getting so fat all of a sudden. Is it because we started eating a lot more over the past couple decades? Download and skim through that book. I promise you the conclusions don't make sense at first glance but the collected data does not lie.

If you overeat healthy foods you will not put on as much weight at if you overeat on unhealthy foods. It is hard for most people to under eat, especially those with demanding jobs. Dizziness and fatigue start to set in.

TL:DR You are correct but starving yourself to become skinny does not make you healthy.

Nah I don't accept that extreme statement in the last line of your post simply because it is not about starving yourself. 250 calories eaten less per day you call starving? That's one less 20 ounce coke for example.

And yes overeating healthy food might cause you to gain less weight simply because the calorie count of healthy food might be lower than that of unhealthy food.

Please note I am not even remotely stating one should skip meals or eat pittance especially when one has a demanding job but I can't see many people getting dizzy eating a 200 to 300 calories less over the course of a day.

If I had to ask myself why people are more fat now than before I would simply say convenience, laziness and increased disposable income. It is very easy for one to run to any number of food outlets and get meals late at night, it is very easy to buy fast food for lunch with calorific values above 1000 (when a man might just need 2000 to 2500 for the day), it is very easy to think "healthy" food is better and buy that heaping plate of pelau or macaroni pie with stew chicken and peas etc. Food is abundant. Wouldn't be surprised if obesity levels increased with the advent of widespread fertilisers several decades ago.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2014, 11:39 pm

I used to think the exact same thing as you. Literally word for word. But keep in mind that you are assuming that the body absorbs the calories from food with a 100% efficiency. Also, you are assuming that a person uses the same exact number of calories every day.

You do also realise that the calorie requirements calculations that depend of body weight don't take into account muscle mass and fat percentage right? Also remember that the only truly accurate way to measure fat percentage is through as autopsy. All other methods just give you a consistent error.

Also, your body does not absorb energy from all foods with the same exact efficiency all of the time. Some foods might be more likely to pass through while some foods are more likely to be absorbed.

But back to the point that being skinny does not mean you are healthy and obesity is a problem of malnutrition (not enough nutrients... not calories) and the reason for this is because healthy foods are not nearly as cheap or accessible as unhealthy foods. This is something that the average person has no control over.

Postby maj. tom » October 11th, 2014, 11:43 pm

Another common myth. "Food is more available now and more people are just lazier." I am really trying to reach the population through this thread on such a severe health crisis regarding the myths that we have built up on common sense over the last 4 decades. These are really just myths because they do not yield the expected results in scientific clinical experiments. And here's the kicker, if these common sense notions are so true, why the hell is there such a health crisis today?! Eat less and exercise more huh? You ever thought that that hypothesis was just plain WRONG?

Yet there are so many cases since the early 1900s where researchers observed distraught poverty and correlated obesity in many populations across the world. One study was even done in Trinidad in 1963. Some in Chile. Jamaica. Many Native America reserves. Many industrial cities. And some of these studies go back during the middle of the Great Depression in the 1930s. These people had little food and were working very hard. Hard Labor to feed their families. And yet obesity raged way back then.

http://frac.org/initiatives/hunger-and-obesity/are-low-income-people-at-greater-risk-for-overweight-or-obesity/

http://frac.org/initiatives/hunger-and-obesity/why-are-low-income-and-food-insecure-people-vulnerable-to-obesity/

http://diabetes.diabetesjournals.org/content/60/11/2667.full

http://garytaubes.com/2011/11/catching-up-on-lost-time-%E2%80%93-the-ancestral-health-symposium-food-reward-palatability-insulin-signaling-and-carbohydrates%E2%80%A6-part-iic/ (Trinidad and Jamaica is mentioned in this one as well as Pima and Souix tribes. This was way back before food abundance because of good times).

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 11th, 2014, 11:43 pm

What would you define as healthy food? What would you define as unhealthy food?

What changed your mind? Your own personal experiences and observations or the stuff you read seems to make more sense?

For me I would like to say that healthy food is cheaper than unhealthy food.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2014, 11:51 pm

Meats and vegetables are healthy. Flour and sugar are unhealthy. The majority of cheap foods are made with flour and sugar.

The book I read changed my mind. It mentioned the same studies that Maj. Tom just mentioned. Like I said, it was only halfway through the book I began to think that maybe the common sense I was relying on all this time was wrong. Real world results don't lie. You body is extremely complex and it is made up entirely of what you put into it. Why do you think that the study of what you put into it would be simple?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 11th, 2014, 11:54 pm

Thoughts on this one would be appreciated as well:

Twinkie diet helps nutrition professor lose 27 pounds

Twinkies. Nutty bars. Powdered donuts.
For 10 weeks, Mark Haub, a professor of human nutrition at Kansas State University, ate one of these sugary cakelets every three hours, instead of meals. To add variety in his steady stream of Hostess and Little Debbie snacks, Haub munched on Doritos chips, sugary cereals and Oreos, too.
His premise: That in weight loss, pure calorie counting is what matters most -- not the nutritional value of the food.
The premise held up: On his "convenience store diet," he shed 27 pounds in two months.
For a class project, Haub limited himself to less than 1,800 calories a day. A man of Haub's pre-dieting size usually consumes about 2,600 calories daily. So he followed a basic principle of weight loss: He consumed significantly fewer calories than he burned.
His body mass index went from 28.8, considered overweight, to 24.9, which is normal. He now weighs 174 pounds.
But you might expect other indicators of health would have suffered. Not so.
Haub's "bad" cholesterol, or LDL, dropped 20 percent and his "good" cholesterol, or HDL, increased by 20 percent. He reduced the level of triglycerides, which are a form of fat, by 39 percent.
"That's where the head scratching comes," Haub said. "What does that mean? Does that mean I'm healthier? Or does it mean how we define health from a biology standpoint, that we're missing something?"

Despite his temporary success, Haub does not recommend replicating his snack-centric diet.
"I'm not geared to say this is a good thing to do," he said. "I'm stuck in the middle. I guess that's the frustrating part. I can't give a concrete answer. There's not enough information to do that."
Two-thirds of his total intake came from junk food. He also took a multivitamin pill and drank a protein shake daily. And he ate vegetables, typically a can of green beans or three to four celery stalks.
Families who live in food deserts have limited access to fresh fruits and vegetables, so they often rely on the kind of food Haub was eating.
"These foods are consumed by lots of people," he said. "It may be an issue of portion size and moderation rather than total removal. I just think it's unrealistic to expect people to totally drop these foods for vegetables and fruits. It may be healthy, but not realistic."
Haub's body fat dropped from 33.4 to 24.9 percent. This posed the question: What matters more for weight loss, the quantity or quality of calories?
His success is probably a result of caloric reduction, said Dawn Jackson Blatner, a dietitian in Chicago, Illinois.
"It's a great reminder for weight loss that calories count," she said. "Is that the bottom line to being healthy? That's another story."
Blatner, a spokeswoman for the American Dietetic Association, said she's not surprised to hear Haub's health markers improved even when he loaded up on processed snack cakes.
Being overweight is the central problem that leads to complications like high blood pressure, diabetes and high cholesterol, she said.
How well are you managing your diabetes?
"When you lose weight, regardless of how you're doing it -- even if it's with packaged foods, generally you will see these markers improve when weight loss has improved," she said.
Before jumping on the Ding Dong bandwagon, Blatner warned of health concerns.
"There are things we can't measure," said Blatner, questioning how the lack of fruits and vegetables could affect long-term health. "How much does that affect the risk for cancer? We can't measure how diet changes affect our health."

On August 25, Haub, 41, started his cake diet focusing on portion control.
"I'm eating to the point of need and pushing the plate or wrapper away," he said.
He intended the trial to last a month as a teaching tool for his class. As he lost weight, Haub continued the diet until he reached a normal body mass index.
Before his Twinkie diet, he tried to eat a healthy diet that included whole grains, dietary fiber, berries and bananas, vegetables and occasional treats like pizza.
"There seems to be a disconnect between eating healthy and being healthy," Haub said. "It may not be the same. I was eating healthier, but I wasn't healthy. I was eating too much."
He maintained the same level of moderate physical activity as before going on the diet. (Haub does not have any ties to the snack cake companies.)
To avoid setting a bad example for his kids, Haub ate vegetables in front of his family. Away from the dinner table, he usually unwrapped his meals.
Study: U.S. obesity rate will hit 42 percent
Haub monitored his body composition, blood pressure, cholesterol and glucose, and updated his progress on his Facebook page, Professor Haub's diet experiment.
To curb calories, he avoided meat, whole grains and fruits. Once he started adding meat into the diet four weeks ago, his cholesterol level increased.
Haub plans to add about 300 calories to his daily intake now that he's done with the diet. But he's not ditching snack cakes altogether. Despite his weight loss, Haub feels ambivalence.
"I wish I could say the outcomes are unhealthy. I wish I could say it's healthy. I'm not confident enough in doing that. That frustrates a lot of people. One side says it's irresponsible. It is unhealthy, but the data doesn't say that."

Postby maj. tom » October 11th, 2014, 11:58 pm

Startibartfast bro start looking into nutritional ketosis. Dr. Tim Noakes. Dr. Robert Lustig. Dr. Peter Attia. Dr. Steven Phinney. Big names of credible people who have actually done the scientific medical research. It all started with Dr. Atkins. Read their published research. Watch their lectures at universities posted on Youtube. Think about the diet of isolated tribes before western diet. Think about human evolution as hunter/gatherers over 200 000 years. Think about the fruits you find today compared to what they would have found on the savannah 20-30 000 years ago. Fruit today is candy with little fibre! A banana has been bred to yield what we know it as today. Google "wild bananas"

Read "The Innuit Paradox" http://discovermagazine.com/2004/oct/inuit-paradox

Forget about being fat. Your goal is to fix your metabolism and to make a dent in this health crisis that people seem to be just accepting as a way of life. Take Metformin and insulin shots is the standard treatment now. what the hell!!