No Entry Sign

christopherwilliams2

No Entry Sign

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 11th, 2014, 9:25 am

Tuners,

What's your opinion on this situation. A particular street runs from North to South and vice versa.

During 7-9am and 2-4pm a No Entry sign is in effect (located) at the North End of the street only.

I enter the street from the south entrance (I do not see any no entry sign because it is only located at the north entrance) at 8am when the No Entry is in effect.

I make a U-Turn after dropping someone off and come back down the street. I have not gone to the top of the street, only about halfway up the street.

I am back at the south entrance and the Traffic Warden insists that I should get a ticket because 'No Entry' means 'One Way'.

So is this true? I was not presented with a 'No Entry' sign which is located at the North end of the street as I came from the southern end, the street is not busy (barely any parked vehicles on the sides) and there are 3 car spaces in width for the street.

Is there a place in the Motor Vehicle Regulations that speaks about No Entry streets...
any help would be appreciated...
Last edited by christopherwilliams2 on October 11th, 2014, 9:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: No Entry Sign

Postby j.o.e » October 11th, 2014, 9:32 am

I must say...this is a good question.

Postby Kenjo » October 11th, 2014, 3:54 pm

This sounding like the street near uwi doubles. It's a hard one to tell though but it might just depend upon what side of the bed the judge wakes up on that particular way because it could go anywhere. At least take pics of the lack of signage otherwIse they will just say that you are flat out wrong

Postby skylinechild » October 11th, 2014, 3:55 pm

to the best of my understanding no entry means you cannot enter from that direction -
was there a one way traffic sign anywhere around??

Postby Morpheus » October 11th, 2014, 4:03 pm

skylinechild wrote:to the best of my understanding no entry means you cannot enter from that direction -

Provided there is proper signage.....

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2014, 4:55 pm

So if the sign is broken down ,no charge, that's not how it works . All traffic restrictions are supposed to be gazette, and they tell you that ignorance of the law is not a defense. That same thing happen to me by SSl in sando. I went in from the correct side ,when finished shopping ,reversed out the parking lot,and went back in the same direction from where I came. Only to realize when some people hailed me out and told me it was a one way.

Postby brams112 » October 11th, 2014, 5:11 pm

Opie did you know the street was one way from the side you entered?if so why did you turn back?could have gone with the flow of the traffic.Spann is that the street by the cinema?

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2014, 5:14 pm

The one at the side of Southern supplies limited, going north from Sutton St., don't remember the name.

Postby brams112 » October 11th, 2014, 5:19 pm

Ok,plenty streets on that side are one way,I think that one goes towards the cemetery,normally I look at the direction cars are parked on streets to get an idea if it is a one way if there are no signs.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 11th, 2014, 5:42 pm

i would definitely go to court and contest this. you may have a case. how much was the fine btw?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 11th, 2014, 9:59 pm

skylinechild wrote:to the best of my understanding no entry means you cannot enter from that direction -

nope..only the signs at the Northern end of the street.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 11th, 2014, 10:04 pm

speedmelter wrote:i would definitely go to court and contest this. you may have a case. how much was the fine btw?

She actually did not give me the ticket because I was there talking about how could it be right' and I said I hope she comes to court.
I used my phone and googled the Gazette for any notice of one way traffic instituted on this 'No Entry' street that never had a 'One Way' sign and found none.

I explained this to her and whipped up my Digital copy of the Traffic Laws..showing there wasn't anything stating that a No entry means 'One Way'.

She told me don't do it again...but I eh taking her on.

Postby Kenjo » October 11th, 2014, 10:13 pm

But technically it makes sense for a no entry to be a one way also. I think you should just be happy that she let you off because it seems incorrect

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 11th, 2014, 10:17 pm

realistically it may make sense but technically i don't think it stands up.

Postby joker » October 11th, 2014, 10:32 pm

wais de name ah de street bhai?

badandy

Postby badandy » October 11th, 2014, 10:48 pm

You lucky the TW didn`t hit you a ticket.
Your logic suggests that if you drive down ....let's say St. Vincent St. P.O.S. and turn into republic bank car park, when I leave the car park, then I can drive up St. Vincent St. because the No Entry sign is at the bottom of the St. [B.L. Promenade].

Postby Morpheus » October 12th, 2014, 2:19 am

^^Re-read it

Postby SMc » October 12th, 2014, 6:13 am

Why not just just do the proper thing seeing that you know what is supposed to be done and make your, the Traffic warden and everybody else that is using that roads life a little easier?

Postby Kenjo » October 12th, 2014, 7:16 am

SMc wrote:Why not just just do the proper thing seeing that you know what is supposed to be done and make your, the Traffic warden and everybody else that is using that roads life a little easier?

I don't think it's making sense to explain this to OP again nah!

Postby UML » October 12th, 2014, 7:28 am

This was discussed already. I asked the same question.

A no entry is NOT a one way. It is just that "no entry"

There are a couple streets in Couva that are "no entry" but traffic flows both ways e.g. Isaac Street at Isaac Junction, Couva.

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2014, 9:21 am

They do this in Palmiste park when there are events-the last being the Ramleela(?)
The sonny Ramdhin road that cuts across the park from SS Erin to Palmiste blvd.

They place a temporary TTPS no entry sign on the Pal Blvd side, but vehicles turn around and come out on the other side-replicating OPs route.
No Entry cannot mean One Way.

TTPS on location never challenged anyone

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » October 12th, 2014, 9:19 pm

badandy wrote:You lucky the TW didn`t hit you a ticket.
Your logic suggests that if you drive down ....let's say St. Vincent St. P.O.S. and turn into republic bank car park, when I leave the car park, then I can drive up St. Vincent St. because the No Entry sign is at the bottom of the St. [B.L. Promenade].

And the same can apply on Frederick St. and so many other instances. Plenty traffic, you get frustrated , and decide to make a U turn and head up the road?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 25th, 2014, 5:09 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Tuners,
the Traffic Warden insists that I should get a ticket because 'No Entry' means 'One Way'.

So is this true?

dear oppie,

when you sit down on the toilet the day after divali and yuh had curry from 5 different people some with and without pepper, it have a hole in yuh battam that is also a one way. now you tell me if in that scenario one way means no entry.

*ded*

badandy

Postby badandy » October 25th, 2014, 9:54 pm

Did anybody inquire about the actual legal notice for this particular scenario?

If the legal notice states that "motorist shall proceed in a southerly direction" then you have to obey.

UML wrote:

This logic may be incorrect depending on the legal notice for the particular road.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 25th, 2014, 9:59 pm

where would i find this legal notice?

badandy wrote:Did anybody inquire about the actual legal notice for this particular scenario?

If the legal notice states that "motorist shall proceed in a southerly direction" then you have to obey.

UML wrote:

This logic may be incorrect depending on the legal notice for the particular road.

badandy

Postby badandy » October 26th, 2014, 11:43 pm

Normally the legal notices are signed by both the C.O.P. and Minister in MOWI.
Therefore a copy could be sort from the C.O.P. office [or Police station where you would like to know the restrictions] and the Traffic section in MOWI.
Remember the TW are part of the MOWI.

Of course there is also the Gazette, but God alone knows where to find a copy......! :cry: