San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

PariaMan

Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby PariaMan » October 22nd, 2014, 1:42 pm

Look at the Population Density map! That highway should not have been a priority.

A study should have been done to get the most out of our dollars for the most amount people!
trini1.jpg

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » October 22nd, 2014, 5:15 pm

Highway Re-Route wrote:The Case -:

*The Ministry of Works wants to build two (2) highways from Point Fortin. One goes from Point to Mon Desir, along the Mosquito Creek to San Fernando. We are not challenging this highway. This one is a bonus for the people of deep South who suffered for too long.

*The other one is a 6 foot high, 9.1 mile embankment through the Oropuche Basin, passing through thirteen communities from Mon Desir to Debe. This one will create massive dislocation, flooding, and alienate fertile lands.

* It will generate metropolitan sprawl in peaceful, well-knit, empowered communities. We are against this madness. This is highway robbery, make-work for contractors - make work to build it and make work to clean up when the floods hit.

* We want the repair and widening of roads in this area, as well as the use of outlying secondary roads to create connectivity in this area.

* This Mon Desir to Debe is overkill, unnecessary, too costly, corrupt, violent, bogus and frankly, a dumb deal for Trinidad and Tobago.
hush yuh MC

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 22nd, 2014, 5:49 pm

Smooth sailing through Golconda interchange today, no traffic :)

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2014, 5:50 pm

spaceman24 wrote:
Highway Re-Route wrote:The Case -:

*The Ministry of Works wants to build two (2) highways from Point Fortin. One goes from Point to Mon Desir, along the Mosquito Creek to San Fernando. We are not challenging this highway. This one is a bonus for the people of deep South who suffered for too long.

*The other one is a 6 foot high, 9.1 mile embankment through the Oropuche Basin, passing through thirteen communities from Mon Desir to Debe. This one will create massive dislocation, flooding, and alienate fertile lands.

* It will generate metropolitan sprawl in peaceful, well-knit, empowered communities. We are against this madness. This is highway robbery, make-work for contractors - make work to build it and make work to clean up when the floods hit.

* We want the repair and widening of roads in this area, as well as the use of outlying secondary roads to create connectivity in this area.

* This Mon Desir to Debe is overkill, unnecessary, too costly, corrupt, violent, bogus and frankly, a dumb deal for Trinidad and Tobago.
hush yuh MC

Best post you ever make :lol:

wing

Postby wing » October 22nd, 2014, 6:05 pm

Pariahman....from your map, it can be clearly seen that the population centers and the most development exist along the Solomon Hochoy, UBH and CRH, so we can expect the same to occur with the new highway. I think you may have unwittingly contradicted yourself.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 22nd, 2014, 6:57 pm

:| Highway from San Fernando to Princes Town coming before next elections. 12km of highway to be built by 6 contractors, or so they say.

Someone call Kublalsingh! From what I saw, some fig patches, chataigne trees and dasheen bush plants have to be cleared.

civicman

Postby civicman » October 22nd, 2014, 7:11 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote::| Highway from San Fernando to Princes Town coming before next elections. 12km of highway to be built by 6 contractors, or so they say.

Someone call Kublalsingh! From what I saw, some fig patches, chataigne trees and dasheen bush plants have to be cleared.

Bessness hope that really get built.
All them fools who talkin bout population density SHeit feel only east west corridor have ppl.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2014, 7:19 pm

after they spend the remaining money in the treasury the mang will come back and take that highway. after it pave, the road will erode until it become unusable and have to re-fix by jr sammy every monday morning. my issue with this hoghway is the proposed route is BS as an alternate route can be made, but most of all, the cost of the project is absolute bollocks robbery of the highest order. remind me of manning skyscrapers multiplying the price of doubles by 300%

Postby joker » October 22nd, 2014, 7:36 pm

bluesclues wrote:after they spend the remaining money in the treasury the mang will come back and take that highway. after it pave, the road will erode until it become unusable and have to re-fix by jr sammy every monday morning. my issue with this hoghway is the proposed route is BS as an alternate route can be made, but most of all, the cost of the project is absolute bollocks robbery of the highest order. remind me of manning skyscrapers multiplying the price of doubles by 300%

you passed by a civil engineering class today or wah?

Postby UML » October 22nd, 2014, 7:53 pm

PariaMan wrote:Look at the Population Density map! That highway should not have been a priority.

A study should have been done to get the most out of our dollars for the most amount people!

But u proving the govt right :?

The dark area to penal is where the highway going

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2014, 8:10 pm

joker wrote:
bluesclues wrote:after they spend the remaining money in the treasury the mang will come back and take that highway. after it pave, the road will erode until it become unusable and have to re-fix by jr sammy every monday morning. my issue with this hoghway is the proposed route is BS as an alternate route can be made, but most of all, the cost of the project is absolute bollocks robbery of the highest order. remind me of manning skyscrapers multiplying the price of doubles by 300%

He sounds like our security guard at work.

But then I showed him a pic of the mosquito creek that there decades now and no mangrove take it back, no it eh sink into the ground and when he saw the sea on the next side of the wall he exclaim "bomboclatt, ollor south peeople mad yo! Driving on ah f**king road in sea! Not this ni*ga!"

Postby joker » October 22nd, 2014, 8:26 pm

lol, everyone I spoke with within the last few months SUPPORTED this highway and said it was much needed when venturing to south especially when the creek floods but as mentioned in previous posts
they feel construction and relocation cheap, a transport with a 10 wheeler from Valencia is roughly $1000 +, then driver, diesel and other costs with purchasing the aggregate and back fill, then Engineers ,foremen, operators,.... maybe the should ask for the wage bill and the costs associated with the equipment ....and then talk bout the money draining from the treasury but not realizing is mostly locals employed who return money to the Gov't by way of taxes which in turn goes back to the treasury .... lemme hush mih mouth because next ting they arks wais a heritage and stabilization fund...
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default ... e/IRSF.png

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2014, 8:32 pm

Heritage? Whase that? Ent that's the place after palmiste there? In the road on the left?
See, kamaliar raping the treasury and sending all the money up de road by she. Heritage is up de road by she, all the money thieving and going dey! Just now dey go be de capital!

Postby joker » October 22nd, 2014, 8:38 pm

lol :lol: :lol:

TriP

Postby TriP » October 23rd, 2014, 7:32 am

Sum Golconda Interchange Pics
Golconda Interchange..jpg
Golconda Interchange.jpg

Postby K74T » October 23rd, 2014, 7:34 am

Sweet, moar jag racen 8-)

TriP

Postby TriP » October 23rd, 2014, 7:44 am

Sum Golconda Interchange Pics 2
Golconda Interchange...jpg
Golconda Interchange....jpg

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 23rd, 2014, 8:13 am

New interchange just bess!
Smooth sailing now to Debe.
No traffic :D

Postby K74T » October 23rd, 2014, 3:45 pm

Now pass through, things nice.

amarmoonasar21

Postby amarmoonasar21 » October 23rd, 2014, 3:59 pm

I passed thru lastnite the interchange real nice only kubs giving trouble he from far east he dont know the traffic every morning thru debe to penal

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » October 23rd, 2014, 4:37 pm

haul allyuh mudder .... we want the highway

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » October 23rd, 2014, 6:56 pm

dyna9275 wrote:haul allyuh mudder .... we want the highway

Postby Team Loco » October 23rd, 2014, 8:17 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Heritage? Whase that? Ent that's the place after palmiste there? In the road on the left?
See, kamaliar raping the treasury and sending all the money up de road by she. Heritage is up de road by she, all the money thieving and going dey! Just now dey go be de capital!

It hermitage meh boy

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2014, 8:20 pm

Team Loco wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Heritage? Whase that? Ent that's the place after palmiste there? In the road on the left?

It hermitage meh boy

Was just mocking my myopic north coworkers.

I forgot to mention one of the guards said her daughter was paid by the hrm group at uwi to protest and make a scene. She don't even know past grand bazaar but all she care about is Ca Ching.
Makes you wonder about the rest of these "protesters" now eh

Postby pete » October 24th, 2014, 8:11 am

"Now" yuh say?

Postby S_2NR » October 24th, 2014, 8:18 am

Team Loco wrote:

It hermitage meh boy

Was just mocking my myopic north coworkers.

I really dont understand why you and joker think knowing all these places that exist on god back is some kind of requirement when in truth and fact, nobody cares.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 24th, 2014, 9:59 am

joker wrote:

He sounds like our security guard at work.

But then I showed him a pic of the mosquito creek that there decades now and no mangrove take it back, no it eh sink into the ground and when he saw the sea on the next side of the wall he exclaim "bomboclatt, ollor south peeople mad yo! Driving on ah f**king road in sea! Not this ni*ga!"

jah say he want a mang dey and if yuh move it he go take it back lol

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MAR ... &smobile=y

“I CANNOT live in a duck pond as a result of the highway,” declared Mohan Chatoor yesterday as he waded through flood water in Fyzabad. Chatoor was just one of the hundreds either marooned in their homes or stranded on the streets after heavy showers caused river banks to burst throughout the south-western peninsula. They had no hope of the waters subsiding by late evening as thousands of dollars were lost in soaked furniture and appliances. Many, including Chatoor, were left disappointed because all their Divali plans were squashed as they could not prepare meals or light deyas, which is customary for the festival. “This is the worst Divali ever,” they said. Chatoor, who lives at Chatoor Avenue, said: “For all the years we have been living here, nothing like this has ever happened. I cannot be living in a duck pond as a result of the highway,” referring to construction of the Solomon Hochoy Highway extension to Point Fortin. “I am a devout Hindu and we cannot study Divali right now. We might have to get floating deyas to light here. Who is compensating us?” Chatoor and other residents emphatically stated they were not supportive of the highway because they said its construction was to be blamed for the severe flooding.

and yes i got my masters at School of CS

Postby wagonrunner » October 24th, 2014, 11:52 am

Postby nervewrecker » October 24th, 2014, 12:07 pm

Nun changed besides development taking place full speed ahead. I actually interviewed people in Chatoor trace some months back asking about flooding. Was asking about rainwater collection to reduce the strain on the water treatment facilities and freshwater reserves instead of diverting it all into the drains. Also asked about all the yards being paved, oilsand, concrete, tile and if they aware that it can contribute to flooding. Nobody cared.....
If you couple that with all the other places that paving yards to compromise groundwater recharge guess where the water goes?

Highway not even passing there, construction has not even begun near that side. Pepper village, Montel trace, San Francique and the likes.

I stand by Stacy Roopnarine on this one.

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 24th, 2014, 1:14 pm

^^ excellent point there.

but nooo.. is de highway......