hunting ban

Re: hunting ban

Postby Gem_in_i » November 1st, 2014, 1:52 pm

If he is saying there is a decrease, then what previous figures he using for that comparison.

Postby 88sins » November 1st, 2014, 2:08 pm

poacher have no regard for this "moratorium"
& yet again sinister singh has proven his stupidity by failing to acknowledge & effectively respond to this.

But I do believe the numbers provided by uwi & their wildlife conservationists are erroneous. it have gouti & tatto on the estate till they walkin 30' away from meh & watchin meh like dey payin rent

Postby Gem_in_i » November 1st, 2014, 2:58 pm

To the Minister like this forest Authority going to solve all problems.

Postby 88sins » November 1st, 2014, 3:06 pm

let him think that. he's too stupid to know he's wrong & what he's trying is not working

Postby sMASH » November 1st, 2014, 5:31 pm

But how can they be certain that animals form the protected areas don't migrate out of those areas and spread into the unprotected areas.... Looking for food and land?

Postby 88sins » November 1st, 2014, 6:30 pm

doh ask them kinda question nah man

them sinisters go feel yuh eh kno wah yuh tlkin bout.

animal in d bush does stay behind d invisible fence & doh ever move

Postby sMASH » November 2nd, 2014, 9:02 pm

Hoss, I telling Yuh, tuner does have more sensible, rational, realistic viewpoints than the government most of the times.
U does wonder

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2014, 9:56 pm

sMASH wrote:Hoss, I telling Yuh, tuner does have more sensible, rational, realistic viewpoints than the government most of the times.
U does wonder

Duane for prime minister?

Postby sMASH » November 3rd, 2014, 3:06 am

Sry, no. He's a pacifist .

Postby 88sins » November 3rd, 2014, 7:44 am

I just cannot understand the thinking of these skidmarks we have here that call themselves a gov't.
A proposal was put to them that persons with available resources & the desire to do so should be allowed to keep local game animals, or import animals from other countries within the region, with the intent to allow them to breed & increase their number in a safe environment. These animals would then be released into the forests & their numbers cataloged. Said animals could be tattooed, & random checks could be done to ensure that keepers were not killing animals they were entrusted to keep.

But this concept & many others were unilaterally ignored by that pompous plick that would have the public believe he gives a damn about the environment.

BHut on a less serious note, allyuh eh find ganga singh does look like a bobble head? ah mean d man look like he have more head than body

Postby Gem_in_i » November 3rd, 2014, 8:34 pm

There was the XICIMFAUNA 2014 (International Congress on the Management of Amazonian and Latin American Wildlife) August 17 to 22 at UWI. Did anyone attend any of the free lectures ?
Was this conference reported in the press? Maybe I missed it but I didn't see anything in press abt it.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » November 4th, 2014, 12:11 pm

88 maybe this is what you were talking bout:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 45382.html

[quote="88sins"]hearing about some seismic testing going on in the northern range forest reserve.[/quote]

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2014, 10:02 pm

Postby 88sins » November 4th, 2014, 11:14 pm

It's that self Sheriff
I got the areas mixed up from when i spoke to my ppl.

Wolla

Postby Wolla » February 13th, 2015, 11:44 am

Just saw this on Wrightson road close to licencing office. They advertising wild meat for carnival; highly illegal.

But we as sport hunters can't go in the forest and hunt. Steups! And they can't spell "crab" either hahahaha
Wild meat banner.jpg

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » February 13th, 2015, 11:51 am

Looks like they greyed out the word "WILD"

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 7th, 2015, 2:54 pm

20,000 hunters but 50,000 conservationists

The hunting fraternity has managed to blackmail this Government with their distasteful propaganda, especially with bumper stickers reading “No Hunting No Vote, 20,000 voters” or words to this effect. The present ban on hunting has nothing to do with the politics of the day, but is an attempt to save much of our wildlife which is on the verge of extinction due to over-hunting, pesticides and loss of habitat. It’s a sad day for the flora and fauna of this twin island state that the Government is back-tracking on the hunting moratorium.

Who is to lose? All citizens of Trinidad and Tobago, whether you are a hunter or just the average person who appreciates nature like so many of us do including myself. What will we leave for our children and their children? This is the last opportunity and the last stand for our wildlife. Unfortunately, the hunters have infiltrated many conservation organisations and are now in every area of our political landscape in every political party as well as pretending to be farmers using the excuse that many of these animals damage their crops. In all the countries that I have visited, I have spoken with farmers and they have all indicated that they allow 15 per cent of crop loss to wildlife. Most if not all appreciate the nature that surrounds them and do not go out and kill endless animals in one day.

A rough estimate would show that there are at least 50,000 conservationists and many of them are the floating voters.

A simple question to all of us as a nation: do you want your children and grandchildren to see our beautiful wildlife out of a zoo? The following is a brief list of what we are losing at the very moment I write this paper. Agouti, red brocket deer — already no more in Tobago since the 60’s. What a travesty! I wonder what the hunter that killed the last deer felt. Maybe the same as the smiling lady who killed a giraffe in Africa recently, who is all over the internet. Also under threat are the passenger pigeon which frequented Pigeon Point in Tobago, egret, iguana, jacana, lappe, matte or Sally Painter, pelican, ocelot, pawi, quenk, scarlet ibis, toucan, four species of turtles, (remember the lady walking on top of the leatherback recently? She must be so proud of her irresponsible behaviour!); caiman, morocoy and so many more...

To all politicians, wake up! The floating vote will count this time around. For me I am voting for my children and grandchildren and will place my “X” accordingly. What are you doing with your vote? You have a choice!

Peter McKenzie

via e-mail

Postby 88sins » August 7th, 2015, 3:38 pm

for the moment, I choose to label Peter McKenzie an ass

Postby meccalli » August 7th, 2015, 4:51 pm

Lol, everybody's a 'conservationist' that whines and does nothing. These columnists should also enlighten the population about wildlife enforcement in Trinidad.

Trinisniper

Postby Trinisniper » August 9th, 2015, 12:24 pm

This is an emotionally charged outburst by an idiot looking for attention.
I did some hiking in Tobago for the new year and saw a few agouti footprints on the river banks. Guess those tracks were there prior to 1960!!!

Dumbass...

Postby SMc » August 9th, 2015, 1:47 pm

Trinisniper wrote:This is an emotionally charged outburst by an idiot looking for attention.
I did some hiking in Tobago for the new year and saw a few agouti footprints on the river banks. Guess those tracks were there prior to 1960!!!

Dumbass...

He was referring the the Biche/Red Brocket Deer not the agouti.

Though it may be emotionally charged, sometime that what you need to get things out into the general public...and if hunting and wildlife management are aligned better then maybe all can be happy?

jason3064

Postby jason3064 » August 17th, 2015, 6:51 pm

wait is passenger pigeon that man say in tobago dey.....i thought the last one died in 1914 and that they only lived in north America.....hmmmm take win good sir

Postby 88sins » August 18th, 2015, 10:12 am

he alone know what he talkin about wit dat passenger pigeon talk.
it might have had a few thousand birds in T&T, but afaik they were never native to this country so I doh kno what dotishness he talkin about

it have better things he could do than write crap if he really want to be a true conservationist

Wolla

Postby Wolla » August 18th, 2015, 4:56 pm

I am always surprised by these emotional conservation writers. I am not sure if they really think that these animal numbers are low because they dont just jump out on to the track and say "hi human I'm here!" hahaha.

Postby 88sins » August 18th, 2015, 6:08 pm

Theres that.
But in all honesty most of those "conservationist" types only know to write one setta inflamtory bs. They not physically willing/capable to do much else. Is years now i & others i know trying to get a permit from wildlife division to keep & breed agouti. If he want to do sumting let him help trying to fix that first before writing useless essays

Postby desifemlove » August 19th, 2015, 3:05 pm

88sins wrote:poacher have no regard for this "moratorium"
& yet again sinister singh has proven his stupidity by failing to acknowledge & effectively respond to this.

But I do believe the numbers provided by uwi & their wildlife conservationists are erroneous. it have gouti & tatto on the estate till they walkin 30' away from meh & watchin meh like dey payin rent

poachers? or the reserve guards/Min. of Land resources? Any ban has to be enforced.

Postby 88sins » August 19th, 2015, 3:27 pm

it does have fellas settin camp & trap guns in d bush. that is the most dangerous thing anyone could encounter in d forest.
anywhichway, the hunting season opening soon. hadda order some snakeboots & other gear by this wknd.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » August 20th, 2015, 6:43 pm

So when exactly hunting season opening ?

Postby 88sins » August 20th, 2015, 8:07 pm

01/10/2015

davymaraj

Postby davymaraj » August 21st, 2015, 8:24 pm

those zanana/bushmaster maybe get real big now!