Paint & Primer Quality, Brand & Prices

Aidey007

Paint & Primer Quality, Brand & Prices

Postby Aidey007 » November 11th, 2014, 8:19 pm

My peeps, my house is ready for priming in a weeks time (FIRST HOME) need some advice FROM EXPERIENCE of quality of different brands of primers, PLEASE... I have checked out different hardwares with recommendations being different, so um just asking your kind cooperation in this. Thanks for your consideration.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Re: Paint & Primer Quality, Brand & Prices

Postby moses_boss12 » November 11th, 2014, 8:30 pm

Not sure on the Primer area..but for paints..i recently used some Benjamin moore's and i was really impressed..i got one with egg shells in it..so i wasnt getting that harsh paint scent...i will try and get the receipts to give you the price.

dtrinishy

Postby dtrinishy » November 11th, 2014, 9:29 pm

Berger aldo primer cant go wrong and their paint as well low sheen they also mix colours.

Aidey007

Postby Aidey007 » November 11th, 2014, 10:08 pm

Thanks so far guys, what about for the weather? The eastern side of my house there rain beats on the walls....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 12th, 2014, 12:40 am

moses_boss12 wrote:Not sure on the Primer area..but for paints..i recently used some Benjamin moore's and i was really impressed..i got one with egg shells in it..so i wasnt getting that harsh paint scent...i will try and get the receipts to give you the price.
wha?

are you sure the finish/sheen wasn't called "eggshell"? :D

usually Eggshell / Low Gloss is a finish half way between satin and semi-gloss. They don't mean they put egg shells in the paint. Also what would egg shells in the paint have to do with the smell other than making it smell like egg?

most modern latex paints do not have the harsh paint smell any more

Postby j.o.e » November 12th, 2014, 9:09 am

^^^^^^ Correct egg shell is the finish. Not gloss, not flat...like a soft sheen..lol at poster thinking it had egg shells in it.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » November 12th, 2014, 12:23 pm

i swore it had in it....it had little to no scent whatsoever..so i attributed that to the egg shells..lolzz sorry about that buddy.

aidan

Postby aidan » November 12th, 2014, 12:37 pm

Used some sherwin williams paint last week, really impressed.lots of coverage, rich color, low scent. What usually takes me 1.5 gal of berger, I was able to with 1 gal sherwin williams. make sure and use quality brushes/rollers

Postby supercharged turbo » November 12th, 2014, 12:53 pm

Berger primer and sherwin williams paint of your choice

aidan

Postby aidan » November 12th, 2014, 1:41 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Berger primer and sherwin williams paint of your choice

x2. bess combination there

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 12th, 2014, 2:00 pm

aidan wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Berger primer and sherwin williams paint of your choice

x2. bess combination there

X3

pd around 140-180/gallon for my paints when on sale. i quite enjoy the colour selection and the way the paint is holding up.. only a few months so far... but so far so good

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » November 12th, 2014, 5:01 pm

Glidden!

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 13th, 2014, 7:56 am

aidan wrote:Used some sherwin williams paint last week, really impressed.lots of coverage, rich color, low scent. What usually takes me 1.5 gal of berger, I was able to with 1 gal sherwin williams. make sure and use quality brushes/rollers

Sherwin Williams has the lowest VOC's in their paint , safer for you and your family and it really almost has no smell..... just wait for their 30% off and 40% off sales........... great value

JF.K

Postby JF.K » November 13th, 2014, 7:57 pm

I have... Asked Around, Took Chances, Burned to Learn, Experimented, Researched, etc...

Conclusion:

(1) Best Concrete Primer: TRINITY
(2) Best Indoor Paint: BENJAMIN MOORE

(3) Worst Concrete Primer: Sissons (yellow bucket)

Islandboy.7

Postby Islandboy.7 » November 13th, 2014, 10:13 pm

BRZ wrote:
aidan wrote:Used some sherwin williams paint last week, really impressed.lots of coverage, rich color, low scent. What usually takes me 1.5 gal of berger, I was able to with 1 gal sherwin williams. make sure and use quality brushes/rollers

Sherwin Williams has the lowest VOC's in their paint , safer for you and your family and it really almost has no smell..... just wait for their 30% off and 40% off sales........... great value

12 years ago I used Benjamin Moore. Had some fading after 5-7 years. Its good but I wanted to try something different. Researched for the past couple weeks. Sherwin Williams is the way to go....great reviews from a lot of folks as well and I am using a Sherwin Williams contractor. Primer, Paint and Roof Paint all Sherwin Williams products.

Postby eliteauto » November 13th, 2014, 11:04 pm

My entire home is Sherwin Williams, 5 years no complaints yet, very durable no fading thus far, easy to clean, they have colour cards so you can research complimenting colours (and take them away), I like their service as I can go into any branch and they have my info so they know which paints I buy plus they give you free paint mixers (stirrers) and when they have sale ( like last week) their prices are comparable to most other brands

Dragular

Postby Dragular » November 13th, 2014, 11:10 pm

If anyone interested I have a graco paint sprayer machine- es190 I believe is the model. I bought last year when I completed my house and it saved me a lot of time and money where labour is concerned. Paid $4000. For it and it still like new. I used sherwin Williams paint as well and got amazing coverage with this machine and this paint.

Selling for $2500. If anyone interested- Graco es190

Aidey007

Postby Aidey007 » November 15th, 2014, 2:47 pm

OK so the options are, berger, sissons, and trinity concrete primers??????? which are the best in terms of coverage and overall look???