CARBuretor problem PICS ADDED!!!!!

Abraham2nd

CARBuretor problem PICS ADDED!!!!!

Postby Abraham2nd » November 17th, 2014, 10:12 am

Help me please.
my carb need to pump gas to start... (no need to hold pedal just push it)
i have reason to believe its the automatic choke or its wiring..can u please tell me how to adjust it and how to see if its wired properly??.
BTW! IT idles kinda high when cold.. for about 5 or so mins...
please help :( :( :(
Last edited by Abraham2nd on February 16th, 2015, 10:31 am, edited 3 times in total.

Abraham2nd

Re: carburetor problem (Calling ALL carb experts)!!!!

Postby Abraham2nd » November 17th, 2014, 3:48 pm

bump please help

Postby cinco » November 17th, 2014, 4:00 pm

what?
that is normal operation

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 17th, 2014, 4:23 pm

noooooooo.. ;(
when i buy it used to start without touching gas....ALWAYS!

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 17th, 2014, 7:37 pm

ohh.. and it NEVER idled fast just normal :O

Postby supercharged turbo » November 17th, 2014, 8:43 pm

Does it idle high and then come down to normal idle after the engine gets hot?

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » November 17th, 2014, 10:18 pm

Carb type and vehicle/engine?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 18th, 2014, 11:01 am

b13 engine/carb
and yes, it does come back to normal when warm/hot..

Postby cinco » November 18th, 2014, 7:04 pm

have u ever serviced the carb?
change yuh fuel filter?
change yuh fuel pump?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 18th, 2014, 7:30 pm

yeah. did dat arreddy
but mechanic said fuel pump good.. i also checked...pull hose off and tumble...gas came out good..
i just really want my car to start without touching gas pedal ;( i really miss it ;(
i NEED to do this in order for my remote start to work proper.. lol im installing remote start next week ;(

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 19th, 2014, 8:53 am

UPDATE: I adjusted my choke works a LITTLE better..it DOESNT stall anymore :D YAY!!!! BUT...it idles MORE HIGH when just started and then press gas it lows down just a bit..i dont know where the step cam is to adjust it. i think thats it...but from the looks of it..when it gets hot the butterfly opens... which it should...but when the car shuts off and the car colds.... butterfly remains open.. and is STUCK..tried pulling it gently and its litterally STUCK! UNLESS the trottle is pushed/pulled and u hear a noise by carb like a click and the butterfly closes(behind carb underneth like the sound comes from.)...basically i think something isnt making the butterfly close back idk what it could be please help me..at least were getting somewhere!! :D my theory is that something sticking the thing to pull back the butterfly spring ;(

Sanjstar

Postby Sanjstar » November 19th, 2014, 9:41 am

Thats normal for carbs.....when the engine gets cold the butterfly wont close by itself....you need to prime your gas pedal and it will flick back to the closed position as well as fill the carb with gas to start....once the engine is heated up...the choke will expand and open back the butterfly once the engine has reached ideal temperature for combustion.....most manuals suggest that you prime you carb before starting....

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 19th, 2014, 12:17 pm

hey...so what makes it start without priming it? my car used to prime itself. NO tumble... just bounce and drive! :(

Sanjstar

Postby Sanjstar » November 20th, 2014, 1:48 pm

Maybe your carb is different...i had another carb car that didn need to prime (still dont't know why).....when the engine gets cold the butterfly closes automatically....maybe the link to flick back the butterfly was disconnected....messing with carbs are trickey....that remote start thing wont be a good idea with a carb engine...what you can do is try different heat range spark plugs but i wont reccomend that if you car works good....i had iridiumR5 sparks and the car used to start in one bounce....try not to mess with your air to fuel ratio ( although it helps)...if it doesn't work then forget that remote start....that will be headache unless your engine is already all warmed.up :cry:

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 20th, 2014, 2:14 pm

yea sad ting is that i already got a remote system lOLOLOL
BTW~
i do believe that too..something got slip out to flip back butterfly dunno what :(

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 20th, 2014, 2:40 pm

UPDATE: need i mention that when its cold and the butterfly IS OPEN AND STUCK, CANT move it..unless gas pedal is pushed ;(

Re: HELP ME!!! IM MISSING MY 1 BOUNCE START ;( ;(

Postby supercharged turbo » November 20th, 2014, 6:54 pm

Try spraying by the butterfly with some carb cleaner.Then press ur gas pedal a few times and respray some more carb cleaner.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 21st, 2014, 10:17 am

Hey as soon as i just TOUCH the pedal theres a click and the choke is engaged... but if i dont.. the butterfly is VERY STUCK...
have an OLD siezed up one home and the butterfly isnt stuck ;O

Sanjstar

Postby Sanjstar » November 22nd, 2014, 9:25 am

I dont think its stuck though.....i think thats how it was designed..the choke is engaged when you pump the pedal..i will varify why i said so when i find the link...do some research to see if u can disconnect that link that leaves the butterfly open.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 22nd, 2014, 9:46 am

UPDATE::: TWO THINGS!
ONE: I said to myself wonder if i throw gas in carb instead..and see if it starts... i took the trottle link where the accelerator pump is and then push it down without letting the choke and butterfly fly back and it squirts gas into hole..the car started but it died a lil after and it didnt really idled high it kinda like was rough maybe how butterfly was waay open lol but my theory for that was somehow after car sitting the gas in the throat of carb somehow drains back somewhere???? so it has to pump(refill) back in order to start...any ideas on how to fix this?

NUMBER TWO!!! i took the choke assembly out this morning and i see what was holding back the butterfly...when the pedal pressed theres something that flys back with it..but the grooves look like it didnt alighn ...soo i pulled the throttle and pushed the thing at the back and it fit good.. now i can open and close butterfly..ill need to verify this in the morning when its cold though.. btw(car didnt race high after doing this :O) lol
thanks

Sanjstar

Postby Sanjstar » November 22nd, 2014, 10:27 pm

nice....will like to know if it worked man

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » November 23rd, 2014, 8:52 am

OMGOMG!!!!! IT WORKS!!!!!!
i took out the air filter so i can look at the butterfly and it WAS CLOSED!!!!
so i said hmm...wonder if it would start boy!!!
I put my keys in and Voila bounce and start..(not one but 3bounce LOL) !!!
BUT ONE THING... it idled very poor.. didnt cut off though so that was good.... i gotta see how to raise idle when cold and adjust that tomorrow morning :) any ideas how?
Ill keep u guys POsted!! :D

Postby skylinechild » November 23rd, 2014, 4:07 pm

Abraham2nd wrote:OMGOMG!!!!! IT WORKS!!!!!!
i took out the air filter so i can look at the butterfly and it WAS CLOSED!!!!
so i said hmm...wonder if it would start boy!!!
I put my keys in and Voila bounce and start..(not one but 3bounce LOL) !!!
BUT ONE THING... it idled very poor.. didnt cut off though so that was good.... i gotta see how to raise idle when cold and adjust that tomorrow morning :) any ideas how?
Ill keep u guys POsted!! :D

makin progress man...that's good...so because I tell u my car hav a remote start feature u gone an install that too..... :lol: ..damn ricers....

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » December 10th, 2014, 7:00 pm

EVEN AFTER 3 days sitting it starts without touching gas!!!
:THUMBS UP: YAY!!
BUT
it idles kinda poor when just started any ideas? but it idles good after..

Postby supercharged turbo » December 10th, 2014, 7:27 pm

Leave it alone.You done get de one bounce start

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 16th, 2014, 12:24 pm

carb works on the "venturi principle" (think i spell that correct) , then readup how a carb works.... you'll understand alot more. like the fuel bowl level and d plunger(wen u open d throttle n lil gas spray down d throat).

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » December 27th, 2014, 6:50 pm

uhm... so u think im losing fuel pressure?
my car still starts with one bounce but idles like sheit.. xD

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 2nd, 2015, 12:05 pm

did u read it? carb sealing off properly? what about your ignition?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 2nd, 2015, 6:18 pm

I really cant tell. how would you go about this procedure? and My ignition well.. idk..normally when im turning the key i hear 1 CLICK and NO tumble..then i do a second time or 3rd time and it would tumble and start

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 2nd, 2015, 6:21 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Leave it alone.You done get de one bounce start

Yeah i get de one bounce but it eh idling right at startup....if was you, you wudna be saying dat.