Habit7 wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:I am unable to put the insanity into words but I have experienced the same delusions that you and others have sworn by time and time again on this forum. But I know, my salvation was a Catholic one which is a lie because only your Christian salvation is true
Well even if your salvation was Roman Catholic then they would ask you the same questions I did because as a catholic no one is ever saved. Roman Catholic theology is that you are being saved though good works, sacraments, the mass and penance. Salvation as a catholic is never an achieved state but a terminal goal.
So if you were deluded before, how do you know you are not deluded now?
Slartibartfast wrote:Lol ok Habit. I not getting into another argument over semantics with you. Let's just say I have experienced a lot more withy faith than the average devout Catholic. How do I know? Because I used to be around them all the time.
Habit7 wrote:Bluesclues I don't know if what you are saying is any different to what I said. Roman Catholic salvation is a process, not a complete act.Slartibartfast wrote:Lol ok Habit. I not getting into another argument over semantics with you. Let's just say I have experienced a lot more withy faith than the average devout Catholic. How do I know? Because I used to be around them all the time.
This is not semantics. You said you experienced salvation, you said it was the same delusions I and others experienced. You refused to even explain what those delusions entailed but...
If you were deluded before, how do you know you are not deluded now?
bluesclues let's talk about this after. I was addressing slartbartifast's claims and I'm waiting his reply.Habit7 wrote:Roman 6:1-2 What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin so that grace may increase? May it never be! How shall we who died to sin still live in it?
If someone claims to be converted yet continues in a lifestyle of sin, then they are considered a false convert. Christians dont put themselves into sin knowing that it will be covered by God's grace.
Was replying to the way it was used in context here. It implies it is something experienced by the living. I have experienced mostly everything ordinary Christians and Catholics have to experience (never got exorcised so I won't say everything) therefore anything that he says there is to experience while living I have already experienced (in this context only of course, unless you can define exactly what "salvation" looks like)meccalli wrote:I think we both know my stance and we won't agree on it unless you experience salvation and humility before God. My standard and reference is the Bible.
See... this use of the word salvation can happen when you are alive (and yes I did experience this)meccalli wrote:but you haven't experienced salvation until you're in the position where God breaks you down, bit by bit over time and breaks your stony heart and changes your entire outlook on life and you are sobbing repentantly because you realise what you are and who God really is, and what he did for you.
This use of the word salvation cannot happen while you are still aliveHabit7 wrote:Well even if your salvation was Roman Catholic then they would ask you the same questions I did because as a catholic no one is ever saved. Roman Catholic theology is that you are being saved though good works, sacraments, the mass and penance. Salvation as a catholic is never an achieved state but a terminal goal.
See this is what the word semantics mean.Google wrote:semantics
sɪˈmantɪks/
noun
the branch of linguistics and logic concerned with meaning.
Habit7 wrote:So were you deluded?
Slartibartfast wrote:Habit7 wrote:So were you deluded?
not any more than you are
There is no innocent person before a Holy God, all bear the corruption of Adam and God is just in ending the life of any of His creation. Whether a foetus or an old man, God will end your life.MG Man wrote:
First rid yourself of "faith"*Habit7 wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Habit7 wrote:So were you deluded?
not any more than you are
How would you know, if you are deluded?
But as an atheist where do you get the objective moral right to say that murder and genocide is wrong? What moral apprehension did Israel violate that both you and them are under and who gave it?MG Man wrote:dontcha just love how christians can so casually justify murder and genocide?
Moses freed god's people....who were the other people?
You just bounced from pillar to post just to answer what you said you experienced and what mental state you believe others are in (which you never answered yet) but you want yes and no answers from me? I have always answered you but it seems like you don't like to be in the hot seat but you sure like to evaluate othersSlartibartfast wrote:Habit can I ask you some questions. Simple yes or no unless otherwise specified would be good, just to help me understand your faith a little better.
Habit7 wrote:
BTW no one said God's people, they were Moses' countrymen.
Habit7 wrote:
Furthermore the plagues weren't just against Pharaoh, it was against the ppl of Egypt who enslaved the family that saved them from famine and who killed all their children as population control of which Moses escaped and was used by God to free his people.
Slartibartfast wrote:I answered everything you asked. Looking forward to your answers to my questions.
Habit7 wrote:Please explain the salvation you claimed to have experienced.
Slartibartfast wrote:Was replying to the way it was used in context here. It implies it is something experienced by the living. I have experienced mostly everything ordinary Christians and Catholics have to experience (never got exorcised so I won't say everything) therefore anything that he says there is to experience while living I have already experienced (in this context only of course, unless you can define exactly what "salvation" looks like)meccalli wrote:I think we both know my stance and we won't agree on it unless you experience salvation and humility before God. My standard and reference is the Bible.
ELI5 for H7
So have I experienced salvation in the context where I need to die and go to heaven... no
Have I experienced the "salvation" of repenting from your bad ways and coming to Christ like a sheep to his shepherd with all of the humility, awe and wonder attached... yes
More stuff to try to break down what I am saying into bite size pieces small enough for you.See... this use of the word salvation can happen when you are alive (and yes I did experience this)meccalli wrote:but you haven't experienced salvation until you're in the position where God breaks you down, bit by bit over time and breaks your stony heart and changes your entire outlook on life and you are sobbing repentantly because you realise what you are and who God really is, and what he did for you.This use of the word salvation cannot happen while you are still aliveHabit7 wrote:Well even if your salvation was Roman Catholic then they would ask you the same questions I did because as a catholic no one is ever saved. Roman Catholic theology is that you are being saved though good works, sacraments, the mass and penance. Salvation as a catholic is never an achieved state but a terminal goal.See this is what the word semantics mean.Google wrote:semantics
sɪˈmantɪks/
noun
the branch of linguistics and logic concerned with meaning.
I'll tell them if they didn't experience it by now then I can't help them (I was raised in a strict catholic home and my "salvation" was a direct result of the influence of my upbringing and childhood). So unless they can go and be born into a strict catholic home I can't help them because I would not have taken the path they would need to take.Habit7 wrote:If a non believer was to ask you how to experience the salvation you claim to have possessed, how would you direct them?
Slightly different wording to how you asked it before but here is where I answered itHabit7 wrote:If your were deluded before, how are you sure you are not deluded now?
Slartibartfast wrote:First rid yourself of "faith"*
*what ever your meaning for it is in the context of you religious beliefs
MG Man wrote:so moses was used by god to save Moses' people, or god's people?
Why didn't god find a hero to save other slaves?
Why not African slaves too?
maj. tom wrote:Hello Habit 7 and other valued staunch Creationists.
I was wondering about this a couple days ago and wondered what you thought about it. Modern scientific mankind has striven to explain the geological processes of weathering and plate tectonics/matching fossils on different continent borders/planetary volcanism that we have been able to observe empirically over the last 100 years, and match it to a scientific theory that works out quite well because it also matches every foundation of the entire scientific process of the theory of matter as well as many other scientific theories of explanation of the natural world. That's how remarkable a scientific theory is, it actually fits in with other theories on completely different subjects without conflict. If there is conflict, then it's time to re-examine that theory. You of course understand what "theory" means scientifically.
Is there a hypothesis you can give on all these observations based on your 6 to 12 thousand year old earth that will not conflict with any other current scientific theory that you currently accept? I assume that you do accept certain scientific explanations of things, like the theory of matter/atoms, thermodynamics/energy transfer, time... even modern germ and pathology theory. I would like to hear your views. if you have posted this before on this thread, please link it when you have the time. Weathering, plate tectonics and volcanism.
Thank You.
Slartibartfast wrote:Habit can I ask you some questions. Simple yes or no unless otherwise specified would be good, just to help me understand your faith a little better.
1. Do you fear God?
2. Are there thoughts, words and actions that you avoid in order to not offend God?
3a. What are some things that you can do that you think God would see as perfect acts (i.e. nothing wrong with them)? b. If you believe this is not possible you can say so (this does not have to be yes or no)
4. Do you believe that God has the right to do whatever he wants to do with you?
5. Do you ever think that maybe God is wrong and you are correct?
6. Do you feel that you can be happy and complete without God?
maj. tom wrote:Hello Habit 7 and other valued staunch Creationists.
I was wondering about this a couple days ago and wondered what you thought about it. Modern scientific mankind has striven to explain the geological processes of weathering and plate tectonics/matching fossils on different continent borders/planetary volcanism that we have been able to observe empirically over the last 100 years, and match it to a scientific theory that works out quite well because it also matches every foundation of the entire scientific process of the theory of matter as well as many other scientific theories of explanation of the natural world. That's how remarkable a scientific theory is, it actually fits in with other theories on completely different subjects without conflict. If there is conflict, then it's time to re-examine that theory. You of course understand what "theory" means scientifically.
Is there a hypothesis you can give on all these observations based on your 6 to 12 thousand year old earth that will not conflict with any other current scientific theory that you currently accept? I assume that you do accept certain scientific explanations of things, like the theory of matter/atoms, thermodynamics/energy transfer, time... even modern germ and pathology theory. I would like to hear your views. if you have posted this before on this thread, please link it when you have the time. Weathering, plate tectonics and volcanism.
Thank You.
Habit7 wrote:DFC I didn't know who you were addressing in your post to so I left it out there for who else wanted to tackle it but I guess I will have to take up the challenge.
What you have there is undeniable and it’s not that if I carry that back to the YEC camp, the fellow scientists there are going to wonder in amazement and think "wow, we never saw that before!" The issue is that from inception of our science education, we have always been taught that science is based on laws and principles of testable, repeatable facts. But sometime around high school or even before we begin to ask Origin questions and here we are lead down a worldview.
In the 19th century geologists seeking to interpret their findings and to date their material came to the understanding of a theory called uniformitarianism. This is basically the understanding that the same process and time we observe things occurring currently, is the same process and time they were occurring when they were formed. So a geological feature took 100 years today, means it took 100 years to form yesterday. So to mesh that with relative dating (dating material relative to proximal material), if radioactive isotopes of an element were found in material, then they would observe the radioactive decay today, and extrapolate that this rate of decay and believed that it occurred at the same rate yesterday. Hence we have million year old rocks, and thereby million year old formations, and million year old features and some of the stuff you have on that list. Also this uniformitarianism is applied to other sciences and we get today's rates applied to yesterday's materials and we get all kinds of ages, etc.
All of that to say, we have been taught a naturalistic worldview. Where we believe everything that we can observe can be explained by naturalistic forces all happening and at constant, sustained rate.
Creationists however believe that unlike a CSI team trying to piece together the evidence to give an interpretation, we have a signed confession with and accompanying explanation. While the Bible is not a science text, they believe that it is a historical narrative about how God, a supernatural being, created the earth supernaturally while setting up naturalistic laws and principles to govern its existence, but in by no means restricting Himself to them. So creationists don't view science through the lens of naturalistic reasoning, but with the understanding primarily of a historic account that speaks of spontaneity, cataclysm and inconsistent rates of process.
So like your list o' stuff, I can produce my list o' stuff but we interpret the evidence from two difference worldviews: naturalistic and biblical. Now most scientists who are creationists have studied and excelled at secular universities and have proven to understand the naturalistic worldview, but most naturalists refuse to acknowledge the supernatural so they are incapable of understanding the biblical worldview. But if one rejects the supernatural not only do the reject Special Creation, they also reject Adam & Eve, Red Sea parting, the Incarnation and even Jesus' death and resurrection. And that is the worst thing about the naturalistic worldview, it denies life after death and judgement for one's life on Earth. And if one appears before the judgement seat of Christ without His atoning work applied to their life, they can only expect an eternity of punishment by God, in Hell.
Habit7 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I said Dawkins is NOT a figurehead. Wikipedia is not authoritative but you cannot deny what it is saying here that geology and paleontology, chemistry, physics, astronomy, cosmology, biology, geophysics and stratigraphy all point to the earth being billions of years old and there being no global flood as described in the Bible.Habit7 wrote:So Dawkins is a figurehead and wikipedia is authoritative and faith is always blind.
non-bias looks so cool
Faith is belief in something without proof. If there is proof of something then you do not need faith. Th scientific method does not use faith. So in the context of science, faith can be blind, dumb, and deaf, it would not matter. In science it does not matter what faith is or who has it.
Well whether you want to deny it or not science is developed by figureheads. Their career and legacy plays a major role in validating the idea they present. Becoming distinguish enables your work to be published in the best journals, where it is peer reviewed by other figureheads, whose approval will make it subsequently rise to prominence where along with the idea, you name is taught with it. As demonstrated with Darwin, Newton, Einstein, Hawkins, Hubble, etc who all proposed ideas that have become synonymous with their names.
I see a world covered by predominantly sedimentary rock mostly by fluvial mechanisms, showing rapid deposition, lay down strata after strata with either no erosion between them or unconformities where layer of strata rapidly eroded, reorientated, and new strata is deposited. I see plant and animals fossilised as a result of rapid deposition, the earliest animal fossils being those most affected by high turbidity such as marine arthropods, gastropods, ostracods and other marine invertebrate organisms which make up most of our fossil record. I see rapid deformation of the earth crust as the Bible says "all the fountains of the great deep burst open" and we later observed it to result as plate tectonics. Furthermore, I see sedimentary structures like fossilised raindrop marks or deformed/bent stata without the cracks as brittle rock normal performs but smooth curvatures without the indications of metamorphic deformation by heat and pressure.
At the end of the day we both have the same evidences, it just a matter of which worldview we see it from. There are many others within the field of geology who are not educated by wikipedia but have offered proof for a global flood but does it matter, in your absolute conclusion there is no proof.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Faith is belief in something without proof
You could continue to repeat that until it becomes a creed not different than AdamB rants. Despite the fact that faith has other meanings including trust in evidence, despite so far you have only been able to reference yourself in validating this, despite those of greater scientific accomplishment disagree with you, despite I have laid out my beliefs evidentially and not appealed to blind faith, you remained unmoved. And I am supposed to the religious one? You my friend have a 'commitment' worth admiring.
Habit7 wrote:Up until the 1950's the reigning theory for geologists on the arrangement of land masses on the earth was the theory of Continental Drift. Due to the "fit" of continents, the similarity of plant and animal fossils across continental boundaries, the similarity of rock types across continental boundaries, etc. all gave geologists the understanding that there was once one great supercontinent that suffered a break up. This break up however, was believed to be due to the process of continents drifting along a stationary sea floor to is current position today. This and other subsequent phenomena were proven to be false, and the theory of Plate Tectonics was proposed and was met with widespread approval through peer review consistent with the scientific method.
MG Man wrote:Habit7, really? William Wilberforce is yuh best defense?
Free saleves via the religion that spake of how to treat your slaves?