Plumbing question

sotf

Plumbing question

Postby sotf » December 5th, 2014, 12:29 am

Can this be repaired or must it be replaced?

Problem: in the "off" position water still be allowed to pass.

Thanks.
IMG_0065.JPG

clone101

Re: Plumbing question

Postby clone101 » December 5th, 2014, 12:45 am

replaced ,happened with me also .

Postby janfar » December 5th, 2014, 12:50 am

Easy and cheap to replace. And cut the grass.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 5th, 2014, 1:34 am

doh go with the cheaper plastic one either

Get that same one

Postby janfar » December 5th, 2014, 1:50 am

But i find the simple plastic ball valves a much better than these metal ones.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 5th, 2014, 5:40 am

Plastic works fine. Till the handle to turn gets brittle and break.

hindian

Postby hindian » December 5th, 2014, 5:48 am

Thats an easy fix if you are doing it yourself. Theplastic versions to this are good but IMO dont last as long as the metal ones. I usually try to purchase these ball valves in the Pegler or Cobra brand as i've found these to be of better quality.....

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2014, 6:41 am

put in a detachable union while you at it

jimmy001

Postby jimmy001 » December 5th, 2014, 7:41 am

wel take out the valve an see if it jus need cleaning first where it seals inside......if not replace

Postby 16 cycles » December 5th, 2014, 7:59 am

drop in a filter too...as you tinkering with the line

Postby sliderz1 » December 5th, 2014, 9:15 am

peglar take rust under the rubber handle. seal it properly or remove rubber altogether

Postby nervewrecker » December 5th, 2014, 10:21 am

janfar wrote:Easy and cheap to replace. And cut the grass.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 5th, 2014, 10:36 am

all of of d above answers

doh go with d plastic 1 though ...

Postby stev » December 5th, 2014, 10:38 am

all of the above and the grass cutting thing

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 5th, 2014, 11:12 am

Boy leave the grass, doh let these trolls think you not special

You doh hadda conform to the norm.

Postby stev » December 5th, 2014, 11:16 am

scrub dong d tank stand den?

Postby sliderz1 » December 5th, 2014, 12:22 pm

you helping OP?

sotf

Postby sotf » December 5th, 2014, 3:14 pm

Thanks for the responses. Doing the work myself.

16 cycles wrote:drop in a filter too...as you tinkering with the line

How do I choose the type of filter?

pugboy wrote:put in a detachable union while you at it

Will do.

FYI - to all concerned parties, the grass will be cut this weekend. 8-)

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2014, 4:38 pm

btw don't put the union between the valve and tank eh

sotf

Postby sotf » December 5th, 2014, 4:54 pm

pugboy wrote:btw don't put the union between the valve and tank eh

Reason?

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » December 6th, 2014, 3:49 pm

Try not to have the pipe floating, replacing it with sch 40 pvc pipe and fittings and pay a plumber to do the work because it really looks like you dunce when it comes to popes.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » December 6th, 2014, 4:32 pm

sotf wrote:
pugboy wrote:btw don't put the union between the valve and tank eh

Reason?

Cause you'd want the water to stop flowing when you break the union. So the valve should be close to the tank.

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2014, 6:26 pm

also,
you should really use as large a pipe as possible from the bottom of tank
I think tanks usually can take 1 1/2" in the bottom connector
most people downsize to 1"
but larger is better to provide more volume from tank and not be a bottleneck esp if you
put in a pump later.

sotf

Postby sotf » December 6th, 2014, 8:37 pm

mark2.0 wrote:Try not to have the pipe floating, replacing it with sch 40 pvc pipe and fittings and pay a plumber to do the work because it really looks like you dunce when it comes to popes.

If I had a reliable plumber, wouldn't be doing it myself.

shotta 20 wrote:Cause you'd want the water to stop flowing when you break the union. So the valve should be close to the tank.

Should not be a problem, each tank input and output has lock valves on them so they can be disconnected while work is being done.

Further downstream from the valve in question is another similar valve closer to the WASA input, again so we can turn off water from WASA when work is to be done (we don't interfere with the WASA valve unless an emergency due to where it is located close to a drain on the outside of the property).

Thanks all.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 11th, 2014, 12:08 pm

On the topic of ball valves . The standard white butterfly handle ball valves are not bad . The handle can break , but can also be replaced . I recently had to do some non essential plumbing and use a grey pvc ball valve . Online its know as a Deluxe Compact PVC ball valve . It also has replaceable parts and turns very easy. Very early days yet but testing in non essential plumbing set up .

http://www.pvcfittingsonline.com/1-2-deluxe-compact-pvc-ball-valve-gray-socket.html

There are many cheap metal ball valves and copied Pegler products that are sold here .
Last edited by cornfused on December 11th, 2014, 12:39 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby RBphoto » December 11th, 2014, 12:16 pm

Grey PVC fittings are carbon impregnated four outdoor use to resist UV attack and dryrot from the sun. Cobra is (one of) the best brand of metal valve... I trust it. For the filter, put in the largest you can afford to reduce backpressure. Take note of the cartridge cost. Best to put it in inline before the tank so you keep them clean. A coarse filter is best before the tanks, and a charcoal filter would be good on the lines leading to your kitchen. Don't need the extra filtration for toilet, bath and yard hose.. but washing your car with filtered water does make a difference.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 11th, 2014, 12:44 pm

On the topic of grey fittings an old WASA plumber who does work for us . Recently joined some mild grey pvc pipe from our external supply . This pipe had been in the ground for almost 40 years and said this in the 70's it came from Jamaica . At my local plumbing specialist store I saw a poster with all types of grey fittings .

sotf

Postby sotf » December 11th, 2014, 4:57 pm

Nice info. Will investigate the grey fittings.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 11th, 2014, 9:12 pm

Where de water pump ?

Postby pugboy » December 11th, 2014, 9:30 pm

he using gravity,
when he ready for the pump he will have to make a contribution for the
additional information