*****The OFFICIAL Corruption Thread*****

Re: *****The OFFICIAL Corruption Thread*****

Postby De Dragon » December 7th, 2014, 5:20 pm

But the Sunday Express learned an investigation into the matter is underway and a
general manager of policy, planning and research, Mohan Ramjit, has taken responsibility for the situation because it occurred under his watch.
No excuse for plagiarizing someone's stuff, but at least someone took ownership of it. PP seem to have a knack for having incompetent board members on some of these boards though.

Postby Habit7 » December 7th, 2014, 7:14 pm

Mea culpa is not enough.

Give back the money.

Postby UML » December 14th, 2014, 9:00 pm

PNM bussin the files of the PNM :shock:

IC probes PNM MP McDonald

People’s National Movement (PNM) Chief Whip Marlene McDonald is under attack by a secret group named TnT Whistleblower. The group, claiming to be supportive of the PNM, has e-mailed party leader Dr Keith Rowley, threatening to go public with a series of allegations against McDonald. The Sunday Guardian understands that this matter was already raised at the Integrity Commission. The Sunday Guardian was also informed that the matter had been re-opened and was currently under investigation.

The list of allegations e-mailed to Rowley includes her involvement in a “fake NGO (non-governmental organisation)” called Calabar Foundation, which the group claimed is headed by McDonald’s common-law husband, his brother and a colleague at the Diego Martin Credit Union.

Checks with the Companies Registry show that the name search for the Calabar Foundation was done on July 14, 2010, and it was registered on August 24, 2010, listing Michael Carew, Lennox Carew and Victor McEachrane. The registered office for Calabar Foundation is the same as Michael Carew’s listed address on the documents. The list of allegations is supported by copies of registration documents, an excerpt of the Hansard and photocopies of cheques.

In the letter to Rowley, the group also details that a $375,000 cheque was prepared on May 12, 2012, for Calabar Foundation, but on the supporting documents the date May 12, 2012, was scratched off and 2010 was scribbled in. Despite the sloppy nature of the work, the cheque details were also sent to Rowley as part of the mounting evidence against McDonald. This letter comes after McDonald was openly challenged for the Port-of-Spain East constituency candidacy.

In the Hansard dated October 18, 2011, during the Approriation to the Budget debate, McDonald named McEachrane as part of the reformed Financial Assistance Programme. In the Hansard text, McDonald is noted as saying that that scholarship programme was temporarily closed until late January 2008. “As minister, I closed that programme. The reason I closed it is because I needed to get a better understanding of what the programme actually involves,” McDonald said on parliamentary record then.

“It also gave me the opportunity to put in place a structure to deal with the particular programme. Indeed, a committee was formed,” she added. McDonald went on to name the members of that restructured committee, which included McEachrane and five others. The crux of the letter, though, seems to be the accusations of misconduct levelled against McDonald by members of the PNM, as this group claims that the party has “not acted” on various complaints against her over the past four years.

“Dr Rowley, it is our opinion that Marlene Mc Donald has been able to be promoted using deceitfulness and subterfuge for over 4 years. Do not allow this upcoming fiasco to destroy the party's chances at regaining Government,” the letter stated. It also noted that it would not send any information to the members of the People’s Partnership, as “they may in fact admire the corruption schemes we are trying to stamp out of the PNM.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... p-mcdonald

...this going to be fun :mrgreen:

Postby UML » December 14th, 2014, 9:23 pm

BTW for all the people who wonder why there is so much negative news on the PPG, MATT President Curtis Williams is a recipient of the PNM's Secret Scholarships

...no wonder the Las Alturas COE cant make the news :roll:

Postby Habit7 » December 14th, 2014, 9:48 pm

Where is the corruption?

How could the head of MATT control the news?

The Las Alturas CoE starting the end of next month, do you have some breaking news we don't know?

P.S. the negative news about PPG, are because of the actions of the PPG. Writing letters about corruption in NIDCO contracts and calling hit on de horner man are not made up stories.

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2014, 6:58 am

UML wrote:BTW for all the people who wonder why there is so much negative news on the PPG, MATT President Curtis Williams is a recipient of the PNM's Secret Scholarships

...no wonder the Las Alturas COE cant make the news :roll:

Men does think it's joke when I refer to the media as PNM media.

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2014, 7:16 am

Habit7 wrote:Where is the corruption?

How could the head of MATT control the news?

The Las Alturas CoE starting the end of next month, do you have some breaking news we don't know?

P.S. the negative news about PPG, are because of the actions of the PPG. Writing letters about corruption in NIDCO contracts and calling hit on de horner man are not made up stories.

It's not only the head of MATT that controls the media.
It is an interlocking Web of PNM personel that is placed in the media houses and call the shots on mis information and poor quality reporting.
Just like in the government services there are PNM ppl that undermine the work of the govt .

PNM Have toting ants all over.
Be aware of your surroundings and know the ppl you work with as you cannot trust PNM ppl.

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2014, 1:21 pm

Is there ANY corruption in the PP or by extension UNC ZoomRader et all???

Postby Morpheus » December 15th, 2014, 3:52 pm

LoL. Zoom does sound like one delusional pyscho eh. You real paranoid bai.....

Even "PNM people" does admit when PNM doing tata.....how you think they get vote out?

Postby pioneer » December 15th, 2014, 3:56 pm

$375k to Buelah's ghostgang.

Wam dey?

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2014, 4:13 pm

Morpheus wrote:LoL. Zoom does sound like one delusional pyscho eh. You real paranoid bai.....

Even "PNM people" does admit when PNM doing tata.....how you think they get vote out?

He will blame PNM loss on PNM obeah!

Postby nemisis » December 15th, 2014, 4:20 pm

Morpheus wrote:LoL. Zoom does sound like one delusional pyscho eh. You real paranoid bai.....

this logic escapes him.....

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2014, 5:15 pm

RASC wrote:

You can't trust PNM ppl with obeah.

There was a time when 3 ex pnm MPs crossed the floor, after that PNM Ppl killed 3 big snakes and laid it out on the shoulder of the Churchill Roosevelt HH.
Don't forget the dragon on the ref house.

How many tuners remember these things.

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2014, 5:39 pm

RASC wrote:

There was a time when 3 ex pnm MPs crossed the floor, after that PNM Ppl killed 3 big snakes and laid it out on the shoulder of the Churchill Roosevelt HH.

You believe in PNM Obeah now?

Postby eliteauto » December 15th, 2014, 7:40 pm

zoom rader wrote:Don't forget the dragon on the ref house.

tell me more about this dragon and it's link to the PNM?

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2014, 8:38 am

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

Nope, but PNM do. Ask Gladiator

Postby RASC » December 16th, 2014, 9:07 am

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

You just said PNM obeah is real.
How can it not be real if you don't believe in it?

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2014, 9:31 am

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

You just said PNM obeah is real.
How can it not be real if you don't believe in it?

Where did I say PNM Obeah is real?

I said you "can't trust PNM ppl with obeah".
They have a different mind set with no logic.

Postby Habit7 » December 16th, 2014, 10:08 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ a rail service is needed but not how pnm went about it. Pnm rail was leading to another lara stadium mess. Anything pnm touch have corruption in it, pass, present and future.

I love my country pnm free and that's why I warn those of the dangers under the pnm.

ZR since you so keen in point out corruption in the Brian Lara Stadium what you think about this situation

‘THIS SERIOUS’
By Andre Bagoo Tuesday, December 16 2014

A SPECIAL investigation by the Office of the Auditor General has found escalating costs to the tune of $557 million in relation to three highly-touted national sporting facilities currently being managed by the Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago (Sportt).

Minister of Sport Dr Rupert Griffith yesterday described the findings of the special audit as “serious” and “important” as he convened the first of a series of meetings with ministry and company officials on the matter.

Sunday Newsday reported on the findings of the special audit, which was tabled in the Senate last Tuesday.

The Auditor General found hundreds of millions being paid for sporting facilities which are still incomplete; escalating costs; unjustified expenses for high-capital projects; wasted millions on recreation grounds; duplication and a history of expensive litigation relating to staff.

In relation to costs, the Auditor General’s special report examined three national facilities in cycling, swimming and tennis. The cost for these facilities moved from $120 million in 2007 to $677 million in 2013.

The Report states, “In October 2007, more than six and a half years ago, initial approval was granted for the development and construction of three national facilities in cycling, swimming and tennis to be located in Mucurapo, Mount Hope and Tacarigua respectively. These facilities had a total estimated cost of $120 million with an expected two-year completion date in 2009. This period elapsed and construction work on the facilities did not commence.”

The Report noted that in May 2013, more than six and a half years later, another approval was granted for the same facilities at a total estimated cost in excess of $677 million, an increase of $557 million, equivalent to 464 percent more than the 2007 estimated cost.

“The initial locations of the cycling and swimming centres were changed to Couva,” the Report, dated November 28, 2014, states. “At the time of this Report, construction is underway in Couva, although the land acquisition aspect has not been finalised. Construction works on all three facilities are on-going with an expected completion date of May 2015.”

The Report further states, “Sportt’s delay in the implementation of construction projects and changes in locations of projects resulted in increased estimated costs.”

The cost escalations are likely to evoke comparisons with other controversial sporting projects such as the ill-fated Brian Lara Stadium at Tarouba which has moved from $277 million to in excess of $1.1 billion. The aquatic centre, like the Tarouba facility, is also due to be named after one of the nation’s outstanding sportsmen, swimmer George Bovell III.

SCG (International) Caribbean has been identified as the main contractor at work on the velodrome and aquatic centres, though a local sub-contractor, Universal Projects Limited, has also been associated with them.

The Report also said the auditors were unable to find a clear “rationale” for these “high expenditure” projects based on their review.

“The Ministry of Sport, in justifying the development and construction of the three national facilities, highlights the need to develop, on an incremental scale, potential athletes for competitions at the national and international levels. Neither the Ministry of Sport nor Sportt was able to provide a ‘Sport for All’ rationale for selecting high expenditure national facility projects in cycling, swimming and tennis,” the Report states. “Measures are not in place to collect or analyse data related to membership and participation from the national sporting organisations for each of these three and other disciplines. Additionally, Sportt does not have performance indicators to measure potential growth in these sporting disciplines to inform the construction of these projects.”

Contacted yesterday, Griffith said the ministry was in the process of reviewing the findings.

“The report is a serious report one which we need to take note of,” the minister told Newsday. “Certain recommendations that were made we are going to consider them. Another meeting is planned to allow us to drill down further into the report.”

Griffith said the ministry began a process of reviewing the report since it was tabled in the Senate.

“We began reviewing the report since last week,” Griffith said. “We have met today – this morning (yesterday)– over it. Most of the activity described in the report relates to the pre-2010 period. The Auditor General’s Report is an important report by any standards. There are about 15 or 16 recommendations in it that the ministry and the Sport company will take on board. I have met with department heads and the permanent secretary as well as officials of Sportt.”

At a topping-off ceremony for the cycling facility on May 26, then Sport Minister Anil Roberts remarked, “it is the beginning of the dawn of a new era for Trinidad and Tobago where sport is now an industry. We shall create job opportunities and a sustainable future for our citizens. Sport tourism is around the corner and these facilities will be the benchmark.”

The Auditor General also found that a total of $411 million was spent from 2009 to 2013 on sporting facilities meant to provide “sport for all”, but that purported goal has not been achieved. The auditors also said Sportt is now managing $2.3 billion in projects, but has no sound means of measuring progress on its objectives, gaps in records and has committed reporting breaches.

The Report also examines the development and construction of three multi-purpose facilities planned. It notes that in April 2005, approval was granted for the development and construction of three multi-purpose facilities at a total cost of $51 million.

“Almost six years later, Sportt had failed to commence work on these facilities,” the Report states. In March 2011, another approval was given for Sportt to undertake work on the same facilities as an increased estimated cost of $165 million, an increase of $114 million, equivalent to 223.5 percent of the 2005 estimated cost.

The initial approved locations for the facilities were changed from the north and east regions (Arima, Diego Martin and Sangre Grande) to the Central and South regions (Charlieville, Couva and Fyzabad). At the same time, “contrary to approved changed locations, Sportt has spent $18.6 million to develop multi-purpose facilities instead in Aranjuez, Jerningham Junction and Sangre Grande.” Work is yet to commence on the approved locations.

A similar story emerged from the review of regional recreation grounds and the programme to upgrade local corporation grounds. A total of $103 million was spent by September 2013. Of 104 local corporation grounds planned, 42 were completed at a cost of $68 million, while no regional recreation grounds have been completed.

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,204326.html

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2014, 10:25 am

^^^ In 2007 a ford focus cost $140k + 14k insurance , in 2013 a ford focus cost $220k + 22k insurance . I guess there's corruption for the cost of buying a mid size 1.6 ford.

But where is project pride, some 120m spent and nothing to show for it? How much yuh think worth in 2013 from 1994

Postby Habit7 » December 16th, 2014, 10:58 am

The components of a 2007 Ford Focus are not the same as its more advance 2013 cousin.

Stop obfuscating.
If cost overruns in Torouba stadium are corruption, what are cost overruns in Couva?

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2014, 11:11 am

Habit7 wrote:The components of a 2007 Ford Focus are not the same as its more advance 2013 cousin.

Stop obfuscating.
If cost overruns in Torouba stadium are corruption, what are cost overruns in Couva?

$1 in 2007 is not the same as $1 in 2013.
Labour market is not the same as in 2007.
Materials market is not the same as in 2007.

There is another side to this report and that is if the agents of the PNM media houses will publish these findings.

Postby UML » December 22nd, 2014, 9:36 am

SEE WAH AH MEAN!!!

look how good the PNM does hide they secrets...only because it have a rift between Rowley followers and Manning followers, files bussin!!!!

MAKES YOU WONDER WHAT OTHER SKELETONS THEY HAVE HIDDEN IN THE CLOSET!!

Marlene’s name called

Donation allegedly made to her foundation

Lake Asphalt’s audit report

Gail Alexander

Published:
Friday, December 19, 2014

PNM deputy leader Marlene McDonald’s name has figured in a Lake Asphalt of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) audit report concerning a review of contracts and conflicts of interest in that company, where a senior LATT official allegedly told a company in 2007 to make a contribution to a foundation McDonald had in order to get more LATT jobs.

The information is contained in a 16-page LATT internal audit report of May 2011 concerning alleged issues under the tenure of former LATT CEO, Wayne Wood, no longer with LATT. Prior Beharry, strategic communications consultant to Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine, said yesterday the minister had received the report and forwarded it to the Attorney General for appropriate action.

The audit noted there had been concerns regarding due process in relation to procurement of contracts, payment of contracts and possible conflict of interest between Wood and Tramway Marketing Ltd. Tramway was described in the report as a limited liability company, incorporated July 6, 1999.

Directors were Alvin Phillips and Althea Phillips with McDonald as the secretary at the date of incorporation. This was changed to Althea Phillips on October 6, 1999. The report contained copies of companies registrar documents confirming that.

The report noted that during Wood’s tenure approximately 54 contractors were engaged, at a cost of $19 million, and the review found evidence of conflict of interest and inappropriate reporting relationship between the then CEO and the director of Tramway Marketing.

It also noted senior officials knowingly overrode controls, irregularities and non-compliance with the tender policy and procedure, inefficiencies in the payment process and failure on procurement systems. The report, which detailed all of what was found, stated the audit discovered that it was not the first time conflict of interest was alleged between Wood and Tramway.

It was noted that since the appointment of Wood as CEO, Tramway was paid $1.3 million for contracts, including grass-cutting, ground maintenance, landscaping, janitorial contracting and inventory management. The report cited interviews including with one Curlan Worrell. He said he had been self employed “doing odd jobs here-and-there and at one time was awarded contracts with LATT, including general maintenance.”

He said the contracts were awarded under MIE Engineering Co Ltd (MIEECL) where he was operations manager. MIEECL was a pre-qualified contractor with LATT.

Worrell is quoted as saying during 2007 he and the owner of MIEECL were approached by Wood and told that MIEECL could be given more jobs at LATT and Palo Seco Agricultural Enterprises Ltd (where Wood was also a director at the time) but “MIEECL would have to make a contribution to two foundations, one belonging to Peter Taylor and the other belonging to Marlene McDonald.”

Worrell’s statement alleged the cheques were to be made out to two foundations, “one being Peter Taylor and the other Marlene McDonald for $25,000-$35,000. I did so and gave the cheques to Mr Wood,” he added. The report stated MIEECL indeed received a contract from PSAEL and MIEECL made the payment and gave the cheques to Wood.

The report also stated Worrell also claimed Alston Grant, who was affiliated with MA Trading Ltd, was also associated with Conrad Enill, (described in the report as Energy Minister) and asked Worrell to manage some contracts that would be awarded to LATT. Worrell said he was informed Enill instructed Wood to award contracts to MA Trading. It was also noted MA Trading received LATT contracts.

MORE INFO
McDonald didn’t answer calls yesterday. Taylor, who was PNM Princes Town MP, said he never had a foundation. “Nah, I wasn’t in anything like that. We only had a constituency group. I never asked anyone for any contributions,” he said Enill said: “I never instructed anybody to give any contracts but in politics, people use your name all the time.

“I can’t tell you how many times people would come to me and say ‘Mr Manning told me to tell you X and Y’. I would call him about it and he would say ‘But I see you all the time, so I would have told you if I had done that’ “That’s why I prefer to give written instructions and specifics. Third party instructions are not instructions as far as I’m concerned. I don’t go through third parties,” Enill said.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... ame-called

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 22nd, 2014, 12:27 pm

UML wrote:. . .MAKES YOU WONDER WHAT OTHER SKELETONS THEY HAVE HIDDEN IN THE CLOSET!!. . .

:| What skeletons Suruj and Aunty Kamala have hidden in the walk in vaults in their houses?

Postby UML » December 22nd, 2014, 12:27 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
UML wrote:. . .MAKES YOU WONDER WHAT OTHER SKELETONS THEY HAVE HIDDEN IN THE CLOSET!!. . .

:| What skeletons Suruj and Aunty Kamala have hidden in the walk in vaults in their houses?

just like the $150 million house Kamla had :roll: :lol: :lol: :lol:

UML wrote:SEE WAH AH MEAN!!!

look how good the PNM does hide they secrets...only because it have a rift between Rowley followers and Manning followers, files bussin!!!!

MAKES YOU WONDER WHAT OTHER SKELETONS THEY HAVE HIDDEN IN THE CLOSET!!

Marlene’s name called

Donation allegedly made to her foundation

Lake Asphalt’s audit report

Gail Alexander

Published:
Friday, December 19, 2014

PNM deputy leader Marlene McDonald’s name has figured in a Lake Asphalt of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) audit report concerning a review of contracts and conflicts of interest in that company, where a senior LATT official allegedly told a company in 2007 to make a contribution to a foundation McDonald had in order to get more LATT jobs.

The information is contained in a 16-page LATT internal audit report of May 2011 concerning alleged issues under the tenure of former LATT CEO, Wayne Wood, no longer with LATT. Prior Beharry, strategic communications consultant to Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine, said yesterday the minister had received the report and forwarded it to the Attorney General for appropriate action.

The audit noted there had been concerns regarding due process in relation to procurement of contracts, payment of contracts and possible conflict of interest between Wood and Tramway Marketing Ltd. Tramway was described in the report as a limited liability company, incorporated July 6, 1999.

Directors were Alvin Phillips and Althea Phillips with McDonald as the secretary at the date of incorporation. This was changed to Althea Phillips on October 6, 1999. The report contained copies of companies registrar documents confirming that.

The report noted that during Wood’s tenure approximately 54 contractors were engaged, at a cost of $19 million, and the review found evidence of conflict of interest and inappropriate reporting relationship between the then CEO and the director of Tramway Marketing.

It also noted senior officials knowingly overrode controls, irregularities and non-compliance with the tender policy and procedure, inefficiencies in the payment process and failure on procurement systems. The report, which detailed all of what was found, stated the audit discovered that it was not the first time conflict of interest was alleged between Wood and Tramway.

It was noted that since the appointment of Wood as CEO, Tramway was paid $1.3 million for contracts, including grass-cutting, ground maintenance, landscaping, janitorial contracting and inventory management. The report cited interviews including with one Curlan Worrell. He said he had been self employed “doing odd jobs here-and-there and at one time was awarded contracts with LATT, including general maintenance.”

He said the contracts were awarded under MIE Engineering Co Ltd (MIEECL) where he was operations manager. MIEECL was a pre-qualified contractor with LATT.

Worrell is quoted as saying during 2007 he and the owner of MIEECL were approached by Wood and told that MIEECL could be given more jobs at LATT and Palo Seco Agricultural Enterprises Ltd (where Wood was also a director at the time) but “MIEECL would have to make a contribution to two foundations, one belonging to Peter Taylor and the other belonging to Marlene McDonald.”

Worrell’s statement alleged the cheques were to be made out to two foundations, “one being Peter Taylor and the other Marlene McDonald for $25,000-$35,000. I did so and gave the cheques to Mr Wood,” he added. The report stated MIEECL indeed received a contract from PSAEL and MIEECL made the payment and gave the cheques to Wood.

The report also stated Worrell also claimed Alston Grant, who was affiliated with MA Trading Ltd, was also associated with Conrad Enill, (described in the report as Energy Minister) and asked Worrell to manage some contracts that would be awarded to LATT. Worrell said he was informed Enill instructed Wood to award contracts to MA Trading. It was also noted MA Trading received LATT contracts.

MORE INFO
McDonald didn’t answer calls yesterday. Taylor, who was PNM Princes Town MP, said he never had a foundation. “Nah, I wasn’t in anything like that. We only had a constituency group. I never asked anyone for any contributions,” he said Enill said: “I never instructed anybody to give any contracts but in politics, people use your name all the time.

“I can’t tell you how many times people would come to me and say ‘Mr Manning told me to tell you X and Y’. I would call him about it and he would say ‘But I see you all the time, so I would have told you if I had done that’ “That’s why I prefer to give written instructions and specifics. Third party instructions are not instructions as far as I’m concerned. I don’t go through third parties,” Enill said.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... ame-called

No wonder they didnt support the Procurement legislation.....everybody have cocoa in d sun :|

They making Calder Hart look like an angel!!!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 22nd, 2014, 12:33 pm

Why Suruj doesn't come out and explain how Kall Company Limited ended up being considered for the award of bridge construction contracts when Kallco was not even prequalified for the programme?

Why Coonilal Moonilal doesn't come out and explain how a contractor was awarded a half a billion dollar housing development contract in Union Hall without even submitting a formal tender? Tenders should have been invited from prequalified contractors for a project of that magnitude.

Postby UML » December 22nd, 2014, 12:38 pm

charges can only be laid when evidence is provided :roll:

Postby De Dragon » December 22nd, 2014, 3:18 pm

Ollour feel dat size easy tuh maintain or wha'?

Postby UML » December 22nd, 2014, 3:21 pm

McDonald blames former PNM politician for witch-hunt

Published:
Sunday, December 21, 2014

MP for Port-of-Spain East Marlene McDonald has accused a former PNM politician of colluding with external forces in a bid to ruin her political career. McDonald, who has been gagged by her legal advisers, responded to two incidents that recently surfaced in the media, allegedly accusing her of misconduct. “Collusion and a witch-hunt, that is what this is,” McDonald said in an interview yesterday with the Sunday Guardian.

In a letter directed to party leader Dr Keith Rowley two weeks ago, a supporter claimed that McDonald was accused of misconduct during her time as minister of Community Development because a cheque was issued on May 12, 2010, to a company that was registered three months after that date.

The company, Calabar Foundation, lists three directors, Michael Carew, Lennox Carew and Victor McEachrane. Carew (Michael) has been described as McDonald’s common-law husband of 20 years and McEachrane as a friend from her university days. “I have never owned any foundation,” McDonald said.

McDonald’s name is also mentioned in a 2011 audit report into Lake Asphalt T&T (Latt). The audit report contains concerns about the review of contracts and conflicts of interest in that company, as a senior Latt official is alleged to have told a company in 2007 to make a contribution to a foundation McDonald had in order to get more Latt jobs. When asked if that was the same Calabar Foundation, McDonald repeated that she never owned any foundation.

“I was approached by a client at the time to form a company and used my name as secretary to incorporate the company. The year later, by 1999, my name was removed. What is this silly story even about?” she asked. She said she was not aware that Attorney General Anand Ramlogan had signalled his intention to investigate the Lake Asphalt matter.

“The AG is free to do whatever he wants. There is a lot more to look at in his own party and that is where he should be looking, but everyone will want to jump on the bandwagon now,” she said. “I have lived my entire life above board,” McDonald added.

We are satisfied with MARLENE—Rowley
Meanwhile, Rowley continued to support McDonald’s bid for re-election to the Port-of-Spain East seat next year. He said he was not surprised that the AG was planning to investigate the matter and he was leaving it up to McDonald to respond accordingly.
“If the response is inappropriate then we will act,” he said. Rowley said he was aware that some people “hated” that McDonald was re-selected for her constituency seat.

“But that is their point of view, we are satisfied that we have chosen a proper candidate and until we are convinced otherwise, she shall remain,” he said.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... witch-hunt

AG to probe allegations against McDonald

Gail Alexander

Published:
Saturday, December 20, 2014

The 2011 Lake Asphalt (LATT) audit report containing allegations of corruption, which mentions PNM Deputy Leader Marlene McDonald and other PNM officials, is being scrutinised by the Attorney General to determine if there are grounds to lay a charge of misconduct in public office. Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said this after yesterday’s T&T Guardian article on the report in which McDonald’s name appears.

The audit report concerned a review of contracts and conflicts of interest in that company where a senior LATT official allegedly told a company in 2007 to make contributions to foundations run by McDonald and Peter Taylor, in order to get more LATT jobs.

The audit also noted concerns had been expressed regarding due process in relation to procurement of contracts, payment of contracts and possible conflict of interest between the former LATT senior official and Tramway Marketing Ltd. McDonald was secretary of that company up to 1999.

Ramlogan said yesterday: “The report is engaging the attention of my office with a view to determining whether there are any grounds for misconduct in public office or any violation or potential violation of T&T’s laws.” He said all aspects and issues concerning persons involved would be examined.In the absence of replies from PNM leader Keith Rowley and PRO Faris Al Rawi yesterday, PNM Deputy Leader Rohan Sinanan said he had no comment.

But political analyst Dr Bishnu Ragoonath said the PNM would have to deal with this and other allegations concerning McDonald. “As the PNM will want to enter elections as clean as possible to ensure they’re not compared with the PP.

“To that extent they may have to rethink some candidates. Currently, however, the PNM seems more occupied in doing damage control in defending why they didn’t vote for the Procurement bill in Senate on Tuesday and abstained on it, so McDonald may be secondary business for them,” Ragoonath said.

Fixin’ T&T yesterday called on Rowley “to demonstrate responsible leadership by publicly insisting on a thorough, transparent and independent investigation into this matter (the foundation) or providing irrefutable evidence that one was conducted and she was cleared.

“The PNM’s handling of the recent allegations of corruption against MP Marlene McDonald mirrors that of the Government’s initial responses to allegations of corruption made against Jack Warner, Anil Roberts and Anand Ramlogan etc, as they have chosen to attack the accusers and reduce the matter to political mischief.” The group said the PP Government and the Opposition PNM “are two sides of the same coin,” reiterating appeals to the PP and PNM for campaign financing reform.

The group said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s “gift” of $55 million to churches, using public funds, was apparently ably supported by the Opposition without any system of accountability in place: “This is the same Government and Opposition that recently unanimously bypassed the Salaries Review Commission and passed legislation in our Parliament to raise their salaries and pensions...Similarities can also be seen in the Prime Minister’s unwillingness to provide full disclosure on the source of funding for her ‘toy drive’ and the Opposition Leader’s response to calls for complete transparency in the raffle for the three BMWs.”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... t-mcdonald

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » December 25th, 2014, 2:35 pm