EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ how about a system where certain entities get the subsidy only?
Like where farmers and companies requiring diesel fuel for trucks for transports etc That they will pay a much lower price?
My issue isn't really taking away the subsidy from businesses, its taking it away from the general public because we waste it, people are ridiculous in this country. If you look at many first world nations take Europe for example their practices are very different from us. In Trini every house must have 4 and 5 cars. People drive X to board to get 8K RPM, they leave the car running with AC on sometimes for hours when they go places so when they return it will be cool. (If they were paying the market price I assure you this practice would cut out quickly)
With all that said I would be in favor of providing a proper public transport for our country. I would be willing to give up the subsidy IF and only IF we get something more beneficial in return such as a rapid rail system, better road networks with far better bus service. The rapid rail is far overdue and the longer we take the harder it becomes.
I also would like to see every single small maxi, private vehicle kicked out of the Bus route. Its called priority for a reason and should only accommodate big buses. From Big Maxi to PTSC etc.
Lots of things I would like to see happen in Trini but the reality is so far from it.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ how about a system where certain entities get the subsidy only?
Like where farmers and companies requiring diesel fuel for trucks for transports etc That they will pay a much lower price?
My issue isn't really taking away the subsidy from businesses, its taking it away from the general public because we waste it, people are ridiculous in this country. If you look at many first world nations take Europe for example their practices are very different from us. In Trini every house must have 4 and 5 cars. People drive X to board to get 8K RPM, they leave the car running with AC on sometimes for hours when they go places so when they return it will be cool. (If they were paying the market price I assure you this practice would cut out quickly)
With all that said I would be in favor of providing a proper public transport for our country. I would be willing to give up the subsidy IF and only IF we get something more beneficial in return such as a rapid rail system, better road networks with far better bus service. The rapid rail is far overdue and the longer we take the harder it becomes.
I also would like to see every single small maxi, private vehicle kicked out of the Bus route. Its called priority for a reason and should only accommodate big buses. From Big Maxi to PTSC etc.
Lots of things I would like to see happen in Trini but the reality is so far from it.
Redman wrote:bluesclues wrote:selling oil at $150 a barrel atm. cost $30 a barrel approx. LEL. these expert economists in this country yes. i at this time in my life pity ppl with degrees.
So tell us how you doing this....who is buying your oil at 150?
who selling you oil at 30?
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Advent wrote:at 50us a barrel petrotrin makes a profit, but would tnt suffer being that 65% of the gdp comes from atlantic lng ?
I think this is the question that needs to be asked more. The price of nat gas affects Trinidad and Tobago more than that of oil.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:GVTrini07 wrote:
Ok sunshine, if you say so.
buh buh buh...
what if I producing bodi and it costing me more to get meh final product, guess who getting shaft. Not me nah, is the consumer. Just saying, me eh no bout no economics.
But as you say, Economics 101 Price of said bodi unaffected.
You are wrong, first off we go about farming the wrong way.
In America farmers are heavily subsidized like up to 90%....
hustla_ambition101 wrote:You now start to make some sense, too much people are taking advantage of the diesel subsidy, the CNG plan has failed miserably though after all the talk and fluff.
bluesclues wrote:Redman wrote:bluesclues wrote:selling oil at $150 a barrel atm. cost $30 a barrel approx. LEL. these expert economists in this country yes. i at this time in my life pity ppl with degrees.
So tell us how you doing this....who is buying your oil at 150?
who selling you oil at 30?
free trading and investment advice... yeah.
Advent wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Advent wrote:at 50us a barrel petrotrin makes a profit, but would tnt suffer being that 65% of the gdp comes from atlantic lng ?
I think this is the question that needs to be asked more. The price of nat gas affects Trinidad and Tobago more than that of oil.
yes but not much people know this, oil account for almost nothing in GDP terms ~20%
and the money the government makes a day from atlantic a new highway could be built every weak
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:You now start to make some sense, too much people are taking advantage of the diesel subsidy, the CNG plan has failed miserably though after all the talk and fluff.
yeah Manning did a good thing with slashing subsidy on Premium Gasoline. But notice these rich people in this country went ahead and bought a set of Diesel Hilux that looks like a ridiculous spaceship. Too much people are owning Diesel vehicles in this country when its unnecessary.
In places like Europe you hardly ever see Diesel vehicles for personal leisure.
Diesel abuse needs to stop so badly in this country. I see PTSC bought 35 new CNG buses though.
Why did the CNG plan fail so bad though? is it lack of CNG stations? cost for conversion? people just not willing to convert as opposed to buying a ready made CNG vehicle?
bluesclues wrote:Advent wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Advent wrote:at 50us a barrel petrotrin makes a profit, but would tnt suffer being that 65% of the gdp comes from atlantic lng ?
yes but not much people know this, oil account for almost nothing in GDP terms ~20%
and the money the government makes a day from atlantic a new highway could be built every weak
man say a highway every week yes lol. a highway that shouldnt cost more than 2bn ttd. ppg just robbing the country blind. and believe their paid bloggers are actually worth the money spent to convince ppl otherwise. after unc get boot out trinidad will never put another indian as pm ever again, and certainly.. no woman.
pioneer wrote:Remove some of these social programmes like baby grant, and stop GATE.
DVSTT wrote:pioneer wrote:Remove some of these social programmes like baby grant, and stop GATE.
Stop Gate? How about no. There are sectors in the country that need workers it would be better to limit gate to fields that are lacking locally.
neilsingh100 wrote:Time for Trinidad to feel the pain that the rest of the world felt after the financial crisis in 2008.
This could be a good thing if the next government is prepared to make the hard decisions.
neilsingh100 wrote:Time for Trinidad to feel the pain that the rest of the world felt after the financial crisis in 2008.
This could be a good thing if the next government is prepared to make the hard decisions.
bluesclues wrote:neilsingh100 wrote:Time for Trinidad to feel the pain that the rest of the world felt after the financial crisis in 2008.
aammm we felt that pain when doubles went from $1 to $4
pioneer wrote:lolwut?
People takin GATE to do degree in steelpan and bar tending.
Get real.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:pioneer wrote:lolwut?
People takin GATE to do degree in steelpan and bar tending.
Get real.
This is true and I keep wondering why anyone would do a BSc in Carnival which does exist apparently.
But what about Doctors and Engineers etc? Mechanical and Electrical technicians etc? the world needs skilled people like this especially Trinidad, we need Computer Scientists etc.
For the very least GATE should be given for highly technical field to encourage people to get into. Too much people are going to school with the hope of getting a 3 in Social Studies CXC so they can join the fire, prison, customs, police etc or to gain entry into a BSc in Carnival. Many of these so called degrees are actually no more than what is taught at a trade school. But the schools who teach these things are government school.......
Habit7 wrote:80%, T&T is going to go bankrupt because 80% of GATE applicants choose to do BA Carnival Studies, a Humanities program (one of the cheapest at UWI).