SC Dana Seetahal murder - 11 men charged Pg.34

Re: SC Dana Seetahal murdered

Postby sMASH » August 23rd, 2014, 6:26 pm

The possibility of criminal involvement is always there, but all I know is about her titan efforts against criminals.
So, the pattern doesn't suit that end.

Postby desifemlove » August 24th, 2014, 9:40 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:allyuh ever stop to think dana may have been involved in criminal activity

It's possible......

they way it was carried out was a professional hit....

but no evidence she was in ting....

Postby desifemlove » August 24th, 2014, 9:41 am

sMASH wrote:Two questions :
Who organized this killing?
And to achieve what goal?

Because answering those questions may lead to other assassinations being stopped

Knowing how dis country is........the men who killed she may be very old or dead before time for trial comes..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 13th, 2015, 2:09 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Dan ... lmob=y&c=n

"Dana’s relatives feel murder case running cold"

Relatives of Dana Seetahal SC say they are starved for information from the police about the investigation into her murder, uncertain of whether any headway is being made, and fearful her killers will go free. It has been more than eight months since the special State prosecutor was ambushed and assassinated on May 4 while driving along Hamilton Holder Street in Woodbrook just after midnight. Her family believes they are no closer to knowing who killed Seetahal, or why. “We are just as lost as the rest of the population,” lamented Susan Francois, Seetahal’s younger sister, during an in-depth interview with the Express. Francois is also the director of the Financial Intelligence Unit. Her elder brother, Kenrick Seetahal, echoed her frustration: “We cannot even conceive that Dana’s murder will be solved, it leaves us in limbo. The police have not contacted us, the lead investigators have not contacted us. We on our own.”

The relatives say they are forced to dwell in the realm of speculation, bombarded by all manner of theories floating in the public domain about the reasons why Seetahal was murdered “There’s all sorts of stories going around the place which, I mean, paints (sic) the most lurid pictures of all sorts of people from the top most echelons of society, in political circles, being involved in this thing,” said a disheartened Omar Seetahal, one of the younger brothers. “And I would think that for the good of society, as well as the reputation of both the Government and everyone else, that they have a very keen interest in solving this murder and laying to rest all the stories and rumours that going around. It is mystifying…aggravating at the same time, that this matter has been unsolved.”

The siblings broke their silence on their sister’s murder during an interview at the family home on Wilkinson Street in Tunapuna, where Seetahal spent her childhood. They were surrounded by other siblings, nieces and nephews, friends and neighbours—20 persons in all. “This matter has reached a point that something has to be said, we will not tolerate the situation perpetuating where the matter remains unsolved or seems to be shelved,” Omar stated. The siblings said the police do not provide status updates on the progress of the investigation into Seetahal’s death. What little the family does know is gleaned from media reports or public statements by law enforcement personnel. Their confusion is compounded by conflicting statements from high-ranking officials.

During a teleconference on US-Caribbean security co-operation in June last year, US Assistant Secretary of State, William Brownfield, described Seetahal’s death as a ““contract murder” with links to “organised crime”. Minister of National Security Gary Griffith later told the host of TV6’s Morning Edition, Fazeer Mohammed, that it is wrong to classify Seetahal’s killing as a ‘hit’. With little concrete information from the police, Seetahal’s grieving siblings said they are left not knowing what to believe. “We really don’t know which one is true,” Kenrick said. “We believe that the investigators do not have any answers.” Francois said the family learnt of the reported involvement of the US Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) through a television news clip from Griffith. The Seetahal siblings said they are compelled to initiate contact with the police, only to be given what they believe is the same vague assurance every time. “I have called them, I’ve spoken to them, and they have given me a generic story: ‘The matter is very complicated and we are very close to a solution, perhaps at the end of the month you will see some action taking place’. And I have been told that since June last year,” complained Omar.

Equally etched into their memories of the day Seetahal died are the assurances from acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams that the Police Service would give the investigation “number one priority” with the intention of apprehending her killers “in the shortest period of time”. That same day, the Prime Minister also issued a statement pledging the availability of “every resource of the law enforcement machinery of the State” to identify the assailants. Today, those assurances ring hollow to Seetahal’s relatives. “If all those resources were being put in place, it is amazing that they (law enforcement) have been so ineffective, you know?” Omar said pensively. In fact, the family is questioning whether the police probe has stalled.

The relatives made it clear they are not condemning the Police Service, but are growing increasingly despondent without any sign of progress. “None of us could never have imagined that going into nine months, nearly a year, that this case would still have been unsolved,” Francois said. “It is so ironic that a woman who had given so much and tried so hard to improve the criminal justice system should be just another murder statistic.” \\ Police making progress Deputy Commissioner of Police, Glen Hackett, the lead investigator in the Seetahal murder case, insisted the police service is making “steady progress”, but apologised to the Seetahals for not contacting them more frequently. “The investigation is at a very sensitive stage at this point in time and I wouldn’t go into the public realm with respect to an update,” he told the Express yesterday. “But what I can give, I can give the Seethaal family an undertaking that the investigation is ongoing, it has never wavered in its relentless pursuit of the persons who committed this dastardly act, and we are making steady progress with respect to this investigation and I will not allow it go cold at all.” “I briefed them (Seetahal’s relatives) some time ago and after that I have not briefed them on the matter, but I understand their posture with respect to not being briefed and I do apologise for that. However, the investigation is ongoing, it is continuing albeit quietly, but effectively, getting all the necessary evidence that we can and we have been guided by the DPP in this context.”

Asked for an estimate of how much more time investigators need to conclude the probe, Hackett said, “I would not commit myself to a time and tell you a week, a month, but I express that sometime in the near foreseeable future that we will have some successful culmination.” Hackett insisted the resources dedicated to finding Seetahal’s killers have not diminished since the investigation began.

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2015, 4:47 am

Investigations ongoing and at a sensitive stage.....

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2015, 4:49 am

As I said, police in this country are frauds, a facade of law enforcement.

Only good to break traffic light and charge man for tint .

Postby SMc » January 13th, 2015, 5:08 am

that was odd...anyway hopefuly they not talking rubbish and finally some of the high level crime starts being dealt with

Postby 16 cycles » January 13th, 2015, 8:55 am

if the 'resources' is just hackett, then he probably right in saying they haven't diminished since the start of the investigation....smh

antlind

Postby antlind » January 13th, 2015, 11:20 am

sMASH wrote:As I said, police in this country are frauds, a facade of law enforcement.

I think that our local TTPS is just not equipped with the skills and tools to conduct an investigation of this magnitude. A buddy of mine was surmising that the hit man probably flew in from one of the islands, performed his evil task and flew back out the next day. Good luck finding him. It is sad that her family had to have this matter in limbo.

marlener

Postby marlener » January 13th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Will we usually blame the police, and yes it is there job to solve crime. Citizens usual condone lawlessness in one form or another until it comes home to them.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Condoning lawlessness id wrong, as well as well as not solving crime when that's what ur paid to do.

marlener

Postby marlener » January 13th, 2015, 2:20 pm

I agree but how would you feel if your sister was murdered and someone you knew had information but just decided to not say anything because is not them family. Most crimes some citizen knows and keep quiet until.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2015, 2:44 pm

This is where I think differently to the rest of this society. I would like to think that enough evidence can be collected to be the MAJOR tool in capture and conviction. I do not want to RELY on human testimony.

Why? Because humans are fickle, fallible, inconsistent, corruptable. They can lie, forget, play around, be paid off. but evidence does not lie.

People not talking should not play a factor, except that it merely delays the inevitable.

In my job, if u get ur information from what people say, u taking a gamble. If u get ur facts and figures from the documents themselves, u are solid as a rock.

Postby shogun » January 13th, 2015, 4:21 pm

Shameful that the family was being totally kept out of the loop.

However, knowing our investigative prowess, I'm sure it was a tiny loop anyways. Still hoping for the best with respect to this case though.

RIP Dana.

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2015, 5:15 pm

whoever needed to be paid get paid their bribe money already.
99% of trinis forget about this.

Postby toyolink » January 13th, 2015, 6:25 pm

'OUTRAGE' in our society is as short lived as a ice-cream cone in the midday sun.
Clearly our capacity to fail is not only restricted to the less endowed in our society.

Postby DVSTT » January 14th, 2015, 6:45 am

S_2NR wrote:whoever needed to be paid get paid their bribe money already.

Yup is carnival. Wine and jump is all most care for.

Postby zoom rader » January 14th, 2015, 6:50 am

DVSTT wrote:
S_2NR wrote:whoever needed to be paid get paid their bribe money already.

Yup is carnival. Wine and jump is all most care for.

Mist Trinis are trained with carnival mentality from small. It's the drug that solves trinis problems day to day living.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 14th, 2015, 7:10 am

Yeah cuz if there was no carnival this crime would have been solved already ent?

Postby Trini Hookah » January 14th, 2015, 7:10 am

Duuuuuuuhhhhh

Postby Hook » January 14th, 2015, 7:21 am

*shrugs* somebody explain what a "carnival mentality" is, por favor :roll:

Postby zoom rader » January 14th, 2015, 8:47 am

Hook wrote:*shrugs* somebody explain what a "carnival mentality" is, por favor :roll:

Carnival mentality is a term used by Lee kuan yew of a Singapore to describe the mentality of the trini culture and work force.
During and after carnival ppl have no zeal to work or study. Productivity is low, everything else is a cool breeze and its gonna be all right.
This is the behaviour that is effecting most trinis and it remains in ppl minds. They have no value in doing their jobs, no care. Carnival is what is wrong with trini.

You gonna have ppl that will defend carnival saying it's a money earner, it may be so but who looses out in the long run?
Tourist come and go and trinis remains complaining that governments do nothing for them. Throw a fete and those ppl forgive and forget.

Postby sMASH » January 14th, 2015, 10:13 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/NEP ... &smobile=y

Even if they find some persons resembling killers, in three years time they will walk.

Read what was the defense's reason... No, it wasn't a good alibi

antlind

Postby antlind » January 14th, 2015, 10:34 am

The whole legal system in this country, like the Police Service, needs to be revamped to better protect and serve the people of TT.

Postby Habit7 » January 14th, 2015, 10:40 am

Marchan: State officials know of Dana’s murder
By SEAN DOUGLAS Wednesday, January 14 2015

Former LifeSport official, Ruth Marchan, resurfaced on a social media site on Monday, accusing top State officials of knowledge of the murder of senior counsel, the late Dana Seetahal. The accusations prompted an immediate denial by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan.

Marchan, the former deputy director of physical education at LifeSport, has spent time in hiding after complaining that she was one of four persons targetted for assassination even before one of them, LifeSport colleague, Curtis “Tallman” was murdered by gunmen who burst into his Malabar house in June last year. She has sought refuge in safe houses since, including one which was provided by leader of the Independent Liberal Party, Jack Warner.

In a discussion on a reporter’s social media page on Monday with additions up to last night, Marchan said the truth will out and that one State official needs to know that “not everybody is dunce and stupid”.

Further she said another former official had ignored her warnings about LifeSport whom she now expects to end up in jail, along with several other named persons said to be improper beneficiaries of the programme. She alleged that one top beneficiary had previously had a criminal record for fraud in a foreign country that had been known to State officials but that had been mysteriously wiped clean.

Marchan was high in praise for two top named Opposition politicians for their alleged wise insight into the scandal. Saying all in the dark will come to light, she added, “That is why they want me dead.”

Saying she was among a trio who had come under attack for not following the dictate of one official, she said, “I’m rocking this boat.” Marchan said she will be protected by God from harm, although elsewhere saying, “All of us are ‘going down’ together.”

“God will open people’s eyes to all who influenced the hit on Dana. Nobody is greater than him. The wrong person you are playing with,” said Marchan.

She said guilty persons are walking free, while innocent persons are in jail over Dana’s death, the latter including a person named as a prime suspect who was since arrested for alleged gang activity.

“The ground will win this war. People are not stupid and I am not afraid of anybody. I have all my evidence.”

Marchan urged Seetahal’s family to reject her posthumous national award. “The Chaconia Gold Medal - total betrayal to a woman who worked hard for her country. All in the dark will come to light.”

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,205514.html

Epicurus

Postby Epicurus » January 14th, 2015, 1:56 pm

This has to be placed on the back burner for now, someone was wrecked on Charlotte Street....