3ne2nr fishermen

bumpie

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby bumpie » January 18th, 2015, 12:00 pm

Were around trini have any reefs close to shore calm were we can kayack out an fish anyone.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 18th, 2015, 12:14 pm

X_Factor wrote:
mrlantra wrote:Kayaks can troll, just cast and paddle, 1.5 2 mph it works. will be trying one dead bait and one uzuri on a slow troll

is it cumbersome to do cast and retrieve on the kayak?

if not a couple spoons will be nice

One can easily cast and retrieve, you can't cast as far as when your standing but 20-30ft no problem.

Postby meccalli » January 18th, 2015, 1:28 pm

Once your kayak stable, you good to go, alot of guys will stand and cast in flats from their kayaks for redfish/cro cro and seatrout/salmon.

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2015, 2:00 pm

is it practical to hire a boat man, load the kayaks in the boat and let him drop you off in those decent shallow spots around monos, gasparee, scotland bay etc
or will it be too dangerous?

Postby meccalli » January 18th, 2015, 2:05 pm

Those guys who go offshore kayaking will have a boatman hang around, it have some ignorant men on that side with their 40ft's that will just make big wakes to trouble small boats, dunno how they feel about kayak guys lol.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 18th, 2015, 3:08 pm

X it is very practical to have a boat take kayaks out and 5 islands and gasparee ( both ) are in our paddle range already, I have heard of some takers who paddled down to huevos already but they had to camp out and return the next day. What we want to know is where are the reachable spots, part of that are spots that are car accessible. I'd say 1-2 miles from a calm beach that's not to windy or has very strong currents

Postby meccalli » January 18th, 2015, 3:54 pm

Kayak centre in chag does the tours with sizeable groups going all the way up to scotland. Damien's bay is popular with some kayak guys.

Postby joker » January 18th, 2015, 4:31 pm

jellyfish in manzan this morning and saw some boshay in cocal river ...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 18th, 2015, 7:30 pm

See some snook an U ent catch none?

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 18th, 2015, 8:24 pm

mrlantra wrote:
JayB27 wrote:Went up by the parking lot after Pier 1 to soak some shrimp and herring... Caught a few redfish and that's about it. Left when the guy said he was gonna lock the gate went down by the wall in westmoorings after. The rain started pouring as soon as I set my gear down...still did a lil fishing in the rain got soaked and salt. Still a good day out fishing.

It rained? We were out on the other side of that mountain in a bay from anchorage, not a drop fell on us, tho where did all the cat fish come from, each one of us got a small catfish each at least and a few small reds and grunts. Some one had a net, at least 300 yards long that really messed us up but ya kayaking with Bumpie was great.

You know I saw some guys kayaking when I was at pier 2 but I doubt it was you guys. Yea that was around 1235 pm. I got really soaked! :lol: I forgot to mention tho I spotted a huge fish but just saw the end of it tail end looked to about as thick as 4 inch pic pipe... But didn't see it after that. Didn't bother trying to catch it. Think it was a tarpon. I need to find a nice spot where you can actually hold some decent size fish or find a buddy with a boat!

proton17

Postby proton17 » January 18th, 2015, 8:28 pm

Joker is all yuh was fishing artificials around 9 dis morning by the mouth?

I went guaya fished a few spots caught nothing and ended up back in manzan, where catfish and small melwish were biting alone.

Postby joker » January 18th, 2015, 9:40 pm

did not go to fish lol ,i was on the beach bout 5:45 am had a feelin you would be that side yunno , but was part of 4 vehicles and sobering up lol

HSA

Postby HSA » January 19th, 2015, 10:26 am

planning to buy a kayak from pricesmart for some fishing...single seater...i also saw one in budget marine for 1500 more...could the one in pricesmart be used or would i have to invest in the more expensive one from budget marine ( Temptation)

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 19th, 2015, 12:46 pm

HSA wrote:planning to buy a kayak from pricesmart for some fishing...single seater...i also saw one in budget marine for 1500 more...could the one in pricesmart be used or would i have to invest in the more expensive one from budget marine ( Temptation)

All the guys with the pricesmart kayaks eventually upgrade, I would also check out the Kayak center for one to. I brought mine in ( was lucky had a friend bringing in a container ) as did some others, remember if your planing to get serious and add a fish finder, want rod holders etc most of the pricesmart ones wont cut it. The Budget marine ocean duo can be upgraded but you may spend as much as bringing in our own higher end kayak off amazon in the end, if your serious that is.

I'm rocking a feelfree lure 13.5 http://feelfreeus.com/kayaks/fishing-kayaks/lure-13-5/ I ordered it when it was on preorder for ALOT less than they are new now.

Ali ( not on the forum ) and his uncle rock a pair of ocean kayak trident 13's http://www.oceankayak.com/kayaks/angler ... 13_angler/ , they amazoned them kited out with fish finders the works.

Hong Kong Phooey has a perception from Pricesmart online ( when they get ) http://www.perceptionkayaks.com/product ... tribe135t/

Bumpie and Rawle do have pricesmart ones but they are better than what they are bringing in now in the stores.

When getting a kayak note it's weight capacity and your weight, you don't want one that has a 250 lb capacity and you alone weight 200 lbs, that weight capacity is max, not what we call performance capacity which is about 80% of the max and this is the weight where water does not come up through the scuppers ( the holes in the floor that lets water drain out ). MAx capacity is the most it will hold swamped ( and your going to be sitting in water ).

So if you can't order one from Amazon, at least get a double kayak since they have the weight capacity, you can order rod holders from amazon and some well nuts to put them in ( budget marine may have to ). So wait for Pricesmart online to get their doubles back, check the kayak center or budget marine's ocean duo and do add some rod holders. oh also make sure you get a good life jacket and a paddle that suits your kayak to.

Once you get our yak ( or canoe, check them to ) drop Bumpie a line and we'll organise ( Bumpie is the original fisherman from a kayak here we learning from him ).

30hz

Postby 30hz » January 19th, 2015, 2:37 pm

Good advice there mrlantra

I'm still trying to upgrade from my car to a pick up, something to transport the kayak. Have my eye on an oceanslayer as well. Soon!

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 19th, 2015, 3:25 pm

You don't need a pick up to move a kayak, while a pick up helps any decent car with good roof racks will do, I've moved my yak on my wife's Toyota corolla already using foam blocks and the proper straps, you can get the ratchet rope and pulleys at allied hard ware and regular cam lock straps at any hardware ( do use the thinner ones those heavy duty ones for trucks will destroy your little craft ). I bought foam blocks and cut them myself. Ocean slayer? You mean native slayer? A pedal yak?

Postby joker » January 19th, 2015, 11:48 pm

guys.... cedros by the jetty this morning , pelicans and other sea birds were diving bout 30 ft from shore both sides of the jetty and the water was perfect....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 21st, 2015, 1:34 pm

spice island billfish tournament is going on as we speak...will be able to see fish being brought to the scales with the following link...ah few trini boats up in the mix...wish d boys dem gd luck but dey will bring it home...

http://cam1.sibt.modone.net/

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 21st, 2015, 3:07 pm

Was watchin that from the http://www.sibtgrenada.com/ page link since this morning, most of the boats won't be in for another hr tho. I still waiting to see if they beat the 600 lb marlin from the Tobago turney last year.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 21st, 2015, 6:56 pm

What 600lbs marlin?? Last year one was caught over 1000lbs...

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 21st, 2015, 7:51 pm

Guys pricesmart has the emotion kayaks 12ft tandems for $5700, only problem is you can't move the seat into a single but it has a 500 lb capacity not bad

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 21st, 2015, 9:06 pm

Pricesmart emotion tandem,

Ryan I saw the 600 pounder so I remember it, didnt see the 1000 one so it didn't register
image.jpg

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 22nd, 2015, 6:41 pm

Heading Icacos tmrw, 5 lbs of fresh shrimp and some bonito as bait. Going with banking as the main plan but im taking my 8ft with 30lb mono to try some jigs and poppers.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 22nd, 2015, 6:43 pm

Drunkmaster, wen we doing sumting boi?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 23rd, 2015, 10:04 pm

Next weekend going again to pull net yes.. salt today 3 big crappo, 1 ray, a 1lb reds and a cavali.. the popper i bought works great but the only time I got to use it was between dolphins beating up and when we hit a shallow redfish bank 1 small hit but no hook up.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 23rd, 2015, 10:39 pm

Wow man Drunkenmaster I was really looking forward to reading a good report from your trip man and seeing some nice pics! Well it's like that sometimes! Tight lines...

proton17

Postby proton17 » January 24th, 2015, 6:04 pm

Who fish today??

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 24th, 2015, 7:09 pm

I almost did! :D

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 24th, 2015, 7:18 pm

Heard d Gulf was nice an calm...will see wats on for tomorow...

Postby meccalli » January 24th, 2015, 7:19 pm

I did a little today, water was really nice but place was really still, fish didn't bite, some stingrays, small reds and loads of puffers. Was a lot of mangrove snappers around but they weren't interested in eating, could've polespeared some but I feel more accomplished when I can fool them to take a line and release em. All time favourite fish to hunt by far.