If you had to choose a vehicle for a build???

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2015, 5:53 am

ok, I have an opportunity to get a vehicle from the U.S at a very reasonable price but it would be LHD...The idea is for a decent "speed" build not no kinda 10 secs business. I am down to the following

rx-8(possibility of a cross breed)
IS300(possibility of a 1J)

choose one and state the pros and cons....

thanks

Picasso

Re: If you had to choose a vehicle for a build???

Postby Picasso » February 5th, 2015, 6:04 am

IS300 ?? Which model ?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » February 5th, 2015, 6:48 am

Rx8 -go 3 rotor

IS300-Go 2jz one time

moti

Postby moti » February 5th, 2015, 8:10 am

IS300, mainly because this chassis was fitted with both a 6cyl and a 4cyl engine.

The RX8 while is a nice and modern car, if you intend to Xbreed it then it will become a nightmare.
(electrical and mechanical)
The RX8 is a car that has tons of performance upgrades on the market, and once tuned properly can be an awesome car.

A JZ IS300 though will hand your as.s to you every time unless the RX8 is turbo.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2015, 8:59 am

looking at one of these
34da3abcbf0f44ea8845cf4021ac714f.jpg
69c52f9ec4d04820a37ab2ca1a33a572.jpg
69c52f9ec4d04820a37ab2ca1a33a572.jpg (2.02 KiB) Viewed 6323 times

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2015, 9:00 am

although the vehicle would be LHD...what are some of the things to look out for?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 5th, 2015, 9:42 am

Depends on what kind of project you want.. What will the vehicles be used for mainly ( street and track or all out street or all out track) ? Besides your choices kinna weird cause the IS300 is a more street built platform with the option of a full blown track car and the rx-8 is built with more track in mind and should be a more well balanced vehicle on the track and as well the street ..

The real info into making a choice would be to know what you intend on doing in the long run

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2015, 10:55 am

all out street, Sunday drive kinda thing...

Postby sliderz1 » February 5th, 2015, 11:18 am

RX pls

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 5th, 2015, 3:11 pm

All out street is what I'm building also.. Take the IS300 stick a 2jzgte in it or a 1uzfe and call it a day. Converting it to manual will be a breeze.. Nothing better than a 4door demon on the road. Spend your cash mainly on a bad ass fuel delivery setup and suspension to balance it out. Just as much fun as the ugly ass rx8 lol..

Postby supercharged turbo » February 5th, 2015, 6:12 pm

If is an all street car,I say go ls300 with a 2jz turbo setup.You would grin everytime you sink your foot on that pedal :twisted:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 5th, 2015, 6:18 pm

I'd go with the IS, but to be even more of an oddball, I'd try to find an IS SportCross (the station wagon) :mrgreen:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 6th, 2015, 9:09 am

I'm leading to the IS now....thanks for your input....

Postby Ted_v2 » February 8th, 2015, 9:28 am

O5 legacy GT.

Personally drove a automatic/tiptronic model with a average set of mods.
and trust me it had me smiling every second, Plenty power thru the gears, Grippy as forq.
Very efficient brakes.

the chassis has plenty suspension mods and braking mods,
and the ej engines has plenty of aftermarket parts.

shougie

Postby shougie » February 8th, 2015, 10:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I'm leading to the IS now....thanks for your input....
if u lookiN for dat IS. Pm me. I've got 3. One unregistered with ah 1jz gte.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 8th, 2015, 10:42 am

both of those cars can be obtained locally for small money and you'll have RHD.. lhd's suck as street cars imho, dangerous to overtake, poor visibility on winding raods apex-to-apex and terrible resale value, worse if modified. (insert X2 counter rant here - but thats my opinion)

everything in the rx8 dash can work with the 13b swap once you go stand alone and use the rx8 throttle body and crank trigger.

jz swaps are pretty straight forward in the IS chassis...

i would go rx8, arguably best handling chassis of the rx lineup (ducks the 3rd gen posse cuss) even if its the ugly duckling. 13b's are tones of fun and jz's are easy

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 8th, 2015, 11:30 am

Bezman wrote: lhd's suck as street cars imho, dangerous to overtake, poor visibility on winding raods apex-to-apex and terrible resale value, worse if modified. (insert X2 counter rant here - but thats my opinion)

I've driven fwd and rwd lhd vehicles for a while and I see no difference really. Just takes time to get accustomed to it. Took me 2 days and the uncertainty of over taking, sharp cornering and averaging spaces for parking etc went forever. LHD is kinna fun it's nice being different. Won't mind owning a lhd vehicle.. What I hate is the bumper sticker " Left Handdrive " :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 8th, 2015, 12:38 pm

picasso not talking about driving lhd in the states or europe eh, im talking about locally..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 8th, 2015, 4:01 pm

wrs to converting an IS which is LHD to RHD...how difficult would it be?
what cost am I looking at?

Postby Ted_v2 » February 8th, 2015, 6:31 pm

too much, plenty legit IS locally with legit done jz swaps.

buy a IS300 front cut and a local IS200 with a 3s and likeup yourself.

LHD to RHD is too much headaches, attempted a small project and its quite a bit. Especially on such a vehicle as a lexus, parts already so hard to locate locally.

Dragular

Postby Dragular » February 8th, 2015, 6:51 pm

Honda Fit with K20 supercharged/turbocharged lol

Almost did it last year but did not have confidence in local mechs.

Power to weight ratio will mash up a lot of more powerful vehicles/ costly vehicles

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 16th, 2015, 4:29 pm

Bezman wrote:picasso not talking about driving lhd in the states or europe eh, im talking about locally..

Nah hoss I talking about locally :lol: :lol: Gobs of fun driving a LHD car in Trinidad.. So far no issues no near incidents 100% confidence all the time.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 16th, 2015, 8:56 pm

the only major issue I'd see is driving on main roads and trying to overtake and well the fugly LHD sticker on the bumper

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 19th, 2015, 10:56 pm

^^^ Trust me it not bad at all.. It's like riding a bike. Currently looking to obtain a LHD vehicle as a daily driver. The cost is cheaper than RHD local or FU options available. At the end of the day it performs the same duties as any other vehicle just it's in a RHD country lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2015, 8:15 pm

that s2000 yes...

looking for RHD IS300 but only getting front cuts...